Rent Sonic Chronicles: The Dark Brotherhood for DS
view large frontback

Sonic Chronicles: The Dark Brotherhood

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.6

1011 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

almost never gets old "READ THIS!"

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) May 17, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

awesome! you can play over & over & over again. It just never gets old! you can engage in coversation & choose what you say (it's really fun making amy mad & cheering her up in outerspace)
this game is not really a sonic game, i mean, it doesn't seem like a sonic game. in this game it's not really "AWESOME" but it is very fun & interesting. It's not about speed like most sonic games are, it's more about the conversation. ( the conversation makes it extremeley addicting) it has an EXTREMELEY awesome storyline (Unlike sonic riders) i would reccomend this game to beginners & experinced sonic fans old & young. this game is not very stressful it's just one of those games that you can sit in bed all night & play. It's extremeley awesome because (here comes the good part) knuckles get's kidnapped omega goes missin angel island gets stolen &the chaos emeralds were stolen by an extremeley strong group of aliens called the marauders. watch as the whole series of events unfolds as you play!

Sincereley
Loozur

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good looking game weighted down with poor pacing

posted by geldonyeti (BATTLE GROUND, WA) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was a good premise: a Sonic the Hedgehog RPG with cool quick time event combat.

To an extent, it was fairly well realized with excellent animation quality on the characters and overall good production values. The sound effects were crude stock footage, and I thought the music was a bit minimalist, but this was the only real multimedia problem.

The main problem with the game would be in the balance. Some enemies have ludicriously high defense values that cause attacks against them to do 1 pt of damage. Armor piercing or weakening attacks can help get around this, but only certain characters have these kinds of moves, and perpetually renewing their Power Points to use them is a pain.

I spent about 2 months trying to interest myself in this game, but after I reached a level with giant rock men with massive batteries of hit points which - despite my best efforts - would take a ludicrous amount of rounds to complete... well, my patience ran out.

It would have been a lot better game if combat required much less rounds to complete. The Beat Agents-inspired quick events would have been fine if I wasn't having to do them so repetitively. Better luck next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Sonic game!

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Way better than any other Sonic games. If it came out on Wii I would buy it in a heartbeat. Ages 7 and up. Quick loading times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alot of fighting...

posted by beckybeth7 (DUFF, TN) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was my first Sonic game and I really liked it but there is way too much time consuming fighting... you can't walk anywhere without running into an enemy 2 fight. So if you don't like fighting do not rent.. the characters are super cute tho and I like the storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really good, but not the best

posted by Slam422 (CRANE, IN) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"Sonic Chronicles: The Dark Brotherhood" is an example of what we gamers like to call a "Win/Lose" game. In all rights it is an amazing game that shows that Sonic can be more than just a fleet-of-foot runner. The game contains an in-depth story that helps to give more character and depth to the usually bland continuity that is the Sonic series & actually helps to expand on it's many characters. The game play is also quite fun and engaging, as using the stylus to perform basic actions, as well as pull off some sweet & stylish looking attacks in battle.

The problem with all of this, however, is the fact that, in true "Modern Sonic" fashion, the game just feels....incomplete. But don't ask me exactly WHAT it is that makes the game feel like that, as I couldn't tell ya even if I tried.

Overall, it's a great game, but there was just so much that Bioware could have done to make it better...

...Here's hoping that the sequel fixes this problem...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FINALLY! A SONIC GAME I CAN PLAY

posted by Gamer251 (BARRINGTON, RI) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I always wanted to play a Sonic game as I liked the character, but I don't do well with "speed".

I feel it is worth every penny. This is not a short game at all. The developer put a LOT of effort into this game. Most games these days seem to end almost as fast as your start playing it! The Dark Brotherhood has 10 Chapters! You can save whenever you want and pick up right where you left off!

The fighting strategy is "any way a player wants it to be". You have several characters to choose from. POW moves to choose & "build up" and Chao you can bond with to help your stats.

There are only 2 complaints.
1. The "Healing" characters POW moves were always too difficult to follow the input commands with the stylus which made it a wasted turn. So I just ignored them and chose characters that were powerful and stocked up on healing items. Which you also get plenty of in containers and battles.
2. Did not like being forced to play a particular character that I wasn't crazy for in some chapters. Once I had my favorite 4 characters, I didn't want to have to use a different character.

I did wish Sonic had more powerful POW moves, especially where he was the main character. Was really surprised Eggman had good powerful moves, but didn't get to use him much. Sonic, Rouge, Knuckles and Omega were my favorite. With them it was very easy to win a fight. It's great that you can choose to fight YOUR way.

There is several pieces of equipment you can equip and several different types of items you can use in battle. Really great puzzles.

I liked that ALL characters levelled up even if you weren't using them at the time.

I enjoyed this game right from the start, am in Chapter 9 right now and am still thoroughly enjoying this game! Would prefer not to have to use the stylus to move my character, but that won't stop me playing a good game. With Zelda's "Phantom Hourglass" you had to use the stylus to move also, and that was a great game too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad by any means but not great either

posted by Axlthehntr (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

To get started I will state that I REALLY wanted to like this game, I'm a huge Sonic fan, I love RPGs and Bioware is among one of the best RPG developers out there.

However in the end while the game was decent I just felt that something was missing and I can't quite put a finger on it. Everything about it is a mixed bag. In terms of graphics, I think this has one of the coolest intros of any DS game EVER, it's like an animated comic book and looks amazing. Also impressive are the environments which look hand drawn. The characters for the most part look good until they turn around and you see their faces which seem just.... not quite right somehow, no big deal though. One gripe that I do have is that the sound could have used some work, while it has all the classic sounds you'd expect from Sonic as well as some familiar tunes, some aspects such as the music sound like they were just slapped in and sound like something from Sega's old Game Gear portable. Another problem is that many of the characters such as Amy Rose and Rouge make the same sounds in battle (as in the same generic female voice) which brings little personality to the battles.
Getting to the strong points however, the story is INCREDIBLY well written, Bioware did their research as all of the character's personalities are spot on and even more amazing is that it makes reference to the behind the scenes stories of the original Genesis adventures! Also cool is that Bioware's branching dialogue scenes are in tact and you can choose what Sonic says, but disapointingly these choices effect little more than what the character you're talking to says in the next dialogue box.

In the end, for a hardcore Sonic fan this is definatly something you WILL want to try, but be warned, it feels more like a very strong blueprint of what could be improved upon in the future, and I really hope they do give it another go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

makeing the right turns, go sonic!

posted by spedzs (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Out of his field? I THINK NOT!!As we all know, sonic the hedgehog RULED the 2D era along side a very few other icons in the gameing world. Sonic, along side mario and link was the first to be put in the " walk of game" ( like the walk of fame on Hollywood, CA, but isnt in Hollywood and right now i forgot where it is at, sorry)! But sadly, ever since he hit the 3D era, well, his games have been slacking, we all know the problems, bad camera views, glitches, bad voice acting and so and so on...but lately we have seen sonic trying to make a come-back, sonic and the secret rings was the first really good game in a looong time, but now we got sonic chronicles: the dark brotherhood ( SC:TDB )

Yea, again it got a few cons such as frame rate issues and a few other things, BUT lets look at the good side, how many characters you know tryed to go out in left field and try to do something there not? I dont see mario making a shooter or halo making a sports game? So seeing sonic in a RPG, well I didnt see it coming! RPGs are SO SLOW, but sonic kept everything that makes him, HIM, and put it in a RPG, and it worked! i really liked it, its fun, new, different, and its not to hard, its like a RPG for beginners or people who hate RPGs may like this one! Bioware did a great job on turning lemons to lemonade! I 100% recommend that you rent it, but, make sure you have some extra money because i know you will want to buy it and is a must for any sonic, RPG, bioware, sega fan, or anyone who want a good DS game! you will put over 15 hours in it easily and will be waiting for the next sonic game, sonic unleashed anyone?!

grades 1-10 1=OMG KILL IT, it sucks 5-too average 7- average 10-perfect, too good!

graphics-9
control-9.5
sound-7
fun factor-9
plot-9.5 ( best sonic plot ever )
1player lasting factor-9
multiplayer-6.5
multiplayer lasting factor-7
overall-9

P.S. the choas are back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun timekiller

posted by malingenie (KALAMAZOO, MI) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

As an RPG is very simplistic. Combat was engaging and fun, the storyline was absolutely ridiculous and subpar for Bioware. Even as a kid's game. The interactivity is zip and it is as linear as it could get. However it was a fun 15 hours or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Really good

posted by AwesomeAJ1 (NATCHITOCHES, LA) Oct 4, 2008

Member since May 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm only a few hours into the game but I'm having a blast. It's one of those games that you sit down and decide to play for a hour or two and realize that it's now morning. The battle system is taken from Elite Beat Agents and that's ok because it gives you a certain level of interactivity with the moves. You feel like you're actually doing something intead of just sitting there watching a battle. Sure there are some annoyances when you try to heal somebody and you fail to keep your stylus in the circle, causing the move to fail, damning your party member to certain KO. That and there are some battles that just go on way too long.

But overall it's a very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent Sonic Game

posted by RedBlaze (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My only complaint is that the animated scenes were comic type. I was hoping to see actual animation. Gameplay-wise, I did have a serious issue trying to get used to how the system worked. Like the special moves. Once I got the hang of it, the game was pretty entertaining. This is an RPG, it's not really a speed game. I love a good RPG with one of my favorite characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome and Unique

posted by Jetknight (NORTH OLMSTED, OH) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well this game is awesome. the graphics are great, its like reading a story book and playing it at the same time. The game play its pretty similar to that of sonic shuffle in a way and the legend of zelda ds. Is an awesome game and i highly recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Feeling punished for my fandom.

posted by TheDCG (TEXAS CITY, TX) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When it came to light that Bioware (my number one fangirl company) was making an DS title, I was delighted- the DS is my main traveling time-waster. When I got this game, though, I was dissapointed. The story and dialogue were much as I expected; and the artwork was great.

However- and you knew this was coming- the combat is punishingly hard. The 'Pow' moves require a series of stylus interactions- not for extra, but to go off at all, in most cases. The timing is odd also- in one of the moves, one puts the stylus on a line, and follows the line at speed. BUT! Half the time, the mere act of putting the stylus to the touch-screen- in preparation to follow the line- will cause you to fail the move. All of this would be livable if the 'Pow' moves were entirely optional; but Bioware has made the combat difficult enough- especially in non-random encounters- that the special moves are necessary to success.

My only other complaint of the game is that, while exploring the world, the need to tap a button or an icon to jump or run a ring is anti-immersive. But it is a minor complaint. It is the impossible (to me) and punishing combat the breaks the game. I guess I'll have to give up my brag of owning and beating every Bioware game- I'm going to send this one back, barely started.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

upgrade compared to most new sonics

posted by MoffettMAN (CENTENNIAL, CO) Oct 31, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

great game, great characters. but my only complaint is that you can not look away ever unless paused and u can not pause during battle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sonic

posted by sonicfan22 (DURHAM, CT) Dec 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Best sonic game I ever Played!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game for ds

posted by sonic9229 (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a realy good game!!! It has a good storyline moves and good grafics!!! But the fighting is hard sometimes. And any sonicfan should get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fighting a Kron

posted by Tman96 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) May 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I went 52 rounds with 1 Kron Warrior with Sonic,Tails,Knuckles,and Amy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun!

posted by Sonic50 (EASTPOINTE, MI) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have not played it much but so far I want to buy it! Although I don't like that you use the touch screen for EVERYTHING, Still this game is fun. the graphics are not the best, but the characters selection are pretty good. If you like Sonic and Bio ware you probably would like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Why Is Sonic So Slow?

posted by IllogicalJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After a promising start in which Sonic-style platforming was applied to Mario & Luigi-style RPG exploring, I delved into the gameplay, a rhythm-based JRPG that was very well animated and crisp. But as HP counts went up, the battles took longer and longer, and nailing the Elite Beat Agents-style triggers for each special attack (and dodge) grew annoying, especially with so little variance between moves (and so little "POW"--that is, MP). Many battles wound up leading to the status menu, and by Chapter 6 (of 10), I'd had enough.

In truth, aside from the frustrating attrition of the battles, the story doesn't leave me wanting to play on, either. Whereas the aforementioned Mario games relish comedic timing and jokes, BioWare loads up each level with generic "help quests" and while the dialogue between staples of the series seem fine, they're not all that deep: Knuckles gets the most to do, whereas Big the Cat and Omega say relatively little.

If they can speed the game back up and randomize the patterns you have to hit (growing more and more difficult for higher-level attacks), a sequel will be greatly appreciated, especially with the art direction already in the right direction. But with game play, music, and plot all misdirected . . . they're going to need one heck of a boost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game.

posted by Nighthawk (HAVERHILL, MA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game alot, the battle style was great, the characters actually had y'know, a good amount of character depth this time. The story was also fantastic, so why do I give it a 6? Because of the ending, seriously it left me in tears, not because it was moving or anything, it was just completely pathetic. I killed the final boss in one hit for crying out loud!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A fairly smooth ride, but not without it's bumps

posted by Nai255 (ELYRIA, OH) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sonic and his friends find themselves in the clutches of a new enemy, and in the hands of a new developer. The latter is reason enough to celebrate Sonic's RPG debut, but just how many out of three cheers does this game merit?

Graphics & Sound:
The backgrounds are stylish and well-detailed, plus the 3D models and their animations are more than passable: it's the sound that has been neglected stat points in this category. A fair amount of things sound nothing like they should. Picture if you will a lightsaber duel with the trademark whirs and hums replaced with squealing chimps, and clown horns for when they make contact (That's honestly not too far off). The music's a mixed bag, but mainly because it can actually cut out once in a while.

Gameplay & Controls:
The game itself at least plays and controls fine enough, making exclusive use of the touch screen for easy navigation through zones, menus, and battles. Each character has their own set of skills and team attacks that are fun to experiment with. However, the battles themselves just don't quite seem to sit right. The primary culprit is the lack of variety with the timing actions used for attacking and defending: in short, Elite Beat Agents boiled down to it's bare-bones. It's a tried-and-true mechanic, but it only looks good on paper (Mario).

Challenge & Replay Value:
The average gamer shouldn't find themselves struggling too badly with this one, for better or worse. You can save at anytime, and boss battles wind up feeling like normal battles with unique music. When it's all said and done, you can start fresh with all your items and stats carried over if you so choose.

Overall:
I was expecting so much more from Sonic's voyage into RPG territory, but mainly because Sega finally let someone else take a shot at the franchise. I can't really picture anyone but younger Sonic fans having the most fun with this one, but it's still an acceptable game in it's own right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A perplexing game

posted by KillaGreg (NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think the last time I enjoyed such a flawed game was probably Enter the Matrix. Let it be said that is is not a very good game. The battles are repetitive. Entire worlds have identical battles every time. The way the world is set up you can literally not see where you are supposed to go sometimes. And controlling your character with the stylus is beyond annoying. But somehow I still played this game to death. I just couldn't put it down. I only did because I got Chrono Trigger (a much better game)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mario RPG with Elite Beat elements

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Nov 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've heard some complaints about the complicated special techniques in the game. They are difficult to master, but they keep you from getting bored in battle after battle. Besides, it's not like they are really necessary to the gameplay. If you're too lazy to master them just pretend they aren't there. I love the way each of the characters have their own special abilities on the map(there are a couple of duplicates). I also like the collectible creatures you can attach to characters to give them special powers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic's 1st RPG is a HIT!!!

posted by SageLink (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Paper Mario was Mario's 1st fun RPG and it was Great. Sonic's RPG is the same. Instead of just sitting there and watching your attacks, you get into the action using your your stylis to hit attacks and block. Using different characters to get through obstacles is very similar to Paper Mario. If they make a Paper Sonic then I would be surprised at how it plays. I'm on the 4th chapter of the game and it is gettin more fun each chapter. I only hope you get to turn into Super Sonic sometime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sonic

posted by eleukyuen (HONOLULU, HI) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I don't like how you have to use the stylus to move sonic constantly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse