Rent Sonic Adventure 2: Battle for GC
view large frontback

Sonic Adventure 2: Battle

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.8

1278 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the Best Sonic games ever!

posted by Bloos1RP (FOOTHILL RANCH, CA) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Sonic adventure 2 is a great Sonic game. There are many fun things to do in this game. There are Chao gardens, actions stages, and fun boss battles. It just a great game! If you're a Sonic fan you'll love this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HUGE sonic fan review woo hoo!!!

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) May 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2009

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I Just so happen to be a HUGE sonic fan who's played "EVERY SINGLE SONIC GAME EVER! (Except ones for ps2 360 & wii) including the originals.

sonic adventure 2 (which i proudly own) Is one of the best games IN
THE WHOLE ENTIRE WORLD!
the debut of famous characters shadow & rouge only adds a small percentage of awesomeness to this game!
in this game you will fight huge military robots jump out of helicopters
skateboard down streets on mere pieces of scrap metal fight giant lizards go to outerspace blow stuff up & so on. the story mode in this game will leave you in Aw! the 2 player mode is awesome.
AND..
THIS GAME NEVER GETS OLD OR REPEATS ITSELF!!!!!!!!! Perfect "10"

Sincereley
Loozur

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For true Sonic FANATICS!!!!

posted by SoraSonic1 (IRVINGTON, NJ) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so AMAZING. SEGA hit a hit a home run with this game. For some reason though they messed up later. Three great things made this game awsome. 1. Chao. Chao are cute and fun to evolve and play with. 2. Sonic and Shadow stages were awesome but Shadow only had 4 which sucks. 3. Super Transformation boss kicked BUTT!!

Get this game if u dont already. Don't just rent, BUY!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SONIC ADVENTURE 2 BATTLE

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Sep 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had played and beat the game SONIC ADVENTURE 2 BATTLE. POSITIVE: this game is so AWSOME it makes you feel dizzy. The graphics are really good for the GAMECUBE. In this game its good versus evil, if you pick the hero side you get to play SONIC, TAILS, and KNUCKLES. If you pick dark side you get to play SHADOW, Dr. EGGMAN, and ROUGE. There are upgrades for each character that you play. There is also a two player mode on this game in which you can race or battle with your partner. There is also a CHAO GARDEN in which you can raise your chao in a garden and take them in contests. If you are a hero character and you are raising a chao then your chao will become a hero chao and if you are a dark character and you are raising a chao then your chao will become a dark chao. I really dont have anything negative to say about this game. This game is so COOOOOLLL!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The greatest Sonic game EVER-by far!

posted by Sonicgod (DANVILLE, CA) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game didn't seem fun when i looked at the cover. I was buying this game for my friend. Even the price didn't sound so good. $6.00-for a used game. Now, I know what it's like to play a TRUE sonic game.
This game will get anyone looking for a good sonic game. even the frustrating camera will still make the game... challenging. Yeah, challenging, that's it. The chao raising rocks too, and the 2-player mode-anyone will love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Chao more impressive than game itself.

posted by Dabobomb64 (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was fun and all, but you get tired of it after you beat it. What is really fun is Chao world. You can make almost an unlimited amount of Chao! But it is like the chao and the game are two separate games. One more criticism, you grow too attached to the chao and then they die or reincarnate and you have to start raising it all over again! The graphics are good, but can be better with picking stuff up and all. Emblems? Gosh, those take too long to get!!! By the time you beat the game you have ten or something, and you need 180 to technically beat the game. So as I was saying, the chao are so fun and so cute too! But dont throw them or else they will hate you. People on youtube go insane about the chao, as for the game 0! Just rent it and see for yourself. I highly suggest it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only for the chaos.

posted by Mariobro (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Sep 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game alot!But!After awile it gets boring.So now I play it to raise my chaos.So I'd get this game if love chaos.-o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best sonic game

posted by Kylie10 (CONCORD, CA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

me and my friends always love doing VS mode AND the adorible chaos are so cute i had so many

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

First one was better, but decent

posted by Vegito (DULUTH, GA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not as good as the first one, as this game is far too linear for my taste, but it does introduce shadow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Non-Stop Action

posted by Oakvale4 (PALMDALE, CA) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Outstanding game-play, it is very addicting how seamless(for a sonic game) the game is. There are many sweaty-hand moments in this game.
The story will really draws you in, especially since you get to play the various characters' views. You may also choose sides to play, the "Light" or "Dark" Story.
For recreation you also have the Chao Garden where you may raise multiple chaos, raise them, and have them compete in fun games.
The multi-player is great fun as well. Me and my friends play this for hours with the multiple modes to play.

I would have to say this may be one of the funnest Sonic games I have played(excluding the very first). This game should be required for any sonic fan,it is also great for anyone just wanting to have a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Sariebear2 (MACKINAW CITY, MI) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I like how it challenges you in each stage. The little chao world is so cute. this is the best game so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sonic Adventure 2: Battle Review

posted by ali5541 (DEARBORN, MI) Jul 2, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a fan of Sonic Games and was gald to see them on the Nintendo Console. But this game made me loose my mind. Sonic Adventure 2: Battle is an Amazing game full of suspense and entertainment. This is one of those games that you just keep coming back for.

Pros:
Three Story Modes (Third Unlocked After Beating Both Hero and Dark)
Loaded with Extra Features like Kart Racing and Boss Mode
Chao Breading (Special Animal System)
In depth Story

Cons:
Similar/Same Levels for Hero and Dark Modes

Sonic Adventure 2 Battle has an advanced Chao system and which you can rise Chao's and then race them and fight them against other Chao's for prizes and emblems. Collecting emblems unlocks more items in the black market for Chao's and your game like themes, etc.

This is a must have game for all GC owners!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!

posted by XxemoxX (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i would recomend this game to anyone who loves action and well. . . everything!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite game! Thanks SEGA!!

posted by vgcritic (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No doubt,Sonic is one of the coolest mascots around. And this title proves it! This game is crammed with so much stuff, it's amazing!! The game let's you play as Sonic,Shadow,Knuckles,Rou- ge,Tails,and Eggman. Sonic and his rival Shadow focus on high speed and offer the funnest gameplay IMO!
Knuckles and his opponent Rouge search giant levels for Emerald shards, using hints and a radar.
And lastly, Tails and the evil Doctor himself, Eggman shoot all the way to the end.
The amount of variety is awesome and it never gets old! Heck you can even raise little creatures called Chao in your spare time. And the 2p modes are just icing on the cake! If you want a great single player and multiplayer game then look no further! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD BUT NOT GREAT =( =)

posted by XDboy101 (RUSTBURG, VA) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented the game hoping for better graphics. but boy was I put down. the game has a good story and the cool choice of a bad story are a good story. but the griphics made eggmans head move up and down and not his mouth. but lukily that was the only flaw to the griphcs. alli have to say is if you want a good story.good ideas,and eggman look like a studit docter than this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the BEST Sonic games EVER!

posted by Shadow12 (FOUNTAIN, CO) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was one of the greatest Sonic games ever that I played.The controls were soooo easy,and it's fun playing as Sonic and Shadow.Knuckles and Rouge were kinda hard to me for treasure hunting but it was fun,and Tails and Eggman are fun to play as.So,I had tons of fun and if you rent it I hope you have fun too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best

posted by aquablast (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have ever played a sonic game before, then you need to get this game! This is one of the best Sonic adventures you will see. You get to play as the Sonic, Tails, and Knuckles (light side) as well as Shadow, Eggman, and Rouge (dark side). As you play the game on both sides you also have the chance to raise a chao, which you can race with and train to do karate. There's much to do in this game, so you better get started!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME ON THE GAME CUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

posted by Videoboy (MODESTO, CA) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!The ending always makes me cry, the beginning makes me happy and everything in between is pure awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super Sonic Fun!

posted by Gamepro3 (CAPE CHARLES, VA) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Sonic adventure 2 battle for the gamecube was originally ported from the Sega Dreamcast system. They did a really good job with it,but it still has it's share of problems.Problems the Dreamcast version did not have.Also a couple tweaks here,and there were added to this version. Before I dive into the game's minor flaws, let me start off by saying this game is a classic 3D adventure.One of the last good 3D sonic games in my opinion. Though heroes,and Unleashed were sort of decent. The game has nice graphics for the the GC.But there are sometimes muddy textures,and blocky visuals,but the graphics are least important.The music for the game is excellent! I just love the soundtrack for this game! Thankfully,there is a jukebox where you can listen to the songs you've unlocked while playing.The voice acting I am afraid, is laughably bad! It was so bad I turned it to Japanese.Which was very top-notch of course.The story is pretty good,and the introduction of the new characters Rouge the bat,and Shadow the hedgehog were welcome indeed.The game's levels center around this world map instead of being consecutive levels like the older games.There are certain types of levels to play.which offers the game much variety.Sonic and Shadow's levels are the normal fast paced kind.Tail's,and Eggman's levels. are shoot em' up type levels,and the Knuckles',and Rouge's levels focus on treasure hunting.All are very fun to play.When you play through story mode you can find new upgrades for sonic,and co.Also the addition of Chao garden from the first is so much fun!Not to mention addictive,and cute! My only gripes about an otherwise,flawless game is that there are a few bugs to be found,and the camera sucks big time! Other than that It's a solid,fun, addicting sonic game! Best sonic game ever! Rent it now!....what am I saying I mean buy it now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic Adventure 2 Battle Review!

posted by Zimatrix (TRENTON, MI) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Sonic Adventure 2 Battle features a new generation for Sonic games, multiplayer. This game mode never appeared in the original Sonic Adventure game, or ther DX Directors Cut version. This features three modes of gameplay in multiplayer, race, battle, and treasure hunting. Even though these gametypes are superve in everyway possible, the story-mode will just have you in awe! It features old Characters (Sonic, Tails, Knuckles etc.) and new characters aswell, such as the well known Shadow and Rogue. In the story, Dr.Eggman is trying to find the militaries ultimate weapon and ends up finding Shadow and is grated 1 wish from him. As Shadow is sent to destroy some military mechs, Sonic is the one being blamed for it all and is arrested. All this stuff abot the Chaos Emeralds and the Space Colony Ark, along with Project Shadow and Shadow's past will totaly grab you and you will be on the edge of your seat just waiting for the next level. Sonic and Shadow's stages are based on high speed arenas to get you back into the olden days. Tails and Eggman's stages requite shooting down enemies with your mech. And Knuckles and Rogue's stages are in my opinion the most boring all you do is look for pieces of the master emerald but the rest of the game is so good you won't care. If you like sonic you will love this game, and for all the sonic noob's out there you will probably too! So, if you don' have the game go out and buy it NOW!!!

I give a Perfect 10!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonis

posted by ibliz231 (MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ) Sep 2, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game. Since im older i dont play much,but this a the best sonic game for gamecube. If you are a sonic fan, I highly recommend this game. It is a good action packed game!!!! This game wont let you sonic fans down. Trust me its better than Sonic Heros!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sonic Boom

posted by Crazegamer (HILLSBORO, MO) Jan 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

As a hardcore Sonic fan.. I'm going to be completely bias about this game. This is sonic' s greatest game to date, That's only if you play as Sonic, and here why. Sonic stages are the Best. If this game was just with sonic only, it would be close to perfection. The opening of the game is great. Sonic escapes from a plane after being confused with another Hedgehog. you then start the game in a city where your right in the action, but as you play on, your forced to play with the other characters, which is a good idea, but not good when there games are slow and kind a frustrating.. example... you only play with tail in a robot fighting machine which is difficult to control. Knuckles has the hunting missions again, which can be frustrating, shadows mission are cool too, but not as cool as sonic. Sega Focus so much on sonic that they didn't put much effort on the other characters. The story is great. Sound can be Better. Control wise.. its good, but not great. occasionally you'll get glitches which can result in cheap deaths. The Chao are back in this game but there ok. Its you have mad skill. and beat the Game with all "A" ranks, you will get the Sonic 1 Green Hill Zone IN 3D!!!! The best unlockable of all time. it's hard, but worth it. Overall this game for most people would be ok, for Sonic fans its a must have. I give this game a 8 out of 10. "Rock on Sonic, Until next time, stay cool."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just a awesome game.

posted by Coolguy (ROCKWALL, TX) Apr 22, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! The storyline is lengthy and challenging. There is by far enough things to do in the game which makes it addicting. The only thing is that many of the missions are copies of others.(many are the same thing). Still this game is probably the best Sonic game to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Chao Fun!

posted by PawBoy (ROWLETT, TX) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Hahaha!! Yaaaaaaaay! I love this game so much! The gameplay is actually fun and a added bonus.. Chao! I love the part with the Chao and raising them and giving them things to make them unique.. This alone makes the game worth buying.. but like I said the actual game and story line is fun too. The stages are great.. I have yet to find another sonic game that is better than this one.. which is sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by g8terade (KENNESAW, GA) May 3, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This is a great game and i'm sure any sonic fan kid to adult will love this game. I'm a big fan of the chao karate. I think it has a very nice story line with the option to toggle from dark to light side with sonics gang and shadows gang. but you will have to just check it out yourself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse