Rent Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing for PS3
view large frontback

Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
7.5

1015 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect game for those without Mario Kart!

posted by giese095 (NEW PRAGUE, MN) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved Mario Kart when I was a kid. I never had it but I would always look forward to playing it when I went to my friend's house. It's been a long time since I have been able to play the original, and none of the new versions seem to be quite as good. There are other imitations out there too but they just don't have that same feel you got while racing around the track with all those familiar characters. This game is the answer. I don't know all of the characters because when I had my SEGA I only had a select few games, but just the fact that all of the old SOnic characters are in there makes it a ton of fun. The tracks are all a lot of fun with great obstacles and scenery. The different cars for each characters are a lot of fun, each with their own attributes. You still get to attack the other vehicles with rockets and other items just like in Mario Kart (cones instead of bananas, etc.). Overall this is just a great game. If you don't have a Wii and haven't been able to play Mario Kart in a long time, this is the game you've been looking for...at least until ModNation Racers releases this summer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by ssmonkey25 (TAMPA, FL) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i just got this game today it is great i love the multiplayer i also love the fact that there are alot of character's , courses,and soundtracks not to mention mission mode were there is 50 + missions so i definitely would give this title a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good ol' kart racing fun!

posted by jhansen2027 (AVONDALE, AZ) May 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game since I am a big fan of games like Mario Kart, Modnation Racers etc...and if you are a fan of those titles, this one will be a good one to pick up.

The game is pretty straight forward as far as characters and vehicles. There aren't interchangeable vehicles as each character uses there own unique one so you wont be spending too much time deciding which character/vehicle combo works best. The most strategy that you will use is figuring out which character works best for the tracks ahead. Even though there are no selectable vehicles, there still are 3 different types (car, bike and hover depending on the character) and you'll want to try them each out.

The courses are my personal favorite part of the game. Very colorful, animated and very fun overall and offer a nice variety to your experience.

Items are present in this game as you'd expect and this is where this game really separates itself from others like Mario Kart. You wont find yourself getting bombarded by overpowered items if you are leading. Even in first you collect great defensive and offensive items to keep things fair and balanced. On the other hand, if you find yourself trailing, you will have some advantages in that department.

One other feature that I personally enjoyed was the mission mode. You'll have specific challanges to overcome that range from drifting or just completing a mini GP. It's a nice challenge but not so much that you'll be throwing your controller at your tv.

The online races aren't anything too exciting, but they are there. Just lobby matches with up to 8 racers with optional AI racers. Unfortunately the character selection is first come, first serve as there is no double picking. Also, there is no option for playing other modes online, just single races.

Overall, the game is great for some fun pick up and play cartoonish kart racing. Another quick note for trophy fiends, this is a easy platinum trophy ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Look out Nintendo

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sega is closing in. This racing game is fantastic. A lot of the mechanics are ripped right out of Mario Kart but to me this feels like the best version of Mario Kart 64. Sega has done a great job with this game. From the racing mechanics, to all the challenges and the courses. Oh the courses. They are very imaginative especially the ones using Sonic's world. From loops to corkscrews to the really cool to look at Casino courses. You even get to race through the Curien Mansion. If you are a fan of Mario Kart you need to check out this game. From my opinion it really feels like the best version of Mario Kart 64 and plays better then the last few iterations of the Mario Kart series. Pat yourself on the back Sega. You have made a supremely addicting and fun kart racer. I love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NO MULTIPLAYER GRAND PRIX!

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jun 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Biggest complaint - NO MULTIPLAYER GRAND PRIX! I'm mean really, is it that hard to code 2 players at the same time?

Otherwise, it's very much like Mario Kart 64, which I think was the best one to date. You slide, never let go of the gas, get useless toys if in the top 3. Some of the levels are very nice looking and much better than any kart racer I've played recently. The game's biggest downfall is that it came out right before ModNation, which is the hot kart racer right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than Mario Kart this generation

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

SEGA, and more importantly Sumo Digital (lets give credit where credit is due), have knocked it out of the park with this effort.

Sonic and SEGA All Stars Racing is an excellent cart racer. It starts with the core of the experience, the actual racing model. Now, this shouldn't be surprising because Sumo has a ton of racing experience (including Outrun 2, 2006 and Dirt 2 - the Wii/PS2 versions), but it feels great. Similar to Mario Kart to a certain extent, with a similar emphasis on drifting, but it's still different - this isn't a Dante's Inferno/God of War situation here. It feels great just to drive around, and the track design is excellent and works with the racing model to provide some really fun play-spaces.

Visually and audio-wise the game is a treat for longtime SEGA fans. Sure they don't hit all the buttons that they could (no Panzer Dragoon or Space Harrier or After Burner anywhere), but they manage to hit a lot of stuff that'll put a smile on your face. I mean Billy Hatcher and Jet Set Radio love? Awesome. And it all sounds and looks great. The online play is pretty top-notch as well. In fact all the features are great, and the game is loaded with content.

The reason I truly believe it's better than Mario Kart Wii though is because - unlike THAT game - this game is balanced. There's weapon combat, but the items never take preference over skill. Practice will be rewarded, and the best racer WILL take 1st in SEGA All Stars Racing, unlike in Mario Kart. Especially the Wii version, where the best racer will only get slammed by the most blue shells.

While the PS3 will soon be getting ModNation Racers, and many fanboy Nintendo gamers will blindly claim that Mario Kart Wii is the only one you need, this is definitely a pick up if you at all dig really fun games, cart racers and party games. A fantastic effort from SEGA - I wish they'd give this much polish and attention to all their games. Super fun; highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Does it fall flat?

posted by ErgoProxy (HALLSTEAD, PA) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've herd a lot of good things about this game, as well as some bad things this game includes as well. Buckle in and prepare for a ride you will easily forget. This games focus is all on drifting, so most of the time while you play, You'll be drifting 80% or more of the time. If you don't your vehicle will slow to that of a slug, that's on the verge of paralysis. How much Horsepower do these cars have? -100?..I don't know, but it's no fun driving a car, you can't move unless you're drifting on a straight-a-way. Which You'll see quite a lot of online play, if you can manage to get past all the choppy frame rate. Another thing I disliked about this game were the not so creative power ups. Not going to mention that worthless shield thing. Only way you will get a decent power up is if you're sitting in near or last place. Which then you might as well quit since you're going to lose either way. But this game does include some positive things as well. Such as the vibrant colors, and well thought out maps for the most part. Their were only a few maps I thought were un enjoyable. Don't know the names of them because they sucked a big one. I also liked the character selection since they put a lot of characters that will bring back that nostalgic feeling for the hardcore fans. But overall I wont consider this a buy nor a rent. Don't waste your time with this game unless your a die hard kart racer/Mario Kart fan. 5/10, only gave it a 5 because it's the only kart racer I've played that got somewhat close to Mario Kart. But in the end it falls flat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wait.... Why is Sonic in a car?

posted by Monologue (PASADENA, TX) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The name says it all. Why IS sonic in the car? Its not like he needs it.
738 mph is his top speed. Running. Nearly the speed of SOUND.
Which brings me to my next question of:
Why rent THIS? It has faulty loading and its mostly just drifting.
And the speed, Oh god why did they make it so slow?
This is a bad game. Horrible to say the worst. If you want a fast-action, super speed, Oh-My-God-how-fast-is-he-going moment,
Two words.
Sonic. Heroes.
I fell in love with that game. It was fast paced, entertaining, and one of the best Sonics to date, within the two years of its popularity.
Not only that, but you get to play with other people OTHER than Sonic, Tails, or Knuckles. YOU EVEN GET TO PLAY AS SHADOW <3. Espio can turn INVISIBLE. Another game you would want to rent, though not really a fast paced kind, Shadow the hedgehog. Its more of an adventure to find the truth about Shadow's past. If you love Shadow, You'll love that game
If you want the best SEGA has to offer, Pick these. Though I have no idea if Sonic Heroes is for PS3. Or Shadow the hedgehog is, Definitley break out the old PS2, and start playing them.
Gotta love Sonic. And Shadow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Close but no.

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a fun racers, but the differences between the characters is too great. It killed multiplayer from what I saw. The selection of characters was kinda bland, considering the many greats that sega had/has. All in all, it's worth it for a few days to get the different track and use the racers you couldn't on the demo, but mostly its just 'meh'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring, pointless, stuck in the past

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

not as good as mario kart wii despite better graphics in general, no good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Kart Racer!

posted by Mrsonicisawsome (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This is Sonic's take on mario kart and boy is it great. The gameplay is very similar to mario kart while having some of its own take on the style of kart racing. So if you like mario kart, then you should definatly get this game. It works for crash bandicoot and it works for sonic the hedgehog! Overall 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN

posted by jasonpm (LILBURN, GA) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

GREAT FUNNY FUN I HAD BLAST GOOD GRAPHICS AND GAMEPLAY LOVE IT ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not impressed

posted by Drzronnie (GAP, PA) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

I think I may have expected too much, I was thinking Mario Kart but this was a poor attempt. I should have seen it coming being a Sega game, too much Japanese culture type stuff and stupid voice overs. It got rated pretty well by everybody else but I couldn't get into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for kids

posted by Yankeekaf (AFTON, NY) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I'm rating this game a 9 because my daughters and wife LOVED it. They would argue for a 10, I myself lean more towards 7.5. It is a fantastic family racing game based on the granddaddy of them all Mario Kart. Substitute the NES characters for SEGA classics and there you go. My kids loved earning points to unlock new racers and tracks. If you have kids, a must buy.
Now my one negative. Not enough "battle" map options. They just weren't that good, but overall it doesn't diminish much from the game itself and an enjoyable family experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sonic and sega allstar racing

posted by ssjgotenks (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

best game everrrr!!!!!!!!i just returned the game. im gonna miss that game.now im renting new games.maybe another time i will rent it again.good-bye sonic and sega allstar racing.i'll miss you.so far it's the #1 game i've ever rented.i will like the game better if the game had more races and more racers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by onlyonehit (WOODRIDGE, IL) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

At first the multiplayer lacks characters and maps. You can unlock new champs/maps with the money you earn from actually playing the game.

Tip Save up for one of the ending maps like Lava Lair. Then finish first easy 4-5k money per win. Also unlock opa-opa- and the chu-chus. Both of them are over powered!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sonic All Star's

posted by Henon77 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

This game is another way of Playin mario go karts even though it was ok I Felt like i was play Mario Karts again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ggood game again

posted by comacosyboy (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for the lil ones...

posted by TefHef73 (PLANO, TX) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

My four year old can't get enough of this game. This is my second time renting it from you and I think I'm just gonna buy it. It's a fun game if you like racing and/or a fan of the Sonic series and playing on the highest settings can be a nice challenge. I recommend for anyone with young gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just a few

posted by Kiba3D (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

this game was very good it realy depends about your skill wether you win or lose belive me i won 1st place with "big the cat". haha thers just 1 thing i DOOOOOO NOT LIKE in next gen games. you cant make a next gen game with LIFE LESS characters yes Every character have the same Exspression on their face no matter what. they put a lot of detail in the cars thats good but nobody blanks no body mouth moves nobody have exspression exsept the ones on ther face, the character graphics are very stiff as well for EX. if you have long hair wouldint it flow in the wind.. well it dont. if you have spikes or dreds wouldint it flow in the wind.. well it dont what about if you have lose clotheing.. wouldint that flow in the wind.. well.. it dont. its a good racing game dont get me wrong, its just its a new time period people you have to have detail that would have been ok on the Xbox,PS2 or Gamecube
but its for Next gen system... but have a good time with it its fun as heck tho, meet you online later
Psn: Vampire(under score)kibad
GT: Kibad

~A True Gamer Review~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Give me those Rings

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

Well I have to say this game is one of the best racing games ive played in a while. I enjoyed it more than the last mario kart game as well. The graphics are smooth and colorful. Controls are pretty good but not perfect. Its a lot of fun racing with your fav. sonic characters and shooting/dropping items to wreck them. I actually spent a fair amount of time with this game playing through the various modes and challenges, the challenges were a blast also. Many diffrent challenges requiring diffrent characters and racing styles kept the game frest for me. All in all great racing game! Go Sonic Go!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You like Mario Kart, play this.

posted by Alex1939 (NASHVILLE, TN) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

It's fun. Like mario kart. Good for all ages. Fun sega references for those that recognize. Great racing, easy to learn, easy unlocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by earleytech (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Sonic & Sega Al l Stars Racing is an amazing game! We downloaded the trial version from the PlayStation Store, then rented it from Gamefly, and will most likely be buying it soon. The graphics are excellent, the game itself has so many things to do. This isn't your typical racing game... it is so much more. I would recommend this to anyone, even those who are not into racing games. You won't be disappointed at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I didnt like the game

posted by Miamigflow (MIAMI, FL) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The whole game had annoying music in the background. This game is only recommended for small kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game read this reveiw please.

posted by novem22 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

A great title to try a good game even if u dont like racing just give it a try if you dont like it just send it back very good game loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse