Rent Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing for Wii
view large frontback

Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, PS3
GF Rating
7.1

949 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

A cool Racing Game

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay so if you like Mario Kart then you will like this game as well. It is very similar to Mario Kart, with a few great differences. I do not want to spoil anything for you, but it is a great game. Lots of fun characters with fun interesting cars, and tracks. Not a game for the young, but a challenge for any intermediate racing fan. However, the reason I do not give this a perfect score is that there is a boredom factor. Once you bet so many races in the beginning level, you go on to race on the same tracks in the Advanced and Expert levels. So the mystery is lost at that point, but other than that, this is a great game, and I definitely recommend you rent it and try it out. If you love to drive you will love this game. Oh and just a hint, if you do not have a Wii Wheel, get one before you rent this game. It is not impossible to play without a Wii Wheel, but it is so much cooler and easier to play with one. It may chance your whole outlook on this game. Enjoy the ride.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Game!

posted by Sophine (DENVER, CO) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although it's thought to be a Mario Kart clone, I assure you it's not.

Control is great, characters and music are fun, and I suggest you check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A solid game

posted by kuchiyose (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sonic & SEGA Allstars Racing is a pretty good game. But it will always be compared to MarioKart Wii which is better than this. The 2 have similar features but in my opinion, Sonic Racing has more well designed stages.

The relies more on speed than anything, so even getting great items during a race won't guarantee a victory.

This is a good game that many are overlooking and the wi-fi works just as good as MarioKart. Sonic & Sega Allstars Racing is a good alternative to the Nintendo racer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good runner up to Mario Kart

posted by ALKATRAZZ (PITTSBURGH, PA) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was not a bad game but in my opinion I prefer the motion steering in Mario Kart Wii over this. I do have to say that I like the tracks alot better in this than Mario Kart series as there are alot more extreme moments. The ones with alot of jumps remind me of the game Wipeout. The weapons are similar to Mario Kart but some with a few extras. The Allstar Mode item is a really good way for players who are not too good at the game to have a fighting chance of winning against more experienced players. The only down side to allstar mode is that you have to be doing pretty bad to get it usually.

All in all I would reccomend this game to action cart racer fans and gamers who enjoy a good fast paced racing game with fun weapons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic on wheels... wait what?

posted by SuperFish (YPSILANTI, MI) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Sega has really put Sonic through a lot. From turning into a Werehog to participating in the Olympics, Sonic has experience both the good and the bad that Sega can offer. In his newest game Sonic takes his friends and fellow Sega characters to a different approach. Racing!

In Sonic and Sega All-Star Racing, you can choose from many different Sonic and Sega characters and take them for a ride. Each character has it's own vehicle and special power up. From playing as Sonic in his cool blue car, no surprise there, to taking Shadow's motorcycle for a spin you will see and feel a difference in each character's performance on the track, both speed and maneuverable. Want to play as Opa-Opa? Well you are in luck.Want to see Tails launch an actual tornado, not the plane, at your foes? Not a problem. Want to see Shadow's ultimate power as he launches Chaos Spear? It is all in here.

There are many different unlockable characters and tracks which you can purchase with the amount of mileage you receive after each race. Who are they? Well you will need to play the game to find out.

As far as the controls go, it is okay. The controls on the motion sensor are not as responsive as Mario Kart Wii or other games made by Nintendo. Players will need a little more patience when trying to get use to the controls. But once you get the hang of it, you will find it easier.

I found that the biggest problem with this game is not really the controls but actually how similar it is to Mario Kart Wii. In some ways, Sonic and Sega All-Star Racing is a step down from Mario Kart Wii. You can't choose different vehicles for each character like in Mario Kart Wii.All-Star's tracks are a bit more linear than Mario Kart's tracks.

If you haven't played Mario Kart Wii or don't have a wii, then you will find this game more enjoyable than those of us who have played Mario Kart. Overall, All-Star is a fun game to play with friend online and offline. READY! SET! GO AND PLAY SONIC AND SEGA ALL-STAR RACING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All Star Talent On Display

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I’m one guy who’s really getting tired of seeing the same characters over and over and over again (why DO they have to put that plumber in almost every great Wii game).
But if the games are as good as Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing, then I would not mind as much. This game is a racing game with several characters from the Sonic universe and other Sega games like Super Monkey Ball and Billy Hatcher.
You’ve got several options to pick from.
First, you can go single player mode and take on the Grand Prix. There are three classes (Beginner, Advanced, Expert), each class having six cups, and each cup has four races. Each cup is a point tournament, and if you get enough points to put your character in the top three (of eight), then you unlock the next cup. But beware; the Beginner Cup may be a walk in the park, but the other two are much more difficult.
You can practice on some courses - but some you have to buy with SEGA miles you accumulate with races.
Or you can take on missions - there are several dozen to get through, and it will take a while (you have to complete them three at a time). These missions range from hitting targets to racing other character(s) to performing tricks.
Then there’s the multiplayer mode where you can race against other players through a track, or battle it out to gather items (Chao, emeralds, spots on the course).
Okay, okay, I hear you; this game looks like many other racing games (it has similar weapons, power ups and drifting as found in Mario Kart). But this is exactly what many players are looking for in a Wii racing game.
What I didn’t like is I had to buy some tracks in order to play them multiplayer or in Time Trial mode. All tracks should be open for practice and multiplayer use.
And sometimes the AI gets a really cheap win by hitting me with a powerful attack just before the finish line.
Despite all that, Sonic and Sega All Star Racing is one of the best racing games I’ve played on the Wii. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome! I give it 5 stars!

posted by Bagel1011 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing my favorite characters are Shadow And Sonic. Buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

should be rated E10

posted by WreyzerX (ORANGE, NJ) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Got this one because my 5 yr old loves Sonic and he plays Mario Kart ALL THE TIME but this game... it's no Mario Kart replacement. This maybe decent for an older child but the drift mechanics are just a little too complexed.

My son played it twice then went back to Mario and never played it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really fun racing!

posted by speedyguy (ELMHURST, IL) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You can be Sonic and go really fast!!!! You can be your mii character and race! It's SOOO COOOOOOOOL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More for the kiddies

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) May 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This one is really more for the kids, especially if you've already played Mario Kart. Its far less challenging and has a lot less going on. For the kids I think its a lot more playable as there is a much larger margin for error. If the older crowd is looking for a game to really get in to this unfortunately isn't it. Biggest flaw is that if you play as your Mii, other than in the vehicle yourself you're always pictured as a generic avatar and you can only see your standings by 1P or 2P which got a little annoying. The power ups are fun, vehicles as well, but give this one a try for the kids or some family fun time and not an experience in race gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better then mario kart

posted by NickyJoG1 (SAN JACINTO, CA) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game its so fun. mario kart is cool too but i love this game i think its worth the money to buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not too bad of a racing game

posted by JenLuvsWii (KNIPPA, TX) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not too bad. It is also,sadly,not that great. The tracks are pretty good,the racers are ok. It is more fun to play alone than with a friend or friends though. 1 player can play the grand prix to race four different tracks to get the cup. However,unlike Mario Kart, multiplayer can only race one track at a time against one another. Multiplayer also has Item battles...meaning you see who can collect more items on some tracks. It is not anywhere near as fun as Mario Kart. While racing there is an anouncer who voices over the race. You can get a special power up,but only if you are last or close to last in the race. The power ups are ok but not too great. Also,I have to mention the online play. First of all,unlike Mario Kart online,once you are in a room,you don't get to vote for what tracks you want to race. It just picks for you and it picks only the first four tracks that you race in the game. Also,if there aren't that many people in the room to play,it puts in computer controlled characters agains you. Also not as competitive feeling as Mario Kart online. Bottom line is this: they got it right with Mario Kart and anything else will never compare and will be just a cheap copy,no matter what characters are in it. Unless they come out with another Mario Kart,with newer tracks and keep the wonderful online play that it has.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this game isnt worth buying.

posted by lander29 (KEOKUK, IA) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game was okay but it didnt keep me interested enough to wanna keep playing. i say "worth renting but wouldn't buy it".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mario Kart copycat

posted by j0rdan (MONTCLAIR, CA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

It's just like mario kart with SEGA characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sonically dissapointed

posted by friedbacon (WAKEFIELD, MA) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

very sad story actually, you see there once was a really fast speed demon blue hedge hog named sonic. he was just the when he first popped out from his hole. he made tons of kids around the world so very happy and entertained. then he was thrown into more and more games one epic fail video game after another. then sega really thought hey why not dig the hole deeper and place sonic and all his sega buddies in a mario race cart type game. really its simply a re-skin of the mario cart but with an airplane "slow as and hard to handle" and a motorcycle"the one cool vehicle in the game" so unless you really like slow as sh it bi planes and semi cool motorcycles to race around the track. please hold off on renting or even going any where near this piece of sh it attempt at a mario cart remake.

did this in a rush sorry...

anthony.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best racing game

posted by anabernice (NEWARK, DE) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

This game is just like Mario Kart but way better.U guys are awesome because you put this game on Gamefly.thx

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sonic and sega all stars racing game

posted by anne36 (OMAHA, NE) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this was a really great game to play and I didnt even know you could play it with other people thru wifi around the world and I thought that was great! Im thinking of buying this game next month if its for sale!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's no Mario Kart

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Apr 22, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

Maybe it's just because I'm a Nintendo fanboy and not a Sega fanboy, but I found "Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing" to be rather on the bland side. Oh, it was enjoyable enough for a little while, but it doesn't have the longevity and staying power of a Mario Kart game, nor is it as wildly fun or addictive. Strictly on its own merits, it's a reasonably solid game, though the items are boring and many of the courses are unremarkable (while the Super Monkey Ball courses are just plain annoying). Additionally, there's a little too much Sonic representation here. Yes, yes, I know the Sonic franchise is one of Sega's biggest money-makers (though heaven knows why), but was it really all that necessary to include Shadow, or Big the Cat?

Overall, it's a serviceable mascot racer, and probably better than most, but it doesn't come anywhere close to touching the glory of the Mario Kart series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

...Pretty good with online play..!

posted by Sanctuary (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

...I got this game so that I could play online with my daughter. This is one of the few Wii games that allows that, and it is pretty fun.. I hate to admit that Mariocart is still superior, but this is an O.K. substitute...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kinda like mario kart

posted by jmobile (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

If your a a sonic fan like me you probably were like "well it was okay." Also The Gf rating on this game was higher than sonic and the black night. I really don't understand that, but I'm a sonic fan so I usually don't like weird sonic games like this. Its basically Mario cart with Sega characters. There is no plot, You can only get your characters final power up(such as if you were sonic you could turn into super sonic) if your in last place which i found kinda dumb, and there were only six sonic characters. I get that its sonic and SEGA, but I was hoping for more sonic characters. There's really no motivation to race. You might rent this if you have like 3 friends over, but other than that I find no reason to get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice Racing Game

posted by shadowfox4444 (NEWARK, NJ) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Pretty good game. Many similarities to Mario Kart especially as far as the weapons. Overall great game but the driving is slightly different. You need to use the 1 and 2 buttons as oppose to the 2 and B button as you would on Mario Kart on manual. Another problem is the drifting. You can actually run out of drift which can be a big problem in tight turns.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pj

posted by pjr (NAPLES, FL) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

if you like mario kart or racing you will LOVE this game its bacicly like mario kart and cars 2 but it has characters like sonic, eggman, amy, aiai and other characters from different games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by whitmack (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

i think this game is better than mario kart on the wii. more items to choose. i like that you can buy boards/music etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ok a good game but...

posted by rugtugba (NORTH HILLS, CA) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

well here is my review ..... the game sonic and sega all stars racig is good but there are some kinks you get bored with it easily .... it fells like accual racing cars instead of little go karts...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by spoore04 (MOUNT AYR, IA) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Bad game. Bad graphics. Nothing compared to wii mariokart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »