Rent Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing with Banjo-Kazooie for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing with Banjo-Kazooie

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
7.5

1711 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sega All Star Smash

posted by Wolfmach (EPHRATA, PA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

25 out of 27 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I recently got this little gem mostly for my wife, who is a huge Mario Kart fan. The character selection is fantastic (although a little confusing in terms of real difference). The selection of maps and tracks, as well as the Challenge Mode (64 levels) was a great surprise. The aspect of the Turbo boost made the game seem much faster than Mario. The challenge of some of the levels gave the game an incredible balance. I'm talking jungles and pirate ships here.

Another aspect that to me outshone the Mario Kart Cadre were the graphics. I am not usually a visual monger, but this game was beautiful.

One drawback was the lack of customization to the racers, especially with the wonderful addition of an Avatar car (360 Avatar, not the movie) that I found kind of unpleasant looking. The multi-player interface I found to be a little frustrating, but that could have been just the nature of people sharing their races. The true taste of any great game in our house has always been measured by the amount of expletives my wife and I let fly. An excellent game with good replay value that for me is rare. Granted racing game shave that kind of inherently, but hey, I got bored with Mario personally.

Great game to play, great game to own. I would like to see some additional downloads of other characters. Sega has a rich tapestry that they adequately represented. I loved Shenmue on the bike crossed with AiAi the Monkey. Nice juxtaposition of graphic styles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sonic Beats Mario

posted by TWSSOWNZU (LITTLEROCK, CA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing this game for what would seem like no time at all was actually 13 hours (not all at once) but I just had a hard time putting the remote down.

The game presents you with 22 characters to chose from. It may seem like a little but each character is so unique that it will keep the races fresh. Every Character has a special power that gives them an edge over the others. Along 24 different and diverse tracks to race on, this game (like it did me) will have you coming back to it whether it is trying to beat the time trails and setting new personal records on leader boards against other players, completing the 64 missions, or just simply racing. This game offers you a fun way to do so with your favorite Sega character, SONIC.

Lets talk about how the game actually plays rather than what it has. The controls are simple, you boost, you hit people with items and you race. However it plays out so smoothly that you forget about everything and just enjoy it. That is not to say that the game has its downsides. There will be times when you are drifting and a simple nudge will sending you spinning, a little annoyance but its there. But there isn't much to dislike about it. Now I hope my review was somewhat helpful to make the chose to get the game or not. Game is plain fun. 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

david

posted by dhope (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

love this game great for kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent!

posted by DocGeorge (PALMETTO, FL) Aug 28, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first saw Sonic and Sega All Star Racing I was excited and skeptical. Excited to finally having a cart racer on the 360, but skeptical about the Sonic and Sega in the title.
Over the last few years Sega has turned out some less then admirable games featuring their iconic star. Fortunately for me and many others it seems like they took their heads out of their backsides and put out a very good cart racer.

Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing doesn’t shy away from Mario Kart instead it took what Mario Kart does well and built on that formula. Even the power ups one gets as they race around the track have direct similarities to Mario Kart. The red homing shell is replaced by red homing rockets, the green shells are green boxing gloves even the mushroom speed bursts are replaced by Sonic shoes.

The player is also given a great deal of variety with 20 playable racers and 24 tracks (21 and 25 with the new DLC). Besides the variety of players and tracks there are multiple game modes. In single player you have the typical Grand Prix in which the racer enters into the racing circuit winning a series of races to complete the cups. There is mission mode where the player must complete challenges or specific tasks: one example is drifting as much as possible around a track in a minute’s time. Earning an “A” Rating or higher will unlock the next mission. They are great fun when you are not up to entering into a full race.

The multiplayer is a joy and also disappoints. There are a plethora of options and game modes to choose from in the multiplayer. You have racing which includes 4 person split screen and competing over live. There are also several battle modes: Regular “death match” battle mode where you compete against your opponent and try to knock them out using the games power ups and then there are King of the Hill, Diamond Grab, and a twist on the racing called knockout.

In the End is Mario Kart with better Tracks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun with friends.

posted by AgentMerq (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game if you have a few friends around and want to laugh as you own them in mario-kart style racing!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Kart on steroids

posted by hazeee777 (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Seems like everything Mario does, Sonic and company just have to come back and do it better.

This game is awesome. The controls are simple enough to play very well right off the bat (especially if you've played a decent amount of Mario Kart) and the Missions play is just simply awesome.

Rent or buy this! Don't forget to maybe drop some acid to help the effect!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Racing Game

posted by Gamerg1rl (SOLEDAD, CA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

If u like Mario kart or Madagascar Kartz ur gonna love this game cause theres even more racers u can pick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If you like Mario Kart, you'll like this.

posted by Piratespee (HOOD RIVER, OR) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Nice to have a title like this for the Xbox360. Nice graphics enjoyable play, but maybe a bit more forgettable. I enjoyed playing it with my wife, who finds most games on the Xbox to be out of her interest range.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So close to "Mario Kart"...

posted by Beweeg (ROCHESTER, NY) Aug 25, 2010

Member since May 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you've played Mario Kart you've played a better version of this game. With only a few differences (not for the better) this game emulates the Mario Kart formula exactly.

The big issues stem from some poor level design. You'll find a lot more cliffs and jumps that can easily lead to you falling off. Even scenes where you're meant to hit speedstrips before a jump you'll find yourself going so fast you actually overshoot the jumps and fall off the track. And more often that not you'll end up battling with a ledge as you're stuck between a "on the track, off the track" status and just sit in one place wasting time.

Ultimately I sent this game back after I unlocked all of the content. Despite the shorcomings this game was some fun. What I'm really hoping for now is a "Sonic Vs Mario Kart" game...only it be done by Nintendo :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sonic and sega all stars racing

posted by jdfunkho (DUBLIN, VA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game is fun for people how like mario kart or diddy kong racing. But for me this game lacks excitmement and action.Whats the point of banjo and kazooy pointless game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cheap Mario Kart knock off, I rly wanted 2 like :(

posted by fnf101 (HINTON, WV) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

My main problem with this game is simple: Too many distracting things on the screen, that will confuse you of where the track is. I've ran into walls many times thinking this is where I go next, or simply the arrows confused me. The game developers seemed to reuse the Casino type tracks (and other tracks) just a bit too much. There is maybe 7-8 original tracks, out of the 20 or so they have. The Casino type tracks are used at least in 4 different areas. Reusing tracks wouldn't be a big deal to me, if it wasn't done so much in this game :(
The difficulty is insane, trying it on anything but Beginner is a lot like gambling. On Advanced you might win once or twice by luck, but 3 or 4 is astronomically very unlikely. There is no way I'm going to play it on the hardest difficulty :|
The items/weapons are pretty much straight from Mario Karts. Sprint Shoes = Turbo boost, 3 Sprint Shoes = 3 Turbos, punch glove = green turtle shell, homing missile = red shell, land mine = banana, and also your character has a special move (kind of like a star in Mario Kart).
Other than the Sonic characters the rest of them are no name characters you probably have never heard of or cared for. I liked
AiAi, Amigo, Ulala, Zombie guy, and Banjo and Kazooie, the rest I didn't care for or about. Where in the heck was ToeJam and Earl?! Why weren't they there?
You earn Sega miles for finishing races/missions/cups. Sega miles don't make sense :( You can only earn them if you win (then WHY call them miles?! what about points? credits? etc...). Which you can spend on new Characters (which suck), CASINO TRACKS, or Songs.
IMO: The game is too generic. This game would have been much better if the tracks didn't suck so bad. They were too distracting/badly designed. At least it was better than that Donkey Kong Barrel Blast game :( poor DK :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this is for everybody

posted by trejos020285 (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this game is fun for all ages its fun and easy but if u are a gamer trying to get the achievements this is the game its so easy to get them but over all i give this game a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Time waster

posted by Taurus99a (CARNEGIE, PA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

This game is a festering waste of time and energy. Do not even get this if you are trying for the achivements. This game isn't worth it for that. They take too long to unlock, there are too many of them, a few are unexplicably too difficult for a childrens game, and many of them are glitched. Life is far too short to spend it on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Move over, slow-mos!

posted by Jukafah (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Sonic must go fast!

If you like Mario Kart, Sonic, or in general dig arcade racing games, then you need to check this game out. The day has come where we can enjoy Sonic the Hedgehog and friends in scenarios that are very similar to Mario Kart. I am now a fan of both games, and I hope Sonic racing gets just as many sequels. Graphics are great, awesome and memorable characters, and very pleasing, and somewhat surprising, unlockables!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun game

posted by kraftymama38 (CLEVELAND, TX) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

If you like to play the game mario kart you will love this game its the same.I played this with my 6 year old it was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its okay

posted by sportsoldier99 (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

the game is not me personally but if anyone likes a sonic and all these SEGA people racing then i would recomend this for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good family game!

posted by Jerreck (PRESCOTT, AZ) May 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

My wife likes these kart games and she likes sonic. This was a win for us, its fun and easy to play.

Works just like Mario Kart, but instead of unlocking karts and people you have to buy them. Makes it a little more interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Fun!

posted by Foxxy_Kyle (DENVER, NC) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is really fun! I had a blast on everything I did in this game excluding the missions. The missions Really get boring and are the same thing over and over again, only a couple of them really got my attention. The time challenges are really fun and I had a blast trying to beat the SEGA employees times. If your a fan of Mario Kart, or any other kart racer game you'll really love this game. Even if your not a fan of Sonic youll really enjoy this because of the variety of characters to choose from. I recommend buying this game over renting it but thats just me. The achievement list is fairly good but theres a lot of grinding involved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very bad

posted by Ichi (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

rented for my mom to play because controls were easy to learn,we hated it no matter how far ahead the a.i. was right behind you with the catch up option off. the games tracks were a joke,it was a very bad rip off of mario cart and a bad one at that. no reason to play your not rewarded with anything and the only thing to do is win the race to get money to unlock some more racers how lame. graphics were not very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mario Kart wannabe doesn't live up to expectations

posted by Nysguy (DETROIT, MI) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2006

After playing this game both in single player and online, this game is a disappointment. Its fun at first, but soon you realize that each race kinda feels like the last. There are plenty or racers to choose from, but they don't feel to different from each other. Some handle differently and others are a bit faster, while others accelerate faster, but not much difference. The main difference between the racers is their "All-Star" move which allows a racer to charge up from behind and catch up. This is where my problem is, this "All-Star" item you sometimes get is inconsistent. Usually the person in last place gets it, but I have gotten it while in 4th place far too often, yet while I'm in dead last, my "All-Star" move is nowhere to be found. And I have yet to receive one online at all!

While I'm on the subject of online play, its really lacking. Finding a match sucks, it takes about a minute to find a match at all, which is usually 2 or 3 matches (really out of the whole world I can only find a few games online?) then 9 times out of 10 after trying to join a game, it will say match no longer in session, very frustrating.

The tracks leave little to be desired. Some are fun, yet others are so confusing to navigate that you will find yourself slamming into walls or driving the wrong way. The items are standard and blatant Mario Kart ripoffs (how did I know I could fire behind me by holding down, didn't even read the instructions on that) but could be better. A better game like this would be blur, I recommend that over this big time.

Its an OK game, but Mario Kart it isn't, even though it is trying to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sonic

posted by AwesomeUmm (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I love it. I am addicted to this game. I really love the drifting. I'm hooked! I also have a Wii but I like playing on the Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Sonic racing we have been waiting for.

posted by Circus15 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Sonic and the Sega All Star Racing has been a very underrated and entertaining game to have for the Xbox 360. It kind of looks like a rip-off of the Mario Cart Franchise, the difference is when you drift you can actually charge your car to pass all the other racers. Besides that, the game also has missions for you to accomplish. From beating certain racers, Elimination rounds, how long can you drift while trying to beat the clock, small mini cups, collect as many rings as possible, blasting at different targets, and trying to extend your time. Still this Sonic is very entertaining to play and pick up, check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what a wonderful game to play

posted by blueoakley (ORANGE, CA) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2004

This game brought back so many fun memories for me, of playing Mario-Kart back in the old SNES days, that this game was able to perfectly bring back. The same 'fun' features that made it such a joy are back and I can't say enough good things about this experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Kart for the Xbox and PS3

posted by blumbk (HENRICO, VA) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

If you haven't played Mario Kart yet, This one is evenly matched. It has a load of Famous Sonic and Other Sega Characters, a nice variety of Track and Cars to chose from, Rarely any glitches, Motorbikes, Trick Jumps,Challenges, and Secret Pathways Make you want to play this game even more! If you love Mario Kart, Or don't feel like getting a Nintendo System, but you have a Xbox360 Or PS3, This is THE Racing Game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sonic and sega

posted by BrokenYoez (WEST HILLS, CA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Sonic and Sega is a solid kart racers with all the basics taken care of, but with that in mind its no Mario kart. If you have never played a kart racer before this should give you hours of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »