Rent Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed for Wii U
view large frontback

Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS, PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita
GF Rating
7.7

278 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Giving Mario Kart a real run for it's money!

posted by Azikira (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the first Wii U game I rented, and let me tell you it's fantastic. Less then $40 for a game of this quality is a steal, especially considering how much content it has!

The graphics look fairly crisp and colorful, and the framerate doesn't usually suffer from the amount of stuff going on at any given time. You can play the entire game on the Wii U gamepad by giving it a downward swipe, and the game runs just as great as on TV. While playing on the gamepad, the graphics are a bit fuzzy, but not to the point where it looks bad.

The game plays very responsively and even has motion controls for those feeling brave enough to try them. The items, while not as memorable as those from the original, work well and can keep races neck-and-neck. While people may think the Flying and Boating mechanics scream "Mario Kart 7", I can assure you they are more then just asthetic. They actually handle very differently and many tracks utilize this feature, plus the tracks in this game are just stunning so you will never get bored!

The best part about the Wii U version is the inclusion of 5 players! One person plays on the gamepad while 4 others take the TV. This is a great addition for larger families or people with lots of friends.

There is currently ONE issue with the Wii U version of the game at the time of writing, and a patch is currently being made for it, but during the Boost events there are no checkpoints and thus are completely unbeatable. I know, I boosted through an entire lap without seeing a single checkpoint. All you have to do is fail the event 3 times on Easy mode and skip the event. It's unfortunate especially for completionists but do not worry, the patch should be live before the new year.

Anyone looking for a fun racing/multiplayer game for their shiny new console should look no further then Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Racing that’s just plain fun

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For those of you thinking that you can change your vehicle at will (from plane to auto to boat), you’re in for a disappointment.
Sonic and All Starts Racing Transformed forces you to take a particular form of transport – and at certain points through the track, transforms you into another form of transport.
But that’s not to say this game’s bad. Far from it. It still has the same tight controls that the predecessor had. And in this version, you can have up to five players racing against each other at the same time.
And this game has the same type of weapons the past ones have – but the All Star mode is toned down far too much. When you activate the All Star Mode the effect is the same for all characters - your character just flies the plane at a faster speed for a short period of time.
And another thing that’s different in this game is how tracks are unlocked. In the last version, you use the Sega Miles to buy characters and tracks. In this version, you collect medals from finishing first, second or third, and use those to unlock the characters and tracks. It’s a much tougher way to go, but it may give players more satisfaction for getting that new character or track. There are up to 21 tracks in the game, and up to 24 racers to choose from.
Also, this game has some new modes the other one didn’t. There’s one mode where you have to weave your way through traffic, there’s one where you try to blow up a tank while avoiding its attacks. And there’s one where you have to do drift turns to keep a clock from hitting zero.
Some of the new modes are a lot of fun, but some are not – I really didn’t go for the boost mode where you have to constantly find boost markers to stop a timer from going down to zero.
Still, Sonic and All Stars Racing Transformed is a solid racer – and a worthy successor to Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing. BUY IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun game

posted by jdsampsonite (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best kart racing games out there. There is tons of variety in the levels, lots of secret paths to explore, and the game has a great sense of speed. You can have up to 5 players playing at any time on the game. There is a party mode that you can play some games against the other people on the screen. Similar to a Nintendoland game. The only down side to this game is that sometimes in the boat and airplane sections of the races you can get confused about where you are actually supposed to go. Very fun game and I think I am actually going to download it now onto my wii u. The game is at a great price as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sonic All Stars Racing Transformed

posted by henrydt8 (WINGATE, IN) Jan 15, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

The game would not start. I only got it to play 1 time. It would get to the title screen then would just freeze. I would really like to rent this game again, but not if the copy I received is the only one you have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super Glitchy

posted by frostymm (SEVERN, MD) Dec 27, 2013

Member since Aug 2005

Invisible walls, losing all momentum randomly, projectiles veering off course, getting trapped in mid air, all sorts of p00p.

Honestly the invisible walls and momentum loss ruin the entire game, once I tried to hit a jump for a shortcut but the game insisted that the ramp for the jump contained a wall, therefore stealing all of my speed and planting me in the mid-section of the jump itself. Afterward I was stuck till I quit the game.

I've heard that most of these problems are specific to the Wii-U version and it's possible they've patched some of it by now but you should really just avoid the frustration and get it for the PC if you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

mario kart mockup

posted by toadstinks (ARLINGTON, VA) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this is a terrible game don't get it Mario kart 7 or wii are much better lets hope mkU dosnt suck like 'sonic kart'

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its alright

posted by danih1607 (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

We had fun playing but I'm glad I only rented it. Wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by jaycyn91 (LOCH SHELDRAKE, NY) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

good games controls easily learned

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not no Mario Kart but still really awesome

posted by mariosonic (ACME, PA) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game is really cool. With 20+ racers this game is a really good racing game in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Sonic Game!

posted by Srpg2ishere (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

If you are a fan of Sonic, I definitely reccomend this. It has awesome graphics that are in HD, the soundtrack is AMAZING, and It is has multiplayer modes that are added to the Wii U version. It also has extra features EXCLUSIVE to the Wii U version such as tilting the GamePad back and using it as a rear view mirror, tracking EVERYONE'S weapons, and off screen tv play, adding a FIFTH player to the race, and you can play as your MII as an extra character!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but not as good as other platforms

posted by zcmullenax (SPRINGVILLE, UT) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

My family and I really enjoyed this game, but there was one terrible drawback. One player gets to use the WiiU gamepad while the others have to use the motion controls of the WiiMotes. It gives the gamepad user a significant advantage. Also, the player using the gamepad is forced to use the screen on the gamepad. Sometimes it's nice, but I'd rather have the option to choose whether it shows on the TV or the gamepad. Overall, you'll enjoy it, but if you have other systems I recommend that route.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best CART STYLE Racing

posted by bobsmite (DURHAM, CA) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I have never reviewed a game before, but this game is so much fun to play (and even just watch other people play.) There are a ton of tracks, that make you feel like you're riding a ride at Disneyland. A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic All Stars Racing Transfprmed

posted by dkortea (NAPLES, FL) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

Love it, get graphics, great fun for all skill levels.

But the game you sent me was damamged I went out an bought my own copy,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It ain't no Mario Kart, but is that a bad thing?

posted by Modifi (SAN PEDRO, CA) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

If you came looking for Mario Kart then you came to the wrong place. I can see this being fun for some people but not for me. I don't like racing games with the exception of Mario Kart games.
This game is all Arcade, it's not a sim like DIRT but that's not to say people who enjoyed those game wouldn't like this one. Graphically this game delivers with many vibrant colors but it also has a lot of motion blur which is something that kills a game for me. When I play a fast paced racing game i want to see things 150 feet in front of me but the blur prevents me from really focusing on anything 30 feet in front of my character. The game also feels like it is barley getting passed 30 fps, which makes the blur even more unbearable. If you came only hoping for Mario Kart then you won't get what you expected, It does have items and such but it doesn't catch the feel that the Mario Kart games have. If you want something slightly different with loads of content than this game could be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No way you can compare this game to Mario Kart

posted by JerJerJer (COLUMBUS, IN) Dec 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

The graphics are great if not awesome however game control is simply unrealistic. If you are an avid gamer who grew up on the joystick then maybe you wii do ok. Unfortunately some of us prefer just normal driving mechanics and this game fails to deliver. You are forced to use the WiiU Gamepad if playing solitary, not a bright idea SEGA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sonic the hedgehog

posted by marc123 (RIDGEFIELD PARK, NJ) Nov 28, 2012

Member since May 2010

i dont like this game because sonic can run what is the purpose of the karts for him

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »