Rent Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed for PS3
view large frontback

Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

362 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pleasantly Surprised

posted by vangogh929 (TEMPE, AZ) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm writing this review because I feel like I have to do my part to get this game out into more people's hands, because it is a great game.

If you want a racing game that doesn't just try and match Mario Kart, but goes beyond what Mario Kart does, then this is your game.

The handling is smooth. The game is CHALLENGING. The tracks are beautiful and creative. The weapons system is intuitive.

If you like Kart racing, do yourself a favor, pass by Little Big Planet Karting 2 and just get this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it is a exllent game

posted by jordan44jordan (GREENVILLE, NC) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is good for the transformig and stuff but it can be a little bad at times its still a good game and even all stars i know there are in plane mode but its a good game i give this one a 10/10 thank you SEGA@ for giveing sonic a 3rd game of racing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lacking some of the charm of the original

posted by InfamousLion (EVERETT, WA) Nov 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The original All-Stars was a very enjoyable (albeit deriative of Mario Kart) cart racing experience, and was the title that got my son into gaming. The sequel while having the right intentions, is a bit of a miss in some areas. First off, the career mode is more focused on mini game style challenges then actual races, and the new boat and flying segments are abit forced. Don't get me wrong they defiitely switch things up, but they don't control as smoothly and too many invisible barriers (especially while flying) tend to destroy the illusion of freedom the extra modes would entail. Plus, it's a scripted thing when the tracks dictate, not an at will thing. I also dislike the layout for the world tour which branches out in all directions family tree style. It works, but far too cluttered for my taste. Visually in alot of ways I feel the original trumps this. The original was very colorful, fast, and detailed.This one looks decideably low-res at times, almost like it was designed for standard definition Wii standards. (Even though there is no Wii version go figure.)
All that said, this is still one of the better Kart games and definitely worth a rent to see how you feel about, especially for the 360 since there is so few options available. Now if only we could get Banjo and Kazooie in here again like the original....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by madog (EDEN, NC) Aug 10, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

I like the game very much I wish it was fore sale

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Racing Game! Watch Out Mario Kart!

posted by HarleysBatman (LA PUENTE, CA) Dec 13, 2013

Member since May 2013

Rented this for my girlfriend, who is a major Sonic fan and racing game fan; I am neither of these but I gotta say, this game is actually very fun and decent! I didn't think I would be playing at all, but I think I ended up playing more than my girlfriend did. I gave it an 8 out of 10, because there are a few annoyances and glitches but again, there's not so many that it makes the game either impossible to play or enjoy...

The Good:

- The tracks are very unique and colorful. Most tracks I really enjoyed playing on!

- There is many characters to choose from; and even Wreck It Ralph is in the game!

- The replay value is very high in this game; you need to win stars to unlock characters or pathways to new events and lands and depending on what difficulty you set, you can receive up to 4 stars per event!

- The game is very addicting and is best played with friends!

- The game is enough of a challenge to let you know that it is possible to win and not enough to make you throw the controller down!

The Bad

- The A.I. can sometimes cheat on the higher difficulty settings! I had been in first place for most of the race, having no problem defending, and out of nowhere, an A.I. opponent would drive right past me, at amazing speed! Also, the A.I. can crash into you on some events, take no damage and ruin your groove, but you can't hit them at all in the same event, without taking some damage!

- The music is mostly generic or not very interesting. I turned it off.

- The sounds are a mixed bag. The effects of the cars and weapons are done nicely but some of the lines some characters use are either super generic or just out of place. For instance, Tails will sometimes say, "It's a race to the end!", when he wins. REALLY? YOU DON'T SAY?! Shadow, a cocky little guy, will say things like, "No challenge at all!"---WHEN HE LOSES! Oddly, a girl named Pudding will say, "I feel so used!", and makes a drug reference when losing a race. Invisible audience is a

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally a Equalizer for Mario Kart

posted by raymondx (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Aug 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

I was very surprised how good this game was and how much i wanted to keep playing it to progress in the game. I've rented other racing cart games on gamefly the little big planet racing and modnation. Both were fun but where missing something and that was iconic characters, nostalgia, and fun race tracks. The only bad thing I could say about the game is the weapons could be a little better but they have so good original weapons as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been much better

posted by Valorz (DANVILLE, NH) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I really think that the game lacked many of the aspects that they had in the original. The changing cars just weren't as nice (boat was hard to steer) as they could have been, and just amounted to a bad gimmick idea. Unless you are REALLY set on renting this game, you'd be better off getting another game, in my opinion. (Not to mention some of the ever-annoying current voices. We're looking at you, Amy Rose.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Family Race Game Since MarioKart

posted by ilawson94 (EAST BETHANY, NY) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Let's face it, there is little in family race games anymore. Say what you want about Little Big Planet Karting and several other weak attempts, but there just hasn't been a game since MarioKart (I say since because modern updates frustrate me and I speak of the Nintendo 64 version) that has quite captured the perfect mix of fun, action, and an overall friendly atmosphere...that is until this game came along.

When I first heard of this I was pretty skeptical thinking it was just another relatively weak franchise crossover that wouldn't hold, but boy was I wrong. I am currently in the third or fourth career stage and I just have such a hard time putting this game down.

While I have had very little experience with Sega characters outside of Sonic the Hedgehog, I was nevertheless immediately taken in by the colorful list of characters as well as the amusing add ins of Wreck it Ralph and Danica Patrick (the latter of which actually plays very well).

Each character is given their own unique vehicle which is capable of transforming into boats and planes depending on track requirements. Each vehicle is given its own set of stats that can be modified with experience to suit the player's likes and skills. As well as classic racing, there are several varieties of bonus events included in the career mode to keep you on your toes, some of which proved to be rather challenging.

I would have given this game full points if not for just one thing (and this an extreme nitpick). Some characters stats are very slighted in some areas which makes for then to be very hard to use in events. My best characters have been Knuckles, Danica Patrick, and Shadow so far because of their balanced or well dispersed stats.

Whether this was purposeful to add some additional challenge I can't really say, but either way it is a very minor blemish on an otherwise great game that deserves a lot more attention than it has apparently received. Highly recommend this game to anyone of any age

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Riding with Sonic.

posted by paulinesh6 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game kept my grandson who is 6yrs old playing for hours. Not only did he enjoy the graphics he loved the different scenes. Way to go Sonic, RIDE ON!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool

posted by gamefanxxx (CLAY, MI) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I recently started playing this game, and I have got to say that the graphics are cool.

The game looks and feels like a sure hit, that I may consider buying to keep

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CAUGHT OFF GAURD

posted by Polly818 (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jan 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game is actually great, got for trophies, ended up really enjoying, the tracks are really good, looks like they really worked on it, great fun game, way better then i thought it would ever be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sonic all star racing transformed

posted by repo4ever (MOLINE, IL) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

game is alot more fun to play then the last one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sonic sega all stars racing transformed

posted by kennyrocks456 (MARION, IL) Nov 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

ricacha a new game whith wreck it wralph danica patrick and the on and only sonic id give this a 10 star

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sonic and All-Stars Racing: TRANSFORMED

posted by Naphtali357 (SPRINGFIELD GARDENS, NY) Nov 17, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I haven't even played the game yet and I give it a 10!!! And when I do play it, it will still be a 10!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »