Rent Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection for PS3
view large frontback

Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.3

2052 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

In my opinion a must play and a steal

posted by ebuttaz (ROCHESTER, NY) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

19 out of 19 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this game and I simply love it. I am 20 years old and I've played some but not all of these games as a kid, but this sure does bring me back. You can save any game you want at any point during the game. Also, the game selection is very good and diverse. I've been playing shinobi 3 and its amazing, another game that I have started that i've never played is kid chameleon. Its actually a pretty fun platformer. I think this collection is fun for all ages and in my opinion a must buy. This game has pretty strong replay value since its 49 games. Hope this review helps some people out.

E.J. Works

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tons of fun!,

posted by Nabosza (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best features on Nintendo's Wii console is the ability to download and play classic games...this is a feature missed by the X-Box 360 and PS3, I know, both systems have this feature, but not to the extent of the Wii...so, more often than not gamers of the latter two systems miss out on this nostalgia...that is, until, Sega released this no brainer of a title: Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection. Sega's Genesis Collection offers over 40 of Sega games from a more simpler era and makes them available with a simple-to-use interface on one disc. Most of the best games from Sega's last gen console are here

With Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection well-developed user interface, you can cycle through games easily and arrange them by your personal grades. And since the load times are almost non-existence, with three save slots for every game, hopping from game-to-game is a breeze. The game also allows multiplayer and offers achievement and trophy accomplishments for each game - making all games worth playing. All-in-all, Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection, offers the gamer a means to recapture those feelings of games long forgotten...couple this with the extraordinary line-up and a thirty dollar price tag...and you will know why this is one collection everyone should own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ahhhhh... sweet memories

posted by BlackSabre500 (SLIDELL, LA) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What a great game for retro fans like myself, bringing back the best of the best like Alter Beast,Sonic the hedgehog, and Golden Axe. It also brought back some games you might have played before which gave you a great chance to try them out.The trophies/achievements was easy to get i got a gold trophy easily ( i play on PS3), but i had a minor giltch, i was suppose to get an extra game,Shinobi Arcade,from getting a trophy from the Shinobi 3, i got it but i still didn't had Shinobi Arcade (weird, right?),but it was great to walk down memory lane.I would strongly recommend this game for all gamers alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for nostalgia, but nothing else.

posted by EvanCD (BERTHOUD, CO) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sonics Ultimate SEGA Genesis Collection was a game that I decided to rent and try out because it sounded pretty good, had nice reviews from critics, and I have never had a genesis myself (and for the easy trophies! Trophies and achievments forever!). What followed was fun, nostalgia, and frustration. Some games were easy, some were hard, some (like the Ecco games) confused me to death with extremely hard puzzles. Also, on some games, the control scheme was awkward, and clearly were meant for the genesis's controls and nothing else. So overall, a good game with average controls, updated graphics, lots of classics and games that were unknown at the time, but turned out to be pretty good. Also, as a pretty cool little game fact, in Altered Beast for the Genesis, one of the old ladies who was in the 'Where's the beef?' commercials for Wendys (I can't remember which), she voices the first boss' famous line "Welcome to your doom!" (Thanks for telling me that, GamesRadar!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Selection, At Least Worth a Rental

posted by FryHole (Anchorage, AK) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Step back into another time, when only the hardest of the hardcores had multiple game consoles, and when cross-platform titles were the exception rather than the rule. The games on this disc represent some of the biggest hits to grace Sega's 8-bit and 16-bit consoles, and most hold up well for people who would have actually owned and played these systems in their heyday. Forty games are available at the beginning, and nine more can be unlocked by completing Achievements (360) or earning Trophies (PS3).

However, it should be noted that the game list includes lots of sequels; Sonic and Co. account for seven games, plus you'll see Golden Axe I-III, Streets of Rage 1-3, and Phantasy Star I-IV (the original game must be unlocked by playing Sonic 2 for some reason; the other three are available by default). This is a refreshing change from some shoddier collections, where they couldn't secure the rights to game 1, but they include 2 and 3 anyway. On the other hand, if you didn't go for Streets of Rage, that's three games that you'll probably never play. Still, you get a lot of games for the price.

As far as I can tell, there haven't been any major graphical or gameplay changes to the games. This isn't Golden Axe HD, and it's not meant to be; it's the game you would have played twenty years ago. The only real difference is the feel of playing on a PlayStation controller rather than a 3- or 6-button Genesis controller. It's not a big deal, but it does confuse the ol' muscle memory a little.

If you owned a Sega Genesis or Master System, you'll probably remember most of these games fondly, and get hours of retro-gaming enjoyment from Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection. If you didn't, most of these games will be foreign to you, and you may find yourself playing a game once, exiting, scrolling through the game select screen a few more times, then ejecting the game and returning it. Sorry, but the nostalgia's half of the appeal to these games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First Game I Have Kept So Far

posted by TheJeremy (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a game that you can always come back to and play. If you are someone who likes retro gaming and remembers playing even a few of these games, you will be in for a treat. There is so much to explore. For the price and features of this package, I don't know how you could do much better unless the graphics or gameplay was somehow enhanced. 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game list too small

posted by johnsnat (DEL RIO, TX) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had a genesis back in the day and had a few games for the system. I find it hard to believe this list of games is the best the genesis had to offer. More games need to be added (some need removing) for this to be called the "ultimate collection".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simply Classic

posted by invincible (MONROVIA, IN) May 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really hate it when people rate games like this, and compare them to modern games. THEY ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO HAVE AWESOME GRAPHICS, PEOPLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nostalgia wears off quick

posted by jspinato8 (NAUGATUCK, CT) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked the premise of getting to play all the Genesis games I loved as a kid. Here's the problem: I'm so spoiled now playing next generation games that the nostalgia wears off within 10 minutes of playing these titles. They're fun to revisit momentarily but lack any desire to keep playing beyond that. I was bored after 2 levels with most of the games. Kudos to Sega, though, because for their time these 16 bit games have some really great graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as ultimate as the title implies.

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Mar 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Many compilations of these Genesis titles have been put out on the PS1 and PS2. Frankly, I can think of a dozen other titles that for some reason miss the list when they put the game together (Toe Jam and Earl? Sword of Vermilion? Or X-Men?) Who really cares about Golden Axe 3 or a lame spin off on the once very cool Game Gear. Anyone else tired of playing Altered Beast and Sonic The Hedgehog? I got nothing against these classic games mind you, but when you come out with an Ultimate collection, you expect a little more variation. And that's the key to these compilations. Do we give them the same old stuff as before or do we change things up a bit. Personally speaking, I would have chosen the latter as I can't really see this game being a top seller the way it is. I did like the inclusion of the Streets of Rage games, but time has not been kind to them. The games themselves look and play exactly as they did on the Genesis. When you meet certain criteria on some games, you unlock a bonus. Some bonuses include arcade versions and other classic games like Space Harrier. Lots of interviews with some of the people who made these games are also included in the bonus section. The main menu layout includes a brief history of the game and artwork. Really, only for die hard fans of these games. Otherwise, don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

to much sonic

posted by slopnasty (MURFREESBORO, TN) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Was pumped when I first saw this but wasn't happy with it. I think there should have been a lot more games to play. I know that they could have fit lot more on the disk. I wish I could say something good about it but I can't I would stay away from this one unless you are a hard core sonic fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nostalgia not enough to keep playing this game

posted by lxrenteria (DOWNEY, CA) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Got bored real quick after playing just a few games. Guess my taste in games has matured cus I use to love playing some of these titles. Worth renting but wouldn't buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

you've come a long way,baby

posted by fairgamer2 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This is my first gamefly rental and I have to say that I should of picked something else.These are games that were some of my favorites when I was little.Sonic,streets of rage, and vectorman to name a few,got plenty of play time.While some of these games are still decent fun,there were others that I just could not get into.

I could not get into phantasy star and the other RPG games that were on there.I couldn't even play them for more than 10 minutes without wanting to play or do something else.After hearing all this talk about how great those games were-and loving games such as final fantasy...I thought I was going to be in for a nice little treat.boy,was I wrong.Those games sucked.

Some games were also not as fun as I remembered.One game comes to mind when I say this-altered beast.The game is so boring and terrible that I think they should of just left it out of the compilation.

As I mentioned earlier,I loved the sonic games.The problem is-I already have a 'sonic mega collection' on the gamecube,so the sonic games were nothing exciting.There were also a couple games that I haven't played that,if I was little,I would of enjoyed more.Comix zone was good fun for a while and I should of played it in the genesis days.

All in all though-I think that I should of spent my time on something else.These games just aren't as fun as what they used to be.Don't get me wrong,I had fun playing them but I feel like I should of checked something else out on one of the lastest consoles.This would make a great rental if you have already rented/bought some of the triple A titles that are coming out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good one for us older gamers

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

Modern gamers may have no interest in this but many of these games were old favorites many of us remember losing quarters to and then went they to console we would call a friend over and just game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gamefly at its best

posted by HarEllis (MACOMB, MI) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

this game is amazing brings me back to the sega genesis days but gamefly has yet to ship the game here even though it left in december. stay away from gamefly cancel your membership its not worth it when you could borrow a game from a friend without him trying to extort and lie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

just get it out of your system

posted by pokergeek (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

this was the first game i chose to rent cause i thought i can always get a modern game at any time,and i used to loooooove these games back in the day. But i must say it was way too much sonic and titles i knew but never really played. afters a couple of hours the fun was over and i got bored wishing i rented something better,but i got that nastalgia feeling out of my system and it made my games choices better after that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Horrible game

posted by drewberry221 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Sonic's Ultimate Genesis is the worst game ever it never saves but the bosses were interesting but everything else horrible. I would't recommend this game to anyone because it can never saves and you will be ticked off when it doesn't save because you worked really hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not quite what I had in mind

posted by halfblind79 (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I used to love playing games on the Sega Genesis system (the old 16-bit? Or was it still 8-bit? I think it was 16-bit, and Nintendo was trying to catch up in the market race). Mortal Kombat was definitely among my favorites on this platform, and Sonic The Hedgehog was another favorite. But as I scrolled through the games, I found only a small number that I remember playing. In fact, I can count on one hand how many games were on this collection that I thought were worth playing at all. And there was no upscaling the games to full screen. The only settings to choose from were "Autosave" and "Audio Settings" which included volumes for SFX, music, and I think Voice.

I don't foresee picking up this game anytime soon. In fact, after only 20 minutes, I put the game collection back in its GameFly shipping package, and will be sending it back in. This was probably the 20 minutes of my life that I truly feel was wasted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Old games I never knew about but fell for.

posted by Drowzee7 (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2004

Most of these games, except for the sonics i have never even heard of. I LOVE this game so much. This game also probably took me like 2 days too get platinum on extremly easy trophies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

lame

posted by jmnewmier1 (STRATFORD, WI) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

for the vintage gamers this would be a fair choice but i though it was kinda lame would not rent again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection

posted by noodle37 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Good game! It has a cool save feature that lets you load/save during the games! So you can catch up to what game you were playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not good

posted by nicole39 (LA PORTE, IN) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

kinda sucked!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Times UP!

posted by aarontrigg (NAPPANEE, IN) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

graphix oudated game just gone in the timeline of gaming! Sorry!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An easy platinum

posted by ninonino (ITASCA, TX) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

It took me a total of less than 10 hours to platinum this game from start to finish. The only difficult part of this Collection was playing the Dr. Robotnik M.B.M. game. Getting the Yatta! trophy was very difficult, in my opinion. Overall, this game I give a 8/10. Great retro titles too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much better than I expected

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I put this on my list to have a quick, & simple disc that would only keep my attention for a few hours, so I could focus on a recent purchase that I had trouble putting down.... Unfortunately, this game did not help at all, since I regaled in the nostalgia of games I loved in the past, or at least games like ones I remember fondly. I never had a Sega system, so I just remember the arcade games, but playing Golden Axe again was so wonderful.

If you have no past for these games to strike the chord of nostalgia, stay away (you'll complain about easy & mind blowing difficulty of different games, and sub-Wii graphics). But, if you can appreciate the history that many of us grew up with, this disc will bring so many smiles to your face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse