Rent Solitaire & Mahjong for Wii
view large frontback

Solitaire & Mahjong

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.8

315 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustrating!!

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love both Mahjong and Soltaire but this game is really frustrating. The quality on Mahjong is horrible. It's hard to find tiles that look the same to remove them. I lost the first game. I tried soltaire but the first game I chose I couldn't figure out despite there being instructions on how to play it. The second one I played you're only able to move one card at a time. I'm used to playing soltaire on my husband's lap top where you can move multiple cards in one move. It didn't take long for me to decide to send it back to gamefly. I'll stick to the computer versions of these two games that we have on the lap top as I didn't find the Wii game fun at all. I was more frustrated than anything and it didn't hold my attention due to this. Don't bother to rent this game as it's not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A bad handling of "Solitaire and Mahjong"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Solitaire and Mahjong: Two cops out for justice in the mean streets of...
Sorry, my mind wandered off for a second - this game just doesn't get the blood pumping at all. But, Solitaire and Mahjong could've been a perfect game for those looking for a relaxing game. Unfortunately, this isn't that game.
Solitaire and Mahjong is exactly what the title suggests; you play one of several different solitaire games or pick a Mahjong layout from the dozens offered.
But the game's mechanics and graphics drive it down the wrong alley.
In the Solitaire part, you pick a game, then you manipulate the cards in order to meet the goal of that game.
But the controls are clunky; far too often it refused to let me make a legitimate move, making the game frustrating.
Also, it would've been nice to have a more clearly defined help button. Instead of a "?", we should get a "how to play" button instead.
And that's the better half of this compilation. Mahjong's worse.
In Mahjong, you select one layout and try to clear it by picking pairs of available tiles that match.
But the graphics are so bad that I have a very hard time telling what the tiles look like.
It should also tell us how many matches are available and for a reduction in points, tell us where an available match is if we get stuck.
There's a lot of content to be shown here, and the music's good, but Solitaire and Mahjong needs better graphics and more helpful features. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Annoying

posted by tim05753 (EAST MIDDLEBURY, VT) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Solitaire and mahjong are simple games - how could they screw them up?

1. Bad graphics. It's dificult to tell the mahjong tiles apart, so that's half of the games that are unplayable.
2. Touchy controls. Several times I've re-read the instructions for a solitaire game because it refused to make legitimate moves.
3. Annoying "features" that can't be shut off. I don't want my cursor to leave a sparkly trail so that I have to move it off to the side of the screen between moves.

Pretty much a waste of time, and not in a good way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

solitar/mahjong

posted by 49yroldgamer (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

solitair was confusing, too many to choose from rather it was kept simple mahjong was not bad but the controls were clunky half the time they did not respond well i like mahjong i play it on my computer and on my ipad when ever u move the controler the puzzle moved and drove us crazy. would not recommend buying this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

solitare mahjong

posted by tinyflower (TOMAHAWK, WI) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I found this game hard to play because of the red tiles that blended together

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

mahjong

posted by gregor (LAKE PLACID, NY) May 23, 2009

Member since May 2009

i could not wait to play game. when i got it ,it would not load, the game said i had to download updates that would probably hurt my machine. what a dissapointment this game was. a big one, because the only reason i ordered gamefly was to play that game and probably buy it. i am not a happy gamer. greg suzanne

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fine for what it is.

posted by bruceettan (GRANTS PASS, OR) May 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

not bad, the only real complaint is that the perspective of the mahjong stacks made it hard to see what some of the open tiles actually were.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste your time....

posted by bigkev2663 (BANGOR, PA) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I just got the game in the mail and it is going right back the same day! It has graphics that remind me of old Super Nintendo day's. A good array of games with no directions on how to play the ones you don't know and you can barley read the tiles or the cards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Alot of variety

posted by DebbieJo (LEXINGTON, SC) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game contains alot of puzzle variety, but my eyes are not perfect and the cards and tiles are not that easy to see unless you sit right on top of the tv.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The worse game ever

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I will not reconmend this game to anybody. Its hard to understand

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Little Lame

posted by EskieDogs (PRESCOTT, AZ) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The Mahjong tiles were very difficult to see exactly what was on them so hard to make a match. I tried a few Solitaire games but the instructions were.....non-existent so I couldn't figure out how to play. Kept one day and sent right back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

simple

posted by RoachCoach (MARQUETTE, MI) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Its a nice simple game for an easy going gamer, if you like mahjong like i do its a decent game, some of the shading makes it a little difficult to see the tiles edge, but you can change the tiles and backfround. Overall its pretty fun for an easy going game night for 1 player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Better leave this game to the PC...

posted by ssorrell (VALLEY, AL) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

Mahjong on the TV? Great! I can sit back in my recliner, relax and play. NOT. The sensitivity of the Wiimote makes this game virtually unplayable. the game tiles are small and hard to focus your pointer on, thus making it difficult to play without clicking on the wrong piece. this one is better on the computer...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible Graphics on Mahjong - Confusing Controls

posted by RightTOO (Fort Worth, TX) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Don't waste your time or money on this one. Mahjong was horrible to see....unbelievably bad graphics and game controls terrible....I tried to figure out the solataire and gave up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »