Rent Soldier of Fortune: Payback for PS3
view large frontback

Soldier of Fortune: Payback

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.8

1167 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

am i playing the same game?

posted by CODEWERKX (MOUNT VERNON, NY) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2004

33 out of 34 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

when a game gets such polar user reviews my curiosity get piqued. can a game, at $60.00 REALLY be as bad as these gamers say? have they even played the game? do they even have a PS3? well, i borrowed this game from a local store that got it as a trade-in. i truly was expecting dreque...as per the user reports. i have to inform you that my opinion is no where near as bad as most users conclusions. the ai is as expected in a fps....nowhere in military lexicon must the enemy announce its position to you. that is what war is about. the garfx are a notch above a really good PS2 game and online play is acceptable. this is no COD 4 (which in single player campaign can be beaten in five hours)or an entry in the MOH series, but it is playable, suspenseful and enjoyable. the hyper violence is so ramped that it is comically scary....BUT in war soldiers do get there heads blown off and legs mutilated. rent if you must play all fps's, but it is not as bad as some players write.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its flaws are what make it charming- and the gore

posted by mindsaber (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Well everyone's a critic, especially when it comes to FPSs. If you're one of those people who has extremely specific tastes when it comes to FPSs...

...this game ain't for you.

What drew me to this game was the over-the-top limb loss and decapitations. While many FPSs have the "M" rating- few actually deserve it. And the aforementioned characteristic is what kept me playing. Enemies limbs will come flying off and the physics sometimes allow for quite a blast radius of body parts.

The game has great weapon sounds. All the guns, with the possible exception of the hand guns- have a very satisfying sound and resonance. It's a small touch- but it helps.

Unfortunately for most people- they won't get past the games many detractions.

The story: well it's standard fare- go from point A to point B and kill some baddies along the way. I like to think of the story as not burdening the gameplay. lol

Secondly, the AI is bad. Real bad. And while many reviewer wannabes act like it offends them when the AI aren't Einsteins with rifles- I actually enjoyed the dumb AI. I mean it: when some enemy charges at you while you're blazing away and attempts to melee you... well that's just plain funny. The AI will do all sorts of bizarre things and I found myself laughing out loud at their behavior.

On the other hand when you have to escort/protect the prisoner and he starts sprinting towards hoards of enemies INSTANTLY after he states "I'll wait here 'til you clear the way"- well that elicited quite a few expletives from me and was the most challenging part of the game by far.

Thirdly- the level designs will incur the wrath of the ultra-high-standards- for- FPSs crowd. The level designs are, as you would expect, linear but are very plain. I chose to think of them as old school FPS levels.

Ultimately there's something redeeming about this game amidst all of its flaws. If you're someone who remembers Wolfenstein 3d- then you might appreciate the overall fun factor here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't Bother - Complete Waste of Your Time

posted by goddog (MENTOR, OH) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

A lazy effort by Activision, how embarassing.

Gameplay: This game felt like playing Hogan's Alley from the 80s!: Your enemies seem to "appear" out of nowhere, and that's not until they're usually shooting at you (which is okay, because for some reason, your character is seemingly invincible). Enemy AI is essentially nonexistent, and their foreign banter throughout the game is annoyingly stereotypical. Also, the female giving orders over your "headset" and your character have the most childlike banter that will wear you out very quickly. The Voice acting is an absolute joke.

Graphics: Faces are waxen, expressionless orbs with wiskers that again, mutter meaningless dialogue. Textures on walls are blah/blurry. Scenes are almost totally stagnant. Even door handles are "flat" against doors. How unispired.

Controls: Most glaring thing was that aiming seemed to be imprecise (even with auto-aim on). You would still hit your enemies when your aim was FEET off. This was very noticeable; it seemed like just aiming in the general direction of your enemies would result in a successful hit.

Activision should purchase every one, then start a massive bonfire fueled by SOF. This is the era where we expect our games to draw on our consoles' capabilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pros and Cons

posted by lordwarner (SALISBURY, VT) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When the game 1st opens it seemed like it was going to be a good shooter but feel apart as soon as the shooting started.

Pros-Back grounds had some nice visuals to them from mountain bunkers to bridges along cliff sides. Fairly big selection of weapon's from machine guns, grenade launchers, pistols, shoot guns and rocket launcher. You can customize them for your style. Limbs go flying w/ a single shoot and blood squirts everywhere. Gore can be turned off for people who don't want to see it.

Cons-I love shooting an end level boss w/ a grenade launcher and when the smoke clears he's still there looking at you firing away. You might as well run up and stab him it does the same amount of damage. A.I sucks. Stand around a corner and let them come to you and mow them down. Lots of opportunity for cheap shoots. A.I people all look the same. Few different models. The story line is dirt simple and not that interesting. Voice over is not great either. When you beat the game you will be left sitting there thinking "that was the end?" A very short game from 4 to 7 hours depending on how quick you mow down the bad guys.

Worth the 1 day rent but not much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst FPS ever

posted by will1084 (EAST ROCHESTER, NY) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was hands down the worst fps game i have every played when i got it in the mail i played it for about 15 mins and at first it seemed fun the second night i played it for about and hour and a half and discovered that my first impression was way off and i promtly put the game back in the envelope and mailed it back The game play was boring and linear the AI was probably worse than something from a ps 1 game the graphics were nothing to write home about the plot was lame and the ultra violent gore was patheticly over done to the pont that it wasnt even funny it just made you said that you had actually waited a few days to get this game in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eh...

posted by AFriend (PASCAGOULA, MS) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This happened to be a title I was mildly excited about. Unfortunately this game simply does not measure up to my expectations.

We all know Soldier of Fortune is known for its gore...and it shines in all its glory in this game. Unfortunately thats all this game offers really. The only people I really see enjoying this game is 10-15 year old boys who just want to rent a rated - M game.

The audio is...well...unimpressive compared to other titles out there such as Assassin's Creed and Call of Duty 4. The voice acting is just ew and they swear in seemingly useless moments of the game. Hey I'm all for a swear or two but geez say it right.

The gunplay is alright, but I became completely frustrated at the fact that enemies just seem to come out of thin air and stealth is basically non existent in this Activision title.

If you really just like goofy over-the-top gore effects, SoF is the way to go.

Oh, and one last word of advise. Good luck finding online play as I found only one sever in the entire world open...nuff said.

This title is weak...4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

weak

posted by dbhj1979 (BELLE PLAINE, MN) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game sucks, I played it for 35 minutes before I turned it off, horrible play, to kill guys you just have to shoot in their general direction, choppy play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Soldier of Fortune: Payback

posted by BigCase (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Maybe it's because I had just finished Call of Duty 4 (which was amazing), but this game sucked. It seemed like an old school PS One shooter, with better graphics. It was super repetitive, after just two short levels. I must have gotten shot 70 times before I was even hurt, and that was on the standard setting. And besides some cool looking cut scenes, the graphics were really ordinary and unimaginative. I don't know. Like I said, I had just played a truly awesome FPS, but this was truly an uninspired effort , using the Soldier of Fortune attention grab to make a quick couple of bucks off of the unlucky bastards who actually bought it. It was not intended to be a staple in the gaming industry, or at least I hope not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A nice looking stupid game

posted by VoltesV (DUMONT, NJ) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you just returned from being marooned on an island for 10 years or just a newbie to gaming, this game is absolutely for you! Graphics are good but that gameplay might as well be like Pong as you follow and shoot, follow and shoot, die, wait for reloading, repeat. You can't even change your weapons preference once the level has started... eh! What's the use? It totally sucks! Rent the game and find out for your self.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by mkpain36 (OAKDALE, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This is the best game that I've played since the PlayStation 3 came out! It has great graphics and as you play the game gets harder and harder. I give it a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game evar

posted by captinblackops1 (CHIMACUM, WA) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

the sight aiming sucks the AI is the dumb and i played VARY BLOODY GAMES and i hate to say but it is unrealisticly bloody u can actuly see were the splats of blood seporate so THUMBS DOWN

U R STUPID TO THINK THIS IS GOOD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it was BAD

posted by kkkkk (ORTONVILLE, MI) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

i played it for a few day's and i have to say. IT SUCKED. i mean the AI is so bad. i colud literly walk right pass a guy who was trying to kill me. and a lot of times i would die for no reson. i mean your walking in the jungel and all of a sudien you would just die. but the blood and gore was... just ... WOW. i would just shoot a man with a pistol and two gallons would gush out and with a shotgun...well you think about it. but the game is just bad. don't waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

review of the game SOLDIEROF FORUINE PAY BACK

posted by brokenmatt (ANZA, CA) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

this is the first game from PS# that i liked so much to play untill i beat it it took a little more than a month to beat and when i did it was cool followin up with playing the whole game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by falcon42 (BURLINGTON, NJ) May 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

This game is awesome.Lets start with the grafhics.Very real, theres blowing arms off and heads.Now the guns theres the M16,AK47,RPG and many more.I hope you guys get it.This is a awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst FPS ever for the ps3

posted by Apoc2012 (SAINT CLOUD, FL) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Guys seriously,the most pathetic FPS i've ever play...1st Graphics even for a Ps3 game sux,and the multiplayer,well it sux and like 13 people online which is nothing.....i'm am shocked to see this game even rank a 4,it should be rank -4 its aweful and i like to say thank you gamefly cause i was thinking of buyin it and rented from here,u saved me... this game has no business even being sold anything more then 6 bucks....save ur money and game-q and play any other FPS....I have seen better FPS on a dreamcast and with better graphics then this gosh darn game..... Completely Aweful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not That Bad

posted by sturgill90 (PENNINGTON GAP, VA) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

OK, if you rent this expecting Call of Duty, you're going to be really disppointed, but all in all, this game isn't that bad. There are some good weapons, some good fight scenes, and lots of blood.

If you are a fan of games were you just run through a level and kill everything from start to end, this is your game. Basically, this is one of those games where you don't have to think, you have to go through the levels their way or nothing else. There is only one way you can get through each level and as you go through, you are met with huge numbers of enemies.

The worse thing that I can say about the game is that it gets a little unrealistic at times. All the levels have a boss, which are just ordinary people, no robots or aliens or anything, but they will take a massive amount of rounds. It took me about 50 shotgun rounds, 30 sniper rounds, and a handful of handgun rounds to bring down the last boss. One of the bosses, I counted out that he took about 15 sniper rounds to the head and it still took some more from an assault rifle to bring him down.

But this game is definately worth renting. It is short, the ending really sucks. But for a few hours of just gunning people down, this is the game. Rent it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a worthy shooter

posted by Zlash99 (AURORA, CO) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

This title was not worthy of being released on the PS3. Ill keep it short since there isn't much to say about it.

Good- Um... its easy and you can finish it in about a day?

Bad- Lets start with the storyline and then move on. Now, we all know that a shooter doesn't require a good storyline, but considering this is not an online game then it kinda has to have one.

Ugly- The graphics are PS2 generation from about 5 years ago. Targeting is boring and unfun (either completely impossible or way to easy depending on how you set it). The storyline is not compelling and running around killing "rag-heads" is not exactly an original or interesting concept. The assortment of weapons all is boring at best.

Just avoid it, there are a multitude of shooters out there on the PS3 that are light years ahead of this and fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME BLOW'S EXTRA HARD!!!

posted by 2tushay (TALLULAH, LA) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

this game blows so much. its to easy and to short. only like 5 stages. the only good thing obout the game was how the enemy's bodies fall apart as you shot them or blow them up. THIS GAME BLOWS EXTRA HARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

uggh

posted by templarkin (new york, NY) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

walk don't run

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow

posted by rahnjaz (ROCKVILLE, MD) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Sep 2004

the chinese....are actually filipino in this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

JUST FOR THE FUN OF IT!!

posted by zeek10 (HOT SPRINGS NATIONAL PARK, AR) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

FIRST OFF LET ME SAY>THIS ISN,T CD4,OR LIKE MOST OF THE NEWER FPS,S. NOT OVER COMPLICATED ITS NOT VERY DEEP IN STORY,BUT WHAT IT DOES RIGHT IS GIVE YOU A FPS THAT'S JUST FUN .GRAPHICS ARE PRETTY GOOD!! AND IT MOVES ALONG LIKE FPS OF OLD.(,CONTROLS ARE EASY TO GET THE HANG OF (R2 FIRE,R1 GRENADE,ECT)SO FOR ABOUT 20.BUCKS YOU TO CAN HAVE SOME LIMB AMPUTATING,HEAD EXPLODING FUN!!! LETS FACE IT SOME OF THE LATEST SHOOTER GAMES ARE JUST TO COMPLICATED SO TAKE A BREAK FROM ALL THAT AND BLAST AWAY TILL THE ENEMY,S NICKNAME IS STUBBY!! ,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by Gaminfiend (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

Ok the graphics are ok, and the controls feel like they were taken directly form COD 4 and painted on this game. I mean there's no difference in the control department at all when comparing this game to Call of Duty 4, which is a good thing, but a direct copycat doesn't feel well. Since Activision was the distributor for this game too, i wonder why the controls feels the same, even though i think this game came out before COD 4. Anyway the decapitation of limbs in this game is over the top and gives it it's unique appeal. So take this one out for a night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Soldier of Misfortune: What Could Have Been

posted by P1lvlup (HONOLULU, HI) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

SOF:PB is one of those games where I get the feeling that if more time and effort had been put into it the everything about it would be outstanding. However, this isn't the case, the game is plagued with bugs and glitches, some of which are game breaking, I found myself having to reboot my PS3 after a glitch froze my screen during an online session. Speaking of online, when shooting at your enemy it basically amounts to point and prey as you find that what you thought was the enemy in which you poured three clips into is actually a tree thanks to the constant lag that seems to be ever present in every room. Overall the game just feels unpolished and tries to compensate with extreme gore, which can get downright ridiculous, I like head shot frag bits as much as the next guy but there is such a thing as too much. If your looking for a good FPS I would go with MGS4 (Yeah I know it's not an FPS) but the online play is much better and the gameplay is worlds better than SOF could ever hope for. If you want hardcore FPS try Unreal Tournament 3 but case in point, leave this game where it is, not worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

shrug....

posted by clayton75 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

nothin new in this game....a decent renter for a few days of mass murder and mayhem. Otherwise...stick to COD4 or Battlefield

Reminded me of goldeneye......but without the gameplay.

Oh and the story was written by a 3rd grader...or so it seems.

Point shoot and rent...but dont buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

soldier of fortune payback

posted by darrin1 (Rome, NY) Aug 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

its a realy good shooting game with a varity of weapons and scenes using the many scopes on the guns add to the adventure of the game i would recomend this for anyone who likes to see guys heads blown off or shot and see the gory results have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse