Rent Sniper: Ghost Warrior for PS3
view large frontback

Sniper: Ghost Warrior

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.6

3482 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

A little more on target with the ps3!

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Jun 29, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

79 out of 83 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I love sniper games, if you love them as much as I do then you should rent Ghost Warrior. As next generation "pure sniper" gaming, the Devs at City Interactive did a good job on making the credo "One shot, One Kill" a challenge, especially on hard difficulty.

On hard difficulty, shooting your rifle really becomes more than just point and click. You must account for Range, Wind, Movement, and Position to get that clean kill. Play it on easy for a while to get used to where you must aim, easy mode makes it well, easy. Watching a target walk his patrol behind a thin wall and a few tiny windows with a split second of actually seeing the guy definitely makes you think twice before pulling the trigger, especially if stealth is a must or mission over!

Now if you are looking to just jump in and go guns blazing, well, you can do that. You have the option to pick up enemy assault rifles. But, the more intricate ways of killing are much more satisfying to the gamer pallet, such as the throwing knife. Or maybe you would like to set off some fireworks and plant some C4 under a Jeep by an unsuspecting patrol, hike up to a good vantage point and BOOM! Watch the chaos ensue..you can do that. The ability to hide and kill flawlessly keeps the enemies cojones firmly lodged in your iron grip, and it is FUN!

The beauty of Ghost Warrior is you get to choose many paths to complete your objectives. Here is the Ugly, its short and the story really detaches from the characters and gives you no meat. The extra missions we as ps3 players receive are an OK addition to the game, but once again, no story, no meat. The ending will really make your arms go up in a "HUH!?" Bad Story = Bored? NO!, we still have multiplayer!

I love multiplayer, when I can get in a room. CTF is just good fun, and a challenge. The rest of the modes are fun as well, its just Snipers AND WHO DOESN'T LOVE THAT CONCEPT? So get your tents ready and warm up that campfire, Ghost Warrior deserves a shot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Decent game

posted by KageMahou (EVANSVILLE, IN) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It just so happens I like to be challenged, and this game delivers that challenge. The controls can be frustrating at times but all in all a very good title that I do recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Socom Type Feel in 1st Person

posted by MBZ_BoNe (OZONE PARK, NY) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the training on hard difficulty. Watching a friend try to shoot that 400m shot is hilarious...

Great game... Just wish they had a 3rd person view...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Im not a 'shooter' kind of guy...

posted by Gath_OoLong (SAINT ALBANS, NY) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

But I still really liked this game...Id been searching for a sniper type of game and Ghost Warrior pretty much delivered. The realistic feel of the aiming/shooting was a definite plus. The only problem I had (and maybe this is bacuase like I said Im NOT one for shooters per se) was that I felt lost in the gameplay at times. Not so much immersed in it as more "...wait...what am I doing again?..."

also I didnt get very far but I had a great time playing as far as I HAD gotten...

pretty good game Id say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sniper

posted by phillipsmith101 (VALLEY GRANDE, AL) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game is great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't read the negative reviews!

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's games like these that give a glimmer of hope to a gaming market that has been over saturated with big bullies. It's where the little boys actually trump the big boys finally and at last. Oh sure, Sniper:Ghost Warrior is not a big budget title (heaven forbid) and it has a few flaws. But to be honest, isn't it for the most part a given that the big developers usually get better ratings because they have the bigger budget? Don't get me wrong. I like a well polished game such as Call of Duty and Uncharted. But it sure is nice to see a company like City Interative shine as well. So, they don't have money pouring out of their behinds, but they make do with what they have and I think they did a pretty darn good job. Give this one a shot for yourself and prove that the small guys have just as much talent as the big fish (maybe just a little less moola)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Nov 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i love this game when you do a head shot you she the bullet fly into them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sniper Ghost Warrior

posted by Layden101 (EL PASO, TX) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved it iwas great, if you like sniper games you will love this one. It was fun, I beat the game but I'm going to buy it anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by tuffchic34 (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics are awesome, and the slow-mo on the some of the headshots are really cool..Great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Tyler_LaPrade (HILLSBORO, OR) Jul 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

No one listen to what Jason said rofl, he obviously wasn't accounting for the movement and the distance to the target, since he had his crosshairs directly on it, this is an amazing game, if you are into realistic sniping. If you are a call of duty sniper(eg. quickscope/ dont know how to use the mils) then you probably wont like this, which grant it I <3 quickscoping(teaser: this game has qsing if you can get up by the enemy lol) but, I prefer more realism in my shooting games, I would give this game a 9/10. 10 if it had a better/longer story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad,not great but not bad.

posted by fightclub1 (SHEFFIELD LAKE, OH) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

i liked this game. i know,i know, the same missions repeated.and i hate linear games where there is only one path to take. some glitches were in the game especially when it autosaved,you would be listening to instructions and it would just start saving. didnt like when you pulled up the scope to aim and you were not looking where you thought you had pointed the scope, but other than that i hope they release another sniper game. i look forward to playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment!!

posted by gait79 (VALLEY VILLAGE, CA) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Well I will try and give as fair a review as possible in 3 parts for anyone thinking of getting this game in the future.

1. The beginning or starting off: The story mode, the game is actually pretty fun and engaging. making me want to play more. I loved the one shot one kill scenarios and the stealth ability dring the first few missions!

2. Dislikes: Midway through the game it gets pretty repetitive and the lack of ability to actually lay down and steady your weapon, as a true sniper would undoubtedly do on almost every mission he went, gets annoying! Especially when you have to hit a moving target from half a mile away, battling the wind and gravity! Next the campaign after those first few missions is extremely weak and becomes Rambo esq! Taking on missions that clearly have nothing to do with you! Lastly the game asks you to collect these extra secrets or computer files during the campaign I guess as side missions. Problems these things are impossible to collect! They are almost always in the middle of a camp or an entire army and almost never close to where you are in the mission, which of course defeats the purpose of the game which is STEALTH! I wouldn't call needing to kill everyone to get files stealth!

3. Final thoughts: Good game for kids age 10 and under that wont notice a lot of the negatives, but if your a hardcore gamer and are looking for realism in some parts you will find it but in most you will not! I gave this game a 4 out of 10 because it lacks a lot of the essential things that make a quilty FPS (first person shooter). Like good graphics and more realistic AI for both the people with you and the enemy. The ability to leap or step over small rocks would have been nice also haha! When you take away the ability to use the forest to avoid conflict and be stealthy because you need to stay so strictly to a set course you defeat the purpose of your game. It's hard to be a Ghost when your made to walk down the middle of the road!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wow

posted by dragon715 (ROUSES POINT, NY) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

if you are into this type of game. i would recommand it.
the bullet cam is awesome to watch. but the online play sometimes get hard to connect. not to many people playing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kinda Of Good

posted by braxsmash (DAYTON, OH) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I Rated This Game 8 It Was Very Good i Would Recommend This Game To All The Gamefly Users

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sniper: Ghost Warrior

posted by coleman1 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After reading all reviews about this game, I was skeptical of even trying it. But, I did.......First off, if you are a big fan of playing the role of a Sniper then this is your game. I rated the game overall at a 7 because of the graphic detail of the game as well as the free roaming style of the game. I enjoyed the automatic saving feature of the game and the detail in which you must be observant to. Multi-player is very different than that of other games such as Black-Ops, etc. I found it to be very difficult and not very amusing to say the least. Once you are shot, you get no clue as to where the shot came from, only the person you killed you. It's very limited. If I was rating this game on Multi-player, it would get a 0. Overall, the games title says it all. The Story-Mode took me about 9 hours to complete and the other modes about an hour each. I recommend trying this game aside from what reviews you may read.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

seriously

posted by OEhawks5 (FISHERS, IN) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

i liked the aspect of the game, but it had framerate problems, un memorable storyline, and i finished it in 3 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

improved......?

posted by ironchefnc (MATTHEWS, NC) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if this is the improved debugged version...i hate to see what the pc/xbox release was like. this type of game has potential and if another developer picks this up, turn it into a 3rd person tac shooter!
grpahics are horrible....gameplay horrible....
my 13 year old son told me to mail it back before i even played it...
dont bother renting...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sniper: ghost warrior

posted by bmjam4 (MILLINGTON, TN) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As for all the role playing game I have played this is the best so farI would and have recommend this game to all my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good game lacks creativity

posted by adams_54 (LIBBY, MT) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game was good it had good graphics and an ok story line but the dang thing gets repetitive after the first 2 missions overall i would say dont waste the time unless you dont mind doing the same thing over and over and over again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sniping gone wrong

posted by skydude (FOLSOM, CA) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first saw a game that was completely devoted to sniping I was very excited. This excitement as usual turned to disappointment as I started to play the game. The sniping was so easy it just seemed unreal, the "sneaking" could easily be done as certain enemies wouldn't notice as their cronies died right next to them, and the ending was just very dissapointing. You were apparently chasing this guy that barely pops up and hardly seems very formidable. When you get past his almost non-existent guards you see the man(can't even remember his name, he was that forgettable) you can easily shoot him down without much skill. What really made me mad was the fact that the game simply ended as you defeated the "main boss" which totally took the effect away. The game was also very short as it could be beaten easily in a day. All in all, the game was really dissapointing to me who loves all of those sniping moments in games. I don't think there are many people who would like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by puddlugman (BALTIMORE, MD) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was excited when this game was announced for the 360. There haven't been too many games that were stealth sniper games. In fact, other than Sniper Elite, released for the XBOX way back in 2005, I can't think of another FPS that put so much emphasis on sniping and stealth.

I was disappointed when the reviews came in. Seems the 360 version had its issues. But then the PS3 version, coming many many months later, were supposed to address the issues that essentially broke the 360 version.

Unfortunately, whatever fixes there were, it doesn't make for a better game.

Here's what's good:

-The sniping mechanic feels good. Pulling off a shot from a distance and getting the cutscene following the path of your bullet into the noggin of a soldier hundreds of yards away feels like an accomplishment. Add the wonky physics that makes your victim do a backflip, and the result is sublime.

That's all that's good about the game.

Here's the bad:

- For a game based in stealth, the AI is pretty good at spotting you. True, you should get through a level without killing everyone. If you try, you're going to die a lot. But still, if you pull off a shot from 500 yards, in a prone position, hidden in grass - the AI shouldn't immediately know your location

- Some levels have you going in with an unsilenced rifle. There goes the stealth.

- Tedious run and gun bits. Frustrating when you can only take 2 or three bullets before you die.

- The level design is far from open. Some of the best sniping spots are inaccessible. Sometimes you can crawl under obstacles, sometimes you can't. You might be able to crawl under a bunkhouse in one level, but be unable to do so in another.

- If you pause the game, when you unpause, you will automatically stand up from your prone position. There goes the stealthy plan.

- The story sucks. It wasn't written as much as cribbed from better war games. Latin American dictator blah blah blah

Maybe good for a rental. Don't Buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Needs work..

posted by Kennebellgt (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are pretty outdated, you have to have good luck to find a game online, The gun sounds aren't realistic at all, No echo from bullet or anything, also when playing online you cant lay down so your scope moves all over the place, like I said It needs work! but could be a major cool game. fix the issue's and they will come..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very disappointing, very dated

posted by Speedhabit (NEWTOWN, PA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Even from the perspective of someone who will forgive alot in terms of story and AI and action from a marksmanship focused game this title was difficult to play.

The missions are unrealistic, though they pay token attention to concealment the game degenerates into a typical fps with the addition to some tacked on sniper elements. No originality or atypical "go there to kill this guy" missions , ok whatever, really poor voice acting with no attempts at military realism, ok whatever, I get close up head shots right? This will satisfy me right? but.....

The graphics are poor, to say the least. I mean, this is 2011 and they compare poorly to cod4, the thing that was before MW2 remember? I felt myself drawing comparisons to the old sprite based delta force games on PC years ago. I can take an on rails platform shooter, but i need better graphics like bullet storm. I mean look, this game was billed as looking especially good on a ps3 and I have to say its underwhelming at best, I found myself going back to blackops and shooting realistic looking people. Does not stack up to the competition

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Complete Failure

posted by angelfan16 (COVINA, CA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well guys, what you see is what you get. I'm not going to to sugar-coat it for you. This game is terrible.

Graphically, this game is a joke. Just play for 10 minutes and you'll notice that character models look terrible and the brush looks even worse. From the first mission, you'll notice how the brush combined with invisible walls and strangely fenced off areas make this game completely ridiculous to navigate. You constantly find yourself in areas where you're 10 yards away from your enemies. Whereas I was hoping to find more of a free roam game where you find your own snipping spots with lots of open space, everything is scripted and levels are built such that you never feel anything like a true reacon sniper, mainly because you're constantly 10 feet from your enemies. The AI is horrible and has the magical ability to find AND shoot you from 300 yards away with deadly accuracy. With an Assault Rifle. And since the only difficulty where you don't have a Red Dot telling where you're bullet lands is the "Hard" difficulty, you can only take about 3 hits from said Assault Rifles before you die. So prepare to Snipe someone from 300 yards away, only to die in 10 seconds from 2 more enemies shooting at you with fully automatic and un-scoped AK-47's. You'll reload your game roughly 5-7 times after this happens before you turn your system off completely out of pure frustration at how poorly made this game is. You'd think a cover system would have found a way in this game at some time.........

Story mode and voice acting wise, this game is even worse. If you're looking for anything to grasp onto, you're not going to find it. In fact it's so bad that I have nothing more to say about it. Seriously, it just plain sucks.

I'd review the MP but I honestly didn't last that long.

Don't rent and for the love of video games DO NOT buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sniper Ghost Warrior

posted by 4EVABOY (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a very good game to play. I would've like to have had a better stealth abilty & kill abilities. Due to the fact that it was tedious at times to get the perfect shot, you need to upgrade the sniper scope range alot more. I appreciate the fact that there were many missions to complete. This game would be a great game if you just upgrade the graphics & the manouverability of the sniper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse