Rent Sniper: Ghost Warrior for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sniper: Ghost Warrior

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.2

7064 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game if you can get past its flaws

posted by TheJanitor (HUBERT, NC) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

294 out of 318 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

When I first saw the trailer and read some of the previews for the game I instantly wanted to play it. Finally a game with some realisim when it comes to sniping. I was excited to stealthfully move my way through a jungle to set up and take that one perfect shot, but much to my dissapointment, nearly every shot i have made has been within 200 yards. I have found quite a few problems with the game like especially with the enviroment. Moving through the levels becomes troublesome at times especially when you cannot crawl over a two inch branch and are forced to stand or crouch to move over it. There are times where the enemy can see you through like 10 feet of bushes and is shooting you and you cannot see them. Sometimes the enemy will look like he is shooting off into nothing but the rounds are coming right at you. The game is also very difficult. Instead of the regenerating health like in COD MW, you use health packs to heal which is good and bad. Bad when you have no health packs but good because at times you must make a decision whether or not to risk hunting them down. Overall i was a little let down by the graphics and the "stealth engine". The shadow detail is very poor compared to same gen games and like i said, the enemy somehow always sees you no matter how well you think you are hidden. But all that aside I actually really like this game a lot. If you can get past its flaws and not try to compare it to an "arcade" shooter like COD where you can just run and gun this game is actually a lot of fun. You do have to really take your time and plan out when to take shots to try and stay hidden. Sniping is amazing in this game. It does take all the factors into account such as travel time, wind, and distance. I have found though that wind does not play so much a role unless taking a shot longer than 200+ yards which is accurate. But all in all if you give it a chance and dont mind restarting from checkpoints and a few flaws this is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sniper:Ghost Warrior

posted by Buckwheat (OWINGS, MD) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

109 out of 118 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game was a big disappointment to me. When I put this on my Q about a month ago, I was drawn to the marketing. They said it was going to be one of the most realistic sniping games of all time. I was hoping for a lot more.

Pros:
1. Sometimes, during sniper shots, the camera will follow the bullet in Slow-Mo to the enemy's head.
2.There won't be a sequel.

Cons:
1. Your opponents must be from the future. Sneaking is not optional in the game. It won't matter if your standing, ducking, or even in prone, enemies will see you as if you had a sun on your head. Enemies will see you through walls, foliage, and trees, even during the night. Sometimes, you will pull off a kill, silently and quietly. As you walk off, you will see that you were wrong. Enemies will be looking around with their guns unholstered. And when they do spot you, they can nail you from 500+ yards, with an assault rifle.
2. This game is supposed about sniping right? Wrong. Some missions you will be another character, different from the marksman. They put you in combat head-on with your teammates. And not to mention, your teammates are about as worthless as the game itself! They stand out of cover, wasting ammo on a enemy 300+ yards away. These missions were a struggle to me, and I was playing on Normal.
3. If you were expecting a extensive weapon arsenal, think again. There are ONLY 2 SNIPER RIFLES. 2. That's it for a game based off sniping. There are also 2 Assault Rifles, 1 Shotgun, and 1 Non-Tradeable Pistol. If I were a developer, I would have at least made a customazation menu, to upgrade your sniper rifle. Then having only 2 snipers would be fine to me.
4. Don't get me started on the shadows.....
5. The Wind Factor and Yardage Factor do not count in this game. Instead of you registering the factors, the give you a red dot when you zoom in with your sniper rifle. All you must do is make sure that dot is on his head.

After playing that game, I felt it was my duty to make sure you won't play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just didnt get into this game

posted by frostmare (INTERLAKEN, NY) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

all i can say is after the first 10 minutes of the game i lost interest, this game is no sniper game at all. enemies can see you through the grass and even when i cover. eh just shut it off and send it back out. its a dull game. enough said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

awesome campaign, horrible multiplayer.

posted by cmillerr17 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) May 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

the campaign was a lot of fun. ive been waiting for a good sniper game. no doubt this game could of been better, but for $20, it was well worth it. i love all the factors it comes down to when taking a shot. distance, wind, stance and even your pulse. my favorite thing about this game is the slo mo bullet cams when you get head shots.

the multiplayer blows. im a really good COD player online, and on this game i think i went like 2-30 KD. its a campers paradise and the maps suck. they games are way too long and you dont have the customization option like you do in COD. if you dont want to play the campaign, dont bother even renting this game.

overall i think the campaign was great, minus some miscues with graphics.if a big name company takes over this game for the sequel (there is a sequel coming 2012) then this game could be a huge hit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

potential wasted

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Jul 6, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

62 out of 78 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

There are many good things about this game..the thrill of sniping bad guys is a fresh take..and i was really excited for this game..the graphics are average..not as bad as other people say..the cool slo mo when u get a head shot is neat and the controls are simple..sniping is realistic..but the game gets dragged down by the AWFUL enemy AI..its so cheap..u can take down an enemy cleanly and quietly but somehow the base is alerted and a million guys come after u..not to mention that they can shoot you perfectly from miles away..what is that..seriously there is good stuff here..but the TERRIBLE AI drags this game way way down..i chose this instead of renting singularity..terrible decision

graphics 7/10
controls 9/10
story cant give a rating for this cause im not gonna bother to even finish it
online-again theres prob 50 better games u can play online better than this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

More like Sniper: The man who was bright yellow

posted by p0ck3tc1am (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game has sooooo may bugs and issues it should be taken and destroyed so so other person can play this horrible game. I think I'm going to have nightmares.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Truly Awful

posted by Dragamex (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I picked up Sniper: Ghost Warrior because I was looking for something akin to the sniper missions in the various call of duty games, and this looked like just the match. Popped in the game, and absorbed the great environments, but awful shadowing. For a game that deals with hiding in the shadows, you would think they would have put more emphasis on them?

After the simple training mission, and being surprised to hear the F word (don't have a problem with it, but the way the characters use it sounds like they're surprised they're even saying it), I was off to snipe some dudes.

The first mission was fun, it zooms in on your bullet as it enters the enemy's skull, and the sneaking around is very gratifying.

Everything after the first mission is bullcrap. Actually, let's talk about the end of the first mission...

As we come behind some ominous complex, our position is given away through storyline-related happenings, and I have to use the grappling hook to get down the cliffside to snipe some other dudes.

15 tries it took. On the last 10, I realized that killing everyone was the only way to get down. Around try 12, I finally got how to use the grappling hook. It is impossible to use and I wouldn't reccommend it.

Anyways, after getting past this area and into the second mission, They ramp up the difficulty to somewhere near beating Modern Warfare on Veteran blindfolded while alarms go off. You can't see the enemies. They magically know where you are, there's no way to go around, and you are generally screwed. I finally beat this mission by, again, killing everyone. Isn't a sniper's job picking off specific targets, not taking down armies?

Anyways, somewhere after the level where you're not a sniper anymore for some reason I ripped the game from my console and sprayed it with holy water before putting it back into its pouch and sending it back to the pits of Hades from whence it came.

I would suggest Sniper only to people that are masochistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Headshots galore.

posted by JomelS (CARSON, CA) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

24 out of 31 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

A lot of people were knocking down this game because of its apparent flaws. I was not going to try it out but now I'm glad that I did because this game is awesome. It's true what they say about the uncanny ability of the enemy NPC's to see you through thick bushes, day or night. It's also true about their hyper accuracy with their weapons, although I don't find the fault in that. You are accurate so why can't they, right? It's true that you can't crawl over a small log. You can't even enter a house while crawled! The view of the maps are huge but you can only wander in a small linear path.

However, if you can look past these flaws what you have here is an awesome sniper game. Lining up headshots while under pressure from enemy fire feels very rewarding. Sneaking around enemies while hoping not to be spotted is very nerve wracking. The thud sound of an enemy hitting the ground after you dispatched him with your silenced pistol is also great. I also enjoyed playing as the spotter. You looking for enemies for your sniper buddy to shoot is a good change in pace.

I surely hope that they make a sequel for this game. All that is needed are: Fix the complaints, make it less linear, add nvg's and thermals, more urban environments, ability to select own weapon loadout before a mission, fix the rappelling (not realistic). NPC's should know how to hide behind cover if they know that they are being fired upon by a sniper instead of just standing in the open waiting for their heads to explode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Painfully irritating game.

posted by Gureta (JULIAN, CA) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game should have been designed better, there are just no excuses here, what so ever. The designers should have made the necessary run thru' on this game before marketing it for sale. Why I gave it a three was because of the potential it had, it's just plain insulting to a gamer when you know a game should just play a certain way, glitches, graphic flaws, etc etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by smclarke (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Pretty simple game to complete even on the most difficult level. Story line is plain and there is no real charector development. Long distance shots are a bit tougher then in other sniper games where you just put the crosshairs on the target and take them down.

All in all, somewhat entertaining but not worth a purchase; rental item at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is one of the best games ive played

posted by PsychoxLogical (CLAYSBURG, PA) Jul 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I dont understand all the bad reviews about it so from a person who actually finished it and didnt rage quit, here are the pros and cons from my point of view.

Pros: Slowmo bullet cam headshots/double kills, environment looks great, cannot run and gun like a call of duty game, requires actual stealth skill which im sure is why ragequitters didnt finish and gave bad reviews, if you love sniping this game gets you involved to the point where you really do feel like its do or die on the battlefield.

Cons : The only cons i really have about this game is that the multiplayer is terrible in my oppinion, and the game itself is a little buggy and has some flaws, but taking into consideration the time that this game came out, im ok with that.

This is a great game and i would reccomend renting it to ANYONE except call of duty kids... you will cry and quit.
But MGS or Splinter Cell fans will like the new approach this game has to offer i believe. HAVE FUN WITH IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A WASTE OF TIME

posted by blinky99 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The best thing about gamefly is that you get to rent the game and not

buy it. This is the most frustrating, confusing, and worthless game i have

played in a long time. I read the reviews saying thesame thing but just

assumed i could figure it out.

I was wrong!!!

Played three days and shipped back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I wanted to love this

posted by Omgpugs (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

23 out of 32 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Is it a decent fps? Somewhat. Shots land depending on whether or not you take a few things in to consideration. As reviewers have stated, wind, distance and focus play a big role. Run and gun tactics leave you dead, quick. The stealth is pretty broken, as you'll find yourself on your stomach as still as you can, only to get ripped to pieces as enemies miraculously spot you in 4 foot of thick bush.

It's no COD as far as the intensity and game play goes, but it will keep you trying harder to calculate your shot as you engage enemies from greater distances. A one trick pony that gives a different ride, but nothing that will take your attention away from the more popular games in it's genre.

It's worth the rental, and although I can't love it, It's not worth hating. For those frustrated with the single player, give the multiplayer a shot. The npc's don't seem to miss a beat, but human players can be careless, giving you a sense of accomplishment as they blindly move past you. If you love sniping, this is worth a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its Very Realistic

posted by Cyoung465 (COZAD, NE) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

134 out of 199 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had fun playing this game. It is difficult because it is realistic, and if you give this game a bad rating because it doesnt have the MW2 sniping, where you just point at the person, and thats where the bullet goes, you shouldnt be allowed to rate games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's just not how a sniper game should be.

posted by Exadon (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ill start with the good:
Very nice Graphics
Realistic sniping
cool kill scenes

and thats about it.....

now time for the bad:
It is nearly impossible to stay stealthy. A sniper in a gilli suit from 100 yards away would be impossible to see.
And they have rediculous aim. I mean if they can hit me from this far using a machine gun why am I even bothering to use a sniper?
You need health packs, which is very outdated for a shooter.

Overall I do not recommend renting this game, ESPECIALLY if you love the sneaky stealthy role of a sniper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Realistic? Hardly.....

posted by ReviewTime (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

26 out of 39 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game offered an impressive array of neat features that, when showboated by the developers looked amazing, as well as dedicating the game to the very fun concept of sniping. Well, looks can be deceiving and they are.

Pros

-The checkpoint system is pretty good
-The bullet cam is entertaining and happens only every so often, making that shot seem all the more awesome
-The throwing knives are awesome, but limited in number

Cons

-Enemies see you from miles away through foliage
-Foliage often just doesn't work, they see straight through to you
-The little red dot that shows the compensation is great, but sometimes doesn't appear or is blocked by the cross hairs or doesn't help much because it shows where the bullet will hit only, not how long it will take the bullet to reach there, leading to many frustrating moments
-Not much choice of weapons
-Sometimes enemies can hear your silenced weapons
-Enemies will shoot you from so far away, they look like little leaves
-The health system is seriously messed up; you need scarcely provided medkits to heal yourself and your health only regenerates to a max of thirty without medkits
-Objectives often ask you to do ridiculous things like move undetected through very, very heavily guarded territory
-You play from the perspective of two different peeps, one of which is NOT a sniper and it feels like the first Call of Duty
-When they drop you in some random area with an assault rifle you don't even know the name to and charge in guns blazing, you begin to question why the game is called "Sniper: Ghost Warrior"
-Enemies will see you from 500+ feet away, even when you're on a tower
-The story is a lackluster piece of work that is predictable and almost annoying
-The graphics are good at first look, but any close-ups will leave you cringing

Overall:

This game is only good for people who have a high tolerance level and an extreme amount of patience; it is a constant struggle to play the game, but has moments of excitement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Couldve been better.

posted by MHarting (TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

The game credits itself with good graphics, a realistic sniping system that is not found in many other games. However that is all that is good about this game.

The actual military realism is not that great, snipers would never receive initial training in the field. Also the training in the sequence felt somewhat like a rip off of MW2.

The AI is horrible. Unless guerilla fighters learned how to enhance their hearing, eyesight, and marksmanship in the past few years, it is not at all realistic. You can take a guy out nice and quite, and next thing you know all of his buddies are throwing grenades at distances that would make a baseball pitcher envious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really?

posted by Nameless10 (KENNETT, MO) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Extremely short, horrid gameplay, poor graphics, terrible multiplayer.
I no longer wonder why I have never seen a commercial for this game, even the developer doesn't want people to know this game is out. This is a very poor excuse for a game. I was amazed that the story mode only took me 4 hours of game play to beat, and honestly I played very slow, and died a few times. Was very disappointed that I had to be careful where I went cause I could just walk through some walls and get stuck. The only thing that made me rate this game a 2 and not a 1 is the headshot mechanic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ummm

posted by mooseman463 (GREAT FALLS, MT) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dont even bother here. aiming is so sensitive that i couldnt snipe a target 3 feet away. When crawling in the grass to find a nice spot, i got stopped by multiple invisible walls and 2 inch tall rocks. Yea, a 2 inch tall rock stopped my movement. When i finally got to my post, i jumped of the staircase to make an escape after my kill, the stairs were about 4 feet tall. When i hit the ground to run, i died. Do Not Bother!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sniper: Ghost Warrior

posted by Kjahrens (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game was good the fact that they have bullet drop and they have wind factors shows some reality in it. The graphics where ok but not very realistic due to the fact that when an AI was killed they where flung 8 feet back, while there weapons and helmet stayed where they originally were. Story line was good and could easly happen in todays society. Overall i give it a single thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a great sniper game for sniper lovers!!

posted by redaleart (MIAMI, FL) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I start out with the pros for this game got everything u need in a sniper games stealth a few different sniper rifle and strategy. I here form different people that your in a 10 feet bush and u still get caught hello!! in real life to u can be in 10 feet bush while your crawling the grass is moving because your pushing it out the way. The cons I agree with everyone else when saying u can be crawling under something which u should not have any problem getting under but they wont allow it. Also in some cases they would see u before u see them and they can be a mile away shooting at u and u perfectly hidden that sucks. Everything else in this game is a hit and miss nothing to big but if u are a sniper lover I would recommend this game just be patient and plan out your move.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sniper......oh wait what

posted by Truth69 (PALATKA, FL) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wow I was so hyped about this game and got completely disapointed. I saw that people were ripping on the game but I figured maybe they just were not used to real sniping. When I got the game I found that instead of accounting for bullet drop and other factors there is just a red circle indicating where your bullet will hit. The AI is terrible at 1 point I had a guy run right up to me and just do an little side to side dance. The frame rate is choppy and the graphics are terrible if you own the game have a go at regretting a close up on something like a stationary truck, you will see it is just a pre rendered unexplodable painted wooden block that serves no purpose other than to hide behind. From far away the scenery looks good but with any close inspection it is obvious to see the terrible effort they put into it.

P.S. Multiplayer is not worth it either imagine playing a match full of COD snipers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sniper Ghost Warrior

posted by dr_hobo2525 (RENO, NV) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is the funnest sniper game i have ever played even though i admit there are some flaws with this game like the shadows and there is no co-op. I have read a lot of user reviews for this game and they complain about the diffculty of the game, all i have to say to that is if your a good sniper like me this game is easy you just have to take time and plan your shots. If you do then this game will be a breeze and so much fun. I hope my review helps answer any questions future players have for this game, I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sniper:Ghost Warrior

posted by Randomness2000 (HICKORY, NC) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is good if your the "sneak around with a silenced weapon shooting people" type. And even if your not that type of person there are a couple of missions that you might like to do. In the rest of the missions you can pick up weapons without silencers(but there are some missions you have to stay undetected so that is not a good idea). This game also has a good plot line to it with a couple of twists. In the plot line every couple of times you get a headshot it goes in slow motion(which I liked). I barely played the multiplayer because I did not like it but other people might. In the multiplayer I know that you can choose your own class with three different types of sniper rifles but I don't if later whether or not you can customize them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

read before rent

posted by rstengel67 (SANTEE, CA) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the campaign is very easy and online gets boring fast only rent if u like sniping a lot. i sent it back the day i got it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse