Rent Sniper Elite for Wii
view large frontback

Sniper Elite

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2
GF Rating
4.2

289 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

not for me

posted by loskee (PENSACOLA, FL) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game wasn't for me due to the graphics and the controls it probably could be a great game but on a 50" plasma graphic should have be better i actually got a head ache playing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game was good.

posted by dglahn17 (DACULA, GA) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Don't listen to the reviews of the nay sayers. This game was actually developed like 5 years ago for ps2 and is actually very well designed. The play is smooth, the graphics are alright and the missions take some real know how instead of blowing everyone and everything up to complete. The tactical side is spot on as well. No it is no call of duty but it does play well enough to rent and get into for at least a few weeks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sniper Elite

posted by mlambert591 (DURANT, OK) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Dont let the bad reviews scare you away. This is one of the hardest shooter games out there.(Maybe why the low ratings) You must be willing to take your time. This game will take you at least 2 to 3 weeks to complete. Move slowly or pay the price. You must use all your weapons unlike other shooter games where you blow everything up. This is as close as it gets to the real thing. If your not stealthy your not going to like this. It will frustrate you but as in the real thing you get shot its over. You must take in mind wind and range to make long range shots. You are aloud to make saves but use them wisely. Give it a chance for a few days you will learn to move slow and use your surroundings and learn to use your weapons correctly and start to make progress.
Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Good at Aggravating Players

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Sniper Elite is a shooting game where you play as a sniper on missions to stop the Russians from stealing nuclear plans during World War II. But it will frustrate many players.
The first obstacle will be actually getting into the flow of the game. In the start of the first of ten missions, several information texts pop into view with no warning, stopping the game cold until the player presses the A button to proceed. It’s really annoying - just when I line up the perfect shot, the game stops and I have to read a bunch of text.
Anyone getting past that will get into those semi open missions where you have to move very carefully as not to be seen by anyone else out there, then you gather information or kill certain guys on the other side.
But it asks for a whole lot of patience from the player - you have to slowly move from one place to the next and meticulously search every cubic inch for enemy soldiers and eliminate them without being seen.
I can’t stress enough just how careful you have to be. It’s far too easy to miss a enemy soldier (or two or three) and get shot at by him - even when that soldier is a long distance away so you have little clue as to where he is.
And it doesn’t help that the way to pick items to use (gun, med-kit, rock, TNT, and so on) is confusing, that the game only has two save slots per profile, that you can only save your game a set number of times during a mission or that your guy can die from as little as two hits.
These shortcomings take almost all the fun out of Sniper Elite. It’s a game only for those looking for a very challenging stealth/shooting game. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sniper Elite

posted by deadgame (CHICO, TX) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sniper elite is a awesome game for any gamer! It is a stratigic game and you have to be well good at well patience. Any way you should rent this game or buy if you ask me!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sniper Elite? Not!

posted by firebird3525 (DURANT, OK) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

IVE PLAYED A LOT OF GAMES IN MY LIFE BUT THIS ONE ABSOLUTELY SUCKED! The graphics are lousy, the sounds are pathetic, and the "realism" of the game considering this was supposed to have taken place during the Eastern Front of World War 2 is grossly understated. Do yourself a favor and find something else because this is not worth it. I had this game in my house a day and half before I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

horrible!!!!!

posted by emunni (WHITE PLAINS, NY) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Do not waist your time.

posted by oppanoia (COSTA MESA, CA) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

Do not waist your time with this game. It's no call of duty!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

well graphed game but could be better

posted by mikefade (DUARTE, CA) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

it was fun but it lacked control and its ability to capture key features in its kill shots is awsome but playbility could be better if it had in dept graphics but in all it was okay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Brown game is brown.

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

Repeat after me: brown and gray are NOT a color palate! This game does plenty wrong. Its slow paced, boring, surprisingly light on tension(You're a sniper, the game is supposed feel tense), light on people to snipe, and the use of brown and grey for almost everything, makes picking out a target, a very difficult task, as the markers they use to designate a target are...that's right, BROWN!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What a dog

posted by n000000b (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

Tried to play this with my daughter. The ENDLESS and FANTASTICALLY ANNOYING pop-up messages which brought gameplay to a standstill were obnoxious -- who wants to be interrupted every few seconds?!!? Maddening. So we're wandering around the map, trying to find ANYTHING to engage. After about 15 minutes we agreed to mail this one back to Gamefly ASAP. Complete waste of time. Nothing good to say about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice game

posted by tmqa7joe (DAYTON, OH) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I enjoy this game. It's a slow pace that I can enjoy..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game sux

posted by silvie (GRESHAM, OR) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

this game is nothing what i expected its based just after wwII and your an sniper .... running thure town and almost unable to look side to side and can be shot 1000's of times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

response to review

posted by REVERNDSQUICK (PORT HUENEME, CA) May 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

KIND OF SOUNDS LIKE REAL WAR.. just sayin...( and I hate that phrase) Though I really do mean it when I say thank you for this review. QUOTE: JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sniper Elite is a shooting game where you play as a sniper on missions to stop the Russians from stealing nuclear plans during World War II. But it will frustrate many players.
The first obstacle will be actually getting into the flow of the game. In the start of the first of ten missions, several information texts pop into view with no warning, stopping the game cold until the player presses the A button to proceed. It’s really annoying - just when I line up the perfect shot, the game stops and I have to read a bunch of text.
Anyone getting past that will get into those semi open missions where you have to move very carefully as not to be seen by anyone else out there, then you gather information or kill certain guys on the other side.
But it asks for a whole lot of patience from the player - you have to slowly move from one place to the next and meticulously search every cubic inch for enemy soldiers and eliminate them without being seen.
I can’t stress enough just how careful you have to be. It’s far too easy to miss a enemy soldier (or two or three) and get shot at by him - even when that soldier is a long distance away so you have little clue as to where he is.
And it doesn’t help that the way to pick items to use (gun, med-kit, rock, TNT, and so on) is confusing, that the game only has two save slots per profile, that you can only save your game a set number of times during a mission or that your guy can die from as little as two hits.
These shortcomings take almost all the fun out of Sniper Elite. It’s a game only for those looking for a very challenging stealth/shooting game. SKIP IT )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good graphics, Slow gameplay

posted by Hotreels10 (MANDEVILLE, LA) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

All and all this game is just ok. It has some of the better graphics when it comes to Wii games, detailed and smooth. Gameplay can get slow at times and you have to be patient. It seems to be a little more like real warfare. You have to move slow and stay concealed, there is no radar showing you where all the bad guys are so you have to concentrate to find them. The map is very primitive and hard to read so sometimes it's hard to figure out where to go. Controls can be a little clunky and the "sniper" rifle optics aren't very good. I'd say it's not the worst game but not the best either. It will give you something to do for a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Maybe it would be better with real instructions...

posted by Alstarx (MONROVIA, CA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I managed to work my way through the first part of the first mission, but then when I attempted to do a simple grenade toss, I got stuck. I checked the options and controls, but no explanation on how to throw the grenade. All those pop ups would have been helpful if it gave some ideas on how to use what you're equipped with. I didn't even know I had a medipack until I went looking for a way to toss the grenade.

The graphics are astounding, and the gameplay intense, however with the lack of intuitive controls or a decent place to find them within the game, I quickly grew frustrated and gave up.
My suggestion is if you want to try this game, go online a and find an instruction site to tell you how to use the game.I also found it frustrating when using the binoculars or sniper scope...especially for sniper scope, you hold Z tthe sniped scope comes up, you let go it goes down...NO! You click once to use it and click again to un-use it...fail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »