Rent Sniper Elite for Xbox
view large frontback

Sniper Elite

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.4

1525 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Console Sniping Game, Period.

posted by Nirvash (CANON CITY, CO) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now, I know that's probably not saying much, I think it may be the ONLY sniping game on a console, but don't let that detract from how you view the 'Best' rating. This game is awesome. The 'sniping engine,' (I guess?) is awesome.
I rented this game after having already bought a Xbox 360 and was still very impressed. This game is one that really cares about sniping. I mean, REALLY cares. It cares so much, that it will make you wait before it gives you the thrill of the perfect covert kill. (I rhymed!) Not forever, mind you, but a few minutes. Still, for a videogame, this feels like forever. But when the the time comes... Hold breath... steady...

BOOM!

Ahhhh... 300 yards. left eye. Beautiful. (Now I've just gotta get out of here before that guy's escort security force is all over me. I'm a sniper, not the Master Chief...) That's what it's all about, boys and girls. This game MAKES you fight that way. You CAN'T stand your ground against 8 guys with machine guns. It's up to you to plan ahead, pick your battles, maneuver, and take down the enemy on YOUR terms. Covertly, and from long range. Stand up and run, you die. stay low, use cover, move stealthily, you win. Simple. I'm truly grateful that such a game was ever made. Not only is it good in regards to itself, but it will make a better sniper out of you for other games, as well. After all, a good sniper is... a good sniper. You'll become proficient in things like the effective use of cover and camouflage, surveying the area before moving, choosing a high ground that ISN'T also EXPOSED ground, using sounds of battle to cover the sound of your shot, when and where to relocate effectively after your kills, etc. (You know, SNIPER stuff.)
Now, there IS a blemish. This is kind of a niche game, and as such, there isn't a huge number of people who play it. The result of this is that it's kind of hard to find online matches. That's this game's only setback. So, help fix that problem and RENT IT! I give it a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very pleasantly surprised

posted by joelhart (OCALA, FL) May 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I must admit, I wondered how a sniping game would work in the age of run-and-gun shooters, but this is a great game. As one reviewer said, if you don't have patience and would rather charge down a hallway, blasting away with a machine gun, don't bother playing this game. But if, like me, you play shooters like combat really is (non-Rambo-esque), you'll enjoy this game. I didn't make it to the most difficult levels, and don't think I even want to try them. You have to adjust for bullet drop, wind, your target's movement. You have to find a spot with a commanding view and carefully scan the landscape, planning your next move. There's plenty of opportunity for run-and-gun shooting, but the sniping is excellent. And when you score a head-shot, and the slow-mo bullet tracking video kicks in...that looks awesome. But I think my favorite aspect of the game is its length. Everytime I thought it was over, there was another mission to go on. It was very nice to see a game that looks good and plays good also play long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More Like: Sniper Above-Average

posted by LFoxGamer (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

39 out of 45 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Sniper: A skilled military shooter detailed to spot and pick off enemy soldiers from a concealed place.
They often sit in that particular concealed place for long periods of time, waiting for that perfect moment where they can take their target flawlessly.
That thrill of that particular kind of kill is something lots of gamers have experienced to a lesser degree in games like Halo, but not many games try to bring a faithful recreation of what sniping is really like.
Sniper Elite certainly isn't the first, but it's one of the best and only console games to try. Unfortunately the game isn't without it's problems, one of them being that it requires an insane level of patience and trial and error, something most gamers are not willing to give.
There are other things that might turn the casual gamer off of this game as well. The graphics are not exactly outstanding. In fact, I think there could be less draw distance; this is, after all, a sniping game. Walking and running feels a little more like skating than it should, and some of the other controls just aren't as responsive as they could be. There's almost no actual cover in the game, making difficult to tell where is the best place to hide, and even the stealth meter (much like Splinter Cell has) doesn't work very well. The levels are long and difficult, and there's no mid-point saving which means you could be returning to the same challenging level over and over again, too.
So what does this game have that warrants a six out of ten? The thrill of the kill. Sitting 175 yards out for ten minutes waiting for somebody to walk by doesn't seem like much fun until he stops in your sights. You exhale, steady your aim, and fire. The slow motion replay shows chunks of skull flying through the air and your adversary falls to the ground dead. You can even shoot through walls.
So is it worth purchase? Maybe, maybe not. Depends on how much patience you have, I suppose. But should you rent it? Oh yeah. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Room for improvement

posted by lobo7kae (STUART, FL) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay - I enjoyed the forced stealth mode. In this game, you MUST be aware of everything in your surroundings. Trouble comes at you fast and from the weirdest places. Pay attention to the game hints, they can save your butt!
I didn't like the overall sepia appearance. True, war tends to blur everything but this is extreme. Makes existing in the game an added hassle. Plus the maps are, I guess, deliberately vague. Perhaps showing too much information for the total mission and not enough detail for now!
Definite room for improvement - yes, I would buy the new game if one is released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool

posted by gemanman (POLK CITY, FL) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

if you like snipers this is the game for you.personaly i love snipers and i love being sneaky.it can get confusing on wear to go but the map helps.overall this game is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sniper Elite

posted by CANE25 (LONE PINE, CA) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the best sniper game that I have ever played. IT actually delivered better than I expected and it was very real and the split screen co-op was awesome. The one thing that I didn't like was the fact that the whole world is in your hands and it is up to you to win the war. Other than that it was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

all u ppl that hate

posted by mad0007 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok all of u that think this isnt like real sniping, or u have to b tooo patient...u have to b even more patient and wait even longer in real sniping so get ur facts straight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eh'

posted by Stride (SANTA MARIA, CA) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was ok. Gameplay pretty good. Lacks much on the live aspect, Like a month ago a total of 8 players played on live,And thats their lives so dont plan on sniping someone this year. Single player is enjoyable......For an hour. I sent it back the next day but it was worth it, I enjoyed myself in the time i had it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome game

posted by vexaxel (COTTRELLVILLE, MI) Sep 11, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. it has stratagey and realilistic shooting. the wind and bullet drop is included. there is some boreing moments but the overall game makes it worth while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game but...

posted by LunarWolf (ELKHART, TX) May 29, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well the game is very good, but it can be a pain at times to play. it has a big learning curve on how to shoot and hit what u want, but that is also what helps make the game fun.

I have played both the story mode and the x-box live mode and like both. I do think that the on-line part is better and is a lot more fun.

All in all the game is very good and should be tried out if u like to snipe and have time to figer this out, but if u are more of the run and gun type u may not want to play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sounds like a good game if it would work.

posted by Fireguypa (NORTH HUNTINGDON, PA) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Before I decided to try Sniper Elite, I checked the 360 website to make sure it was a compatible game. It said that it was so I put it on my game Q.

After I tried numerous times to get the game to load up, only to have it freeze each time I searched the internet for some info. It was a known fact it seems that the game froze at the same point on every 360 that ever tried to play the game.

This game is evidently not compatible with the 360 and Microsoft should remove it from the list. Therefore since I didn't play the game, I cannot possibly rate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Kiryuu (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Two Words... Exploding Faces...Sweet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cool concept.

posted by 12ox64 (LA JOLLA, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

i really like the idea of being a sniper in WWII. I like everything about the game, the strategic stalking, the concealment, and finally the shoot. It is really fun. The one thing I did not like was that I had to defend Nazis against allied soldiers throughout the whole game. On top of that my character had to wear a SS uniform. That was just disgusting. What a dumb move. I would have rather been a Russian sniper shooting at nazis than an american sniper in a SS uniform shooting russians.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't even try it buddy!

posted by chakra917 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

it hoooooooooooooooooooooooo- oooorrible game waste of money and waste of time......not even worth it ......if you aint a patience gamer don't try it. is not a lot action in the game is like a waiting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

raw!!!

posted by bigsquats29 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

some kick ash shyt!!!!!!!!! MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Got a problematic game

posted by dman88 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

when i got the sniper elite game i put the game in my console, got to the mission info right before the game starts and it wouldnt load.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

game had issues

posted by misfit (RENO, NV) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

Don't know how the game actual game play was due to the fact it wouldn't work past the first level initial briefing. Probably due to the some abnormality on the disk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hands down one of the worst titles for Xbox.

posted by catinabox (SOSO, MS) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

I have a Xbox 360 and my friend decided that he wanted to give this game a try after seeing it's online play. I was very disappointed at the graphics, even for a late Xbox game it could have had slightly better sound and graphics. The voice acting is atrocious that they had to actually speak in this game. My ears were bleeding when I heard the voice acting. Almost no emotion at all!! It's a pity that this game wasn't produced for a higher quality. Take it from me. Don't even think of adding this game to your GameQ! Besides the bullet cam in this game-there is no redeeming factor for this thing called a game. If at all possible I would have given it a -10 or more if possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sniper elite

posted by seraph702 (HENDERSON, NV) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

i dont know about you all but this is my second disc and it doesnt work on my 360 it actually crashes the o/s so i give it a horrrrrrible rating for not being compatible (today everything needs to be compatible or it sucks, in the army we call it modularity, and if it isnt modular the the government doesnt waste its money!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Swagger (ELROY, WI) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

The single best sniper game i have ever played, but in order to like this game you have to love sniper games and have lots of patience a true sniper will wait days for a kill and in this game you may be waiting several minutes and its about time that someone took into effect bullet drop and wind. if you like the fast paced games and run and gun this game isn't for you however if you have some patience and want to play in my opinion the best first person shooter game out there rent or buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not bad but not great

posted by foximus (PEYTON, CO) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

im a marine scout sniper so i had to give this game a shot. over all it wasn't bad. had a degree of difficulty. i loved the bullet cam when you make a head shot. bullet impact is fair. face explodes with huge hole when hit. also liked the ai's reaction to limb hits. shoot them in the leg and they limp away. same for arms. worth the rent not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What a blast! To the face that is :)

posted by jimmy68 (EASTSOUND, WA) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I was recommended this game from some of my friends and now I know why I hang out with them. This game is so much fun, it will have you laughing hard when you first send a bullet from 81 yards away straight into some punks face.

Sniper Elite is set at the edge of the end of wwII. I personally cant stand WWII history just because it is one of the more over studied points in history, and the whole vazi vs allies is now cliche thanks to everyone using the word vazi for someone they dont like. This game is the exception to the rule. The game play will have you on your toes for hours on end.

If you want to try something unique, definitely check this game out. If you have Xbox Live this game is even more fun. I like to replay previous levels to increase points.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

my review on sniper elite

posted by Arcturus (ASHEVILLE, NC) May 18, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

This game the best sniper game out there,it is realistic,challenging and a lot like what a real sniper has to do.every thing plays a factor when you take the shot,just remember don't miss!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SNIPERELITE

posted by REGGIEX (BATON ROUGE, LA) Mar 9, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I PLAY THIS GAME ONLINE AN IT.IS THE BEST GAME UCAN PLAY.WITH FRIEND ILOVE THIS GAME.BEENPLAYING FOR,FOR OVER A YEAR.REGGIEX

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Patience is Key

posted by Xcited2b (RESTON, VA) Mar 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

You REALLY get your money's worth if playing time is important to you. This game is long. The only way to play it is slowly and carefully. The levels just keep on coming though so get comfortable. The graphics are a little clumsy and my guy got hung up a few times and I had to restart from a save point. I actually got a little tired of the game before it was all over because you're the same guy through the whole game with the same weapon and the same limitations. The AI was good though sometimes it seemed they could shoot around corners and through walls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse