Rent Sniper Elite for PS2
view large frontback

Sniper Elite

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.5

2036 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sniper elite

posted by trippy (CAMBRIDGE, MA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

34 out of 35 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

if your interested in the concept of being a sniper you will love this game, i personally enjoyed this game a lot because of the way in which you had to be patient and really take your time in order to complete each level, there's no way you can just run around with your machine gun and kill everything, you really have to put a lot of thought into how to get through a range of different situations ranging from assassinations to securing entire army bases.
the only downsides to the game that i came across, is that it does tend to get a bit boring with regards to using trial and error techniques to get through missions, for example learning the routes of certain guards and patrol units, also it does tend to get annoying when guards appear from nowhere or pop up from places that you have already secured, but i guess that does happen in any army/war game.
the artificial intelligence is brilliant, if you play in harder modes it takes great amounts of skill to over come even one enemy and also the graphics are great.
again if you love the thought of being a sniper this game is definitely for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is one of the best 2 player Co-Op Games.

posted by jaydensmom (MOUNTAIN HOME, ID) May 3, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

22 out of 23 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Ok well first off I will tell you about the good things in this game.

1-The graphics were not top notch but they didn't suck, they were actually pretty decent. Especially when you have the bullet cam on and you get a head shot. Pretty good.

2-My husband and I have a hard time trying to find games that are Co-Op, and not just trying to hunt and kill each other. We actually got to do the mission together which was great.

Overall the game scored pretty well with me and my husband. We would probably own it one day just cause. Its well worth renting. Now some of the negative things we found.

1-The saving took extremely long. For impatient people like us it was horrible.

2-There is some kind of coloring problem in the co-op missions. The top screen is always darker then the bottom screen. Now on daylight missions it didn't matter too much, but in dark missions it was so hard to see what I was doing. I quite often just looked at the bottom screen and stayed close to the other player so I could see if there were any enemies around. Otherwise they came out of nowhere and got me.

But the game is totally worth the rent if you like shooter games. I would recommend it to just about anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Most Realistic Gameplay To Date

posted by Nameless (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

33 out of 38 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Sniper Elite is a realistic game about being a sniper during WW2. This is the first game of it's kind and it's a good one. The graphics are a little outdated but the realism makes up for it. They put in everything that a real sharpshooter actually has to do. A few examples are holding your breath, aiming a little higher than the enemies head if he's a long distance away, and you even have to see which way the wind is blowing so it won't push your bullet of target. This is probably the most realistic gameplay to date. This game is fun but it's pretty hard, I found myself restarting each level at least three times. You have to be really patient playing this, so if your not a patient person I wouldn't recommend this game to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good

posted by Lontae86 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Long fun challenging game worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sniper Elite goes beyond FPS

posted by 808Knight (Kailua Kona, HI) Dec 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After numerous other FPS arrivals, and countless WWII era titles, a new look at shooter games has arrived. Sniper Elite does have a few drawbacks, just like every other game created. The graphics aren't spectacular, and the controls take a little getting used too ( although they can be modified to your liking ). What this FPS lacks in graphics, it more than makes up for in gameplay. The game starts off with a short intro to your character, and then introduces you to an entirely new outlook on first person shooters. You are a sniper, brought in to help end the war once and for all. Unlike other FPS you work alone. Your only weapons are your rifle and your mind. This game requires patience, a sharp mind, and a steady trigger. After playing through I found myself more than happy with the overall performance and gameplay. Each stage is open-ended, and you can find multiple paths to your objective. There are borders to each map but they are far and you rarely notice. Each level offers different objectives and more than one option when it comes to accomplishing each mission. You also have the option of playing co-op, having a friend play along side you to watch your back so that you aren't torn to shreds by the opposition. The enemy AI is refreshing as well. Shooting the opposition anywhere other than the head and you can watch them limp away, or drop to the ground, rolling around in pain and shouting for back-up. Enemy characters will take cover behind barriers and other objects, crouch, go prone (lay down), and even fire around corners. You might find yourself shouting at the TV, and throwing your controller. You will find various tools and weapons to help you through the game. Such as dynamite, tripwire grenades, machine guns, time bombs (used for certain objectives) and other useful items. For anyone that is looking for a new type of adventure I strongly recommend renting this game. It is different, but in a good way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

How patient are you?

posted by Shasta97 (AURORA, CO) May 9, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Sniper Elite is not for everyone. If you are looking for a "run and gun" style shooter, then this is not the game for you. This, is a thinking man's shooter, which is good and bad.

The thinking part of the game plays out when you have to covertly position yourself (translated: a lot of crawling) in a strategic firing location and then make adjustments to your aim considering factors like gravity (adjust for bullet drop), your heart rate, wind, etc. There is a lot of front work that goes into taking just one shot.

Oh, but what a payoff! If you get all of your calculations right then you will be feasting on a buffet of single, double and even triple headshots! The best part of it is the "bullet cam". When you make an exceptional shot, the camera switches to a bullet cam that follows the bullet from muzzle to point of impact in satisfying albiet grizzly cinematic payoff for your effort.

The AI in the game can prove to add to your frustration as they are pretty good at flanking you after you reveal your location. The ensuing firefight is equally frustrating because as a sniper you are not well equipped for such an engagement and usually killed rather quickly.

Overall this is a solid game that offers something different from the glut of WWII and Vietnam wargames that are availble on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic game

posted by kneedeep (PORT HURON, MI) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Granted you hear the enemy say the same thing so often, you get to pick up a little German and Russian. But the game over all is superior to any shooter I have played in awhile.
It is not a run and gun game.

You need to have patience and be like a true sniper.
It's alot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

VERY GOOD GAME!!!

posted by munkytron (LIVINGSTON, TX) May 25, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is a good shooter game...If you like the long range snipe attack!You can take out the enemy,move and do it again before they even know what hit them.Then sneak in and take out the rest with mechine guns and greandes.. check this game out!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Sniper Game

posted by halo123456 (KINGS MOUNTAIN, NC) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I love playing as a sniper in any game.So I really loved this game!!I loved how you had to sneak around and be patient and that's how I am on any game.If you love sniping you will love this game.Sniper Elite has a great layout of Germany in WWII.I really loved how when you shoot someone from long range the camera follows the bullet.So you should really rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Yep

posted by Ndru000 (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) May 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented this game cuz i love to snipe in any other game i played and i thought this would be the game for me.

But after about an hour i thought to myself this game blows! and i rated this game a 5, it was slow and boring. The realism which is pretty realistic didnt exempt the fact that this game was putting me too sleep. Right before i was going package it up my roommate said hey theres a co-op feature lets play it. So we did, and i got to say two players was so much more fun. I got more out of the game when i was playing with him just cuz of the laughs and being able to have one person cover you as your crawling to get a better vantage point or when we got bogged down he would watch the back as i watch the front just added so much more to the game.

The realism is great being able to pick up bodies, having to consider many factors when aiming, walking slow even crawling so the enemy doesnt hear you, going under vehicles to hide or snipe, hiding in the shadows, blowing up tanks with tnt or grendaes, setting trip mines so you dont get caught from behind or too blow up vehicles that are coming towards you, just was crazy.

Single player still isnt fun for me but two player is.

There are only 3 flaws with this game -

1. You can only walk so far away from your buddy. Even though its split screen you cant go like 400 ft away from eachother which really hurt me and my buddy in the strategy category.

2. The game is way too short, and kinda easy if your good a sniping.

3. The enemies some times start shooting at you even when there is no way that they can see you.

If you are patient and have some one too play with then this is a game for you!

Gameplay : 7
Graphics : 6
Realism : 8
Story/Length : 6
Overall : pretty good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HEAD SHOTS!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL

posted by marksmen (DOTHAN, AL) May 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game play is a great game because you get to sneak around the level and pick off your enemies quickly and quietly. You also get the chance to shoot them with other weapons, which you should do when you get tired of the Sniper Rifle. I would play this game again and agian. it actually had the exact same feel that a sniper would feel.. the only thing i must say that sucked was that you couldnt find that much health packs other than that it was a terrific game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Idea, so-so Execution.

posted by cjdrover (HAVERHILL, MA) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Summary: Great idea, but poor movement mechanics, graphic glitches, and balance problems make it not very fun after the novelty wears off.

Detail: (Played on "Marksmen" difficulty, ie second highest out of four levels). Simply put, the game doesn't play like it should. Some enemies can spot you 125 yards away while you crawl through rubble, no matter what you do. Enemies holding a submachine gun 100 yards down the street are ten times deadlier than an enemy sniper 50 yards away on a rooftop. Accuracy for the enemies seems about 25% regardless of how far away they are or what weapon they are using. Some elements of sharpshooting are present, such as bullets dropping due to gravity and drifting in crosswind, but they are poorly presented. The scope is permanently zeroed to 0 yards (this is impossible, since the scope sits a couple inches above the barrel) and there is no way to adjust the elevation/windage knobs on the scope. Any shooter will know that one always adjusts these controls to zero the scope at the proper distance rather than aim so many "ticks" (MOA's) above the target. The game is set in 1945 Berlin, yet only a handful of structures one each map can be entered by the player. This game honestly plays more like a harder version of Freedom Fighters than a sniper game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sniper Elite

posted by Historybuf (WESTERLO, NY) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Awesome game i love it. The gameplay is awesome and the storyline is fantastic. Graphics are good for a PS2 and the scenery is very interactive. The controls are well thought out and work well. I would recommend this game to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Patience Required

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Apr 24, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While my title may make you think I didn't like the game, it is really to describe the gameplay. Since you are a sniper you have to be patient and wait for your opponent to make a mistake. This game is great for online play, so much in fact I bought it and still haven't stepped away from online long enough to play through the single player mode. This is definitely worth playing, especially if you are an online junkie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good for some of you

posted by actionhere (DAVIDSONVILLE, MD) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

this game is really cool how you can be the bullet. If your a person who loves shooting games. this is worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sniper Elite: Its modern day madness

posted by greenmail33 (OSCEOLA, MO) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

i think that this game is like heaven in a can. the digital world of awesome-modern day shooters has been unleashed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not what I had hoped for.

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

This was just like all the other WWII based shooters out there with some changes. I was really hoping for more shooting and less sneaking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sniper Elite

posted by Cpl_Angove (DRACUT, MA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This was an Excelent game. You have to know how to use the weapon,wind and distance to get an accurate shot! I would highly recomend this game to any sniper that knows how to shoot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun

posted by sniper123 (MIDDLEBORO, MA) May 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

This game is very realistic. Some people think the story is confusing but its not your an american oss disguised as a german on covert cold war missions. There is tons to do and the two player is a cool ad on. so all in all its a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good

posted by rafferty (CHATSWORTH, GA) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not one I would recommend

posted by rofele (HOMER, NY) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The graphics for this game were horrible! Also when you get shot it is supposed to show on your compass the direction the person shot you from. However, the direction indicated on your compass may not be the direction that you are actually being shot from. Just small annoying things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

take it to the scope

posted by Crazyman7 (JERSEYVILLE, IL) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is awesome! a 2 player sniper game is fun, and the scope was realistic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sniper elite

posted by sxyldy (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

loved it. need to make another on

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but Hard

posted by Codswanny (COOK, MN) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This is not a game you're gonna master right away. You have to really pay attention. You have to know what you are doing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Armydon30 (DOVER, DE) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

One of the most realistic sniper games on the market as far as ballistics are concerned game play is great but the use of a sniper is a little overreacted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse