Rent Sniper Elite V2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sniper Elite V2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:Wii U, PS3
GF Rating
7.1

3795 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A solid WWII sniper

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 29, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

55 out of 56 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

Sniper Elite managed to keep my interests throughout the short campaign, but once it's done you're likely not going to play it anymore. The 1P campaign is pretty short, and there are no other game modes, so renting is perfect b/c replay value is very poor.

This WWII sniper puts you in the shoes of an elite sniper whose task is to infiltrate certain areas and complete your objective; whether it's snipe a general from a vantage point, or sneak into enemy territory and plant a bomb to sabotage their operations.

The cool thing is that you have a pretty open environment to choose your own path, whether you crawl under a building or climb the highest point to snipe all your enemies. You can tag them to keep a close eye on them, which is very handy. The ability to explore the level a bit is nice, and it can make a different experience for everyone who plays it, depending on your strategy.

You also have cool toys like dynamite, trip wires, land mines, grenades, etc. So you can snipe a guy, plant a land mine on his dead body and lure his squad mate to search the body, blowing them both to bits. Or you can plant a trip wire, throw a rock to lure an enemy, and watch him trip his way to the grave.

The sniping is also the key element here, and it's very unique. When you snipe, the camera slows down and pans in on your bullet path, making for crazy cool snipes. You also get an x-ray view of your enemy's bone structure and internal organs, so you can slowly watch your bullet enter through his eye socket, crushing the skull and brain, then exit through the back of his head with an explosion of blood. It's cool.

If you like the stealth shooters or are looking for something different from the call of duty junk out there, check out Sniper Elite. It's the perfect GF rental and will keep you entertained for a few days.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by GhostBlade (ESCONDIDO, CA) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are able to patient and stealth, and don't mind pearing thru binoculers, this game is right up your alley. I am over 40 and have a job, so I played about two hours a night, and it took me about 7 days to complete the single player mission. Unlike those who try to blow thru it in one day, and say it is a good rent, and it truly is, but I think this one is a keeper. Personally I think it was worth buying and so I did. Looking forward to playing the coop with my bro. For those of you who want the maximum challenge you can crank it up to Elite and disable everything that will aid your bullet path. The machine gun unloads pretty quickly so be sure to salvage supplies from the soldiers you just laid to rest. Be smart when setting up your trip wire, you will live a lot longer from those who tend to sneak up behind you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Start to Finish!

posted by MarcAF3 (EDINBORO, PA) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Excellent game start to finish! Great story line and awesome effects. Very realistic when firing from a distance, and when you hit the shot is headed for a vital area (head, throat, chest), it traces the bullet all the way to the victim and you watch as it explodes through the body. Awesome game through and through and highly recommended!! A++

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly Entertaining

posted by OfficerRedfield (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 21, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the only game I know where you can actually shoot a German or a Russian Soldier in the balls and actually watch said balls explode from the X-Ray Sniper Camera. Its challenging as can be, but you know what? I would recommend this to anyone who likes a good World War II game, and this right here is a good World War II game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by Cman236 (RIPLEY, TN) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This has got to be the best WWII Sniper game EVER Absolutely worth a rent or better yet, buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Play smart or don't play

posted by papapico (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is not a run and gun! That still won't prepare you for the game play! Picking off the hardest most important target and then repositioning while taking out grunts was a blast! This is a in a nut shell review of a good game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sniper Elite V2

posted by hangdman (BROCKTON, MA) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok first, COD, MOH, And Battlefield are lacking in certain key things. This game is to, a little. I have been unsatisified with the shooting of many games from this Genre. The best shooter of all time is in my opinion Delta Force 4 land warrior, why? because when done right you can clear a map with out a soul knowing until it gets to heaven. One of the few if only things missing from this game is something included in the Metro franchise. The ability to take out light sources. But this game hands down is better than the first few I mentioned. I am a camper, I am also a hunter, and a sniper. And all you punks know the only way to take out a sniper is with a sniper, a tank, or a danger close artillery strike. Any other game let you watch your bullet castrate your target? You can be sloppy and stupid in every other Shooter, rush in guns blazing. Fools. When you see your testicles rolling around your feet, I did that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

YES!

posted by O2late2runO (WEST BRIDGEWATER, MA) May 16, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its about time I saw a game that fits this descrption. Hardcore Sniper for WW2. YES! AND THEY EXECUTED PERFECTLY! Everything about this game is perfect! You got the oppurtunity to add the realistic effects like wind, gravity of bullet, and heart rate. Its the best game that iv'e rented so far. THIS IS A MUST PLAY GAME!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not quite as good as the original

posted by CrkdWookie (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can't quite put my finger on why. I think that while the original was a bit rough around the edges, the technical restraints of the original, compared to its contemporaries in the last generation, didn't stand out quite as starkly as the sequel/remake does compared to ITS siblings in the current generation.

There's still some good sniping action to be had, but it doesn't feel quite as novel as it did in the original Sniper Elite. The x-ray cam is a novel but not really necessary addition, and the fact that you basically lose the slow-mo highlighted kills when playing in co-op is disappointing.

I understand why it was cut, but at the same time when playing with my buddy, seeing the game start to slow down and knowing that he'd just pulled off an amazing shot was one of the best parts of that game. It was always fun to kind of say "oh, what did you DO....?" and watch it play out. Plenty of time to high five or bump fists during the replays.

Anyway, it's better than the other Sniper franchise out there, Ghost Warrior, but it feels rough and unpolished. The enemy AI is terrible, sometimes ignoring your actions entirely and other times spotting you a mile away before you've done anything to reveal yourself, with no clear reason why.

Just doesn't hold up as well as the original and feels a bit dated and last gen despite the updates. Not terrible, but even as a huge fan of the original I found it somewhat underwhelming. Also worth noting the campaign is not only short but surprisingly so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Are you elite enough to be a sniper?

posted by Ravynheart (LOUISVILLE, KY) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just finished playing Sniper Elite V2. This is what I like to think of when I want to play a sniper game. This has everything you need. From the beginner sniper, the hardcore.

You play as a sniper during WWII. And from the start you can pick how much of a sniper you really want to be. Do you want the game to assist you in every shot? Shooting straight, no drag on the bullet til it hits your target? Or do you want to gauge the wind yourself, figure the distance, and use the mil dots like a true sniper of the US Armed Forces?

Either way you go, your in for a hard fight. The AI is relentless in its search for you, and once they have your position, they will try to flank and surround you if at all possible. And that is on the easiest setting. It only gets more challenging from there.

The controls feel good, although it took a little time to get used to the button setup. The graphics are pretty good. Not pull you in like your watching a movie, but still pretty good for a third person shooter.

This game was difficult in some spots, but satisfying overall. I actually played through twice, to get a few extra achievements, which I had fun acquiring. Even though your going from point A to point B, there is a large area between them, with multiple paths you can take, different rewards and hardships for each path. It brought back fond memories of the very first Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon game.

The only downfall in this game is the fact that it is quite short. I finished my first playthrough in about 12 hours, give or take.

If you call yourself a fan of sniper games, you own it to yourself to give this one a try.

8 out of 10 overall score

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not perfect, but very enjoyable

posted by octopon (SAN MARCOS, CA) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love sniping games. When I play COD online I'm always the sniper. The game looks good, the sounds are good. My only complaint, and this is nitpicky, is that there is some object clipping, like a rifle going through a wall, or I had it happen once or twice that I was close to an object, like a tree or wall, and I could see the enemy in my scope, by the bullet kept hitting the object. Not a huge deal. The slow motion shots of the bullets tearing through the enemies is cool at first, but gets old. What's really cool is the difficulty settings. You can put this on "cadet", which is easy, and gravity and wind do not effect the bullet's trajectory. However, as you increase the difficulty, gravity and wind DO affect your bullet, so you have to look at things like range and how the wind is effecting things like flags or paper debris flying around the area in order to make your shots. This is very challenging. There is also a survival mode where you fight off wave after wave of enemies, and it gets progressively more difficult. I love this mode. This isn't your typical "run-in-and-mow-everyone-down" type shooter. You need to use stealth, and you need to be methodical. If you run into an area where there are a bunch of enemies, you will die. This is definitely worth the rent, and I would buy it as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sniper Elite V2

posted by tmacd (DULUTH, MN) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start out by saying I've never played the first Sniper Elite game for the X-Box, and I've also never reviewed a game before. I'm basing this review solely on how good this game stands on its own.
If you're looking for a fun military shoot em up game similar to a CoD or BF game then this certainly is not that. While not a lot of planning and skill goes in to executing each mission "perfectly" it certainly takes more patience than the standard FPS. The game can sometimes be unforgiving at it's most difficult, and is especially difficult on the Sniper Elite difficulty where most enemy snipers can take you out in one or two well places shots.
The sniping aspect of the game can range from extremely fun and satisfying to stale and tiresome. In the lowest difficulty the player isn't even required to compensate for distance. In the next difficulty they are required to compensate for distance, however, holding your breath will "slow down" time and create a small red square in your sights that shows where the bullet will end up. In Sniper Elite mode the player will have to compensate for gravity and wind, so really just pick your poison. Seeing as how most fire fights can get pretty hectic, it can be just a matter of waiting for your heartbeat to level out so you can pull off another slo-mo shot, nothing too difficult. Fighting with the a submachine gun or pistol certainly isn't the games high point, but it gets the job done, more or less trying to force you to be a better sniper and to take people out the stealthy way.
Speaking of killing people, you can do it in a variety of ways: trip mines, land mines, grenades, dynamite, timing your shots with loud noises, etc etc. And watching your bullet go slow motion through an enemies insides just never get's old.
Certainly a good game worth at least a rental, satisfying nonetheless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sniping is Great, everything else eh

posted by broncosdude (HOLTSVILLE, NY) May 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

First off, iv never played the original Sniper Elite. Only real sniping game iv played before this was Sniper Ghost Warrior which was god awful. I knew this game was not gonna be worth $50, so i rented it. For the $10 i spent renting this, it was very much worth it but again a $50 price tag is too much. With the limited amount of content this should have been a $29.99 or $39.99 game. Only game modes are single player and coop online.

Story-6-
Really isn't anything impressive. You play as Karl Fairburne, a intelligence agent for the oss. You have to kill and capture Soviets and German scientists who are making v2 missiles.

Game play-8-
Its feels a little slow and clunky at times. Iv found many invisible barriers which is frustrating. But what makes this game and all the really matters is sniping. Its by far the most realistic(if you play on elite difficulty) sniping game iv played. Ghost Warrior, Call of Duty, Battlefield and many other games with sniping involved cant touch this. But everything else just feels out dated about this game. Yes the x-ray vision is very sick, but it does get old. Wish the whole body got x-ray vision. I would love to see knee caps explode with a bullet ripping threw it. One of the coolest things that iv never seen before is when you shoot a grenade on a guys hip it explodes, or shoot the ground from a certain angle and it ricochets off the ground and rights into a enemy.

Graphics-7-
Graphics are out dated. Looks like 2009 graphics. Lighting is great and so is sound but most of the enemies looks the same. The environment is decent but not flashy. The x-ray vision looks great.

Overall-7.5-
Game is fun, but some bugs, outdated graphics and the amount of content makes this game a renter but not buyer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

outstanding

posted by shakenblake1 (CADDO MILLS, TX) May 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think the people at Rebellion Developments made this game specifically for me. Loved it. most fun I've had with a shooter in a long time. keep up the great work guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like to Snipe? This is the game for you.

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 4, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

You snipe run to another location snipe some more and then snipe yet again. I like this game because I like to snipe in shooter games. It is a slight budget title being only $50 new but it is still worth playing. The shots where you get to see the bullet hit the nazis in slowmo are the best. Also, I know I said you snipe and thats it but you can also switch to other weapons for close range combat. Great game overall. At least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sniper Elite, a review

posted by TimeLord (FESTUS, MO) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For those fans such as myself who played the PS 2 Version of this game I waited for a second part with hopes that it would be better if not at least equal to the first game.
The game was a disappointment in some reguards and good in others.
First the good part of the game: The graphics of the game were excellent, buildings and rubble, vehicles and hiding places were well done. Unlike the first game, here you had many places to choose from. Such examples being the highest building to the basement, tense moments wondering if a enemy was hiding around the corner kept me looking around corners. The enemy soldiers and vehicles was also well done.
Now to the bad part: Unlike the first game, where you had missions that required looking for good positions to set up your sniping area and back up planning to move to another area if needed, this game lacks that. Soldier AI always know where you are after the first shot, making pulling back quietly to another position almost impossible. Traps don't always work and finding places to place explosives such as TNT to shoot at doesn't happen here. In the old game you could throw the TNT and then prep yourself to fire if things got too hot, in this game, you can only place it before you and if you do it by accident, you cannot pick it back up.
The game also does not let you find the best places to snipe, one example being the rail station with the V2 Rocket platform, it was the only place to hide and had more openings than a pack of swiss cheese, the limited amount of space for traps is limited leaving too many gaps and replaying the level many times to end the level.
silent kills is another bad part of this game, it always seems like the enemy knows from when one of thier own has been shot quietly, the "Man Down" goes up and the search begins, with you usually ending up getting killed
Replayability of this game is not very good, once the game ends, it seems like it ends with a blahh. If you can, just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sniper Elite V2 Review by Nucl3arT1g3R

posted by Nucl3arT1g3R (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jun 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has fun game-play, great graphics, and a Fairly interesting WW2 story. It's fun to play, and has some new mechanics that make it a nice challenge. It focuses mainly on stealth, but you can switch from your sniper to an automatic weapon and play with a more action based style.The sniping is extremely well done, and easy to use.This actually one of the only games i'm good at it.The sniper kill-cams are gruesome, gory, and extremely cool to watch.The games only drawbacks are it's short campaign, and (From my experience) dead multi-player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Limited experience, but...

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) May 18, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Right off the bat, I did not play much or give it much of a chance, but that is kind of the point to this review. This game is meant to be precise with even the first screen telling you to use the advanced mill sightings on your sniper scope on any but the easiest difficulty. I happen to know what mill sightings are, but I wonder how much confusion that caused. The confusion for me comes from the fact that the game will tell you how far away a wall in a room is (using a yellow dot and a distance number that pops up on screen), but not the enemy you're lining up in the scope. Mill sightings are used when because you know the distance and compensate for bullet drop accordingly, but if there is no distance then I do not know where to line up my shot in the scope. It's been awhile and I can't remember what distance each mill sight stands for - the game could use a tutorial, after all, who becomes a pro sniper day one?

The game has other realistic elements that constantly override each other. For instance, you want to time your shot with ambient noises like mortar fire so other enemies do not hear your shot. However, when you are lining up the shot, all you can hear is your obnoxious heart beat and trying to listen to when the mortar is fired to time the shot and explosion becomes almost impossible. Every single time I fired a shot bullets came at me from every direction. With all these realistic elements and a good surround sound, I figured I could return fire and slowly take them out, but there was no muzzle flash, the surround was telling me the bullets were coming from behind me in a room without a door and with muddy graphics (something that only bothers me when trying to pick out Na zi gray and brown amongst gray and brown buildings) I could never really see who was firing at me from further away then I would snipe.

And Gamefly? The word Na zi should be allowed - its a fact of life. Idiots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good/bad

posted by bigmike420 (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

yes it is a great sniper game the kill cam is one of the most wiked i have ever seen but it is hard as helI to sneak around unsean u have to take ur time and i am more of a run throw spray and pray baby but the nazis dont drop hardly any ammo i give this a 5 outa 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good concept, but needs a lot of work

posted by AlstareJ86 (LIVERMORE, CA) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the kill cam and the skeleton view when you get a headshot or vital hit on the enemy. But there's a ton of glitches in the game and here's a few: for starters there have been a few occasions where I'm about to stealth kill the enemy, he glitches and immediately he's facing me and I'm dead, or I can't stealth kill him at all. Another one is when you try to snipe somebody you may get a headshot but they won't die! I'm no marksman expert but I'm pretty sure if they're not dead, they're a vegetable if they take one in the dome! Lastly when you're in the flaktower the commander flee's nine times out of ten, even if you do everything right! If they do come out with another Sniper Elite, hopefully they test it thoroughly next time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game

posted by wrnng1 (BURLINGTON, NC) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Good game but online sucks it takes for ever to find a good room and then every time I got on knowbody was using a mic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor Controls, Poor Graphics, Sadistic Fun

posted by gopreds303 (ANTIOCH, TN) May 8, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Personally I re-Joined Gamefly in anticipation of this game and a few life events. I was looking forward to this game, but was kind of disappointed. It's not like it's a 'bad' game... but man, is it punishingly difficult sometimes. Again i prefer to play games on the hardest difficulty, i did turn it down but didn't enjoy much success. Anyway, my biggest gripe is plain and simple... the controls. A game that should PRIDE itself on SMOOTH and responsive controls, this game does not. Add to that, poor character models, stupid AI, and a downright rediculous amount of 'slow mo' kills, and you get a disjointed, half-brained shooter. Again it's not a horrible game, but still not something i'd recommend, unless you've got nothing else to play in Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sniper

posted by rbann (DECATUR, GA) May 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

This game is better than 1 so far,not hard to figure out how to play and snipe,does need a game guide with the game when it was released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing Elite About It

posted by sgt077 (BRANDON, FL) May 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 21 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, there is nothing elite about this stinker. Controls are clunky, movement is like an 80's game. Targeting is lame and does not line up and the graphics are just bland. Don't waste your time if you have played Call of Duty or Medal of Honor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Over Done

posted by crosshair_eyed (NORTH FORK, CA) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot of potential (as do most SNIPER games) but the controls are so difficult to use instinctively that it really screws up the game play. This could have been great. Now it's not quite mediocre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse