Rent Sniper Elite V2 for PS3
view large frontback

Sniper Elite V2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.9

2186 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is fun at first then later got boring

posted by ffggb (STAFFORD, VA) Nov 27, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

After mission five it got so boring I am a bro

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disc

posted by dysdy316 Aug 17, 2013

The game froze, skipped, u name it it did it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sniper elite

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, not Perfect.

posted by alexisBeyond (HIALEAH, FL) May 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

+ Great Story
+ Good gameplay
+ Fun
- Graphics aren't up to PS3 level.
- Bad Multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Fun

posted by Justwondering (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) May 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I enjoyed it I just wish it was more to the story anyway I had allot of fun sniping, even the slow motion kills were pretty cool I had allot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

was expecting more detailed shooting

posted by gfuser100 (BRONX, NY) May 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

i started out on the hardest setting. this game takes a long time to play one level. the game throws alot of soldiers at you. you have a few tactical ways of dealing with them, but once you use your main weapon, half the map enemies are announced to your presence.

The enemies just keep coming. the AI isn't smart at all. it knows when your reloading or moving, so that is when they usually come at you. you could hide in a corner with a stack of bodies you just fragged and they still creep around corners like nobody is there. it's kinda dumb.

i was expecting less enemies and more skilled far distance shooting targets. i think the challenge of the game seems about right when shooting. The wind factor and bullet drops. the scenery is nice. only played half the game but it seems repetitive so far. it's not a bad game if you like challenging shooting.

it might be better to start with custom setting though if you want realistic mode. once you start the game on a specific difficulty, you can't change it back. hard mode throws alot of guys and uses alot of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehh

posted by Le22az (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I was thinking it was more like SGW2 but I was wrong but it was lest then 1/2 way there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sniper elite

posted by abe008 (HOMESTEAD, FL) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

game seemed to be good i as enjoyig it can not reLLY Rate it as i never played it long enough i was very disapointed how long after it was sent to me on how long it took for me to receive the game i waited 7 days then i play to level 3 or 4 and game no longer wants to continue to load any further was very disapointed if postal service gets any worse id have tio cancwl memb..
but play the game you prob get a better disc......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Good

posted by JJACK1 (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Mar 27, 2013

Member since May 2011

There is no stealth aspect to the game such as a real sniper would have. having to take on 8-10 enemy troops at once on the ground? come on... the only thing kinda cool about the game are the bullets cams. the rest kinda sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as Good as Reviews say

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

Sorry but This isn't nearly as good a game as the reviews would have you think it is. One of the biggest problems is the button layout, instead of using he trigger buttons for triggers you are forced to use the shoulder buttons to pull the trigger and the trigger button is used to throw grenades set mines and the such, why it is programmed this way is beyond rational thinking. Then you have the whole sneaking around thing which would be ok if it actually made a difference but it doesn't as soon as you move all the enemy in the area know exactly where you are no matter if you are using cover or not. Using Cover actually makes it harder for the player to shoot but seems to make it easier to get shot because you have to Hold one button to come out from the cover and two more buttons to shoot. They had a chance to make this Game far better then the first one but they failed and might have even made this one worse

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sniper elite v2

posted by superweapons (WAKE VILLAGE, TX) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

sniper elite v2 is a fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Returned. Didn't Fire A Shot.

posted by PriorMe (WESLACO, TX) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Was really looking forward to this, one. Moved it up, a couple notches, to top of Q. When I got it, the only thing my controller would do, was to let me use the binoculars. Total waste. Wasn't in my PS3 for even 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by banksgrgy (HECTOR, AR) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

lots of fun. like the game alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad...Kinda Good

posted by THE1nONLY (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The only reason I wanted to play this was because of the demo. That bullet follow cam is just ridiculous. It makes the gameplay a bit more fun and entertaining. The story is kinda short for my taste. Its definitely a game you want to rent but not worth buying in my opinion. Its not really a high action game because it focuses more on the stealth aspect kinda like metal gear but not all the way.

Overall its a fun rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by agentghost81 (OAK PARK, CA) Feb 3, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I love this game, the killcams are gory, the missions are long, but in a good way, and the AI is quite challenging. I can't wait for any future DLC and hopefully Sniper Elite 3. There is one drawback, and that is multiplayer, it isn't as great as it could be, but other than that, it's the definiton of a perfect game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could Have Been Better

posted by chojindrak (GARRATTSVILLE, NY) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was actually looking forward to this game in my Queue but it unfortunately feel short of my expectations.

In theory this game could have been much better but lacked in implementation. It provides some strong moments such as the x-ray kills where you're provided with the "That was a cool shot!" moments but the enemy AI and VERY WEAK autosaving system totally ruined the game for me.

Enemies seem to "hang" in their attack programs causing them to just stand there while you shoot them repeatedly with your pistol.

The final negative for me to quit playing the game was the autosaving. I reached a checkpoint and was saved in a bad location. On a second floor location with 7 enemies already alerted to my presence. Had no way to make a clean shot to try and whittle them down, tried lobbing some grenades, rocks, etc to try and pull the enemies away from my location but with no luck. Managed to pick a few of them off but could not seem to get through them all...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

.....

posted by muffun1017 (TAMPA, FL) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

Bullet time gets old after the 3rd mission

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't bother

posted by ittybitty (NEWFANE, NY) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have no idea how this game has an average rating of 7. It is horrible, graphics are below par, story is bad, everything about it is far below average. If you are looking for a good shooter, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Falls short

posted by dansan382 (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great for the only fact of the bullet projections and animations when you shoot somebody. other than that, the controls are completely unnatural and just overall not impressed at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by jarhead1775 (PITTSFIELD, MA) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

i recently played this shooter and it was awesome, the graphics for your kill shots are amazing. i did beat the game fairly quickly but i played it non stop from start to finish. great game cant wait for the next one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What a Great Game!!

posted by Jeff2178 (HASKELL, NJ) Jan 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game is pretty fun! A slower pace then usual third person shooters which is good. Zoom cam and X-Ray cam are the best and NEVER get old! Wish that you could move cover to cover a little easier and have a little more ammo for the other guns, but besides that, you NEED to play this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sniper? Where not in this game

posted by jchi (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game starts off great you set traps, you snipe, you scavenge for ammo, this is what i expected from a sniper game, but then all of sudden i found myself face to face with ground troops and tanks. As a sniper the game puts you in positions usually made for platoons or special ops units. I am not a military expert but come on what is a elite sniper doing in a enemy factory by his self taking on 10-15 enemies at a time? The game would be more realistic if you're tagging alone with a unit but no its just a sniper and his rifle, it felt more like an old medal of honor game than a sniper game. The makers of the game forgot one important feature to a stealth/sniper game, at that is the actual stealth and snipping part, thank god for Gamefly, I am glad i did not buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Im mad

posted by MetroTech (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game Kept freezing :|

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Somewhat okay for just sniping. Awful otherwise.

posted by Dukethompson2 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sniper Elite has a very bare-bones plot that fails at any sort of true captivation beyond the first hour or so. However, who really needs an excuse to shoot Nazis and Bolsheviks as long as the game is fun? Well sadly the game falters at virtually every implemented mechanic.

The most egregious sin being, sadly, the fact that the actual sniping is only so-so. Setting up that perfect shot considering wind and distance before pulling the trigger and watching your bullet tear through a German soldier in x-ray slow motion is exhilarating to say the least. It gets a bit offset by the fact that every enemy then instantly knows where you are and can hit you dead on from wherever they are standing. This is somewhat realistic when facing enemies at 40 odd yards. Less so at a half a mile.

Beyond the sniping is the stealth, which is horrifyingly bad. Enemies seem to have super senses to a very frustrating degree. The number of times a restart was forced by an enemy almost half seeing me and instantly alerting everyone was a bit mind-numbing. The open combat is awful as well. You can only sort of aim the smg's that are given to you, leaving you with an effective range of roughly eight feet.

It doesn't help that the game forces stealth and open combat on you quite frequently. As well as sniper sections that were more like standard third-person shooter sections with a sniper rifle. It really struggles to feel like a sniping game at some points. It defeats itself in this way a number of times.

The end point is that Sniper Elite tries to do more than it is capable of. It gives you several tasks that only serve to highlight how little it gives you in the way of tools. For a game with sniper in the title, it really should have stuck to focusing and improving on the actual sniping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool animation, average game

posted by MrFloydAFA (MCKINNEY, TX) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My biggest beef with this game as Active Duty SF is there is absolutely no cover/concealment system.

A true sniper is always invisible when they strike, and this game makes that near impossible.

The bullet cam is awesome, and is the only bright spot in the gameplay/presentation. Brutal destruction of your foe's internal organs is shown to reward a good shot, but the challenge of obtaining a good shot is so minimal the reward is small. This leaves the gamer quickly bored.

This title is certainly a solid RENT as it is very fun for a few hours to take the shot and see the result, but the lack of cover and stealth leaves you fighting off attackers more often than picking them off from the shadows as a sniper would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse