Rent Sniper Elite V2 for PS3
view large frontback

Sniper Elite V2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.9

2173 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by Pandabear1 (BEVERLY HILLS, FL) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

This Game has you going for the next couple of missions, then it starts to get boring. All you do is shot Kraught's and Soviets in the head or chest area and complete to the next area. You get Trip mines and land mines, but like I said it gets boring. There are no cars you can use and mounted machine guns you can through certain levels. As you Progress through levels you earn new guns which is nice. If you didn't this would've gotten a much lower score. Sometimes the characters get stuck or you can just walk by them which is really taking the overall gameplay out, but whatever. Overall Gameplay 7.0 Graphics 7.5 Story 6.0 so Overall A 7 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just plain fun

posted by mstanleydc (WICHITA, KS) Sep 21, 2012

Member since May 2011

A good mix up from the run & gun tactics of Call of Duty. I found myself using the map, planning attack routes, and formulating a strategy before I took a single step in any level. That is what I found fun about this. If I was going to a sniping position I could put trip wires to cover my back. You could put them at multiple doors to make sure you could focus on the targets instead of watching your back.

X-ray killcams are amazing. They never got old for me.

Bullet ballistics were great. Accounting for bullet-drop, etc was very cool and realistic. The only thing I didn't like was sometimes you would have to account for a cross-wind but there were no indicators telling you which direction. I don't need an exact wind gauge, but flags blowing in a direction, etc. would've helped.

All in all a very fun game. Good length with the campaign but not long enough that it got tedious. Looking forward to the sequel that they hint at as well :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A real sniper.

posted by sheashea32 (ARDMORE, TN) Sep 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This is a game for those hungering for a real sniper experience. Realistic Ai and accurate bullet balistics makes for an impressive experience as a covert ops sniper in world war 2. A decent story, much a kin to old espionage war movies, as well as exciting levels give the game a good experience overall.The realistic damage affects on targets gives a gruesomely fun thing to see. On easy, you have a cakewalk while you become the rambo of snipers. On hard, you sneak inch by inch while taking pride in being able to land a headshot on a target only 50ft away, and struggle for longer shots batteling gravity and wind. You also have the option of customizing the difficulty, so have realistic shooting and dumb enemies, or easy shooting and horrendous enemies. The trophies/achievements come at a reasonable difficulty while not making you pull out your hair. Online allows for challenges and co-op within this battlefront of 1945 Berlin as either rogue shooters or as a proper sniper team. The only drawbacks to the game are the linear level design, which not only being kinda basic,also forces you into shootouts on most levels. As opposed to sneaking around or using a tactical decision.All and all a pretty good game. Definitely rent, maybe buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Where is deathmatch?

posted by punkydude (SWEET VALLEY, PA) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2004

In a sniper game there should be online deathmatches. Or at least a 2 player Vertical split screen. Plus game would be better as FPS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

for ww2 fans

posted by chuckd3 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

the game play is good. its not for me since im not really into ww2 era games. graphics are nice. its worth checking out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Overall Very Decent

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

We All remember the PS2 Original. In some ways this Game has taken it and improved. The Bullet Cam is amazing , and increased Graphic sequences upon impact leave you wanting more. The fact that you can choose a Loadout is also nice , as shooting the same weapon over and over would be boring. Even better , is the fact that MOST Vehicles have Gas Tanks which is a bit more realistic , and can be exploded with a well placed round.Even Grenades on Waistbelts are combustable. The Only downfalls to this sequel are minor ... 1. No matter where you hide , even in almost total Darkness and Shadow , unlike the Origional , once alerted to a Snipers presence Enemies WILL see you , period. And 2. You cannot throw Dynamite to shoot , after clearing an area , enemies automatically repopulate when the section autosaves , and there are less missions....hence it can be beaten in about 8 -9 hours. A very Fun game overall , if you are a Genuine Sniper Enthusiast , replayability. Just for being a Game that they made us wait Years for , i had hoped for a bit more in Campaign mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game just to short

posted by GamerGeek33 (HANFORD, CA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this game is awesome but to short, there are only like 7 levels. One thing i love is than some times when you shoot someone with your sniper the camera follows the bullet until it hits your target. Like i said way to short so i dont recommend to buy this game just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sniper Elite V2

posted by msdriskill (LOCUST GROVE, GA) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I liked this game. It has some great visuals and is very challenging. If you are into first person shooting then you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by swang956 (HARLINGEN, TX) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Well i love the game no matter that i beat it in two days... Its a game yall shall love

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Needs a patch

posted by SoulDragons (ANDERSON, SC) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

This game has good deep playing time, but half the time when I put mines and trip wires the enemy would walk right over them and not detonate the bombs. I also am very good at sniping and shooting in these games and direct hits would either not show the bullet penetration or show a kill. Come on get hit 9 times and enemy still doesn't die? Most were three or four, but when multiple enemies are approaching and I fire off a shot and cut scene shows it going through the leg and labels a kill, but I fire multiple shots to torso or head and he still moving? I played to the library mission and got fed up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Im sure it's a great game....

posted by vinniehnk (CALDWELL, ID) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game just wasnt for me. When I am playing a game i expect that more often than not there will be some form of action going on. This game, i felt, started a bit too slow and while constantly shooting people through the head SEEMS like it would be fun, I grew tired of it fairly quickly. That said, if you enjoy this kind of game I still stand behind it. The controls are easy to use, the graphics are pretty clean, and overall the environments are well done. Though again, just be ready for the slow pace to potentially drive you insane.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This Game Is Good But Has Massive Flaws!!

posted by chimptor (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

Sniper Elite V2: This is one of those games with tons of potential that does it's best to just make you mad. I have a feeling this is some sick experiment designed to measure a humans frustration level while trying to have fun. The enemy A.I. Is super human with the ability to not only move with inhuman speed but also able to shoot from insane angles and hit you no matter where you are. The maddening level I'm on now is I have a guy I was supposed to kill but now I have to rescue, and believe me that wasn't easy. We're in a building on the second floor. I have an open perch to shoot from with good protection because I'm up two stories and surrounded by wood and concrete and then the Russians arrive, about 20 of them, and their super fast jack rabbits with the ability to shoot with 99% accuracy all the while being able to shoot you from 60 yards away at a 40 degree angle through concrete and wood with a machine gun!!!!! The other problem is when you shoot the enemy he can take a shot! Ive shot an enemy 4 times with this sniper rifle, and nothing. This is a big mistake. And as a sniper game, my favorite thing to do in gaming (See any Splinter Cell game to see how it's done right), it's more Gun and run than perch and snipe. The graphics are nice as is the sound, but the amount of times I've died because I've had ten guys come at me from all directions or being able to shoot perfectly and through solid features makes this game a rent, DO NO BUY THIS IT WILL MAKE YOU MAD!!! JMHO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game but...

posted by emptseven (OAK GROVE, KY) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Great at first. Then you notice your footsteps are a lot louder than they shoud be, as well as your reloads. There's parts in the game where they see you and they shouldn't. As well as see and shoot you when you can't. A piece of wood is too strong for a bullet??? Its a sniper game for sure. Dont get me wrong I enjoy the heck out of it. But... they should have done testing longer and it seems like the rushed the heck out of the game. An update to fix the enemy seeing you when they shouldn't issue, shooting through wood issue, sound issue would be really nice. My rate is only because I think they put out the game before it was 90% ready. Still... I can't stop playing :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool animations elevate this decent shooter

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jul 11, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

"Sniper Elite V2" is for the most part your typical, WW2-set shooter. The story is bare-bones but serviceable, the voice acting competent, and the cut scenes are kept to a minimum but are decently done. What lifts this shooter up from just being routine are the cool animations you're rewarded with after you pull off an excellent shot. Make a terrific shot and you're treated to a slow-motion tracking of the bullet to its target, where you're then treated with an X-ray view of your victim, where you watch the bullet pulverize bone and organs and even its exit from the target. Depending on the difficulty level you choose, the shots can range anywhere from easy to very difficult to pull off. The reward is always worth the time to line up that perfect shot, and throughout the solo campaign's 7 hours or so the kill animations never get old. Points are awarded accordingly, increasing your ranking on the leaderboard which you can view online. In addition to dispatching your human foes in slo-mo, vehicles can also be taken out in a fiery blaze of glory by targeting a point on the gas tank, which is conveniently marked by a small red circle. The marking is small enough to require you to line up the shot, which can be tricky when you're under fire. Enemy AI varies from being on the stupid side to being preternaturally accurate and aware of your location. This inconsistency carries over to the damage both you and your foes can take. Sometimes enemies are bullet sponges, at others, a shot to the leg or the arm puts them down. Your path from objective to objective is mostly linear, with the illusion that you have options, only to be stopped by an invisible wall. Checkpoints are mostly placed well, but there are a few that force replaying larger sections if you die. There is multiplayer and co-op offered, but I played single player only. The campaign's fairly fun to play, though it's the kill animations that are more likely to spur you to finish than the story. Worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just plain out good Sniping fun with a little more

posted by ptrac (HICKSVILLE, NY) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

There are so many things about this game that are not great. The controls are similar to Gears of War 1, in that the cover based shooting just isn't fleshed out and is flat out clunky at times. The graphics and visuals are along the lines of games from about 4 years ago. Not as bad as the previous gen, but certainly not "Elite". But beyond that, the gameplay is just flat out fun. The Sniping feels great, no matter how many times you do it. The Mortal Kombat-esque internal view of bullet damage never gets old. It also offers some situations where strategy and setting traps plays a nice role. This game is similar to Brothers In Arms without the co-op. Its a somewhat glorified shooting gallery with a basic storyline and just pure fun game play. In a world of short attention span Military shooters, its nice to have a game that gets back to some classic Military game play like Brothers in Arms or Medal of Honor (when it was good). If your looking for some good hunkering down and strategic shooting this game will deliver. if you're looking for another game like MW3 or BATTLEFIELD. Look elsewhere. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome!

posted by nicktheg240 (BURBANK, CA) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Minor glitches throughout the game play but overall great video game. Wasn't impressed with the online play, some lag. If you like sniper games then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

almost perfect

posted by br0wnd3mon (LITTLEROCK, CA) Jun 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

i gave it a 9 only because the game didnt work with my surround system,aside from that its a very good game and i highly recommend renting it if not buying it out right

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by xlito23 (WASHINGTON BORO, PA) May 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

a very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse