Rent Sniper Elite V2 for PS3
view large frontback

Sniper Elite V2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.9

2169 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I love a hard shooter but...

posted by Garyfromulsa (TULSA, OK) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Take this game and shove it.. Too hard. Revels in seeing unnecessary deaths. Didn't try on easy but this is ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth the rent. Definetly not the buy.

posted by biil021194 (LIVERMORE, CA) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was not horrible but was far from impressive. It was definetly not that good by modern graphic standards. The bullet cam was cool but other than that I found the gameplay to be kinda bad and the weapons kind of suck too. And this game is really boring and drab, it gets old really fast. I personally would not recomend it myself I found it to be pretty weak honestly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bullet cam rules

posted by skidmark13 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is loads of fun. I enjoy the stealth games sneaking into a perfect position on the sniper elite mode in this game is very challenging sometimes too much so. at this level enemy snipers can kill you in two shots pretty much. They dont miss much if at all. Having shot real guns in Real life. i enjoy how realistic it is with wind and distance affecting where the bullet actually strikes also the hair trigger and holding of the breath. all adds to the realism. The bullet cam of course takes the cake. Fully rendered anatomy showing bullet entry and exit and at times multiple kills with one shot. I got 3 kills with one shot one time but it only counted 2 of them whats with that?? no 3 for one on trophies tsk tsk. rated it a 9 because it is so very cool. some of the not so cool aspects. The auto save only feature. there are a few levels on the SE mode that are very hard to get through because you are required to reach a certain map point or kill a certain number of soldiers. on the SE mode they will swarm your position and then it becomes more of a FPS then a sniper game. it seems to take a lot of shots with your thompson to bring down the baddies. that being said you have Trip mines. land mines, dynamite, it is possible to setup traps to kill these usurpers however when theres more than 2-3 your traps quickly get used up and its back to close quarters with your MG dynamite behind or way in front of a trip mine helps to increase the lethal radius just be carefull. killed myself more than once even though the explosions were one floor below me in a stairwell. yes i purchased this one. Overall a great game however there are some places that the game spawns enemies after certain points so your never sure on first playthrough if that area's clear or not.. i would like to see a pure sniper game. with a mission objective and no chance of run and gun play. maybe an AI partner to help with an MG? like RL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Where's the stealth?

posted by xinx1939 (LAKE FOREST, CA) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I buy a sniper game I would expect it to be stealth oriented. What i mean by that is that I expect the missions to be me moving through a destroyed city cleaverly avoiding detection by enemy troops in order to get to a location where a challenging shot will need to be taken. I only played the first 2 levels of the game so i could be wrong, but those two levels were just the opposite of that. They had you moving through a destroyed city moving to a sniping spot, but there was no stealth at all. There was only 1 route you could follow and it had you moving through street after street filled with soldiers. There was no way around them so the only way to move on was through relatively close quarter combat. which wouldn't be so bad only the only other guns except the sniper that you have are a submachine gun and a pistol, and they only give you two magazines for the submachine gun which means you basically have to use the sniper. The only reason i did not give it a 1 is because it did have some interesting additions to it. For example, if you shoot someone in a vital organ it shows the bullet tearing apart the organs you hit.
remember: I only played the first 2 levels of the game and decided it was impossible and frustrating. I did not even bother playing the rest of the game. Because I did not finish the game, my review may not be accurate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

RENT ONLY IF TOO HOT TO GO OUTSIDE

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Jul 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I almost purchased this one because i had a two month wait to receive and i enjoyed the demo alot...After a one level of gameplay the flaws weaknesses and bugs started becoming obvious.. Getting stuck on invisible items, being shot while in heavy cover, fuzzy graphics while scoped,,lot of strange stuff.. the game is playable and some parts were designed well. but this is a low budget game afterall,, dumbed down to fit consoles... You have to find gold bars in this game, so the designers make all the maps be scattered with tan and brass colored bricks and items everywhere,how duh can you get..never could find anyone on multiplay,,, so that says more than any harsh words a reviewer can script... a 5 at best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very fun

posted by Heinrich (LYNBROOK, NY) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was a lot of fun. If you're a player who cherishes the stealth aspect of gaming, then this game is perfect for you. If you prefer COD style run & gun, then move along.
Pretty decent play control and very smart AI. I recommend playing the game on Sniper Elite dfficulty as this will give you the most realistic windage and bullet drop available. Those 2 facets were pretty good.
The game will reward you when you sneak around and shoot during loud sounds as to mask your presence. It was a ton of fun for me.
- The online portion for consoles is a bit lacking as there is no PVP. Only co-op for missions and special games like Kill Tally, and Bombing Run.
Overall I'd say this is a must rent for the stealth, sniperlover. The bullet cam & x-ray cam are very cool.
8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sniper Elite V2

posted by gusbrownaffect (COPPEROPOLIS, CA) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game was over all great a sniper game better than being a sniper in black ops or WM3. But as all good games there are some bad things like when you shoot the sniper all of the enemies come for you and you only have two clips of ammo for your assault rifle which makes this game really hard. So you really have to think out side of the box and the makers of this game didn't put any way to switch your weapons cause you will always unlock them but you will eventually figure it out. the game is fun i highly recamend it to action gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolute trash

posted by MRshaytoon (SUNLAND, CA) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2003

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Honestly, I have no idea why everyone has given this game a high rating and praising it. This game sucks major balls.

I am an experienced video gamer (20+ years) so I know exactly what im talking about. I am a wide range player and play almost everything out there.

The controls are jerky and not very user friendly. The graphics felt like a high end PS2 game. I was one hour in this game and felt like I was being water boarded. For whatever reason I felt like I was obligated to play the entire game but reality kicked in and I shipped this game out ASAP after playing a torturous hour. If youre used to any of the other FPS/3rd P.S. (COD, battlefield, etc...) you will hate this game right off the bat (especially controls) I would not recommend this game to anyone and would save your rental queue for something more worthy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sniper elite v2

posted by Ammoking2 (DYESS AFB, TX) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

If you like games like splinter cell than this game is pretty much an old fashioned version of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Terrible except for the bullet flying thru bodies

posted by shay85 (MOODY, AL) Jun 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game sux!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever!

posted by Bossplayer21 (PLANO, TX) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

This game was the worst game made yet! It had good graphics because of HD but, it was the most boring game ever1 Sorry to trash talk but, Sniper Elite V2 is a codename for, WORST FREAKIN GAME EVER!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Intense sniping at it's best. Great game! 555 hits

posted by konotori (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

For all the let downs like Max Payne 3, and Ghost Recon, I was pleasantly surprised on how good this was. Granted, a little slower pace than the usual FPS. The kill shots alone are worth the play. Had a great AI and everything just ran nicely. Even took a little while to beat it. I loved finding a hole in the ground in the prone position and sniping some Ruskie from about a mile away. Much better then Ghost Recon, you can actually skip scenes on this game. I actually wanted to finish it, unlike Ghost Recon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

sucks >:(

posted by novaisfunny123 (SPRINGDALE, AR) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

don't work and if it does ther are too many bad guys all over the map

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucked

posted by donr (WILMINGTON, IL) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

This game Sucked all around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is fun at first then later got boring

posted by ffggb (STAFFORD, VA) Nov 27, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

After mission five it got so boring I am a bro

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disc

posted by dysdy316 Aug 17, 2013

The game froze, skipped, u name it it did it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sniper elite

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, not Perfect.

posted by alexisBeyond (HIALEAH, FL) May 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

+ Great Story
+ Good gameplay
+ Fun
- Graphics aren't up to PS3 level.
- Bad Multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Fun

posted by Justwondering (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) May 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I enjoyed it I just wish it was more to the story anyway I had allot of fun sniping, even the slow motion kills were pretty cool I had allot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

was expecting more detailed shooting

posted by gfuser100 (BRONX, NY) May 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

i started out on the hardest setting. this game takes a long time to play one level. the game throws alot of soldiers at you. you have a few tactical ways of dealing with them, but once you use your main weapon, half the map enemies are announced to your presence.

The enemies just keep coming. the AI isn't smart at all. it knows when your reloading or moving, so that is when they usually come at you. you could hide in a corner with a stack of bodies you just fragged and they still creep around corners like nobody is there. it's kinda dumb.

i was expecting less enemies and more skilled far distance shooting targets. i think the challenge of the game seems about right when shooting. The wind factor and bullet drops. the scenery is nice. only played half the game but it seems repetitive so far. it's not a bad game if you like challenging shooting.

it might be better to start with custom setting though if you want realistic mode. once you start the game on a specific difficulty, you can't change it back. hard mode throws alot of guys and uses alot of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehh

posted by Le22az (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I was thinking it was more like SGW2 but I was wrong but it was lest then 1/2 way there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sniper elite

posted by abe008 (HOMESTEAD, FL) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

game seemed to be good i as enjoyig it can not reLLY Rate it as i never played it long enough i was very disapointed how long after it was sent to me on how long it took for me to receive the game i waited 7 days then i play to level 3 or 4 and game no longer wants to continue to load any further was very disapointed if postal service gets any worse id have tio cancwl memb..
but play the game you prob get a better disc......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Good

posted by JJACK1 (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Mar 27, 2013

Member since May 2011

There is no stealth aspect to the game such as a real sniper would have. having to take on 8-10 enemy troops at once on the ground? come on... the only thing kinda cool about the game are the bullets cams. the rest kinda sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as Good as Reviews say

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

Sorry but This isn't nearly as good a game as the reviews would have you think it is. One of the biggest problems is the button layout, instead of using he trigger buttons for triggers you are forced to use the shoulder buttons to pull the trigger and the trigger button is used to throw grenades set mines and the such, why it is programmed this way is beyond rational thinking. Then you have the whole sneaking around thing which would be ok if it actually made a difference but it doesn't as soon as you move all the enemy in the area know exactly where you are no matter if you are using cover or not. Using Cover actually makes it harder for the player to shoot but seems to make it easier to get shot because you have to Hold one button to come out from the cover and two more buttons to shoot. They had a chance to make this Game far better then the first one but they failed and might have even made this one worse

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sniper elite v2

posted by superweapons (WAKE VILLAGE, TX) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

sniper elite v2 is a fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse