Rent Sniper Elite V2 for PS3
view large frontback

Sniper Elite V2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.9

2173 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool animation, average game

posted by MrFloydAFA (MCKINNEY, TX) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My biggest beef with this game as Active Duty SF is there is absolutely no cover/concealment system.

A true sniper is always invisible when they strike, and this game makes that near impossible.

The bullet cam is awesome, and is the only bright spot in the gameplay/presentation. Brutal destruction of your foe's internal organs is shown to reward a good shot, but the challenge of obtaining a good shot is so minimal the reward is small. This leaves the gamer quickly bored.

This title is certainly a solid RENT as it is very fun for a few hours to take the shot and see the result, but the lack of cover and stealth leaves you fighting off attackers more often than picking them off from the shadows as a sniper would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Addictive and Nice long missions

posted by joey1313 (FALL RIVER, MA) May 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

35 out of 38 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I was sceptical on how I would enjoy this game, I have always been a fan of sniping in COD, but usually get found and shot before I can do anything......boo who.....In this game, stealth, patience and time are virtues, definitly not a run and gun, it doesn't work. I love the way it slows down the bullet and gives an anatomicly correct breakdown of how your shot crushes the ememy. The missions are long and involved, waiting for the perfect moment, then blammo, another one bites the dust. Definitly a stress reducer, love ww2 time period games and am pumped to continue the slaughter as a 1 man killing machine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Falls short

posted by dansan382 (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great for the only fact of the bullet projections and animations when you shoot somebody. other than that, the controls are completely unnatural and just overall not impressed at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

i expected more

posted by chism772 (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Sep 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off i love sniper games, but this one didn't cut it. the graphics are average. i honestly think they tried to make the play control as frustrating as possible. the game isn't very difficult on normal, but with the poor play control it makes the game much more frustrating.
one thing i did like was the storyline. overall i was disappointed with this one. wouldn't recommend buying it or playing it unless you want to waste time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Now what I was expecting.

posted by Sterling_Archer (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I got extremely excited when I saw this game finally shipped and could not wait to lie down, slow my breathing, take account for wind, aim, and shoot.
Playing the first level I really liked the game. It focused on the sniping aspect of the game, sneak in, shoot, sneak out. As the game progressed however my dislike for the game grew more and more. It lost the aspect of sneaking and taking your time and focused more on battling everyone in order to get to your point. You would then get to your point and the shot you were looking forward to would take 6 seconds. You then had to yet again battle your way out.

The actual sniping aspect of the game is great. Sniper Elite Difficulty is the only way to play. In order for any shot to hit you have to look at the wind and distance. It makes you actually bring out your spotting binoculars and get an idea of where to shoot. I will say though, that even with that added aspect, the game is very easy and not very challenging, you can blame that on the regenerating health.

In the end this game is good, it did a lot of things wrong but did a lot of things right. I think this game should be played by anyone that enjoys sniping, but I would recommend you to rent it before buying, it may not be for you as it was for me. Also it is very short, I got the platinum within 20 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game. Good renter. Not worth 60 bucks

posted by Lithium_Lemon (FOND DU LAC, WI) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

At first I didn't know what I was going to think about the game after playing the demo. I thought the killcams and such would get boring after a while. But it actually turned out to be a great game. For the most part everything in the game was good but it had some flaws like any game. One flaw was that the game was so short. On the highest difficulty I still managed to complete the game in 12 hours. And I was not even that good at it. The multiplayer definitely could have used some improvements. So overall the game was good but some things weren't so good. I recommend renting it because its very short and will eventually get boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Can't get there from here

posted by BrokenQuest (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of SNIPER ELITE on PS2, so I was excited when SNIPER ELITE V2 came out. In no time I was sniping away...

... only SE:V2 was broken.

Gameplay. It's good to have a break from COD run-and-gun and BF3 squads, but there's nothing new in SE:V2. In fact, SE:V2 is almost exact copy of SE with "only the names have been changed..." It should be great right?

Jumping. I hate jumping in MP fps/3ps games, but not being able to jump in SP feels extremely limiting.

Enemy AI. Yes, the enemy seems smart and will try and flank, but they are very quick to give up the search after you've been spotted... and when they are searching, their aim is s-u-p-e-r-h-u-m-a-n. Nothing about the AI seems uniform... or even fair for that matter.

Invisible Barriers. As a sniper, a large part of your job is to find cubby holes, sneak around, and stay concealed, but more than once in V2 invisible walls stopped my progress through gameplay rooms. Not being new to games, I understand the use of invisible barriers within a map to channel gameplay, but these barriers were in rooms where enemies will engage you! Places that could be used strategically by you as a... S-N-I-P-E-R! This design flaw killed SE:V2 for me. When "open" strategic areas in rooms where enemies will engage are off limits, it feels like REBELLION was asleep at the wheel.

Once while being engaged I came across a cafe with blown-out walls. I tried but couldn't enter the wall-less cafe. I turned the game "off." Teasing with areas that look playable but aren't is bad form... again. At least SE was clear on playable areas.

MP. Multiplayer may be good, but I will never know. After one round of co-op, I was messaged to kill myself and my family (along with a lot of other great things) by my "partner." The quality of the SE:V2 community ended my interest in playing SE:V2 altogether.

SE:V2 could have been a great game, but as it is, it's only slightly better than SNIPER: GHOST WA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great wartime game

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) May 8, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I was thinking about not renting this game. Since I had no idea whether it was 1st or 3rd person shooter. When I found it was indeed a 3rd party I rented it.
PROS: 3rd person shooter. But not just a run & gun type of game. The cut scenes of kill shots are very cool. Fire fights are easy to come by.And you are pitted against German and Russian forces. You need to apply a bit of strategy in order to make it through with dieing a bunch of times.
CONS: You are not able to carry enough trip mines or land mines. Instead of the Tommy Gun they should have given the character a B.A.R. Since your character is a one man army. He should get access to better weapons.
Great game for renting and in a few months a great game to pick up one the price drops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bravo 505 games...

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) May 31, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game was well worth the 3 week wait that it took me to finally get it to my home. I played the demo for both xbox an Ps3 at least 2 times each.
Alot of people might not like the slow pace of this game, but i love it. I like the graphics and the game play alot. i LOVE the zoom on a good shot that hows the body getting mangeled by the bullet, nice touch.
I dont have anything bad to say about this game.
I love that you can look around and find the bottles and gold bars and not being timed.
This game was all its craked up to be for my taste. If you like fast paced shooter games then you may not like this game. Also big plus that this game is a TPS, if it was not, the rating would have been lower for sure.
Its definetly a good rent and a possible purchase shince i just got a $5 gamefly dollar credit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sniper? Where not in this game

posted by jchi (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game starts off great you set traps, you snipe, you scavenge for ammo, this is what i expected from a sniper game, but then all of sudden i found myself face to face with ground troops and tanks. As a sniper the game puts you in positions usually made for platoons or special ops units. I am not a military expert but come on what is a elite sniper doing in a enemy factory by his self taking on 10-15 enemies at a time? The game would be more realistic if you're tagging alone with a unit but no its just a sniper and his rifle, it felt more like an old medal of honor game than a sniper game. The makers of the game forgot one important feature to a stealth/sniper game, at that is the actual stealth and snipping part, thank god for Gamefly, I am glad i did not buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Somewhat okay for just sniping. Awful otherwise.

posted by Dukethompson2 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sniper Elite has a very bare-bones plot that fails at any sort of true captivation beyond the first hour or so. However, who really needs an excuse to shoot Nazis and Bolsheviks as long as the game is fun? Well sadly the game falters at virtually every implemented mechanic.

The most egregious sin being, sadly, the fact that the actual sniping is only so-so. Setting up that perfect shot considering wind and distance before pulling the trigger and watching your bullet tear through a German soldier in x-ray slow motion is exhilarating to say the least. It gets a bit offset by the fact that every enemy then instantly knows where you are and can hit you dead on from wherever they are standing. This is somewhat realistic when facing enemies at 40 odd yards. Less so at a half a mile.

Beyond the sniping is the stealth, which is horrifyingly bad. Enemies seem to have super senses to a very frustrating degree. The number of times a restart was forced by an enemy almost half seeing me and instantly alerting everyone was a bit mind-numbing. The open combat is awful as well. You can only sort of aim the smg's that are given to you, leaving you with an effective range of roughly eight feet.

It doesn't help that the game forces stealth and open combat on you quite frequently. As well as sniper sections that were more like standard third-person shooter sections with a sniper rifle. It really struggles to feel like a sniping game at some points. It defeats itself in this way a number of times.

The end point is that Sniper Elite tries to do more than it is capable of. It gives you several tasks that only serve to highlight how little it gives you in the way of tools. For a game with sniper in the title, it really should have stuck to focusing and improving on the actual sniping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Slow and Steady

posted by Theo456 (BLOOMINGDALE, NJ) Jul 6, 2012

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

at first i was only interested in the gameplay no story just trophies and bullet time but after i started the last 4 or 5 missions the story got so deep and exciting the ending especially not what i expected the era was as alot of people said over used but this time area was perfect and left us knowing there would be another

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not my thing....get's boring

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overview
====================
If you are all about being sneaky and sniper kill cams, then you'll love it. In full discolusre I only played a couple of levels and I just got bored. As other have commented there isn't much variety...

If you will it is kind of splinter cell WW2 style. There are interesting tactics like killing someone and booby-trapping the body. You also have things like mines and trip wires. All good stuff if it keeps you interested. For me I just felt like the controls were stiff and game play was slow.

Pros
==============
1) get to be sneaky
2) cool kill cams (at least for the 1st 10 kills)

Cons
==============
1) controls were a little too tight for me
2) just gets repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's ok

posted by Lucky1265 (SWANSEA, MA) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Played halfway though so far and it's definitely feeling repetitious. I liked the demo and was expecting a little more intense moments from the full game. You have to be patient and stealthy and not count on your secondary guns too much cause they are underpowered and getting ambushed will most likely get you killed. After a while it does feel dated with a mix of CoD World at War and Resistance 1. Overall, it's a sniper game so there really is much more than pegging people off from a distance with an added slo-mo x-ray kill cam. At times you will feel like you're playing the levels over again and a little variety could have gone a long way. A good rent, no buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Returned. Didn't Fire A Shot.

posted by PriorMe (WESLACO, TX) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Was really looking forward to this, one. Moved it up, a couple notches, to top of Q. When I got it, the only thing my controller would do, was to let me use the binoculars. Total waste. Wasn't in my PS3 for even 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could Have Been Better

posted by chojindrak (GARRATTSVILLE, NY) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was actually looking forward to this game in my Queue but it unfortunately feel short of my expectations.

In theory this game could have been much better but lacked in implementation. It provides some strong moments such as the x-ray kills where you're provided with the "That was a cool shot!" moments but the enemy AI and VERY WEAK autosaving system totally ruined the game for me.

Enemies seem to "hang" in their attack programs causing them to just stand there while you shoot them repeatedly with your pistol.

The final negative for me to quit playing the game was the autosaving. I reached a checkpoint and was saved in a bad location. On a second floor location with 7 enemies already alerted to my presence. Had no way to make a clean shot to try and whittle them down, tried lobbing some grenades, rocks, etc to try and pull the enemies away from my location but with no luck. Managed to pick a few of them off but could not seem to get through them all...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't bother

posted by ittybitty (NEWFANE, NY) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have no idea how this game has an average rating of 7. It is horrible, graphics are below par, story is bad, everything about it is far below average. If you are looking for a good shooter, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Im mad

posted by MetroTech (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game Kept freezing :|

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much run-n-Gunning

posted by BoonesDad (SOUTH BURLINGTON, VT) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game controls are mediocre at best, and there's too much fighting to get in and out of the objective areas. They should have focused more on the sniper attributes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Concept, Bad Level Design

posted by Keeg0r (SALEM, VA) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love being a sniper in CoD so I was excited to give this a shot. Actually having to take ballistics into account make this a fun concept and a very challenging game.

It fails around execution. For anyone who has seen "Sniper," or "Enemy At The Gates," knows that it's one shot, one kill. However, level design dictates that you travel from point-a to point-b and snipe as you go. The problem is that it really cheapens the experience, which is why I give this one a pass. Also, it was glitchy at times with characters passing through walls or enemies running while getting stuck on the edge of an object.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't even rent it

posted by SinoRetibruto (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One of the most disappointing games I've ever played. The game will suddenly read buttons you didn't press and move you in a direction you clearly don't want to go. Finding cover is a pain because the game allows the prompt for cover in certain areas. Also the AI is horrific, meaning that if you do manage to find cover, a total of 4-8 enemies will go around the corner to jump you (I'm not exaggerating). A couple levels have continuously spawning enemies so you'll be stuck on a spot for about 2 hours. Also the accuracy for weapons is horrible, you will be using an SMG on an enemy soldier who is just a few feet away and nearly all of your bullets will miss, spraying everywhere randomly. Vantage points are available in a few maps but in others, you will find yourself completely helpless and vulnerable, it's called SNIPER Elite so there SHOULD be enough vantage points in every map. The idea is great but just feels incomplete and sloppy. My advice, don't buy OR rent this game. It's not even half as good as it looks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sniper Letdown

posted by MrStark (ETOILE, TX) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I tend to review games based on several categories: Storyline, Gameplay and Graphics. Using the scale 1-10, 10 being the best.

Storyline: Sniper V2 feels like a combination of a regurgitated mix of Wolfenstein and Captain America, with throwbacks to every cool WW2 movie.. Not Original overall and really boring. Score: 3

Gameplay: The biggest gripe I have is this is not a true sniper game, it is a combination sniper and third person shooter. You have to switch back and forth, which can be frustrating. Also, the designers hogtied you with giving you only 1 suppressed weapon..the Wellrod (silenced pistol): it is a joke. A single shot, small caliber with terrible sights..you are often forced to take farther shots than it is capable or risk getting close and exposing yourself...they did design a failsafe where you can use your rifle with the help of covering noise (either church bells or bombs exploding..ala Enemy at the Gates).

Graphics: This is where the game was cool IMO..the slow motion breakaway shots (when you make a kill that SCORES) was pretty cool, it shows the bullet going through an anatomically correct body, destroying organs and tissue along the way. Head shots are particularly gruesome!!

Overall, for you "Gun Folks" out there, this game does keep it real..you get to use 3 Sniper weapons from the era..a US 1903 Springfield, 91/31 Russian Mosin Nagant and a German 43' Gewehr Rifle..all these guns are accurate and use powerful cartridges (.30-06, 7.62x54 and 8mm) but each of them have different scopes, the Mosin having the best IMO, since it uses a mil dot system, making those 200 and 300 yard head shots easier). If you don't know much about rifle shooting, you will learn how gravity effects a bullet quickly..(remember that 2nd and 3rd hash below the crosshair!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Die clean

posted by blacktavious (LONGVIEW, TX) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Play Guns of the Patriots instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glitch @ prologue

posted by israel3115 (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Sep 23, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Was really looking forward to playing this game. I love these old war themed titles. Unfortunately I couldn't get passed the Prologue and not for lack of trying. Apparently there is an issue with this game. I played it on the ps3 console. When I get to the doorway in the building where you have to place the tripwire, I select it in the inventory (tripwire) it says use r2 to use nothing happens. Tried going up steps, checkpoint reloads, tried going outside building......guess what.....checkpoint reloads right there in the doorway. Can't use tripwire Can't proceed through game. Tried reloading game several times nothing changes. Tried disabling tutorials nothing happens. disk is in great shape looks new not a single blemish or scratch or fingerprints absolutely clean. Would have been good game I think but I will never know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game.

posted by KeirAdish (CONYERS, GA) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok, First off I would like to say, ignore the review where he claims 20+ years of gaming, if it was that bad for him then its cause he's old as heck and sucks at playing video games.

The contros are easy to pick up on, even for a very active COD AND Battlefield player such as myself, the graphics aren't the best no, but they aren't as bad as he implies, The game was really great.

My main problem was the lack of close range ammo. (Yeah I know I know its "SNIPER" elite not close range elite, but there are situations where you're put into a close range situation I would end up running away to turn around and shot with my rifle due to running out of ammo after accidentally alerting someone.)

The story was great, enjoyed it a lot, but I wish it was longer really.

I give it a 9/10 simply due to short story and lack of close range ammo with them charging you down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse