Rent Sniper Elite V2 for PS3
view large frontback

Sniper Elite V2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.9

2173 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disc

posted by dysdy316 Aug 17, 2013

The game froze, skipped, u name it it did it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sniper elite

posted by abe008 (HOMESTEAD, FL) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

game seemed to be good i as enjoyig it can not reLLY Rate it as i never played it long enough i was very disapointed how long after it was sent to me on how long it took for me to receive the game i waited 7 days then i play to level 3 or 4 and game no longer wants to continue to load any further was very disapointed if postal service gets any worse id have tio cancwl memb..
but play the game you prob get a better disc......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Returned. Didn't Fire A Shot.

posted by PriorMe (WESLACO, TX) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Was really looking forward to this, one. Moved it up, a couple notches, to top of Q. When I got it, the only thing my controller would do, was to let me use the binoculars. Total waste. Wasn't in my PS3 for even 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Im mad

posted by MetroTech (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game Kept freezing :|

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glitch @ prologue

posted by israel3115 (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Sep 23, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Was really looking forward to playing this game. I love these old war themed titles. Unfortunately I couldn't get passed the Prologue and not for lack of trying. Apparently there is an issue with this game. I played it on the ps3 console. When I get to the doorway in the building where you have to place the tripwire, I select it in the inventory (tripwire) it says use r2 to use nothing happens. Tried going up steps, checkpoint reloads, tried going outside building......guess what.....checkpoint reloads right there in the doorway. Can't use tripwire Can't proceed through game. Tried reloading game several times nothing changes. Tried disabling tutorials nothing happens. disk is in great shape looks new not a single blemish or scratch or fingerprints absolutely clean. Would have been good game I think but I will never know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolute trash

posted by MRshaytoon (SUNLAND, CA) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2003

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Honestly, I have no idea why everyone has given this game a high rating and praising it. This game sucks major balls.

I am an experienced video gamer (20+ years) so I know exactly what im talking about. I am a wide range player and play almost everything out there.

The controls are jerky and not very user friendly. The graphics felt like a high end PS2 game. I was one hour in this game and felt like I was being water boarded. For whatever reason I felt like I was obligated to play the entire game but reality kicked in and I shipped this game out ASAP after playing a torturous hour. If youre used to any of the other FPS/3rd P.S. (COD, battlefield, etc...) you will hate this game right off the bat (especially controls) I would not recommend this game to anyone and would save your rental queue for something more worthy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucked

posted by donr (WILMINGTON, IL) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

This game Sucked all around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever!

posted by Bossplayer21 (PLANO, TX) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

This game was the worst game made yet! It had good graphics because of HD but, it was the most boring game ever1 Sorry to trash talk but, Sniper Elite V2 is a codename for, WORST FREAKIN GAME EVER!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sniper elite v2

posted by Ammoking2 (DYESS AFB, TX) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

If you like games like splinter cell than this game is pretty much an old fashioned version of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Good

posted by JJACK1 (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Mar 27, 2013

Member since May 2011

There is no stealth aspect to the game such as a real sniper would have. having to take on 8-10 enemy troops at once on the ground? come on... the only thing kinda cool about the game are the bullets cams. the rest kinda sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I love a hard shooter but...

posted by Garyfromulsa (TULSA, OK) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Take this game and shove it.. Too hard. Revels in seeing unnecessary deaths. Didn't try on easy but this is ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Where's the stealth?

posted by xinx1939 (LAKE FOREST, CA) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I buy a sniper game I would expect it to be stealth oriented. What i mean by that is that I expect the missions to be me moving through a destroyed city cleaverly avoiding detection by enemy troops in order to get to a location where a challenging shot will need to be taken. I only played the first 2 levels of the game so i could be wrong, but those two levels were just the opposite of that. They had you moving through a destroyed city moving to a sniping spot, but there was no stealth at all. There was only 1 route you could follow and it had you moving through street after street filled with soldiers. There was no way around them so the only way to move on was through relatively close quarter combat. which wouldn't be so bad only the only other guns except the sniper that you have are a submachine gun and a pistol, and they only give you two magazines for the submachine gun which means you basically have to use the sniper. The only reason i did not give it a 1 is because it did have some interesting additions to it. For example, if you shoot someone in a vital organ it shows the bullet tearing apart the organs you hit.
remember: I only played the first 2 levels of the game and decided it was impossible and frustrating. I did not even bother playing the rest of the game. Because I did not finish the game, my review may not be accurate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

sucks >:(

posted by novaisfunny123 (SPRINGDALE, AR) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

don't work and if it does ther are too many bad guys all over the map

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as Good as Reviews say

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

Sorry but This isn't nearly as good a game as the reviews would have you think it is. One of the biggest problems is the button layout, instead of using he trigger buttons for triggers you are forced to use the shoulder buttons to pull the trigger and the trigger button is used to throw grenades set mines and the such, why it is programmed this way is beyond rational thinking. Then you have the whole sneaking around thing which would be ok if it actually made a difference but it doesn't as soon as you move all the enemy in the area know exactly where you are no matter if you are using cover or not. Using Cover actually makes it harder for the player to shoot but seems to make it easier to get shot because you have to Hold one button to come out from the cover and two more buttons to shoot. They had a chance to make this Game far better then the first one but they failed and might have even made this one worse

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't bother

posted by ittybitty (NEWFANE, NY) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have no idea how this game has an average rating of 7. It is horrible, graphics are below par, story is bad, everything about it is far below average. If you are looking for a good shooter, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't even rent it

posted by SinoRetibruto (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One of the most disappointing games I've ever played. The game will suddenly read buttons you didn't press and move you in a direction you clearly don't want to go. Finding cover is a pain because the game allows the prompt for cover in certain areas. Also the AI is horrific, meaning that if you do manage to find cover, a total of 4-8 enemies will go around the corner to jump you (I'm not exaggerating). A couple levels have continuously spawning enemies so you'll be stuck on a spot for about 2 hours. Also the accuracy for weapons is horrible, you will be using an SMG on an enemy soldier who is just a few feet away and nearly all of your bullets will miss, spraying everywhere randomly. Vantage points are available in a few maps but in others, you will find yourself completely helpless and vulnerable, it's called SNIPER Elite so there SHOULD be enough vantage points in every map. The idea is great but just feels incomplete and sloppy. My advice, don't buy OR rent this game. It's not even half as good as it looks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is fun at first then later got boring

posted by ffggb (STAFFORD, VA) Nov 27, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

After mission five it got so boring I am a bro

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could Have Been Better

posted by chojindrak (GARRATTSVILLE, NY) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was actually looking forward to this game in my Queue but it unfortunately feel short of my expectations.

In theory this game could have been much better but lacked in implementation. It provides some strong moments such as the x-ray kills where you're provided with the "That was a cool shot!" moments but the enemy AI and VERY WEAK autosaving system totally ruined the game for me.

Enemies seem to "hang" in their attack programs causing them to just stand there while you shoot them repeatedly with your pistol.

The final negative for me to quit playing the game was the autosaving. I reached a checkpoint and was saved in a bad location. On a second floor location with 7 enemies already alerted to my presence. Had no way to make a clean shot to try and whittle them down, tried lobbing some grenades, rocks, etc to try and pull the enemies away from my location but with no luck. Managed to pick a few of them off but could not seem to get through them all...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sniper? Where not in this game

posted by jchi (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game starts off great you set traps, you snipe, you scavenge for ammo, this is what i expected from a sniper game, but then all of sudden i found myself face to face with ground troops and tanks. As a sniper the game puts you in positions usually made for platoons or special ops units. I am not a military expert but come on what is a elite sniper doing in a enemy factory by his self taking on 10-15 enemies at a time? The game would be more realistic if you're tagging alone with a unit but no its just a sniper and his rifle, it felt more like an old medal of honor game than a sniper game. The makers of the game forgot one important feature to a stealth/sniper game, at that is the actual stealth and snipping part, thank god for Gamefly, I am glad i did not buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Somewhat okay for just sniping. Awful otherwise.

posted by Dukethompson2 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sniper Elite has a very bare-bones plot that fails at any sort of true captivation beyond the first hour or so. However, who really needs an excuse to shoot Nazis and Bolsheviks as long as the game is fun? Well sadly the game falters at virtually every implemented mechanic.

The most egregious sin being, sadly, the fact that the actual sniping is only so-so. Setting up that perfect shot considering wind and distance before pulling the trigger and watching your bullet tear through a German soldier in x-ray slow motion is exhilarating to say the least. It gets a bit offset by the fact that every enemy then instantly knows where you are and can hit you dead on from wherever they are standing. This is somewhat realistic when facing enemies at 40 odd yards. Less so at a half a mile.

Beyond the sniping is the stealth, which is horrifyingly bad. Enemies seem to have super senses to a very frustrating degree. The number of times a restart was forced by an enemy almost half seeing me and instantly alerting everyone was a bit mind-numbing. The open combat is awful as well. You can only sort of aim the smg's that are given to you, leaving you with an effective range of roughly eight feet.

It doesn't help that the game forces stealth and open combat on you quite frequently. As well as sniper sections that were more like standard third-person shooter sections with a sniper rifle. It really struggles to feel like a sniping game at some points. It defeats itself in this way a number of times.

The end point is that Sniper Elite tries to do more than it is capable of. It gives you several tasks that only serve to highlight how little it gives you in the way of tools. For a game with sniper in the title, it really should have stuck to focusing and improving on the actual sniping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much run-n-Gunning

posted by BoonesDad (SOUTH BURLINGTON, VT) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game controls are mediocre at best, and there's too much fighting to get in and out of the objective areas. They should have focused more on the sniper attributes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Concept, Bad Level Design

posted by Keeg0r (SALEM, VA) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love being a sniper in CoD so I was excited to give this a shot. Actually having to take ballistics into account make this a fun concept and a very challenging game.

It fails around execution. For anyone who has seen "Sniper," or "Enemy At The Gates," knows that it's one shot, one kill. However, level design dictates that you travel from point-a to point-b and snipe as you go. The problem is that it really cheapens the experience, which is why I give this one a pass. Also, it was glitchy at times with characters passing through walls or enemies running while getting stuck on the edge of an object.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

i expected more

posted by chism772 (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Sep 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off i love sniper games, but this one didn't cut it. the graphics are average. i honestly think they tried to make the play control as frustrating as possible. the game isn't very difficult on normal, but with the poor play control it makes the game much more frustrating.
one thing i did like was the storyline. overall i was disappointed with this one. wouldn't recommend buying it or playing it unless you want to waste time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth the rent. Definetly not the buy.

posted by biil021194 (LIVERMORE, CA) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was not horrible but was far from impressive. It was definetly not that good by modern graphic standards. The bullet cam was cool but other than that I found the gameplay to be kinda bad and the weapons kind of suck too. And this game is really boring and drab, it gets old really fast. I personally would not recomend it myself I found it to be pretty weak honestly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Terrible except for the bullet flying thru bodies

posted by shay85 (MOODY, AL) Jun 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game sux!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse