Rent Sniper Elite III for PS3
view large frontback

Sniper Elite III

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

349 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

bad & good

posted by Michaelalfy3 (MANHATTAN BEACH, CA) Aug 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bad- red hit marker goes crazy better off not using it.
THE WORST THING IS how the bullet cam only follows the first enemy you shot NOT THE SAME BULLET CAM like sniper elite V2, so if u line up 2-3 enemies for one shot you only get to see the 1st guy get killed. plus the vehicle kill cams were GONE too it was just the same cut scene no matter where u placed the mine or dynamite. so by doing that u end up taking out all of the replay value that V2 had.
good big open environment, health packs are new and cool ads to the immersion, the cover system was smooth doesn't stick like V2, the free flowing camera and the weapon wheel was nice though it took away the shoulder aim being used by it's own button making u hold the trigger half cocked to shoulder aim with the rifle which made it way harder plus they never tell u how to aim over the shoulder with the rifle even with options menu I had to find out on my own they need a tutorial and the weapon wheel would have better been brought up by the d-pad. Still fun for a rent not a buy, your better off with V2 its more realistic plus u can see the bullet break down as it goes through all of the guys u shot with the bullet cam and the real vehicle explosions make for a better game still cool as helll if you haven't played V2 1st.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

00ba89d3@opayq.com

posted by XephosCat (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 23, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, everybody, it's here. The third installment in the Sniper Elite Series. Or at least I think it is..
I had fun with this game for the first mission or so, but after that it just got repetitive and annoying. All the enemies were better at sniping than I, and they used SMGs.
If you suck at sniping in alot of game, like me, you'll use the little red diamond to snipe people.
Even that is a problem. It sometimes just randomly flings down to another target for no reason, so you, the player, decide to bring it up so it goes to the target you want to hit.
NOPE!
It flings back up ABOVE the target that you want to hit, you push it back down, and it finally lets you hit it.
Wasnt my favorite game ever.
One of my least favorite.
Although I have to give it to the game, It looks and runs great.
Even on PS3 it looks amazing.
My overall rating for this game is a 4, seeing as the annoying little errors and the grunts being 45 times stronger than your sniper rifle even if they dont have arms... Yea...
4.
My opinion, you can love this game all you want.
Good day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sniper Elite 3

posted by george69 (LUTZ, FL) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I give a solid 10 + Best game I have played yet in fact getting ready to play it again .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sniper Elite 3

posted by 4EVABOY (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a great game to play. only issue I had was not having more missions to complete & maybe a silencer for the rifle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Under Rated

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) Dec 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

Since PS2 I have avidly followed this series. A true reviewer.

In the First , it was interesting enough being in an urban environment , although the most fun level in my opinion was the Airfield. Lots of opportunity for long shots .

V2 was ok , but kind of a letdown with crammed open area levels , more of a run and gun deal and less true sniping.

This one however is nice , with the distances , sneaking , and things to shoot besides troops . Unlockables such as gun parts and mines etc are nice additions

Yes the game is a bit short for my taste , and yes the annoying thing is your sniper will inadvertantly walk , with no help from you causing a few sticky situations .

If they improved , stopping the walking , doubled the game length , and added areas in between to break up the desert motif such as an airfield etc (Sniper In France or maybe Germany?) This would be awesome

A Keeper however in my book for true sniper fans , at least a step BACK in the right direction and at LEAST a Solid Rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Pyro416 (HURRICANE, WV) Dec 1, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

Do not waste your time with this one the overall feel is is awful controls are different from v2 I'm at a loss for words just terrible do not buy this ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good fun

posted by Corey75 (NORTH BEND, WA) Dec 1, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

Good options and upgrades on the weapons. Graphics are nice. Best part is sniping people and the graphic nature of the kills. It never gets old. Love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rewarding the patient

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) Nov 28, 2014

Member since Aug 2009

I really enjoyed this game. You get pretty decent stealth mechanics, distractions, and gratifying CQC. But the game really shines when you patiently scope out an area, mark your targets, and take them out one by one. even the so-called boss fights can be overcome with prudent planning. the graphics were great, the gameplay wasn't buggy at all, i don't think it crashed once, even after a marathon 10 hr play session. the AI in this game can be either dumb as rocks, or punishingly difficult, with few in between. The only complaint I really had was that the scopes, even after leveling them up, never really gave a satisfying zoom. A really fun game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

o yes!!!!!! another sniper elite ,play this

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Nov 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

love these games . this one with added slow shot better bad guys . and Africa was cool to play in .only complaint is not enough ppl play it so online is hit or miss .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by terrahawk15 (LONGVILLE, LA) Nov 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

I tried to like this game because I normally enjoy games like this. And I love stealth/sniper games. But it was just boring. I knew the levels would be very similar because of the setting. But it was just so boring. I couldn't even finish the game. I tried to push through but I was simply too bored. I know most people gave a decent review so I'm sure you, like me, will give it a try anyway. I hope you enjoy it better than I. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What?????

posted by DarkchildWIlboy (BALTIMORE, MD) Nov 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

I loved the game if I had a hard time on a broad I would save it after I passed it. I would save that part just in case I died after that. And the aim was good you just had to know how to place the red mark on target and not hold long. Just about all my shots were head shots or heart or grenades. I played the other Sniper Elites and I like this one the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by ldent1970 (JEFFERSONVILLE, IN) Oct 15, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Good game to play, would like to play the first 2 for I played this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very disappointed

posted by yakster333 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Sep 23, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

I can't give a full review as it was so disappointing.
I killed the first 3 guys and stopped playing it and put it back in the mail the next morning. The game is nothing like the first 2, not polished, at all.
I feel Game Informer has the most accurate review of it, its sad as I used to like this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is pretty bad

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 22, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

I was so excited to get this game but it was so disappointing was let down the game aiming was pretty bad if you have a perfect shot do not kill the enemy it only kill the enemy it wants to. Also don't like this game it do not have checkpoints or save the game if you die you have to start level beginning it save in the end of the game I don't think it's worth renting and buy. Also the multiplayer it slow I don't think it's worth a time I got this game in today am going to send back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stay Away from the PS3 Version!!!

posted by Purgatori (AURORA, CO) Aug 21, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

I have no idea what happened, or what the devs were thinking, but this game is awful! It's like they didn't even try. I personally loved V2, it is one of my favorite games, so I was extremely excited when 3 was announced. I couldn't even finish it 3 because the bugs were so bad the game became unplayable. Insane clipping issues when I'm shooting at the enemy, I am aiming dead on and my bullets aren't counting. Another issue, the enemy being able to see me through walls half way across the map, I was crouching the entire time by the way. The enemies on the other side of the map being able to hear me, even when I'm crouching, thus alerting every darn enemy in the mission.... Oh and here's a real kicker, the bullet cam is completely glitched and broken. I did not get one, NOT ONE, X-ray cam the entire time I was playing, with the exception of the opening scene at the very beginning. I even changed my settings to high and I still could not get one. I hope the PS4 version is better for you gamers who have the new system already, because the PS3 version looks, and plays, like some lazy, buggy port over. I am beyond disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what shooter's are about

posted by duk774 (EAGLE POINT, OR) Jul 28, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

They hit the nail on the head...again, with Sniper Elite 3.
The game is challenging and FUN. I'm on my second way through it at a higher level.
Can't wait for number Four to come out!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than v2

posted by DejLao (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Jul 11, 2014

Member since Apr 2009

Had an overall great experience with the game. Even the online features are a nice reprieve. Online feels a lot like the Uncharted online experience. Was quite difficult in spots. Once you get the hang of it, it is quite simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More of the Same

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

If you played Sniper Elite 2 you have also played Sniper Elite 3 - same game in all but location. Not that that's a bad thing, if you're in the mood to sneak and snipe, you'll get a lot of it, but after a few hours, I got bored. I'm an over 40 gamer and I have played SO many shooters over the years, it gets boring unless the developers have a fresh take on it. There is nothing fresh about SEIII - but it's a well made game.

My only real complaint (other then the lack of originality) was the movement controls, very clunky. I found it very hard to stop my sniper from moving forward randomly, not sure if that was a glitch or my control is 5 years old and broken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »