Rent Sniper Elite III for PS4
view large frontback

Sniper Elite III

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

GF Rating
6.3

1033 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tactical Sniper...Be Patient

posted by vINANITY87 (WEST POINT, NY) Nov 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Think Metal Gear Solid tactics required. Even on easy you do not want to get in a shootout... You will die. The point of the game is to sneak and snipe using the environment/planes overhead to muffle the sound of your rifle firing. This is World War 2 era, hence no rifle suppressors. This game requires recon and sound tactical decision making and it is by no means a run-and-gun game. Very fun game, just be patient.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by ryfi (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 28, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Quick entertainment. It does not have replay value but its a great game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but short.

posted by nbnesen (SAINT LOUIS, MI) Nov 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game but the campaign is very short and i woud have liked to have seen better aiming with other guns rather then them just spraying where ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Maybe it's just me, but i really liked it

posted by Halo3357 (HUDSON FALLS, NY) Aug 4, 2014

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was perfect for me, i guess i just like games where you can be stealthy, or not.

the graphics are great!

and the kill cam thing was pretty cool, got a little boring sometimes so i would just skip it, but every now and then it's cool to see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh waste

posted by HannibalMrH (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 13, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game is terrible .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by thecriticalcrit (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Jul 30, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not bad good stealth aspect great bullet time never got bored of it the main charecter sounds like a sniper should a true hunter just a great game but the stealth is too easy could have been more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rifle Enthusiast

posted by semperfi1shot (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If I can only let you into my nervous system to know how I truly feel.

Let me just start off by saying this game has a lot of potential, sniping feels smooth and the x-ray kill cam is a blast! But that's about it... I've never been so anxious to hurry up a strategic/ stealth game in my life! Don't get me wrong -- I absolutely love these kinds of games, but as for this one, it felt incomplete and almost as if I were playing a beta of some sort.
There are a lot of glitches and bugs that come with endless frustrations such as enemy snipers have plasma rifles that shoot through cave walls and enemy AI are mindless when you want immersion, then they are precisely trained elite green berets when you miss one shot and "need some leprechaun luck".
I was excited when I herd that this piece of work was non linear... But I just wanna say this game is a non linear game like diet soda is a healthy alternative. One of my biggest/ minor problems I faced was when I tried to slide down a 5 foot hill like a pro and my character somehow twisted his ankle and shot himself, It's not a big deal but it gets a little annoying progressing 30 min into a game of realistic mode only to find that your shot point average higher than NFL players is afraid of heights.
As for the story... Its like watching a bad HBO

Pros: X-Ray Kill Cams - Didn't have to buy it (gamefly)
Con's: Bugs & Glitches - Drunk AI - A not so Linear Game - Current Gen Graphics - Unoriginal Story

Since ps4 doesn't have a prestigious selection, it wouldn't be a bad choice to x-ray some faces off in SE3, certainly isn't unplayable, just frustrating at times. 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Ride

posted by NeoNamurai (DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA) Dec 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2007

Great game overall. I wish they had pushed it further in a couple key points but definitely worth playing. Impact physics are a little odd at times but the x-ray/slo-mo shots are very very cool. At some points I thought the maps were a little too expansive and the field should probably offer the ability to climb higher and reach locations with a more expansive vantage. The realism of the experience makes this one totally worth it but I wasn't exactly motivated to collect all items in the different maps. Honestly, I didn't want to spend hours looking through every single dwelling and hiding spot in the game to find playing cards or boring notes nor did I want to search every single killed soldier to try and track down gun upgrades there were far less about upgrading and more about trading off stats. I used standard parts through the whole game on medium difficulty but didn't feel complelled to go back for a second right. Best advise I could give, rent it, enjoy it, send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent?

posted by MAUIMAN (MADISON, WI) Dec 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2011

This game will grab you then it can become frustrating, maybe it could be a likeable game for some people............or maybe not!

Terrible game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sailer elite 3

posted by Dillard1998 (SPENCER, IA) Nov 27, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Didn't understand the game so that sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Boring

posted by sworth14 (WHITE, GA) Nov 14, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

That is really just the best way to describe it. But real exciting and the graphics are PS3 not PS4 quality. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

EXTREME MEH !!!!!

posted by HarisonGross (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Nov 7, 2014

Member since Mar 2004

So I played and pretty thoroughly enjoyed the first Sniper Elite. I loved almost everything about it and it was by far the most promising sniper game on the market, that I knew about anyways. So I was holding out for this game to expand on what they did with the first game without changing the things that made it so promising, but man is this not that.

This is essentially a re-boot of the first game. The sniping physics and interaction and x-ray replay are all almost the exact same. The missions are the same jumbled, overly stealthy, missions with different and new maps. Some new features make the game almost hold your interest until one of the game's many wondrous glitches rears its ugly head. Overall, looks like we will still have to wait for someone to come out with a GOOD sniping game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's only Ok.

posted by LostControlGame (RIFLE, CO) Nov 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Exciting at first then becomes super rinse and repeat. I lost interest quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Seriously weak.

posted by TomOB1 (SAINT ALBANS, WV) Oct 29, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Pros:
-Ballistics are awesome

Cons:
-Graphics look like for a legacy system
-NPCs easily find you
When one is alerted all in a certain area are alerted and hone right to you.
-There's a very specific path you must take for the most part.
-You are also suppose to be able to upgrade your weapons and I'm on mission 3 and haven't been able to upgrade anything.

Conclusion: Don't rent the game, unless you are a hardcore Sniper Elite fan, anyone else will most likely be disappointed terribly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A complete waste.

posted by blackbeltj (DES MOINES, IA) Oct 28, 2014

Member since Sep 2009

Waste of time. Waste of a rental. Waste of space in my mail box. Waste of space in my game collection. So I just had to send it back DAY 1. The second Sniper Elite was terrific IMO but III completely fails on all levels. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth playing

posted by dfritz14 (RINGWOOD, NJ) Oct 27, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I didnt check out any of the online features so I cant comment on that, but the single player campaign is pretty good. It started to get repetitive after a while though. I am not a hardcore gamer by any means, so someone who is, may give it enough attention to beat the campaign. 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent if you want to see X-ray kill shots

posted by Mr_Freshmaker (TEMECULA, CA) Oct 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Initially, I thought Sniper Elite III was going to be more open world with an in-depth sniping mechanic. I didn't read any reviews on it prior to renting. I haven't played the previous games but this felt like more of a 3rd person arcade shooter, I played it on the marksmen (normal) level which assists on the shots. Most importantly, I wanted to give the game a chance and not frustrated to the point I send it back after a few minutes. The missions are long but aren't paced well. The story is understandable only as fast as you compete the missions. Most of the time I'm killing enemies with a suppressed pistol and sneaking up on enemies for a stealth attack. The maps aren't open-world. There are only a few alternate ways to attack. PSone-smart enemy AI, very simple minded one track enemy AI. You kill one from a good distance, no reaction from others. No one heard a shot. You nick one enemy, an entire platoon is searching for you. They search for you for a few minutes and resume back to their pattern.

The graphics are as good as last-gen consoles mid-late life games. The Xray kill cams are great and you know you got a kill shot when the camera is triggered. Eventually the kill cams just hinder the experience when the enemies come out to hunt for you. Using binoculars to look for enemies or traps allows to you spot them. After spotting enemies they become a white silhouette when they're behind cover...

All in all, rent it if you're feeling an itch for a stealth sniping game and you have time to play for achievements or trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring as...ya know

posted by Chevinator (SELMA, OR) Oct 22, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

honestly the graphics aren't that bad, not the best but they're not horrid. the story was bland and didn't even grasp me to begin with. this game didn't even grasp me before i heard it was coming out, i just wanted to fill up my q and try this out just to see what it was like. its a decent game and i can see how most people would like it but it just wasn't my cup of tea. got to the 2nd or 3rd mission and got extremely bored. decided to send back, also what annoyed me was that they had to make this a one man army game which i hate in most war games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sniper elite 111

posted by harley11 (FESTUS, MO) Oct 21, 2014

Member since Nov 2010

great graphics,very fun game...don't understand the negative reviews ??...way underated game..one of the best I played so far on ps4..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth a rent.

posted by carebear2099 (RICHLAND, MO) Oct 20, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Good story line not real long though. Great cut-scenes. One bad side is xray mode wouldnt work alot like my ps4 was lagging but overall good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could have done better

posted by jsiddo (CAMDEN, SC) Oct 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Game is fine to waste some time, despite its boring missions, and lack of decent graphics. The bullet camera is cool at first, but gets annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by AflyingChicken (FORT MILL, SC) Oct 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

I know this game is geared towards stealth but the game mechanics are horrible. When performing a stealth kill you have to mash the triangle button multiple times. Graphics are PS3 1st Gen at best. I don't see how this game is getting good reviews . I can't stress enough how bad the controls are. Don't even bother renting. Thank God I didnt by this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a Rent

posted by SillyStoNNEE420 (GILFORD, NH) Oct 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game is better than i expected, and would be a good rent for someone who is into WW2 and likes more of a stealth approach to combat.

The graphics arent great and the enemies are pretty stupid to be honest, they arent aggressive and give up pretty easily; also they are predictable where they choose to hide. Maybe if they worked harder on making the AIs more realistic it would be more challenging. A big problem is the lack of weapons, its a WW2 game and there isnt even a springfeild...

I do enjoy the open maps with optional objectives that have to be found, not given right away. It's fun trying to sneak and place shots prefect without using the cheater button as i like to call it in this game (like holding you breathe but it shows you where the bullet will drop.) it nicer to try and guess distance on the bullet drop instead. The kill cam is interesting to see where you bullet is making the kill shot.

Overall its average and the lack of next gen graphics and weapons makes it this way, but i would say its worth a rent because i found myself enjoying this game when i personally thought it was gonna be terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is a medal of honor meets Max payne

posted by romyv0124 (HIALEAH, FL) Oct 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This game is great... I finally got my game in the mail yesterday. And I must say its awesome. The bullet time insane. when you get a precise shot it slows down and yo see the guts and bones breaking. Im almost finished with the game and have only had it for one night. Its that good. games is roughly around 10 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not really worth it

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Oct 11, 2014

Member since May 2011

I tried liking this game...love the idea of a sniper-based game in general, but this one just fell really flat. For "next gen", the graphics are very disappointing as well, and the game is loaded with bugs. The worst part of the whole thing is that you're a sniper being asked to do things a sniper would never have to do...basically be a one-man army. It makes sense from a development standpoint...a realistic sniper game would be really boring to most people, and an interesting sniper game (which this tries desperately to be), isn't realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse