Rent Sniper Elite III for PS4
view large frontback

Sniper Elite III

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.5

524 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Maybe it's just me, but i really liked it

posted by Halo3357 (HUDSON FALLS, NY) Aug 4, 2014

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was perfect for me, i guess i just like games where you can be stealthy, or not.

the graphics are great!

and the kill cam thing was pretty cool, got a little boring sometimes so i would just skip it, but every now and then it's cool to see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by thecriticalcrit (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Jul 30, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not bad good stealth aspect great bullet time never got bored of it the main charecter sounds like a sniper should a true hunter just a great game but the stealth is too easy could have been more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rifle Enthusiast

posted by semperfi1shot (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If I can only let you into my nervous system to know how I truly feel.

Let me just start off by saying this game has a lot of potential, sniping feels smooth and the x-ray kill cam is a blast! But that's about it... I've never been so anxious to hurry up a strategic/ stealth game in my life! Don't get me wrong -- I absolutely love these kinds of games, but as for this one, it felt incomplete and almost as if I were playing a beta of some sort.
There are a lot of glitches and bugs that come with endless frustrations such as enemy snipers have plasma rifles that shoot through cave walls and enemy AI are mindless when you want immersion, then they are precisely trained elite green berets when you miss one shot and "need some leprechaun luck".
I was excited when I herd that this piece of work was non linear... But I just wanna say this game is a non linear game like diet soda is a healthy alternative. One of my biggest/ minor problems I faced was when I tried to slide down a 5 foot hill like a pro and my character somehow twisted his ankle and shot himself, It's not a big deal but it gets a little annoying progressing 30 min into a game of realistic mode only to find that your shot point average higher than NFL players is afraid of heights.
As for the story... Its like watching a bad HBO

Pros: X-Ray Kill Cams - Didn't have to buy it (gamefly)
Con's: Bugs & Glitches - Drunk AI - A not so Linear Game - Current Gen Graphics - Unoriginal Story

Since ps4 doesn't have a prestigious selection, it wouldn't be a bad choice to x-ray some faces off in SE3, certainly isn't unplayable, just frustrating at times. 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

so-so

posted by frostfamily88 (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Sep 19, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

Wasn't a bad game in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun at the first 30 minutes

posted by derekfool (FREMONT, CA) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

And that's it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I liked this game

posted by cujo4844 (ROGERSVILLE, TN) Sep 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game was epic you could custumize your rifle and choose what side arm you wanted along with gear selection but two thing got me the first is the graphics i felt like they could have been a little bit they were a bit better than sniper elite 2 but not by much and the second thing their were'nt enought mission to really end the way it did i felt like the game rushed threw to quickly to actually feel like your in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This has to be the worst game for next gen.

posted by Deathifyin (KNOXVILLE, TN) Sep 11, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This game didn't try to use the next gen at all in the making of it.. The gameplay felt the same as the first sniper elite, but the graphics being just as bad as well? It's like all they did was water down the product and give a new storyline, and call it a day. Now me saying the gameplay felt like the first one WASNT a good thing.. the way your character moves, it gets annoying after 5 minutes of playing..

The only thing that I ever liked about these games is the slowmotion shots showing off where you hit, other than that the only other upside is bulletdrop..

Pros: Has bullet drop, coolish slowmotion shots

Cons: Ugly graphics for next gen, ugly gameplay, terrible character movements, terrible storyline, 10/10 wouldn't buy it even if it was $5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game review

posted by Kjay783 (TAMPA, FL) Sep 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I received the email that the game was shipped and then today I received an email that you guys received it back. I never got the game in the mail I think there was a mix up on either the post office end or someone else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by Goobins (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 3, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Someone in an earlier comment described it best: this game feels like it has potential, but it's like this is an early beta version or something.

It just doesn't come alive the way it should for a sniper/shooter.

I had high hopes because I like shooters with more of a stealth aspect to them, but this one just didn't grab me at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really wanted to like it.

posted by xmileyz (FT MITCHELL, KY) Aug 31, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

i really wanted to like this game and it would be a 5 if it was for just graphics but the game play is just terrible and it maybe just me but iv beaten every cod or battlefield or sniper game on hard and i cant get past the 2nd mission, you cant just kill everyone and you cant just sneak your way through 3 hrs of trying, done sent back asap

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bland

posted by pwnallofu (SAVAGE, MN) Aug 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

once you get over how cool the x ray looks it gets really boring with a bland and boring character

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very entertaining!

posted by OmniscientOPs (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Aug 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The kill shots never get old during Single Player mode. I wish the game would never end! Can't wait for the next one! Very fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lame !!!

posted by KEVERY12 (FLOWERY BRANCH, GA) Aug 14, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

2nd one was so much better , and they made the whole slow-mo thing get really old really quick is just the sameSh!t over and over again .
Very disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for blood and gore

posted by cellularehab (EMMETT, ID) Aug 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The game was a good game. it did some have good dynamics when it came to the shooting part. other than that it wasnt that great ai players would freeze in place. glitching through ground and respawning in the wrong places

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is Sniping

posted by xBLOODx (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 13, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

All and all I really like the game, the countless headshots along with some fun trophies to go after makes this a game I recommend you rent. Now it can get repetitive but for some reason with this game I don't mind it. I personally have every trophy besides two, so going for that platinum trophy is probably why im still playing this lol.

The sniping is as authentic as a sniping GAME can get, especially when you factor in the North Africa WWII setting it takes place during, the guns it has (german MP40, Luger pistol and my favorite the Mosin Nagant which is available via DLC) and also its different difficultly modes that factor in things like bullet ballistics which I found really cool .

Since the patch the Multiplayer is really fun and a nice change of pace from CoD Ghosts that is if you keep in mind that this game is about SNIPING, so its pretty slow paced which isn't a bad thing. The story I must admit blows along with only having 8 missions on top of that kinda blows. If you play it on Normal its a 10-14 hr game but if you intend to 100% fully complete the game then you'll have around 30+ hours as I do

Pros: Authentic sniping, fun multiplayer.

Cons: Somewhat short & boring story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Fun, All Hail the Sniper Elitist!

posted by SnootHonk (OROVILLE, CA) Aug 12, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

So after never having played either of the first two installments in the Sniper Elite franchise, I obliged to sample the third installment in homage to my 3rd-person FPS roots. Although this game may not produce genuine "next-gen" visuals, your jaunt through the 8 chapters of Sniper Elite III, you'll notice its structure is above satisfactory, and to an extent, worthy of applause. Sniper Elite III is no eyesore, but in any event, other than the crispness of the imagery, it is in nearly every aspect, a 360/PS3 clone. Unlike many games, SE3 permits a "save anywhere feature," which allows one to complete most missions with minimal frustration. The trophies are fun to acquire, albeit by parameters of conventional imitation, yet do leave the player with a sense of accomplishment. An aspect of the game which could have used some retooling and reconfiguration is your seeming inability to blend in with the environs to such a degree where darkness, shadows, and foliage serve no purpose other than to add textures and some limited variety to the otherwise drab, colorless stages. I mean, one would assume that the content of the environments would encourage stealth, cunning, and guile, given the abundance of what in other games, (Assassin's Creed; Splinter Cell), would offer as means to conceal oneself in order to operate near a given target. Surely, stealth is an essential part of the SE3 experience, but very few options exist wherein you can actually operate ghostlike, and instead usually pop a shot at a target from afar only to have your location revealed as you make your 50m sprint to beyond the area from which your shot was fired, until you achieve "ghost" status time and time again. With that said, the game does deliver on many levels if you're willing to overlook some of its inherent design flaws. Try before you Buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

boring

posted by rstengel67 (SANTEE, CA) Jul 12, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

was fun for the first 2 missions but became very repetitive i sent the game back without finishing it
i do not recommend this game to anyone unless you are a big fan of sniping games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It could have been more.

posted by homicidalfuu (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Jul 12, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

As a stealth game goes, it is definitely worth a play through. The AI could use some work, seeing as I watched multiple enemies walk in to fire and stand there until they died.
Over all the game is satisfying to me. The only real complaint I have about the game is how short it is. With me taking my time I was about to beat it in about 12 hours of playing. If I had rushed I probably could have beat it in about 8 or 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

meh

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 11, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

So, after being disappointed by Sniper Elite v2, hearing that they had improved this game in most of the areas that one had been soft, I was willing to give it another shot. However:

- The levels are pretty bland
- The hit detection is awful (I even tried a game on easy [there aren't any bullet physics on easy]) and sometimes I would miss perfectly aimed shots.
- The story is less than amazing (and that's being kind)
- Similar comments could be made about the voice casting...
-The AI is awful. It fluctuates between being too dumb to being able to see you around a corner.

I'm sure none of this will deter the gore fanatics, and the killshot cams are pretty cool. I must say, but this isn't a game that I would expect to see being sold in this generation, or the last one. I say skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

V2 was better put together

posted by ChiliD (MOBILE, AL) Jul 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2011

Open levels and higher tiered graphics are nice, but if the slow-mo cams have the heads exploding even though the bullet never connected with the skulls, nazis can see you through walls, and snipers won't spawn until you cross an imaginary line, then you haven't done a good job. On the fifth mission you are supposed to follow an officer and take his intel, I saved right before this happened. mission carries on, i get discovered and restart, only now the nazis can suddenly see me as soon as it starts forcing me to have to start all over. That happened TWICE! He even had his back to me but could see me! Not giving it a third chance. My high hopes for the sequel to one of my favorite shooting games have been brutally destroyed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Strategic WW2 fun with some gore for good measure.

posted by ptrac (HICKSVILLE, NY) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Picking up where the often under appreciated Sniper Elite V2 left off. SE3 Allows you to camp out and snipe, use stealth or go guns-a-blazing in this third person escapade. Gameplay is key here. While this a next-gen title it does look more like a last-gen title with higher res textures. But in no way is this a deal breaker, especially when released at a lower price than normal titles. Story is a bit superfluous here and the voice acting is so-so. Main character does his best Vin Diesel impression. But this game is about gameplay and fun factor. Shooting feels amazing in this game and thats what its supposed to be about. Only about 7or 8 missions here which seems short but you'll be dug into each mission for a few hours and replay value is amazingly high on this title. You could get 20 plus hours on your first run through if you are strategic and seek out all the optional objectives and collectibles. This is not a Call of Duty style shooter. If thats what you're looking for stay away. Strategy, exploration and discovery is key here. Multiplayer is nothing to write home about here. This is single player focused. Co-Op play is fun for a while here as one person tags your targets for you while you snipe or sneak attack your victims. As of now its among the best titles PS4 has to offer, especially at its reduced price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game

posted by Alexbustos97 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Jul 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Loved this game i've played sniper elite 1 and 2 and i have to say they've improved the game modes and the campaign was great as well keep up the good work 505!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game of SE 3

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by ecb2565 (ACTON, MA) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

This game is a lot of fun to play and good graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »