Rent Sniper Elite III for PS4
view large frontback

Sniper Elite III

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.4

709 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh waste

posted by HannibalMrH (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 13, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game is terrible .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rifle Enthusiast

posted by semperfi1shot (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If I can only let you into my nervous system to know how I truly feel.

Let me just start off by saying this game has a lot of potential, sniping feels smooth and the x-ray kill cam is a blast! But that's about it... I've never been so anxious to hurry up a strategic/ stealth game in my life! Don't get me wrong -- I absolutely love these kinds of games, but as for this one, it felt incomplete and almost as if I were playing a beta of some sort.
There are a lot of glitches and bugs that come with endless frustrations such as enemy snipers have plasma rifles that shoot through cave walls and enemy AI are mindless when you want immersion, then they are precisely trained elite green berets when you miss one shot and "need some leprechaun luck".
I was excited when I herd that this piece of work was non linear... But I just wanna say this game is a non linear game like diet soda is a healthy alternative. One of my biggest/ minor problems I faced was when I tried to slide down a 5 foot hill like a pro and my character somehow twisted his ankle and shot himself, It's not a big deal but it gets a little annoying progressing 30 min into a game of realistic mode only to find that your shot point average higher than NFL players is afraid of heights.
As for the story... Its like watching a bad HBO

Pros: X-Ray Kill Cams - Didn't have to buy it (gamefly)
Con's: Bugs & Glitches - Drunk AI - A not so Linear Game - Current Gen Graphics - Unoriginal Story

Since ps4 doesn't have a prestigious selection, it wouldn't be a bad choice to x-ray some faces off in SE3, certainly isn't unplayable, just frustrating at times. 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Maybe it's just me, but i really liked it

posted by Halo3357 (HUDSON FALLS, NY) Aug 4, 2014

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was perfect for me, i guess i just like games where you can be stealthy, or not.

the graphics are great!

and the kill cam thing was pretty cool, got a little boring sometimes so i would just skip it, but every now and then it's cool to see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by thecriticalcrit (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Jul 30, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not bad good stealth aspect great bullet time never got bored of it the main charecter sounds like a sniper should a true hunter just a great game but the stealth is too easy could have been more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have done better

posted by jsiddo (CAMDEN, SC) Oct 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Game is fine to waste some time, despite its boring missions, and lack of decent graphics. The bullet camera is cool at first, but gets annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by AflyingChicken (FORT MILL, SC) Oct 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

I know this game is geared towards stealth but the game mechanics are horrible. When performing a stealth kill you have to mash the triangle button multiple times. Graphics are PS3 1st Gen at best. I don't see how this game is getting good reviews . I can't stress enough how bad the controls are. Don't even bother renting. Thank God I didnt by this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a Rent

posted by SillyStoNNEE420 (GILFORD, NH) Oct 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game is better than i expected, and would be a good rent for someone who is into WW2 and likes more of a stealth approach to combat.

The graphics arent great and the enemies are pretty stupid to be honest, they arent aggressive and give up pretty easily; also they are predictable where they choose to hide. Maybe if they worked harder on making the AIs more realistic it would be more challenging. A big problem is the lack of weapons, its a WW2 game and there isnt even a springfeild...

I do enjoy the open maps with optional objectives that have to be found, not given right away. It's fun trying to sneak and place shots prefect without using the cheater button as i like to call it in this game (like holding you breathe but it shows you where the bullet will drop.) it nicer to try and guess distance on the bullet drop instead. The kill cam is interesting to see where you bullet is making the kill shot.

Overall its average and the lack of next gen graphics and weapons makes it this way, but i would say its worth a rent because i found myself enjoying this game when i personally thought it was gonna be terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is a medal of honor meets Max payne

posted by romyv0124 (HIALEAH, FL) Oct 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This game is great... I finally got my game in the mail yesterday. And I must say its awesome. The bullet time insane. when you get a precise shot it slows down and yo see the guts and bones breaking. Im almost finished with the game and have only had it for one night. Its that good. games is roughly around 10 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not really worth it

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Oct 11, 2014

Member since May 2011

I tried liking this game...love the idea of a sniper-based game in general, but this one just fell really flat. For "next gen", the graphics are very disappointing as well, and the game is loaded with bugs. The worst part of the whole thing is that you're a sniper being asked to do things a sniper would never have to do...basically be a one-man army. It makes sense from a development standpoint...a realistic sniper game would be really boring to most people, and an interesting sniper game (which this tries desperately to be), isn't realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's ok.

posted by KageTakeo187 (SAN DIMAS, CA) Oct 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I can see how some people would like this one a lot however I just couldn't get into it. I didn't finish the game. I played about 5 hours of it then just got bored. To each his own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad Graphics & Boring

posted by sw707 (FORESTVILLE, CA) Sep 30, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This could have been a decent game, but graphics lacked quality big time, they looked like last gen graphics. The one cool thing about the game is when snipping the camera follows the bullet and shows the bullet damage up close, even somtimes showing it go through a limp and cracking the bone. But don't bother wasting your time to play this game. It ended up to be a wasted rent for me, very boring gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

monarchy unleashed

posted by jason183 (BRONX, NY) Sep 22, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

Sniper elite meets the walking dead game. The game graphic arent horrible it just comic graphic. The visual effect are the only thing i like when it shows the organs and skeleton when you shot them . Any of those visual effect would make anybody go into medical school haha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

so-so

posted by frostfamily88 (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Sep 19, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

Wasn't a bad game in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun at the first 30 minutes

posted by derekfool (FREMONT, CA) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

And that's it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I liked this game

posted by cujo4844 (ROGERSVILLE, TN) Sep 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game was epic you could custumize your rifle and choose what side arm you wanted along with gear selection but two thing got me the first is the graphics i felt like they could have been a little bit they were a bit better than sniper elite 2 but not by much and the second thing their were'nt enought mission to really end the way it did i felt like the game rushed threw to quickly to actually feel like your in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This has to be the worst game for next gen.

posted by Deathifyin (KNOXVILLE, TN) Sep 11, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This game didn't try to use the next gen at all in the making of it.. The gameplay felt the same as the first sniper elite, but the graphics being just as bad as well? It's like all they did was water down the product and give a new storyline, and call it a day. Now me saying the gameplay felt like the first one WASNT a good thing.. the way your character moves, it gets annoying after 5 minutes of playing..

The only thing that I ever liked about these games is the slowmotion shots showing off where you hit, other than that the only other upside is bulletdrop..

Pros: Has bullet drop, coolish slowmotion shots

Cons: Ugly graphics for next gen, ugly gameplay, terrible character movements, terrible storyline, 10/10 wouldn't buy it even if it was $5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by Goobins (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 3, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Someone in an earlier comment described it best: this game feels like it has potential, but it's like this is an early beta version or something.

It just doesn't come alive the way it should for a sniper/shooter.

I had high hopes because I like shooters with more of a stealth aspect to them, but this one just didn't grab me at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really wanted to like it.

posted by xmileyz (FT MITCHELL, KY) Aug 31, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

i really wanted to like this game and it would be a 5 if it was for just graphics but the game play is just terrible and it maybe just me but iv beaten every cod or battlefield or sniper game on hard and i cant get past the 2nd mission, you cant just kill everyone and you cant just sneak your way through 3 hrs of trying, done sent back asap

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bland

posted by pwnallofu (SAVAGE, MN) Aug 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

once you get over how cool the x ray looks it gets really boring with a bland and boring character

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very entertaining!

posted by OmniscientOPs (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Aug 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The kill shots never get old during Single Player mode. I wish the game would never end! Can't wait for the next one! Very fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lame !!!

posted by KEVERY12 (FLOWERY BRANCH, GA) Aug 14, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

2nd one was so much better , and they made the whole slow-mo thing get really old really quick is just the sameSh!t over and over again .
Very disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for blood and gore

posted by cellularehab (EMMETT, ID) Aug 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The game was a good game. it did some have good dynamics when it came to the shooting part. other than that it wasnt that great ai players would freeze in place. glitching through ground and respawning in the wrong places

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is Sniping

posted by xBLOODx (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 13, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

All and all I really like the game, the countless headshots along with some fun trophies to go after makes this a game I recommend you rent. Now it can get repetitive but for some reason with this game I don't mind it. I personally have every trophy besides two, so going for that platinum trophy is probably why im still playing this lol.

The sniping is as authentic as a sniping GAME can get, especially when you factor in the North Africa WWII setting it takes place during, the guns it has (german MP40, Luger pistol and my favorite the Mosin Nagant which is available via DLC) and also its different difficultly modes that factor in things like bullet ballistics which I found really cool .

Since the patch the Multiplayer is really fun and a nice change of pace from CoD Ghosts that is if you keep in mind that this game is about SNIPING, so its pretty slow paced which isn't a bad thing. The story I must admit blows along with only having 8 missions on top of that kinda blows. If you play it on Normal its a 10-14 hr game but if you intend to 100% fully complete the game then you'll have around 30+ hours as I do

Pros: Authentic sniping, fun multiplayer.

Cons: Somewhat short & boring story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Fun, All Hail the Sniper Elitist!

posted by SnootHonk (OROVILLE, CA) Aug 12, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

So after never having played either of the first two installments in the Sniper Elite franchise, I obliged to sample the third installment in homage to my 3rd-person FPS roots. Although this game may not produce genuine "next-gen" visuals, your jaunt through the 8 chapters of Sniper Elite III, you'll notice its structure is above satisfactory, and to an extent, worthy of applause. Sniper Elite III is no eyesore, but in any event, other than the crispness of the imagery, it is in nearly every aspect, a 360/PS3 clone. Unlike many games, SE3 permits a "save anywhere feature," which allows one to complete most missions with minimal frustration. The trophies are fun to acquire, albeit by parameters of conventional imitation, yet do leave the player with a sense of accomplishment. An aspect of the game which could have used some retooling and reconfiguration is your seeming inability to blend in with the environs to such a degree where darkness, shadows, and foliage serve no purpose other than to add textures and some limited variety to the otherwise drab, colorless stages. I mean, one would assume that the content of the environments would encourage stealth, cunning, and guile, given the abundance of what in other games, (Assassin's Creed; Splinter Cell), would offer as means to conceal oneself in order to operate near a given target. Surely, stealth is an essential part of the SE3 experience, but very few options exist wherein you can actually operate ghostlike, and instead usually pop a shot at a target from afar only to have your location revealed as you make your 50m sprint to beyond the area from which your shot was fired, until you achieve "ghost" status time and time again. With that said, the game does deliver on many levels if you're willing to overlook some of its inherent design flaws. Try before you Buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

boring

posted by rstengel67 (SANTEE, CA) Jul 12, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

was fun for the first 2 missions but became very repetitive i sent the game back without finishing it
i do not recommend this game to anyone unless you are a big fan of sniping games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse