Rent Sniper 2: Ghost Warrior for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sniper 2: Ghost Warrior

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.9

831 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Complete campaign review

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Mar 18, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sniper 2 is just one of those games where nothing stands out from any other shooter on the market. It was a budget title that for me felt incomplete. The campaign is short and bland, taking less than 5 hours to plow through, and the online multiplayer (if you can call it that) was only able to work 1 time for me. The stealthy gameplay is also very limited.

The short campaign puts you in the shoes of a sniper with no real personality or any character. Story is non-existent, and you usually just try to get through the level by following your spotter and sniping the enemies that are tagged. I hated the fact that 80% of the game is literally 'follow the leader.' He tells you who to kill, tags them, and then you snipe them. Rinse and repeat, game over.

I liked the variety in landscapes and environments. Some missions you are navigating a crumbling city, with broken skyscrapers and buildings. You also get some jungle warfare with foliage and canopy scenery, waterfalls, cliffs, etc. The last level is a detailed Indian temple that gives you sight lines for long distance kills.

I hated the preset loadouts, with only a sniper and pistol. You can never change or pickup new weapons or upgrade those. There is zero customization. It would've been nice to deck out my gun, or upgrade breathing or a bigger ammo clip, based on a level's score. You also never get to switch with your spotter and experience the other side of sniping.

As for the sniping, your sights move more depending on if you stand, crouch, or lay down. The prone position is always sturdy. You can hold your breath for less movement. On higher difficulty, you need to account for distance and wind while sniping, so the skill level is high and you need to be precise. On easy, they just give you a red dot to aim with, which is cake.

Overall it's a short and boring campaign with no outstanding qualities in a FPS or sniper.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An improvement

posted by LtDrum (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Much better than the first one. Not a bad game overall but could be much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could Have Been Longer

posted by dextermac (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game was Waaaaayyyyyy too short - glad I did not fork over the big bucks to buy this turkey. Very repetitive and quirky game play - AI does not always help or do what it is suppose to when needed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Superior

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Jul 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I labeled this version superior in my review title because, compared to the first version of this title to me thats what it was. I gave up on the first one because I found it impossible to distingish the enemy from the scenery, in time to keep from being killed. They will still kill you, quickly in this one too if you dont get them fast. But there improvements Sniper2 over the first, the enemy is marked for quick finding, you have help from your partner in the game ( Spotter ) to keep you from being over-welmed. The only thing I can think of that would have made this version better would have been some grenades to help out. All in all I hated to see it come to an end in a way, I loved these type of shooter games. Thanks Game-Fly for a worth-while rent and I really thought long and hard about keeping it and I probably will but it in the future, but not this month anyway. Thanks Billy in Samson

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best, but still a Solid game

posted by tenaciousdk86 (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Just read Mattr25's review and I'm not sure what game he's playing but it doesn't sound like the same one I am. I agree that the audio and visuals aren't the best out there, but they're not terrible. As to the little red dot he talked about, you get that on the easy and medium difficulties but not the hard (which I'm playing on and actually gives you a pretty authentic sense of sniping). Now yes, in real life if a sniper is taking one shot they will adjust the elevation and windage on their scopes according to the conditions, but when quickly taking multiple shots at varying distances and windages (affects of wind change depending on your direction) you have to physically adjust your aim, which is how this game works. The red dot shows where the round will strike in relation to your point of aim (the center of the crosshairs on your scope) I.e. if its a long range shot and wind is blowing from the left your round will impact down and to the right. The longer the shot and stronger the wind, the more adjustments necessary. Pretty realistic and rather easy with the red dot. Try it on the hard setting with no help. I agree that sometimes I was annoyed by the lack of directions while on a mission, but if you pay close attention your allies often tell you verbally what needs to be done and it actually makes you search like a real sniper would have to using your binoculars or scope. As to the crosshairs moving on you, there is a HUGE difference in scope sway between standing, knelt, and prone and yes you do have the ability to hold your breathe for shots (though the effectiveness varies depending on you current heart rate). realistic. Controls are fine and the only time you don't have the ability to move is when you set up overwatch with the .50 cal. Again, realistic. I do wish you had the ability to pick up enemy weapons as sometimes more firepower than your suppressed .45 would be useful, but I guess the developers intended on stealth being the games main objective.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

eh

posted by spartanz27 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

honestly i wasnt very impressed with this game. played on medium beat the campaign in like 5 hrs tops? maybe less. i dont know. campaign was too short, generic story, multiplayer isnt done well. 2 maps one gametype. the graphics on the rifles were done well i think but everything else seemed shotty. the voice acting was lack luster. 90% of the time i couldnt tell the main character apart from the spotter. if you are extremely absolutely bored you can rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horribly unfinished

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 14, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth the time to rent, definitely don't buy. Even if you live to do sniper games, don't touch this.

Audio because this is the most important thing after the graphics. Everything in the game except playing the game is loud. I had my TV set for the standard sound level of any games, and wanted to turn it down. At least until I get into the actual game. In the game itself, it was quiet. Very odd thing and points to the developer did not give the designers enough time to actually finish the game.

Graphically the game is alright, trees look like trees and so forth.

Control, well control is where the game actually sinks itself. Now think about this, a sniper always braces their rifle, takes a deep beath and holds to fire. In this game you don't. Take a knee and the rifle wiggles all over, standing and the rifle wiggles all over, there is no difference.

At the easiest level and perhaps higher you get a handy indicator of where the bullet will go. This handy little indicator is small and looks exactly like the center of the scope, yet it's not the center of the scope so you never adjust for wind and distance. Something a sniper always does.

So moving on to the actual controls, they are pretty darn bad. After the fact the rifle always wiggles on you you are given control of your character, but sometimes they just move you to where you need to be. Which brings a question up, why? I mean why not either, give no movement control and actually make the rest work, or not take away control.

Not that it really matters, the rest of the control is basic and doesn't really make a difference anyway. Toss in the simple fact if you don't do it right and they shoot back, which is almost immediately, you can't tell where they are shooting you from. You and another sniper walk up to a camp and stay there to shoot. Stupid, and moronic apply.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Couldnt Load Game

posted by Shartybridgez (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It was auto saving the whole time. i got to the second act. turned my xbox off and the next day there was no continue option or chapters unlocked. I played through it again, got the the second act, saw the saving icon multiple times. Turned it on the next day, nothing. Wack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not great

posted by SawMan (VENTURA, CA) Mar 18, 2013

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was disappointed to say the least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not fun

posted by cool785 (SCOTTS VALLEY, CA) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I play games to have fun. Constantly being told what to do isn't fun. End of story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wow

posted by dleazenby (Elkhart, IN) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Horrible Game! Bad graphics, laggy gameplay offline and online. No unlocks no ranks. Only two MP maps that suck! Everyone starts off with the best guns without unlocking them. Seems this game was rushed sometimes it doesn't even tell you what to do example the shooting range!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This was bad

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I rented this because I liked the first one this was bad its way to difficult and it gets to be very frustrating and repetitive many of these cons were in sgw 1 but it was easy this I just sat there for 20 minutes thinking on what to do. Don't waste your time with this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A texture is worth a thousand words

posted by N2388 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I downloaded the demo and saved myself a wasted rental. The mechanics were about the only good part of the game. Sniping felt very smooth. However this game was built on the CryEngine3 and it felt like I was playing a PS1 1999 game. There were so many corners cut when it came to texture and animations that it made the game feel very cheap and rushed or that the developer did not care at all. Game immersion is a balance of all components and the visuals are one of the bigger ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fairly good, but not a buy.

posted by MacGyver5658 (LIMA, OH) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

Visuals: The graphics were pretty good, the environment was very beautiful, and even the brushes move when you walk through them, something I always found lacking visually in other FPS games. The only problem I had with them was that I thought the framerate was a little too sluggish in my opinion, roughly 20-25 frames per second.

Gameplay: Gameplay was fairly decent, the controls felt a little sluggish, but seeing as you didn't really need to do any fast-paced shooting and moving (at least you shouldn't) this wasn't a huge issue for me.

Story: Let's be honest with each other here; the story isn't the greatest. Sure, it has it's merits from time to time, but after half-way through the second act it was starting to feel predictable, something I'm not a huge fan of. Another thing I didn't like about the campaign was that it felt shorter than other FPS games, I think I knocked it out in about 4-5 hours.

Overall, I felt it to be a decent rent, but I wouldn't recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very average.

posted by Itzz_HK (CHRISTIANSBURG, VA) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

The game is decent, in the regards that it does what it is supposed to. Wind direction and other variables are taken into account, and on hard difficulty, the player is actually given some level of a challenge. Ghost Warrior 2 is a pretty good-looking game too, operating on CryEngine 3. From an atmospheric standpoint, it's quite nice. There are some minor issues with facial animations that don't really detriment the gameplay.
The story is fairly bland, and didn't grab my attention the way a lot of other developers have managed to. I found that some parts were buggy, including a part in Act II in which I could not rotate my character.
This game does have problems. It is not really worth a purchase (The campaign took me around 4 1/2 or 5 hours to finish, and multiplayer is weak at best), but as a rental, it was reasonably fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Let down

posted by Robswift23 (ORANGE BEACH, AL) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I waited for a while for this game to come out and it was a disappointment to say the least. It was way to short. I finished it in 2 days. Graphics were good, story ok, characters ahh. Maybe next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The first one was good

posted by princedube (TAMPA, FL) May 30, 2013

Member since May 2013

i love the first one. that one give me headache.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Couldve been way better

posted by SWATSNIPER94 (ARKADELPHIA, AR) May 28, 2013

Member since May 2013

The first Sniper game was by far the best with the ballistics and the impact camera showing what all damage was done to the target. game was also WAY too short. graphics weren't too bad but need improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I need a GD carbine. Auto. M4, AK, something CQB

posted by donlmartin (APPLE VALLEY, CA) May 21, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

The 1911 .45 suppressed is a nice tool. But for the Bums rush. I needed a GD 16 in barreled something with an eotec.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eh

posted by Lutanis (GLENDALE, AZ) May 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game was not bad. The sniping was realistic, wind speed, distance, all that fun stuff.
HOWEVER, I have played Sniper Elite and the XRAY Killcam on that absolutely ruined this game.
Sniper 2 Kills are very bland, Blood splatter then fall to ground. The sneak kills are not realistic, I mean cmon, you can not SILENTLY kill someone in the armpit... They would make noise.
The thing that REALLY bothered me was the Pistol handling, You could not switch your pistol to any other weapon, and the pistol control was weak. Your character did not have a grip what so ever and it wandered more than your sniper did at 160 bpm. Your character also had absolutely no stamina... At all.... Ever.
The story line was weak, it was there, but it felt a lot like they were just dumping you in the field and letting you shoot.
Overall, not too excited about it, finished both medium and elite in 2 days..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

10 yrs ago

posted by seawolf (ASHEVILLE, NC) May 6, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

Poor game for 2013. 10 yrs ago, might have been novel. Found my self essentially walking coridors moving slowly any wrong move game over. No distance or mobility which seems essential for a "sniper". If you want a good sniper game rent farcry 3, you can build character for it, plenty of room and distance to play it the way it should be played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

More of the same but worse

posted by Scorpiondog (SEATTLE, WA) May 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

This game was more of the same, except not as good as the same. Make sense? The movement was awkward at times and the dialog/ script was mundane and boring.
I could't wait to get to the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A decent rental.

posted by darklilly101 (BUCKLEY, WA) May 1, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

Gameplay was good, graphics are nice. Voice acting and storyline are meh. Worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A real review. (MUST READ)

posted by GameReviwer0900 (RAINIER, WA) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I noticed that a lot of unintelligent out there are giving this game 8's or higher. They're either trolls or just plain...bleh. So here is a real review.
First off, I noticed that the movement is too flipping sensitive, if I sneezed my guy ran foward off a cliff (true story). My partner in the beginning (and actually throughout the whole game) is mental. They'll get to a point and just stop moving...just stop. This happened atleast 5 times during the FIRST MISSION.
The cover does NOT work in this. There are multiple levels in which there is a waypoint telling you to hide in a specific part of the bushes. So I did, and multiple times the enemies were able to spot me. PLUS there are times when you have to clear out an area, and in the second mission there is a sniper position that you take to do this. Two guys that WERNT EVEN FACING ME SAW ME FROM 50FT UP. BULL. I had to go down there persoanlly and just rampage them with a pistol which by the way shakes way to much. That's another thing, this moron that you play as shakes constantly...standing up is the worst, you couldn't hit anything if you tried. Crouch is alright, it's still really tough. Prone is decent with the ability to hold your breath to get the shot 99% of the time.

I don't get what this game is trying to be. I like the idea of a hidden sniper in the shadows (wanted a game like that since cod4). So now they made one, but screwed it up to the point that I don't even want to THINK about those two missions in Cod4 anymore. This game is alright, I made it about 75% of the way through until I just couldn't handle it anymore.

NOT WORTH THE BUY. WORTH THE RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BETTER THAN YOU THINK!!!!!

posted by FeliciaLangley (EDMOND, OK) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This game is a mix between sniper elite V2 and black ops 2 with guns in black ops 1 but u can blow limbs off of the enemy and see their skill bust open and simitanisly explode!!!!!!! this game is a must if u like finishing off an enemy with the most leathel kill posable from a 20 cal. to a 50 cal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse