Rent Smarty Pants for Wii
view large frontback

Smarty Pants

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

1243 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's ok for a rental

posted by FXDHOG (FREDERICK, MD) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Sep 2004

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great concept, but ....

A. The questions start repeating after 3 or 4 long games.
B. When playing an 8 yr old vs an adult, some of the question are clearly aimed at the child but the adults can buzz in faster than most children making the game uneven. Adults should be handicapped when ansering kid's questions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game ONLY when played with friends & family

posted by Ghostcrash (BROWNVILLE, NY) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great games for friends and family. Solo mode is a complete bust you can't track stats and you can not use your own mii at all. This game is only fun when played with others. When you our playing with others you can use your mii and all your stats are tracked and saved. We had our friends over and played a few rounds which was fun. I only saw a question repeated once. We all enjoyed it. It is actually more fun than Mario Party when playing with non-gamers because they don't have to be a master of the controller to win. The game also has some younger questions which allowed my 5 year old to get a few correct answers while playing family mode. I think this a great game and it will remain in my collection for when we have friends over or I need something for the kids and I to play when we are not in the mood for Wii Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Family Game

posted by xfrvryrsx (SPRING GROVE, PA) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

We loved this game! We have a 7 year old, a 9 year old, and a 14 year old, and everyone including the parents enjoy this game. The questions are suitable for all ages and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's alright for what it is

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is essentially exactly what's advertised...a trivia game. Questions appear, you buzz in, you answer. There are some variable factors like cards you win that you can play when you want, thing slike stealing a question or eliminating one wrong answer. Those are all fine. The only reason I didn't rate this higher was because they added a lot of Wii fluff. Little mini-games interspersed that are supposed to affect score multipliers or other things. I didn't get this game so I could wave the remote around in a literal tug of war, drop icons in a bucket, or do a dance. I got it for trivia. If you can get past all the fluff (which unfortunately can also affect the score outcome) then it's a decent rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

king of all Party games

posted by brockly (MODESTO, CA) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game I love and I know I will buy. If your in to party game (like I am) this game you will fall in love with. its so much fun. it like bring back the board games with friends. yeah if you have kids you might play some board games with them but whats the last time you played a board game with friends. And it ask your age. But by your age the answer get easy for a 12 year old to a 40 year old. kinda cool. It has 20,000 questions in the game. it save the questions order so you run threw all the question before you get them again. And like a the game of life. the spin dial choice what categories. Eveone get 10 nudges so you can pick what your want but the other team can do that too so your fighting to nudge it were you want. Its so much fun. There so much to tell you but if your in to party game this is a must RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The more people, the better

posted by johnnywebb (YELM, WA) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not a great big fan of party games, but I have to admit that this one is pretty great in that category. The graphics are very lazy and leave a lot to be desired, but the game's format is simple and fun, the way it should be. As a basic multiplayer trivia game it works well, and if that's what you're looking for, give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for 2+ players

posted by jlw830 (BALLSTON SPA, NY) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I agree with previous review, it's not as much fun in solo mode but if you are playing with 2 or more players it is a lot of fun! We are always looking for good family games, this is one of them!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice game for kids of all ages

posted by Sammi313 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Best if played in competition mode, although I did select different age groups in solo to see what kind of questions they provide. This is fun, but sort of generic in the responses to correct answers, there are only four or five different comments "Righy-O" "yes" "correct" but kids will like this, the questions for their age group are not too hard but will challenge them. Glad I rented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Smarty Pants

posted by watkins (WARRENSBURG, MO) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Smarty Pants' presentation is incredibly bland and gets boring very quick. It seems more geared towards family with younger children than it does a group of 20-somethings like me and my friends. Most of the questions are very specific and can be quite difficult if you don't know much about the category. Each game ended fast (only a few rounds per game) and always turned out a little one-sided.

I would only recommend this game for families with younger children as it became very boring and dull after only a few rounds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

a lot wrong

posted by kingnaz (HILMAR, CA) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

There are more cons than pros about this. It goes way too fast to enjoy. Playing alone would be a waste of time, not fun at all. Questions repeat VERY Quickly. One person is always better at buzzing in . Everything else is ok! It is a good concept. Spinning the wheel is good, dancing is good, buzzing in is good. I kept it for a short time, as my main complaint is it is SO FAST.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak attempt

posted by mudixon (GRIMESLAND, NC) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

We wanted to enjoy this game. After all, it seemed as if it had what we would want: a family mode where my wife and I, and our 6 year old could all compete and have a level playing field in terms of questions asked. Well, while that "mode" was possible (the questions for the 6 year old were way too hard in many cases), the rest of the game was a flop. Extend the clock by wiggling around and doing all sorts of crazy thing? I think they were just trying to show that this game can get you off the couch like other Wii games. That's not necessary. Thank goodness I didn't buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Family Game

posted by Burko1020 (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

Good questions! Easy and hard. This game is very versital as far as the points system is concerned. You can have set points or wagered amounts. Which you can throw your competitor for a loop, by choosing negative points when it is a category that your opponents excel in. Good game, nothing fancy, nothing spectacular, but good fun for family, or friends night!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Okay

posted by luxiousblu (LAWTON, OK) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Its okay if you have somebody to play it with but if You are playing it by your self. Its not that fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i bet my shirt is smarter

posted by noahjm (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

to be quite direct and straightforward, this game was terrible. it leads you on to believe that it is more than what it actually is and when u get the chance to play it, its terrible. if they made a game out of the cash cab at least that would be somewhat fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

Really great game if you play with people. Gets really challenging and works your brain. Worth the rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Smarty Pants

posted by hubb30 (GRANITE FALLS, NC) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

Smarty Pants is a very fun game. We spent hours playing against other family members. I would recommend this game to anyone that likes trivia and being able to compete against other people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Party Game

posted by walkaway23 (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

After renting this game it became into a great party favorite for guests that came over my house. Though i rented it for my personal use to learn something new they I had not known before, the whole party was a hit and everyone enjoyed this game and the mini games within the game itself. This game also gears questions towards age which is a great feature so individuals from ages 2 to 99 can play the game and have the knowledge of questions geared to there age in what they should or did not know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its just "ok"

posted by forterich (SPOKANE, WA) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

good to play for a pass time but, not good enoufe to play for long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by daddyhulk (NORRIDGEWOCK, ME) Aug 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

I enjoy this game a great game for the family and wish there was a different way to set up comution play for a adult to kid challange

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game Night Game

posted by JRott21 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I think this would be a good game for Game Night with family or friends. Solo games get boring fast. I played multiple games with me and my girlfriend and we had a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same question

posted by drumstick (RAYMORE, MO) May 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I was hoping that this would a good game for family game night.......NOT !!!! After 30 mins. of playing in the family mode, we had the same question come up 3 times. This happen a couple times. I sent this one back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game, not enough questions

posted by WanjiSan (AUBURN, MI) May 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This is a fun game, but we started seeing repeat questions fairly early on. The game (and the user-tracking hard-drive having game system it is played on) should be able to keep track of questions asked to make sure that doesn't happen, no?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Play a trivia board game instead

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) May 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

I'd rather gather around the kitchen table and read questions to each other. I only played the game for about 2 hours and the questions started to recycle. (out of the last 10 questions, 5 were repeats). The questions were either way to easy or they jumped to way to hard. No happy medium. I t was a fun rent for a night but I would never buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

FUN but could be better

posted by G039260 (FOREST LAKE, MN) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game is about the most general trivia game I've ever seen. It's a blast to play but many times my wife and I just sat there in complete silence as we waited for the question to clear. Perhaps a good upgrade or sequel to the game would be some sort of Smart Menu that detects the AGE of the people playing and shoots out questions based on category for different age groups.

Gameplay is easy and interesting. I would say this is an excellent game to play with a small group. You could play with a larger group if people took turns.

All in all it was FUN, but it could be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An electronic deck of Trivial Pursuit cards

posted by Amozarte (CHESTERFIELD, MO) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

Smarty Pants is a collection of trivia questions accessed via the Wii as opposed to the old-school deck you’d find in a traditional board game. Unfortunately it stops there, since the scant additional features feel tacked-on like a lazy afterthought.

Though the menu claims to offer options, they boil down to single vs multiplayer and co-op vs competitive. The rest could be summed up as “difficulty”. Once the game commences, you are presented with multiple-choice questions and choose the answer you want by simple point & click with the Wii remote.

The game’s weak attempt to add motion control is implemented so poorly that as long as you waggle hard enough you get credit for any task you’re supposed to perform, be it “Dance”, “Jump”, or even “Tug-of-War”. I was hoping for more, but found myself disappointed.

The positive side of being such a basic game is that there was little opportunity for bugs or glitches- I certainly didn’t encounter any. The game offers a lot of questions on a pretty wide variety of standard trivia topics, so if you’re just looking for endless trivia this will be slightly more interactive than going through a Trivial Pursuit deck card by card.

In the end, though, if I’m going to plunk down my hard earned green for a video game whose core concept is already available in non-electronic format I expect to see some additions to the recipe and a unique experience. Smarty Pants fails to fulfill that expectation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse