Rent Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time for PS3
view large frontback

Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita
GF Rating
8.2

935 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Sly 4: Cooper Family Reunion

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After a long absence, Sly Cooper is back. Even though it's coming to the end of the console cycle, this is the first new Sly game on the PS3. It shares many similarities to the PS2 trilogy, particularly the latter ones, but adds something new... time travel!
Yes, for reasons that mostly amount to plot devices, Bentley converts Murray's van into a time machine so Sly can save his ancestors and restore the missing chapters of the Thievius Raccoonus. There's also a new villain who wants to steal all the Cooper's canes, although I'm still a little foggy on the logic behind that.
It's really just subtext so Sly can visit feudal Japan, the Wild West and the Middle Ages. There are five levels in total, each with an ancestor you can play with unique abilities. The rather large levels feature plenty of collectibles and a good variety of missions, all put together like a heist movie. As Sly progresses, he gets some costumes that allow him to access new areas, so revisiting previous levels is a must.
Now while the Sly games have always had a stealth element to them, this isn't SplinterCell. In fact, as long as you aren't in the direct eyeline or spotlight of your opponent, you can pretty much avoid them without incident. This is primarily a platformer, which is good because it's an underused genre these days. And Sly has always made solid platformers. I should say that this game is definitely easier than the first three games, but delivers on the platforming fun.
While it features nice gameplay and plenty of content, the story is pretty weak and playing as the other characters seems more like a chore than actual fun. But the game's charm and sensibility outweigh it's flaws to create a worthwhile installment in a great game series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Fun Game

posted by h20man (VALENCIA, CA) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At the beginning of this game I wasn't too impressed with the quality of the graphics, but after watching and helping my son play it for a ridiculous amount of time the sheer size and scope of this world and its challenges put me in awe. I'm not sure how far we managed to get, so I'm sure we'll rent it again soon to continue to explore it. Very impressed!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Extreme Nostalgia!

posted by LordOops (HUTCHINSON, KS) May 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The release of this game made my head spin. The original Sly trilogy were my all-time favorite games. I was worried that the game would be too different, since the original developers, Sucker Punch, gave the series to Sanzaru. Turns out I was worried for nothing, the game was as awesome as the previous three, and then some.

Basically, in this game words have been disappearing from the Thevius Raccoonus, the source of Sly's knowledge of thievery. Sly comes out of his "retirement" in order to travel through time using the time machine invented by childhood friend, Bentley, and the van of another friend, Murray. Throughout the game, the three will travel through many different time periods. One such period is Feudal Japan, where Sly's ancestor Rioichi Cooper exists as a master sushi chef and master ninja.

And you will meet and play as even more Cooper ancestors throughout the game. Sounds awesome, right?

Well, there is a few bad parts about the game. The gameplay can get very repetitive, which is always bad. Also, all but one Cooper ancestor operate by the same skeleton as Sly (meaning that they will move and attack the exact same way as Sly), although each has their own stealth slam and power attack. Still, maybe if Rioichi had faster attack combos and was naturally more nimble (being a ninja, and all), the game may have been much more fun.

But still, the few flaws are nothing compared to the classic third-person, action-adventure gameplay you will be experiencing. I completely recommend this game to anyone who likes stealth, talking animals, slapstick humor, and time-travel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great addition to the series.

posted by SuicideSam (FLATGAP, KY) May 16, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll played all three of the previous games, loved them and unfortunately lost them. This sequel was amazing. New game play options and abilities that keep even the more tedious sections interesting. The time travel elements are a good touch though to veterans of the series some sections will be familiar and a few pieces of the story will jump out and slap you, thus ruining the surprise. Sly's ancestors are fun to play with for the most part and they have some interesting abilities. I just wish a bit more design and character development would have taken place with them, because most of them play just like Sly with a different skin and a power up.
Over all though great game with a killer ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

its a good game

posted by SGarcia2 (KING CITY, CA) May 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A blast from the past

posted by Akaimenotenshu (BUENA VISTA, CO) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From the time of Bob Cooper to Sir Galeth this game is jam packed full of surprises. An excellent twist from the original bestselling trilogy. A game that is easy to play but difficult to beat this game comes to us as a masterpiece stolen from the masterminds at Sony. This game will have you on the edge of your seat from story start to game completion end. Pour hours of time into the game and you will start to see the personalities and qualities of the Coopers expand and become real. This is a game to be shared through all ages and especially all times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Nostalgia Based Game

posted by Captian47 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Sly Cooper Trilogy was my entire childhood. I have been wanting a 4th game to come out for a few years, and it never did until this.
Now let me just say that this game is NO way perfect. In fact, I would go as far as to say that it doesn't even compare with its older counterparts. However, this can be assumed with the fact that this was created by 'Sanzaru Games' instead of 'Sucker Punch'.

Summarized, if you never played the previous games in the series, this game will range on a scale from '1-to-bad' for you. If you have played them, then it'll be a pretty good game (it just takes a while to get used to all the new CGI for every character).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Flaws foil the fun

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Mar 21, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sanzaru Games takes over for Sucker Punch for "Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time", the fourth entry in the series. While they did a fine job updating the original trilogy to HD, they stumbled a bit on this one. The story is good and holds a lot of promise- pages are vanishing from the Thievius Raccoonus, and the gang realizes someone has gone back in time and is eliminating the Cooper clan from history. Bentley builds a time machine, and away our heroes go, traveling to places like feudal Japan, the Old West, England in the middle ages, and even to prehistoric times. Each area is set up in episodic fashion, containing 7 to 9 missions each. There's quite a variety in the missions overall, but some mainstays remain, like recon and following the bad guy. Sadly, the controls are among the flaws that mar the fun in these levels. When they work, they work well, but all too often they are unresponsive, leading to frustration and cheap deaths. Some bits go on for too long, and boss battles are repetitious and range from okay to downright annoying. Speaking of annoying, the character of Bentley is especially annoying in this game. He was never my favorite character from the previous three games, and there is just way too much of him here. The hacking bits range from frustrating (using the Sixaxis controller to move a ball along the grid) to okay (a digital tank blasting through) to a somewhat fun side scrolling shooter. Each of Cooper's ancestors have their own unique abilities, but their use is restricted to their levels and to their respective parts in the final chapter. The game does wrap up the story nicely, leaving just enough opening for a sequel. The disc I played did have a few glitches, which consisted of characters being hung up in the environment and one freeze which necessitated restarting my PS3. Nothing that made the game unplayable, but they occurred, and when paired with the other flaws made things less fun. This is a rental at best, even for series fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sly Cooper

posted by LeonRiotGun (LITCHFIELD, MI) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like the game it was fun but just too easy for me, the other Sly's were more challenging like when following the bosses in Sly 2 and 3 it was more challenging to find a way to tail them than just be above them and listen to every word they say. Also with the guards there weren't many and if you got caught it was too easy to get away, I like a good chase every now and again and just like I was playing tag by myself. The pickpocketing was different I like that each item was in the hundred's range but sad that it was easy to make money. Please in the next one because everyone knows there will be later sometime, think about what to do next and don't make it too easy. Also be creative!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ahhh, the memories...

posted by Nemy009 (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Playing this game has brought back some fond memories of the PS2/Game Cube/Xbox era (i.e. "last gen").

Yeah, it has got its fair share of "everyone" humor (hence the "E" rating) that might throw off a more mature audience that is ignorant of the quality of the Sly Cooper series of games, but for those of us who played the three offerings last gen, "Thieves in Time" is a well received throw back.

If really want the full Sly Cooper experience, pick up "The Sly Collection" and play through the first three installments before jumping into "Thieves in Time". If you can tolerate the last gen graphics, you should be pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SLY 4

posted by MAX54 (STAFFORD, VA) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS EXCELLENT SLY 4'S GAMEPLAY IS GREAT IF YOU ARE A SLY FAN AND YOU HAVE NOT PLAY IT YET GO OUT AND PICK IT UP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent Gameplay, Bad Story

posted by penguinpaladin (FAIRBORN, OH) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

When I heard this game was coming out I was stoked!... And then I bought the game.. The game mechanics are ok, but to me Sly feels slower in maneuvering above the rooftop, and when you land from a height, they slow the game down instead of landing lightly and moving on. The environment is nice, well detailed, but I don't like that they changed the clue bottle sound from that nice loud clink-clink, made it much harder to find them. And the different ancestral abilities are nice, although you don't really use them outside of missions and item acquistion. The fighting system is really slow and not very fun, even with Murray. The boss battles kind suck, they rely on dodging attacks and then counterattacking when the boss signals you can. But its the storyline that made me ragequit and sell the game on Ebay. I'm not trying to spoil anything, but in the first three games the main baddies were driven by rage, Dr M was a bit greedy too but he mainly felt unappreciated as member of Slys fathers gang. In this game, the motivation is greed, pure and simple. And the worst part for me is the plot twist in episode 4. Again, not trying to spoil anything, but what happens and why it happens just left me feeling hollow and then enraged. So basically, if your curious rent it, then afterwards, do like me and pretend this game doesn't exist as part of the Sly Cooper story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been better

posted by Shartybridgez (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Too much murray and bentley, not enough sly cooper. Should have stuck to the roots in that aspect. Looks very good for a sly game, great character interactions and relations. Decent replay value because you can go back to any level and get all the collectables if thats your thing. Worth a quick rent, but thats about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sly Cooper: Kids in Time

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Feb 17, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, this is a great game as indicated in the score, but make no mistake, it's a kids game. And that's not a bad thing.

It's got a beautiful art style, environments look great, it's discounted and yet is worth full price and more considering you get the Vita version with it.
This is a nice throwback to adventure/platforming games that have since disappeared from gaming and it's great to see it come back and executed so well.
But, lets face it, if you're an adult, the characters are just too obnoxious, voices too over the top and the experience, although pleasant and refreshing, is a bit too simple. Again, that's not to say there's anything wrong with this formula, just know what audience you're in before giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loved it

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

great fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Help us get started!

posted by dRanager (JACKSON, TN) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Please tell us how to get the game started. We can't find the main menu so aren't able to begin the game. I'm sure it's something we aren't doing correctly.
thank you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Should have been made earlier.

posted by Shadow54130 (OWOSSO, MI) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I loved the Sly Cooper franchise as a child, and played them all the way throughjunior High. I waited nar 6 years for a fourth sly cooper game, and i lost faith it'd ever come, figuring the cooper gang had retired. So when this was released my mind was blown. Unfortunately, the game franchise didn't quite age and mature with me. This would have been great for m 12 year old self, but doesn't quite recapture the magic for me like it did in my youth. It's still the same mission based game play style it's always been, but it just feels so different. Bentley no longer gives you elaborate updates on mission progress, and Only one character will have a mission to complete at a time. In previous games, you would have the option to choose which mission you'd want to do next, as multiple jobs would be Qued for different characters. As a game for young children, this is tops, but FOR PEOPLE WHO PLAYED SLY IN THEIR ADOLESCENCE, THIS WILL PROBABLY TURN INTO A RATHER BORING LETDOWN. I can however say it did still hold true to some of the more positive points. Sly and the gang iisss back after all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Action packed with a lot to keep up with.

posted by dunwitit (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Oct 3, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

The story was interesting, the graphics were different but eye capturing, and the game play was simple yet fun. It was the amount of tasks I had to keep my mind on that left this game down a few notches from a perfect 10. I would finish one thing and have 5 more tasks pop up on my agenda. Some people like that sort of thing. I'm more of a get in, beat it, get out, and move on type of player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great time

posted by Tatatijo (TAMPA, FL) Sep 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2008

I have played all the other Sly games on ps2 and was pretty excited that this finally came to ps3. This is a great game, had a blast with it. Game has a lot of content for the completionist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its good but, it could be better

posted by jaketra (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 22, 2013

Member since May 2013

to be honest this game was very fun to play. but once you collected all the trophies and unlocked all the safes its gets boring. what this game really needed was mini games. other than that this game is very fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

meh...

posted by AJ1988 (YREKA, CA) Jul 11, 2013

Member since May 2013

im actually not to sure how this game got such a high rating... am i missing something?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another great sly cooper title... but,

posted by thegamerkirbies (BATH, ME) Jun 18, 2013

Member since May 2013

Was it worth it?

sly cooper and the gang come out of retirement after a few years, this time with a new development team calling the shots

you can tell they have a lot of connection with the old development team sucker punch, but the direction in story goes kind of south

years after the events of sly 3, sly must give up his charade of amnesia to carmalita, and go back in time with his pals to save the cooper lineage and the thievius raccoonus

however without spoiling the plot of sly 4 they do some ret-con of the previous story that i would have rather been left alone

dispite the story being changed up, the game feels a lot like old sly games, they even got the same voice actors for sly bently and murry and got a much better voice actress for carmelita fox, the game overworld is a little less connected and the load times between levels can be kinda lengthy, but nothing unbearible

a lot of the chapters and chapter boss's seem like rehashing of old worlds and bosses of past games, but if it ain't broke why fix it? they do a decent enough job making things interesting while making it feel the same as the old games

the completion for this game is a bit annoying, I'm one to tend to ignore trophy lists until after i finish a game, but this is one of those games that punishes you for doing so, there is a particularly annoying achievement that has nothing to do with spoilers or the story, and if you aren't working towards this achievement from the start you will have to near replay the whole game to try to complete it

the collectables are quite challenging to collect and win through mini games, but not impossible, i managed to platinum this game in only about 4-5 days thorough searching without a guide(for the most part, world 3 is particularly evil to navigate)

i reccomend this game to any sly veteran, 8/10, could be better if they had gone in a new direction instead of messing with existing canon, but still very fun and worth playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sly steals the show

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) May 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently received this game and was very excited to start playing this game because I am a big fan of the orginal 3 sly games. I was a little nervous that this game was going to disappoint because it was made by a different company then the orginal 3. To my suprise this game looked and played better then the first 3. The orginal voices are back for the characters as well as some new characters such as slys ancestors. The graphics are beautifully done with japan and other worlds looking as if you were at the places during the time period. The controls are simple to use, move with the control stick jump with the x button and attack or pickpocket with the circle button. The storyline is very engaging and fun with sly traveling through time to rescue his ancestors and restore the theives raccounas. I would highly recommend this game to sly cooper fans or fans of action adventure games. I would hope that there will be more sly cooper games to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definitely A Sly Cooper Game But...

posted by ilawson94 (EAST BETHANY, NY) May 13, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Let me say off the bat that this is a good game and Sanzaru games did a good job of reviving the franchise and keeping it true to the subject material. The levels in general feel like a Sly Cooper game (albeit with a more graphically intense engine that took some getting used to), and the good guy characters are all interesting and fun. I really only have 2 complaints about the game overall.

1. The Villains are Rather Weak

Now when I say weak I do not mean it as in that they are easy to beat (although one or two of them are). I say weak in the aspect of they just aren't as interesting or enjoyable as villains in the franchise have been in the past. They just don't have the presence that the other villains did in previous installments. Draw from that what you will considering they are all anthropomorphic animals, but if you look at the back-stories of previous villain as opposed to these, they could have been better. I did enjoy one villain about mid-way through the game but that's about it.

2. The Story Arc's Payoff Leaves Things to be Desired

The writing was on the wall since the ending of Sly 3 that there was going to be a game like this. For the large majority of the story and game, they do it very well. The only problem comes at the ending level/ cinematic. I won't spoil it for you (because i'm not that kind of gamer) but I will let slip that whatever wasn't predictable left something to be desired.

All said, this is most definitely a Sly Cooper game. It stays true to the subject matter and gameplay formula to the largest extent and I recommend it for both veterans and old fans. I just have a particular attachment to this series as it was one of the first games I ever got for the PS2 and I have seen everything develop in it throughout the rather impressive run. I just feel they changed some stuff that didn't need to be changed.

I think if I had to rank the four games in the series this one would probably be tied with the first one for second f

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

killer

posted by Tato_Chip (DETROIT, MI) May 10, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

oooooooooooooooooooooh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse