Rent Sleeping Dogs for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sleeping Dogs

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.1

5522 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Quite a good game!

posted by Yourgamer123 (STATESBORO, GA) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

28 out of 33 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

The game was overall good. I surely liked it! It has an absolute great story line, if you are one of them people like me, who loves a game with a great story behind it? This is your game! The graphics on the other hand don't quite meet up to the standards of the story line. The graphics aren't bad.. but I wouldn't say they're excellent. I kind of came into the game thinking of the new Grand Theft Auto game graphics or something. I completed this game in 4 or 5 days. That's just me, but there's a great deal of side missions i've yet to complete! So, technically i'm not finished! This is an excellent way to hold you over until another game comes out or something. But I mean, if it's a "buy" or a "rent". I'd have to go with rent! Because, well, I hardly ever buy games. :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by branden009 (SYLMAR, CA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

34 out of 43 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Sleeping Dogs has a decent story and dialog which keeps the game interesting throughout. It's entertaining to see the main character (Wei Shen) infiltrate a triad street gang and take it down from the inside. The voice acting isn't amazing, but doesn't take away from the experience.

The open world if full of things to do (karaoke, gambling, helping people... even chicken fighting) It's fun following the main missions, but it's also fun to steal cars/bikes and explore the map looking for hidden suitcases and shrines (which help you level up, find items and money). It's amazing how much content there is in this game. Plus it's great to see an open world game full of people. You can't interact with everyone, but the city always feels alive with hundreds of NPCs wandering about.

Graphics are great most of the time, but if you look closely there are some areas that could be more detailed. Lighting and weather effects like rain look sharp. However, walking into stores and other locations you can see how pixelated the textures can be sometimes.

The Combat system is fun and challenging. You have some basic combos at first (there are skill tree upgrades later), counters, and grabs. The grabs are especially entertaining because you can throw enemies into environmental hazards like phone booths, air ducts, fans, and vending machines.

It seems impossible to become bored while playing Sleeping Dogs. This is definitely one of those games you pick up and lose track of time. One of the best rents I've made in a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A decent game.

posted by Jambigrunge (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that I genuinely had a fun time playing this game. The story line was compelling & the side missions were an enjoyable break. That being said, this game does not live up to it's hype & it's flaws prevent it from being all it could have been. Personally my biggest problem with the game is the massive holes in continuity. For instance, at one point in the main story you meet an American tourist who shows an obvious romantic interest in Wei. One would expect this to blossom into something significant but it doesn't. The second (& last) time you meet her, she's wearing a completely new outfit that Wei supposedly bought her even though you've literally only seen her once & after their date, she literally disappears from the game. These kind of scenarios crop up throughout the entirety of the game & make it near-impossible to have a cohesive understanding of Wei's story. Another issue is the fact that major story characters seem to pop out of nowhere & then become critical to the game. In fact, the main antagonist isn't even shown until you're two-thirds done with the game. The entire cast is extremely forgettable & characters fade in & out of existence it seems. Apart from the story, the gameplay itself is pretty good...except for anything involving firearms. Wei doesn't even have access to guns until about halfway through the game & at that point when he finally is able to acquire them, you realize how awful the shooting actually is. The guns themselves seem largely inadequate since it'll usually take you a whole clip to take down an enemy & by that point you'll probably be soaking up bullets since the cover system is ineffective against multiple enemies. The guns also seem very weak when they are fired & don't have that "realistic feel" FPS players will be accustomed to. All in all, this game is good, but it's not worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good old fashioned Hong Kong Action

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Sleeping Dogs is one of the few success stories of a game being canceled, and later brought back to life, Frankenstein style. While there are plenty of games this does not work with (Duke Nukem comes to mind right away), Sleeping Dogs turned out to be a great title. Formerly known as True Crime Hong Kong, it takes a few elements from a lot of different titles - Combat similar to Batman, gunning similar to Gears of War, and driving similar to, well any open world action game, really. The similarities between Sleeping Dogs will clearly be drawn between GTA and Saints Row, but up against these, I think that Sleeping Dogs holds its own. The story is excellent, and reminiscent of The Departed in that you're an undercover cop infiltrating the Triads. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you engaged with the story from start to finish. Additionally, there are plenty of sidequests, races, and collectables to find on your way through the adventure. Another element unique to Sleeping Dogs, which is one of my favorite elements in any game, is your ability to upgrade your character. You can unlock new moves, more damage, and other useful unlockables to help you take down the triads.

Final Word - If you're in the mood for an open world action game with plenty of cue's taken from Hong Kong cinema (John Woo slow mo, for example), the best parts of other games in the driving, fighting, and shooting departments, definitely give Sleeping Dogs a look. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game blows

posted by jesse_gamer012 (GOSHEN, AL) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i played this game for about two hours and it was all i could take . maybe later on in the game it gets better but i could not stand it anymore.all you do is fist fight and its choppy the third person view jumps behind walls and other structure making impossible to see what your doing ..the fights are epic hard and you fight like 10 people at one time . the "b" button is supposed to block attacks yeah so it only works about half the time !!! i am no noob and i have played suckie games before that were at least some what tollerable ...this one is a complete fail. dont waist the time or the money i would rate it in the negitives if i could > that is all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by SidTheCreator (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Amazing game start to finish..

1. i wish the game was longer

2. i wish that after completing the game you can chose to either remain in the gang or be a police officer (for replayability purposes of course)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprise from Squeanix

posted by DjSlim92 (SHAWNEE, KS) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I love this game! I was sketchy since a game this good hasn't come out from Square Enix in a while but I started playing and almost concidered calling in sick for work. Good, challenging combat keeps it fun and amazing detail in the city really impresses the gamer. The only thing I wish was any better is the driving... It doesn't take anything away from the game but it's the only aspect that I consider a downside.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sleeping Dogs Delivers

posted by clavin (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

THE UNDERDOG
Sleeping Dogs is definitely an underdog title. There wasn't a lot of publicity or advertising for the game and many people knew nothing about it. This game will in no doubt grow in popularity and become one of the best titles of the year.
MET EXPECTATIONS
As an avid gamer of crime-based, open world structured games. I felt it met expectations. I like what developers keep doing differently with each game type like this that comes out, especially this one. It was unique and fun to be in a different country and as an undercover cop. I always liked working for the Triads in GTA 3 and no game has seemed to touched the idea of Asian gangsters since. I'm glad this game fully embraced that crime world and executed the good idea to meet expectations.
THE GAME
SD's narrowed scope and exclusion of things (like potty humor and aircraft) gave the game more of an edge. This gave the game a solid story throughout with decent voice acting.
The graphics look good and things look like how I would imagine China to be like. I like some new elements such as jumping from cars or motorcycles onto other cars as well as the martial arts fighting and gadgets (similar to the recent Batman titles). Navigating obstacles throughout chase scenes, using environmental objects to impale enemies and slow-mo shooting was fun as well. Sleeping Dogs brings some new things to the table that I hope to see in future similar titles.
THE BAD
The game isn't seamless and sure it doesn't compare to the behemoth of GTA IV, but it's excellent. One can go online and read articles that really only knit pick the game and drop it to an unnecessarily low score of 7's and 8's. This game is a 9 through and through in most all of it's aspects. The two biggest gripes I might have to agree with is it was a bit short and there was no online playability. Other things like texture maps being pixelated or minor glitches is just being particul

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game

posted by sparker88 (NACOGDOCHES, TX) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is the first game I got when I started with Gamefly. I love this game. It is so awesome. It is like GTA in Asia. It is a better than GTA. I will buy it to have in my game collection <3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

One of the least polished games I've ever played.

posted by dabenz560sl (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The storyline is excellent, everything else is garbage. The combat is so elementary its pathetic, and even as basic as it is its not polished or smooth by any means. The driving is awful, as are the graphics, cars, and most of the clothing. If they put some programmers who know what they're doing to work on it and actually tested it to any level the game would've been much better. Another example of great potential wasted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

16 hours for story.24 for the collectibles

posted by stewart2727 (LAKE CITY, FL) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I beat the whole game in 16 hours but it was a great ride.I felt like it was impossible to put my controller down!Its better than GTA 4 because like when you beat up a certaint guy its not always for a mission it could be to upgrade or a favor. It may not be a saints row or GTA with its running around shooting cops but it has great story and gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice game

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is what ive been waiting for more to more hand to hand fighting and less guns about time. Very cool open world just flat out a very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, but not great

posted by Thee_Holy_Cow (CALABASAS, CA) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sleeping Dogs to me was a great concept. The game opens up well and is all around quite fun to play.

The main story is quite intense, though a bit short for an open world game. The gameplay is fun albeit a bit unrealistic at times. The fighting system reminds me a lot of Arkham Asylum, but with a more 'Bruce Lee' sort of feel. Whereas the gun play was a bit boring even with the seemingly unnecessary slow motion points.

Many of the side quests are useless and repetitive. It's the the same things in different areas. The cop missions are somewhat fun, but are quite short as well. The game left me pretty unsatisfied.

The graphics looked good, but there were several glitches that I had encountered, including a car that got stuck inside a curb.

However, not everyone is as picky as me when it comes to games and I would still recommend you try this one for yourself. Unless you want to play the older and much more satisfying GTA: IV.

P.S. The original concept was a sequel to True Crime, which was called True Crime: Hong Kong. The original project was scrapped. The game was picked up by Square Enix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Combat is very bad if not broken

posted by Seizure (POWELL, OH) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

But to elucidate slightly. I liked the game to start, but I am only a few hours into it and find the combat broken.

An example: Guy grabs me and I have to hit "y" button to be released. I hit "y" button 15 times but I am never released. I die and have to travel back to fight again. Same thing happens three or four times. After traveling back AGAIN, I start hitting "y" button BEFORE the prompt comes up and it works (yes, you have to hit the button BEFORE the prompt or it won't work).

OK. I have it figured out right? Well, next time I am grabbed, I start hitting the "y" button but THIS time a prompt for "x" button comes up and I lose right away (because I am hitting "y"). And I die. And I am supposed to travel back to the fight... AGAIN.

I don't think so. Now the game has transitioned from entertainment into "boring work" and I have enough of that in my life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Deweydragon (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Amazing game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWEESOOMMEEE!

posted by Skyman317 (ATLANTA, GA) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is great, and since it's actually a sequel to True Crime: NYC, It's hard not to like it! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EITHER YOU LOVE IT OR YOU DONT

posted by 420GameCritic (ROUND ROCK, TX) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

ITS FUN, GREAT GRAPHICS, DIFFERENT ENVIRONMENT, FAST PACED AND ACTION PACKED. 10/10, IF YOU WERE A FAN OF SAINTS ROW 2, THEN DEF LOVE THIS, GTA VERY SIMILAR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the better games of this year

posted by enternamehere (LIVONIA, MI) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I really love this game, this game is perfect if you like the GTA series but like the fighting aspect of it more, which in my case, I do. The only problem i had with this game was the camera angle sometimes it got a little bit buggy, but it was the first game in a while that made me feel like i was actually friends with the characters, perfect game if you're waiting for the next gta to come out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic

posted by halo13245 (SUFFERN, NY) Sep 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Beautiful city and great gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic break from other sandbox titles

posted by King4day (CHARLOTTE, NC) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

While GTA will always be my favorite followed by Saints Row, I thought Sleeping dogs did enough to differentiate itself from those two.

Pros:While GTA will always be my favorite followed by Saints Row, I thought Sleeping dogs did enough to differentiate itself from those two.

Pros:

1. The Batman: Arkham City, style fighting.

While the other Sandbox games are strictly based on shooting with very limited fisticuffs, Sleeping Dogs highlights hand to hand combat more than anything but enough gun battles to keep people satisfied.

2. The game is smooth. You always know where you can and can't go.

3. Long story (especially if you do all the side missions).

4. Achievements. They vary from silly ones where you have to use a fish to kill someone, to the standard collectables, leveling up, and so forth. They aren't difficult to get, just time consuming.

CONS:

1. Can't drive through fences
2. Can't hi-jack a passenger in a car. You'll never see a car with more than one person. So when you steal a car, it's just you inside.
3. When you are going full speed through intersections, some cars will stop short when you get close to them instead of that adrenaline rush of plowing into them.

I played this game for 10 days and did just about everything I wanted to. It's hours of fun with a good story.

Worth buying or renting.

1. The Batman: Arkham City, style fighting.

While the other Sandbox games are strictly based on shooting with very limited fisticuffs, Sleeping Dogs highlights hand to hand combat more than anything but enough gun battles to keep people satisfied.

2. The game is smooth. You always know where you can and can't go.

3. Long story (especially if you do all the side missions).

4. Achievements. They vary from sillyones where you have to use a fish to kill someone, to the standard collectables, leveling up, and so forth. They aren't difficult to get, just time consuming.

CONS:

1. Can't drive through fencese
2. Ca

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright, but could have been better

posted by HonorMan58 (WEST CHESTER, PA) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think the best part about Sleeping Dogs is the melee fighting, which honestly isn't even that great compared to other similiar games. The environment based finishing moves are cool though. The graphics didn't impress me at all, but maybe that's because I was playing Arkham City right beforehand which IMO is a great and beautiful game in every aspect. But the things that irk me the most are the very limited customization options, and the relative rarity of firearms and melee weapons in general in this game. I understand it's Hong Kong, guns are harder to get, etc. etc. so no Ammu-nations or anything like that, but at least give me a black market dealer like Little Jacob or something who I can get stuff from. As it is the only way you can get firearms is to steal them from police, on missions, or find them in lockboxes hidden around the city. Not a bad game like I said, but certainly not among the best of the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Definition of Sleeper Hit

posted by RainDragon (MUNFORD, TN) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Oh True Cr... Sleeping Dogs, I knew you'd be good enough to kill a little time before a REAL game came out, but I never knew you would actually BE a real game.

Sleeping Dogs is the story of undercover (we're talking DEEP undercover. DiCaprio in Departed WISHES he was this guy) cop Wei Shen and his initiation and rise in the ranks of a Hong Kong triad. And if that sounds formulaic, you're forgiven, it is. BUT, the way the story is told makes up for that. The writing, voice acting, and presentation are all right up there with the best open world gaming has to offer.

The controls, at first, puzzled me a little. The cars seemed twitchy, the fighting seemed sluggish, and the gunplay seemed non-existent. Then I stopped comparing it all to GTA. The driving is meant to be Burnout style arcade racing, and it is, and it works perfectly. The fighting is like that so you have a place to start from, and as you level up, grab perks, and get a hang of the controls you become as unstoppable as Bruce Lee, no matter who you fight. The gunplay happens a lot more toward the end missions, and it's probably the only weak spot in the game. It's not bad really, it's just not a great shining example of cover-based shooting. Wei works better in the opponent's face, disarming him and then putting his head in a car door for a few vigorous slams.

Speaking of perks, the game features three XP meters, each tied to it's own upgrade tree. Cop, Triad, and Face. All of them matter, and if you do everything they'll all be unlocked for you.

Good stuff:
On foot world traversal. Wei's a great free runner.
Hand to hand, and environmental kills abound.
Side-missions. Yes. Really. They are all fun. Surprising no?
The "Bash" ability from "Wheelman" returns
Level up system.

Bad Stuff:
The few hours it takes to "get" the combat controls
Glitchy. I didn't run into anything major, but a lot of minor.
Triad XP is hard to get maxed compared to the rest.

In short. Get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sleeping dogs

posted by hitman4578 (NEWPORT, KY) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best open world games i have played in a long time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sleeping Dogs

posted by Hanzo99 (ROUND LAKE, IL) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It was good.Story line was a bit short for my likings,but other than that I recomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game

posted by moneyartthou (ALLENTOWN, PA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Now I am just writing this short survey to point out that i have not played this game yet because my family is to cheap to let me use any of their credit cards to have a full account on GAME FLY. but in my opinion and i quote "BEST GAME IN THE WORLD!!!" .or at least in 2012 l0l but seriously this is a perfect mix of game to me and IL explain why. I'm only 13 and i just turned 13 in June i did not pre order this game because i made my dad buy the amazing spider man which came out 5 days after my birthday (u do the math :] ) . and was a TOTAL waste of money. And now i realize that i REALLY should have pre ordered this game. and had no idea that it came out the same day as darksiders 2 which i did not care for too much. but like i said i like this game because it has interactive environment techniques like in splinter cell conviction only better,is free roam like GTA IV best game of 2009 to me,flowing movements like in the game-play video, and last and not least a true crime feel to it which was at first what it was until the creators gave up and some other company donned this game and made it a 100% times better. and now i conclude my short survey of this game. thank you.Rodney white

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse