Rent Sleeping Dogs for PS3
view large frontback

Sleeping Dogs

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

3660 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RENT it or BUY it NOW!

posted by rollin16 (WOODSIDE, NY) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is definitely up there on top in one of the best sandbox free roam games so far. For me it was an all-around game. It has awesome free running, driving, shooting, and of course the fighting! You get better at combat as you progress and upgrade your skills.

The graphics are really good and the city of Hong Kong is vibrant and alive. You can see the amount of detail they put into this game is quite impressive.

The main missions and character development are superb and you will really get emotionally in touch with the characters. You gotta appreciate the fact that the missions are not repetitive and it is coupled with a solid plot which always keeps you wondering what will happen next. Even the side missions are very fun and worth playing.

The driving controls of this game might seem a little awkward at first (kind of like NFS), but in a few minutes you will get the hang of it and appreciate why the driving controls are like that. You will be flowing through traffic seamlessly with a good selection of cars and motorcycles. You get to buy cars also as you progress in the game which is very cool and buy better and faster cars. Being a car person as I am, I have to say it met my needs. Let's not forget the awesome ability to hijack other vehicles on the fly while you are driving.

The combat is I guess is where this game really shines. You get to use your environment to your liking to initiate some cool and brutal finishers to your enemies. The counter striking is like Batman Arkham City where you have to use your reflexes if you wanna counter. You never get tired of fighting! You will have to actually visit martial arts school to upgrade and learn new moves.

All in all, this game is definitely a top notch solid game. It succeeds in all areas and will leave you with an awesome gaming experience. This is definitely a must play for you open world game fans out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's not a shooter!! Lol

posted by barichristopher (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 13, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With the title mentioned this game is not a shooter nor was it meant to be posed as one...there are times when you need to use a gun, however the game sets you up to coming across one or stealing one from an enemy before it gets crazy. Please people realize that this game isn't GTA where you run around with an arsenal of weapons and guns.Stop judging this game to GTA. If you want to compare it to something compare it to Yakuza simply because it's all about fighting.If you like games where you can freely go anywhere in the map and just do you then this game is for you. It reminds me more of Yakuza than GTA which i really like both games so it doesn't matter. It's all about fists,combos, and counters. I'm still playing through the story thus far but I can tell I'm almost done. But now that they added DLC there's an extended story after you beat the game so I've heard and can't wait to play.
This game is seriously an enjoyable game to play.Lots of things to do between racing bikes,cars,gambling in fighting rings,boosting cars for a later contact in the game,dating multiple girls-be careful if they find out your pretty screwed ( only part that's upset me so far) theres kareoke mini game in the bar's.
I gave the game an 8 becuase I'm a harsh critic when I play games and don't see this as the perfect game all around. A game that deserves a 10 needs to blow my mind.Some things they could've done better is the map itself you cant zoom into unless its your minimap which zooms in decently when by a location you've locked on. There's been many yellow markers i haven't been able to get to because they are located in a weird spot and i've tried entering every door on the wall to get to them and have looked for alt roots. Definately have to rent it if you can I've played for 48hrs now and I still have alot to unlock,grab, and do in the game. Square Enix did a great job picking this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sleeping Dogs Is Awesome

posted by shoneymac (GREENVILLE, MS) May 9, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game.....its just like a chinese version of GTA. the graphics are cool, and theres a nice series of fighting moves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is hardcore.

posted by tgainey14 (NEW BERN, NC) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Honestly, this game is amazing. One of the best GTA knockoffs I've ever had the privilege to experience. The gunplay isn't that great, but that isn't the main focus. The main focus is on the brutal and slick hand-to-hand combat. The moves feel powerful to unleash and when you make a perfect combo, you feel insanely rewarded.

Pros
-Great fighting
-Great script
-Amazing character design
-Feeling attached to the character
-Plenty of clothes to choose from
-Car driving is awesome

Cons
-Repetitive story
-Overused profanity
-Shooting mechanics

If you noticed, the pros definitely outweigh the cons. Play this game, I implore you.

Thanks for reading!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Who'd have thought this game would be good?

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Seriously. I NEVER expected that this game would be as interesting as it was, and that the gameplay would be as enjoyable as it is.

You play as Wei Shin, an undercover cop who gets assigned to take down the Triads in Hong Kong. That's basically the whole story. It's a story focusing somewhat on the dual life required to be lived by an undercover cop, and the internal struggle one has to go through to remain a cop, yet also to be immersed in the life of a gangster.

Okay, it's really not that in-depth of a story, as it only really touches on this whole duality; it feels more like a cheesy modern martial-arts movie with loads of gunfights, street races, cars exploding, and jaws being broken. Not that that's a bad thing, though: I've seen more than a few of such films that I wish I could control the action.

In closing, the game does play well; it's not the prettiest game I've seen, but it's fun. The story's not that fascinating, a lot of the voice acting is dull, the music is alright, and the texturework is .. serviceable.

There are worse games to play and to kill your time in than this one, and, while you probably won't play through it more than once, and probably won't try to get 100% of all the collectibles, I'm certain you'll enjoy your time in Hong Kong as much as I did.

Do remember though: you're supposed to be a cop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great game!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 16, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

24 out of 31 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

The gameplay resembles Mafia2 but published from the people who bring you Just Cause2. Sleeping Dogs is a free-roam title that keeps you in a more confounded game scenario. While there isn't any aircraft this game is a Eastern mafia title, that slightly resembles other criminal mischief titles like GTA.

Wei Shen was a police officer until his family was gunned down... He left to the USA and finally return to Hong Kong, China and decided to get back into the police force. Wei Shen decided to be a undercover operative in the criminal underworld of the Chinese Mafia, the triads. Set out with vengeance and anger Wei Shen tries to bring the Triad down from the inside-out.

I never really played a game like this style of gameplay... Usually you expect them to throw you out into the game and follow story dialogue. Instead, they keep you in a small area for a while and you don't even use a gun for some time. There is a very complex combat system that is really great... The combat system will remind you of the Batman titles... Having a variety of ways to counter the enemy and lock-on and fight a variety of foes. The vehicle gameplay is superb, neat driving mechanics... It isn't anything light Just Cause2, but you can jump from the vehicle onto other vehicles. There is also boats... An a variety of mini games like karaoke, cockfights, fight club, random people you can help, racing, and few other things. They give you a variety of ways to play the game. The game world is very large. There isn't any aircraft I've found, but you can use boats. I keep finding new things in the game, constantly.

Sleeping Dogs was a well designed game... Great story, great graphics, a lot of great design and work was placed into the game and it shows.

If you are into those crime story, third person shooters... Sleeping Dogs is one with a Eastern style to it and worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT!

posted by stickkwithit (PERRIS, CA) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Sleeping Dogs is a game similar to GTA, but it's so much better. What I really liked about this game was the story line! It was so engaging and with a voice over cast consisting of actual actors and actresses. The fighting is much more enjoyable than GTA because you can unlock new moves to effectively beat an ambush of enemies. The game is a little on the short side for me (i beat the game in about 16 hours?) but there are so many more collectibles to find in the game that it will keep you occupied for a long time.
OVERALL: If you love GTA games, you will love this game. (Also Sleeping Dogs has a good ending, I wasn't disappointed with it at all)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Can I get a gun here??

posted by AliCat4 (ROCKY COMFORT, MO) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was interested in seeing this game since it was made by Square Enix and it has the open world element I like. The graphics and music is great. You start out as a cop in Honk Kong who is trying to infiltrate a gang who is responsible for the murder of your family. Once you get through the tutorials you get to have some fun. I like how you can finish off the enemies in creative ways including an air conditioner, pop machine and a phone booth. It has a little bit of the Punisher in it. You will also come across random citizens who ask you for help ranging from picking up an item, racing to fighting someone. The one thing I do not like about this game is that you have to use your martial arts to fight while the bad guys use knives, crow bars and guns. Rent this game first and see what you think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sleeping dogs is slept on

posted by bigjerm1026 (CHESTER, VA) Oct 28, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

ok so i played true crim and after i realize this is kinda like a sequel then i thought uh oh cuz i think i went through that one in about a 4 hrs. i will say that i'm not a fan of open world free roams but this was a breathe of fresh air. first off the hand to hand combat system start of small and slow but by the middle of the game the hidden complexity will be revieled and you'll realize that your actually having fun with the different combos.

the driving isn't the best but it is fun. when you ge to the point when your driving and shooting you will definetly be having fun with it. the police ai are actually pretty dumb and so easy to evade it's almost pointless.

overlall you'll be surpised how into this gme you will be by the end. it starts off slow and lame but you'll be glued to the screen by the end for sure. the only downfall i can say is the lack of clear direction of priority of missions which i feel is a big downfall in most of these games. other than that it's awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sleeping dogs is anything but a sleeper....

posted by HacknSlash001 (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Sleeping dogs is a good 3rd person action game. It may look like a GTA rip off but its not it may take some ideas from gta but has its own style. the controls are good and responsive making it easy to pick up a play. The only bad thing about this game is the bugs it has every now and then, also the graphics could have been a little better for being on the ps3.The fighting and driving are awesome while the gunplay could have been focused on more. All in all Sleeping Dogs is worth a look for all gamefly members some will love it others will just think its a GTA ripoff but in the end you'll have fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Drive a bike, box, drive a car, box

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Dec 2, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Talk to someone, box, return money to someone, box, talk to this guy down the street, box, get done boxing, box...

This is just one long boxing game, yes I said boxing, because you hit one button to start your moves which always is a punch. It's not smooth like Batman. It's not fast like Spiderman. It's boring. You do the same moves in the same scenario over and over and over and over.

I expect more from Square.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is badas$! GTA take some tips from this.

posted by everlast716 (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong I love Grand Theft Auto, but this game is very cool and the story lines play out less cheesier than GTA and SR3. This is the most fun I've had playing an open world type of game. The shopping is well done and the fighting system is freaking awesome!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

big surprise

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Aug 23, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I didn't think I would like this game but I actually do. The fighting is pretty good except for the blocking I found it doesn't work all the time, but other than the blocking its great. The story line isn't boring and I love that u can free roam too.
Overall I was pleasantly surprised by this game. Its not the best game I ever played but it's still great.
Great rent and buy when the price lowers.
If u like GTA and saints row 3, you will like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good open world game

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 20, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Overview
===============
Sleeping Dogs could have been great, but is flawed in a few ways. It is a mish mash of GTA, Arkahm City, and Rush Hour..... (ie. open world crime game, fighting controls of Batman game, and Rush Hour story).

It is a pretty lengthy game (from what I've read about 20 hours....I only played about 4 hours). I did enjoy the game, but didn't feel like investing more time.

You rank up with cop, triad, or face experience points based on doing good, doing bad, or helping others. You get money which allows you to buy clothes (some of which give you extra perks).

I think it is a good rent. There isn't much reason to replay that I can see (and no mutiplayer). The real killer is the game just was good, but not great in almost all area. Which makes it solid, but not a must own.

NOTE: This game is filled with cursing so not recommended for kids or anyone that doesn't want to hear an F-bomb every 5th word.

Pros
================
1) fighting is fluid
2) nice variety of missions and activities (main missions, side missions, you drive vehicles)
3) it is an enjoyable experience with a decent story

Cons
================
1) graphics could have used more work
2) camera goes wacky too often

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOMELY AMAZING!!!!!!!!

posted by dabails97 (WEXFORD, PA) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS GREAT!!!!! The action is great, grachics, story, all of it. This is WORTH BUYING. Greatest game ever played. Even better than Max Payne 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sleeping Dogs

posted by 4EVABOY (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is good but targeting is very weak, no crouching, & countering the enemy sucks completely. fighting should be much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by Joshp118 (RIVERSIDE, RI) Sep 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a perfect mix between GTA, L.A Noire and Uncharted.... minor glitches at times but still one of the best action games I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

How does one become a top 10 rater?

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Aug 18, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Sleeping dogs is a RPG. Except unlike true role playing games like, GTA, FALLOUT, RESIDENT EVIL, SAINT'S ROW, THE GODFATHER just to name a few. Sleeping dogs doesn't allow you to actually chose your destiny.
-Game controls I rate a D- Simply yet all fighting moves start with same button.
-Graphics-B- nothing to write home about.
-Dialogue-B- nothing special
-The over all story is simple. UNDERCOVER Cop returns home. Gets back in touch with childhood friends. You have seen this movie about a 1000 times.
- Because the game is set in HONG KONG the developers decided MMA style fighting was needed in every phase. Instead of promoting real Chinese Martial Arts in the game.
-NO Uncle Wong Wing Chun? Or SIFU Lee Shaolin signs? Which made the game BORING.
- The Developers constructed this game with GTA and Saint Row's fan base in mind. But they failed to deliver. In GTA or SAINT'S ROW you can get in a vicious gun fight at the drop of a hat.
-In Sleeping Dogs after you slam someone in a steel garbage can or AC fan, phone booth,AC electrical box etc. It gets old really, really fast.

-Closing this game becomes one large fight scene. Even when you break it up with occasional car or motorcycle chase. SLEEPING DOGS fails to bring about the joy or excitement of GRAND THEFT AUTO or SAINT'S ROW.
-Game is OK for rental, but to buy it. No not unless you have money to burn.
-I rate SLEEPING DOGS a 6. Due to the fighting controls being limited to one button. Boring repetitive fights, not much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not GTA, but still worth your time

posted by CDavis84 (COMMERCE, TX) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

So far the hand to hand is the best aspect of this game. The cut scenes are stiff, but the voice acting is pretty good. It does not have the polish of any rockstar game but it is a good rent to pass the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the controls and the handling

posted by gameingmaster (PALM CITY, FL) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

the controls of this game r great its not like most games were its hard to run in and open eviorment without crashing into things. In sleeping wie shen is very easy to move through out the city u dont have to worry about running into things. Now the driving is amazing i wish gta IV had this good of a driveing system cuz i loved how u can turn like a dime its not to fast or to slow like LA nor. this is by far a must HAVE GAME ANYONE WILL WANT TO PLAY THIS i loved so u guys will too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by quad_master24 (WEST NEWFIELD, ME) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

omg this is the best game of the year it should win an acadamy award.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by exicomm (UNIONTOWN, PA) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game was great i loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever.

posted by Defjam202 (BELLEVUE, KY) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

8 out of 22 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is a once in a life time thing it is the greatest game ever because of the talent of the producers, voice actors. You will never see any gameply like this for a long time. if i had to say what games this reminds me of i would say batman arkham city, splintercell,needforspeed, and assasins creed. The people who worked on the game actually made all of these games and they put each style in this and mixed it. SLEEPING DOGS FOR THE WIN!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Controls kill this game

posted by LordLJV (NORTH CANTON, OH) Aug 25, 2012

Member since May 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Could be a good game but the controls are really bad and most of the time you will find yourself in the hospital instead of winning fights. More frustrating than fun for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

PS2 Game??

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Aug 30, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Frist deal it feels outdated!! Even has the old GTA Save troubles where you have to restart a whole mission if you die- A True Pain. Game feels Stiff Timing feels off in combat.. Not a Bad Game but nothing Great. Good Rent are 24.99 Buy.. Sorry Fanboys!!! Not the best of Games!! Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse