Rent Sky Crawlers: Innocent Aces for Wii
view large frontback

Sky Crawlers: Innocent Aces

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

344 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

This game earns its stripes

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 16, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It’s off to the wild blue yonder with Sky Crawlers: Innocent Aces. But there’s a few things I wonder about the title.
First off, you don’t crawl across the sky (I’ve seen that in other Wii games, but not here), and there’s nothing innocent about anyone involved in this game (you do shoot down several other pilots during the missions)
But what this game is - a good flight simulator. Using the Nunchuck to control direction and the Wiimote to control the speed is a great idea; it wasn’t long before I got used to this set up.
Most missions have you destroying several targets, but the game will insist that you go after them in a certain order. You can go after a target that the AI doesn’t want you to, but it’s much harder to hit that target. Many a players will be turned off by this micromanaging feature (Why can’t I choose which target to go for?)
The game also features tactical maneuvers. The radar will show the targeted enemy fighter with a circle around it. If you get within the circle, a meter appears and quickly fills up. Press the A button when it’s full, and you automatically get placed behind the enemy, and can easily shoot it down. This maneuver is a lot of fun to pull off, but it can also make the game a little too easy for expert players (to score well, you are encouraged to do a lot of these tactical maneuver kills).
There are 20 missions available for about a four to five hour journey - an there’s a story attached to it about a bunch of guys in a squadron. It would’ve been better if they had online fights between several players (but this is the Wii we’re talking about.)
Sky Crawlers: Innocent Aces is a short, fun flight of fancy, a definite rent, and some of you might actually end up buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Beautiful ride if you just sit back and enjoy it

posted by nisemono (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Mar 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, this is NOT a flight simulator. It's a more of an anime movie simulator where you are one of the characters. If you are expecting flight sim style dogfights you will be disappointed and not like this game. However, if you let go of those expectations and just roll with it (no pun intended) it can still be pretty fun.

The graphics are excellent and everything is visually stylized for maximum dramatic effect, right down to the fight music that will be playing in your head hours later. It really IS like being an anime movie, so if you like that sort of thing you'll get a kick out of that.

My only gripes are minor ones. The UI is clunky in parts. At one point I couldn't figure out how to flip pages back to the first page of planes because the button was a funky looking symbol (why not just use a simple arrow?!?). I played a couple of missions with the absolute WORST plane possible thinking it wouldn't let me choose another.

The controls take getting used to. You are limited in how much roll you can do unless you use a "special move." Which is why I say if you want multiplayer flight-sim action forget it. And the way those moves are used to line you up behind your target feels practically like cheating.

The story is clunky too. It's about as deep as an empty swimming pool sometimes and at other times tries to be this pensively esoteric narrative on the human condition. eh, whatever.

Oh, and one other thing... the mission map is of Europe but all the names are Japaneseish. What's up with that? o.0!??! Oh, except for your name. You get cheesy names like "Cheetah" and you CAN'T change it. Your character doesn't talk so I started to wonder if I was "Cheetah" from Tarzan and would make chimp noises whenever the other characters talked to me.

If you like retro-looking planes zooming through the sky blowing stuff up from camera angles designed to maximize the coolness factor this game is a fun ride. Just don't take it too seriously, sit back and enjoy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy to fly arcade shooter

posted by broncobj17 (PALATKA, FL) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first played the game I was quickly displeased because I was expecting a simulator type experience, which this is not. But it is fun to play . I Thought the menu was a bit confusing, for example; to load a saved game you choose New Game instead of continue. You start with one plane and one level and have to beat your way through the story mode to unlock new planes and levels. Once beat you can play any of the 17 levels over at any difficulty level. The controls after learned are easy to use. Finding and locking on to enemies is easy with the system the game uses. Stay within a certain circle around an enemy for a few seconds and you can press A to perform a "tactical maneuver" where by you position yourself behind the enemy for an easy kill. This makes game play quicker and you can easily kill 40+ enemies on a single mission. Again someone looking for a take off and land simulator will be disappointed. It's only a one player game. Also, the only view is from behind the plane. If these things don't deter you then you'll probably like it. There is an extensive storyline that's written, spoken and animated. Overall not a bad game, there is a variety of missions and game play is easy. I give it a 6 because its worth trying if you like arcade style combat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Incredibly flawed, but a worthwhile game

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sky Crawlers for the Wii is a game I eagerly anticipated. A game from the same studio as Ace Combat? Based on the intriguing Sky Crawlers anime, about children bred as combat pilots to fight a fictitious and endless war, from Production IG (Ghost in the Shell)? Sign me up! However, while the presentation is incredibly strong, the actual game is pretty lacking.

Make no mistake about this; the game is BEAUTIFUL. Its source material is a very romanticized version of war/flight, so you're going to be doing a lot of dog fighting in clear blue skies, during sunset, etc. The cutscenes in the game are clearly created as a companion piece to the anime (and if you've seen that film, then you'll recognize the main character), so they're very high quality. The voice acting - particularly the chatter during the stages - is great. And the music is incredible; bombastic and stirring, it makes you feel like you're the star of some movie about steampunk air combat.

However, all of this is PRACTICALLY FOR NAUGHT. The game's controls are pretty terrible, because they rely far too heavily on the nunchuk's tilt sensor. Ideally, they must've figured that tilting this thing would really feel like a flight stick, so they went for it. Unfortunately for them, the nunchuk is anything but ideal. There's a noticeable delay to it recognizing your tilt, and it gets confused far too easily. If you tilt too far to overcompensate, it'll reset and actually go in the other direction. Why they didn't use the wii remote for this, I'll never know -- but I'll always regret.

The game tries to overcompensate for this with the Maneuver button, where - if you fly somewhat close to an enemy for a bit and hit the button - it'll automatically align you with them so you can gun them down easily. You can also use the button when not close to an enemy for loop-de-loops and stuff. But the plane is just too unresponsive. And therefore, things are too frustrating.

Great game to rent, but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lush environments. Clumsy controls.

posted by CorrData (PORTLAND, OR) May 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, so we all know things are a little different with the Wiimote. But I found this game never really transcended the pitfalls of motion-controlled game play. The planes just don't seem to respond in an intuitive manner and you find yourself over-correcting A LOT. The lush environments and anime do add a lot, but in the end you're not watching a movie, you're playing a game. And the latter is what counts. Final verdict: Meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WWII meets Japanese anime

posted by steveuh60 (SUWANEE, GA) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was so excited to get this new game and jumped into it immediately. Unfortunately after about 6 missions I quit because the Wii controls were just not very good at all. Sometimes they work great and then sometime no response. This is supposed to be an aviation game, but the controls just will not keep up with even the simplest of maneuvers. I have to say that I am very disappointed because this could have been a really great Aviation game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A beautiful game with horrid UI

posted by arries12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Overall: TERRIBLE

PROs: The graphics are as good as you'll get on a Wii. That's it.

CONs:
-The controller setup is horribly counter-intuitive, and for NO good reason. The Sports Resort flying "game" is far better.
-You cannot perform the simplest maneuvers; for instance you cannot roll more than about 40 degrees to either side without using one of eight complicated and useless "special maneuvers".
-The UI for navigating menus, customizing planes, etc., is confusing and not at all user-friendly. I suppse it made sense to the design team as they worked on it...
-Cheesy storyline with little depth or explanation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Age of Boredom

posted by crshsmky (SALINA, KS) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Thought I would try a flying title. Not impressed. Was ready to return it after the first day. Flying controls are easy enough, but it just didnt keep me entertained

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Intersting idea, but doesn't work

posted by DragonWing (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all, let me say that I am not an anime fan. In fact, I can't stand anime, so take that into account when I say the cutscenes are boring, and the voice acting is annoying.

Now, I love dogfighting games. I even spent a hundred dollars for a force feedback joystick for my PC. When I saw this game coming out for the Wii, I had to try it.

Even though I prefer a more simulation type flying game, I do enjoy arcade type dogfighters. I loved Crimson Sky for the Xbox. My major complaint with this game though is the controls.

The idea of using the nunchuk as the flight stick is interesting, but it's way to imprecise. There were many times I wanted the plane to turn, and I've got my arm pointed at a right angle to my body, and it's still flying straight.

I guess to make up for this, they uses a system where if you follow an enemy plane close enough, for long enough, you can hit the B button and get put right on their six. This however makes the game way too easy.

Maybe someone who's not so used to simulator games might like this one, but I hated it. The only thing keeping this from a 1 star review, is the creative idea behind the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok... i guess...

posted by SiNiSiKoN (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the graphics in this game are great. I'm used to playing blazing angels so the graphics upgrade was much appreciated.... That being said that is about all that was "great" about the game. I couldn't really get into the missions, the dogfighting got old fast as it seemed the same thing over and over again... The multiplayer support was cheesy, i expected 2 people flying at once, but all they mean is someone in the room can grab the wiimote and be a secondary gunner... Not really much of an anime fan so that part didn't really impress me much. Please bring something like Ace Combat onto the Wii :) Glad I rented this so that I didn't waste my money on purchase, certainly won't replace Blazing Angels in my collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its A Good Game

posted by MakayJR10 (URBANA, OH) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

THis game is great!! the only bad part is the controls i hae them!! Also the games levels can seem unfair like the recon mission, but i found how to get through that level. HAha anyway its a good game. I also like the movie it has inside the game. tThe cutscenes seem like an actual movie.

Graphics:9
Controls:4
Fairness:7
Realistic:10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lovin It!!

posted by Genrlee37 (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I was very pleased within the first ten minutes of game play!..I have been playing video games since pong. I could never find a flying/fighter game with easy controls and one that kept me interested for more than a day or two. the graphix could be better but other than that I will buy this game to keep!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

All Around Horrible Game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2004

This game is Horrible Contols That are Poorly Arranged in all Configurations, is just the start the game has no Good points that I have been able to find Played it for an Hour and That was 55 minutes to long Going Back In the Mail Tomorrow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not accurate

posted by alexzander (ANDERSON, SC) May 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this is one of those games that takes your mind to despair as you are trying to move the airplane certain way and the game has a weak response making you crazy. Nor recommendabe for for gamers that like accuracy. At ALL..!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cancel This Flight!

posted by capemayor (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Whatever fun is involved in the flight sim aspect of this game (and there's not that much) is overshadowed by the absolutely horrible voice acting. The dialogue is as cheesy and as corny as you can possibly get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

close but not quite

posted by wjbates143 (SEDRO WOOLLEY, WA) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I was so hoping wii got it right this time but nope still not there. In an effort to take advantage of the wii controllers ability they instead made them non-responsive and the setup just feels wrong. The "special" maneuvers are lame, it does not always go where you want it to.

Real glad I rented this and did not waste the money to buy it.

The wii system does many this very well but I guess if I want to do shooter and flight sim games I need to buy an xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Husband Loved

posted by grinchypoo (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

We have had our wii for about a year. We had a difficult time getting my husband to find a game that he really enjoyed playing on th wii. We rented this game and he is hooked. I will end up buying it when it is available. Since this game he has purchased many of the flight games for the wii. This game rocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Review for Sky Crawlers: Innocent Aces for Wii

posted by critic94 (PIONEER, OH) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Sky Crawlers: Innocent Aces for Wii is an ok game. The story line is ok. But the graphics and the controls are fair. The graphics are a little block-like. The controls are a little complicated and touchy. But over all, this game is worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a game to buy

posted by naughtyca (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I actually saw the movie sky scrawlers and the gameplay is very good the best part is hitting A when the meter goes to 1 and ou autmatically maneuver behind the enmy and blast them

if you like flying and blasting everything out of the sky this is the game to get

the controls are not that hard to get used to about 10-15 minutes of playing and you are flying like a pro

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bomb!

posted by momisfit (KANSAS CITY, MO) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The graphics and idea were great. The controls however suck! I thought it would be great with the wii controllers, but it fell flat. They make the ai planes were they can loop and invert, but your plane has very limited control. So it makes it real hard to take out a enemy when he rolls off and you can,t!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »