Rent Skies of Arcadia Legends for GC
view large frontback

Skies of Arcadia Legends

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.4

1004 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

An RPG not worth missing

posted by NoweMinuki (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 21, 2006

Member since May 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played many RPGs, and by far this one sits high, HIGH up on my list of best RPGs ever played. Despite what most RPGs are like, this one breaks the mould of the whole elemental deal by allowing you to select and change your elements in the middle of battle, it gets rid of a dependence on magic power and spells, giving you abilities and ability points that you can use to execute powerful special moves.

The characters are robust and interesting, such as Vyse's dashing fearlessness, willing to dive into any situation and tackle the problem even if he's at a disadvantage. Then there's Aika, the crazy femme-pirate that accompanies Vyse throughout almost the entire game, along with Fina who shows up not long after you start the game. Both are distinct contrasts to each other, Fina being very timid and shy, while Aika is very loud and boisterous. Both make for some very funny moments between the three.

Two different fighting styles, one on foot against opponents, the other with actual ship battles, makes for some diversity in the game that really changes things up from what I'm used to, along with finding landmarks. The concept of everyone existing on floating land masses is a nice one, one that intrigued me into renting it in the first place, as I'd heard of it before.

Music is wonderful, it all fits the game perfectly, especially the boss fights. A little quirk to boss fights that I found, the music changes depending on whether or not you're struggling, kicking the boss's butt, or you're about even with him, helping to set the mood.

Controls were smooth and precise, never had a single problem with them, and character designs were diverse and plentiful, not to mention pretty. A lot of the artwork in the game really gave it that anime feel.

This game, despite all it's grand wonders and an excellent storyline, would've been perfect ONLY if they would've included some kind of teleportation spell. Oh well, nothing's perfect....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sail the friendly skies

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jan 8, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Gamecube is starving for good RPGs, so thank Sega for porting Skies of Arcadia to the system. A Dreamcast game that came in at the end of the systems short life, it was critically-acclaimed but didn't sell well because of the unfortunate time that it hit the market. So it makes sense Sega saw it as a good candidate to get new life on the Gamecube. And what life it has. Skies of Arcadia is a turn-based RPG with some wonderfully inventive concepts and gameplay. You play Vyse, son of a famous air pirate, who helps out a mysterious stranger, Fina, with the help of your loyal friend Aika and several other ecclectic characters. The Valuan Empire believes Fina has important information they need to rule the known world and Vyse is on a mission to help her out and set things straight. You have to take some things for what they are, like the idea that ships, islands, fish and humans are floating in the sky, but it makes for a fun game. For instance, you can move your ship in three dimensions, diving and rising to find discoveries, towns and passageways to new lands. There are two kinds of battles: ship and character. In character battles, you give your party of four or less commands and then watch the round play out. This will take a little while, so feel free to do your taxes between rounds (okay, it's not that bad). Ship battles make for interesting gameplay, as you give your characters commands to man cannons, take evasive action, etc. There are many sub-missions, goals and collection quests to keep you playing above the 60 hour mark. The story isn't half bad either. If the graphics look dated, they are (hey, it was a Dreamcast game). And you may wonder why the dialogue is all text boxes with occasional shouts of "Uh uh" or "Die!" And the random battles in the sky and dungeons will get aggravating. But it doesn't stop this game from being addictive and entertaining. If you didn't play this on the Dreamcast, this is your chance. Take it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Looking for a classic RPG?

posted by rwrrudy68 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Jul 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In the days when every RPG is trying to be inventive and change many of the qualities that most RPG fans love about the genre, this game sticks to the basics. It gives you a great story line intermixed with a good number of side quests as well as the classic turn based battle action. If you liked the old classics in the genre this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skies of Arcadia Legends

posted by Gandalf (KENNEWICK, WA) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for the hardcore RPG fan. If you are the hardcore gamer that would enjoy this game, you probably have already heard of it. I love this game because the story is incredibly inventive. It has lush, colorful characters, each with their own part to play in the story. Now, on to the real reason this game is great. The Battle system. It rocks because you are able to change your weapon's element on the fly. This is extremely useful when you are fighting in an unknown area and you encounter an elemental-based enemy. You can then change your weapon in the middle of the battle so you can have an elemental advantage over your opponent. Since this is a re-release of the original game that came out on the Dreamcast, the graphics aren't too great even though they were spruced up a bit. This game is very well thought out and executed. I highly recommend this game to any RPG fan looking for a little something different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game but still no Voice Actors 4 cut sceenes

posted by jemnai (CHANDLER, AZ) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I will say I played the Orginial Skies and loved it when it was on the DC for christmas the last year the system was out. When I heard they were porting this to the GC I was stoked. I still hold out hope for a squeal but since this game on both system never got any Ad time diffently kills that dream. Now on with the review....

Why I gave it a 9 out of 10 because the game is basicly the same execpt for no pinta's quest that got replaced with moonfish fishing. Plus there is the bounty hunting/ Pistola quests.

Now why it missed the perfect game. I thing No voice acting I mean come one this game screams the need to give real life to the characters since we hear lil after battles but it all the same dialog over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!

posted by Nubius06 (Bronx, NY) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the greatest RPG games for the Nintendo gaming system, in the industry period. I loved it for Dreamcast and I love it for Gamecube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's still got it!

posted by The_Antagonist (STATESBORO, GA) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Simply put Skies of Arcadia still remains my favorite RPG of all time. The content gives hours on end of game play and exploration. The character are diverse and well done.

The idea of pirates in the sky was ingenious and sets up for many possible locations, some of which borrow cultural aspects from countries today.

I played this when the Nintendo Game Cube was in it's prime and I wanted to replay it so badly that I started my Gamefly account solely to replay this gem of a game. This is probably the only was to play this game nowadays unless your lucky enough to have copy yourself or you are fortunate enough to find it in a garage sale.

As for the game itself (with no plot spoilers), the main characters are pretty much young adults with the inclusion of the fourth character which changes as the game progresses which is great because it freshens things up by changing personality and battle strategies. Combat is random encounter so it could get tedious sometimes but hardly something to lament over. Personally I think the music for this game fits it like a glove and never got old except for maybe the battle song but seriously what battle song doesn't? Probably the best reason this game is amazing is it's free roaming world. You don't have to walk a line to every objective and there are many boss battles that would be skipped if you stuck solely to the main objective. I should mention that there's two types of combat one on ground with the characters and another with your current airship. Both offer strategies unique to their scenario and this ensures combat doesn't become tedious quick.

The golden reason why this game blows my mind is the fact it was made for Sega before the Game Cube existed and it still outshines stuff I play today. Oh yeah so that means no voice acting for the main dialogue but you will still hear the characters say key phrases inside and outside of battle.

I honestly think you wont be disappointed if you got this game for your Wi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game, Better Story

posted by catsamurai (GROVES, TX) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

This game is a great game for anyone who likes the old FF style fighting system. It's a turned based fighting system. Enemies don't attack until you chosen what you want to do.

The characters are lovable and fun. Not really any voice acting, save for a few phrases and grunts, but the fit.

The story his long and winding. The twists and turns are cool and interesting. I recommend this game to loves RPG's. everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by max22193 (VALLEY GRANDE, AL) Jul 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game is one of the best I have ever played. Despite its low quality graphics it still has a good story and lots of action and adventure I recomend this game to anyone who likes RPGs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great GameCube RPG

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Apr 15, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

If you're an RPG fan, you'll most likely love this game. And if you're not an RPG fan, there's still a good chance you'll love this game; after all, I don't usually go in for any RPG that doesn't have the word "Mario" in the title, and I couldn't get enough of "Skies of Arcadia Legends". Its mechanics are easy to grasp and understand, its story is epic, its characters are supremely endearing, and its additional material puts it high above the original Dreamcast version (the graphics and music are vintage Dreamcast, of course, but that won't matter to you once you've been sucked in). If you have a GameCube (or a Wii), and you haven't yet played this game, do yourself a favor and move it to the top of your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Easily the worst I ever attempted to play

posted by musicmangd (PORT CHARLOTTE, FL) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I played the first 10 minutes of this game and am sending it back. Forst of all, the game does not let you save after a boss and there's no clear destination to go to when you are flying around. The enemies you enounter at the start of the game are 3 times stronger than you are so you are forced to run away which the game hardly ever lets you do on the first attempt. Lastly the frequency of the random encounters is the worst I have ever seen. It is so bad that it should have been grounds for a recall. You should only play this game if you have a couple hundred hours to kill because that's how long it will take between the difficulty of the enemies and having a random encounter every 5 seconds and that is no exagerration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Suprise And Conquer

posted by ViviMaster (JOPLIN, MO) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game blew my RPG catorgization out of the water. I got this one summer as a flign because I wanted another RPG to play. Being as it was Gamecube, and Xbox (the first one) had just come out, I felt kind of down that I seemed to have back tracked in the gaming industry. How wrong I was! This game is by far one of the greatest RPGs ever made. I can't believe that it was originally on Sega Dreamcast either. This game came out way before it's time. From the free-roaming to the airship custimization. The graphics may not be that amazing, but it makes up for story detail, secrets, and side missions. I literally played this for an entire summer and never was able to find all the secrets! It's amazing! I a pretty adapt RPGer, but this game fried me, and not in a bad way either. I love the character orginality, and being a sky pirate. I mean honsetly how many games do you get to be a sky pirate in it? And if you've stated one, who good is it really? But over-all, this is one of the greatest RPGs ever, period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect.

posted by Iamnobody (AMHERST, MA) Jun 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

Skies of Arcadia was originally published for the Dreamcast. The Gamecube version has a couple minor changes to sidequests, but is mostly the same game.

I wouldn't do justice to the rest of the game if I attempted to explain the story's base in only 2,000 characters, so it's best to read the IGN review for that.

Now, the rest of the game. Unlike most RPGs, SoA has two battle systems. The first is for land battles. At first look it is pretty straightforward: enemies and allies attack in an order based on speed, special attacks require SP, etc. The difference here is that all weapons can be assigned to one of six elements, changing both the damage that enemies take and what spells the player will learn next. More importantly, all characters share the same SP pool, meaning that battles can require a significant amount of strategy.

The other battle system covers air battles. Different ships are used at different points during the game, but the base mechanics stay the same. Aerial combat begins by assigning each of four characters an action slot, in which they will fire a cannon, use a spell, etc. It's similar to the land system, but with larger battles and enemies.

SoA also features a huge world with dozens of "discoveries" to make. You are rewarded for finding things like new continents, natural wonders and the like. When wondering on the map, players have the option of finding "moonfish" for increasingly good rewards.

SoA's epic length (about 60 hours) allows for one of the best stories I've seen in a game, as well as countless other innovations that I don't have space to list here. The game is a true classic and should not be missed by any fan of RPGs or Adventure games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun, bottom line!

posted by Juice13 (Bradenton, FL) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This is not only my childhood, but one of the first Gamecube RPG's I have ever played! I have not played it in a while but I still remember some of the basics, This is a good game! Not like your typical JRPG! In this game you'll find yourself sailing flying pirate ships through the skies as you battle the evil black pirates (you being the blue pirates).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Of my very favorite game indefinitely infact.

posted by emerys (NICKERSON, KS) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I sincerity love this game with all of my complete whole heart. Even so, I didn't want to buy it yet at all. I just want to only rent it first. And the game fly acciedently got the wrong release date on, Thats why the Skies Of Arcadia Legends didn't show up at my place, which this was the first one I've rented in the month of February of 2008 year. But on the release date say's it was released on on 2003 year. I didn't signed up for this back than in noway whatsoever at all. I've already own one but I had to send the other one back to the company. I'm just renting this one till my own original one comes back. What I've bought from ebay company in the month of December of 2007 year around Christmas time year that is. Or the last part of Christmas day of 2007 of last year. That's why I only wanted to rent the Skies Of Arcadia Legends, This was suppose to be the very fist game I should have received first. But never have received it. I've receive the Spryo Game first. That was suppose to be my second one the list of mine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost legendary... Almost

posted by cubegamer (PRESQUE ISLE, ME) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Being a fan of the original Dreamcast version of the game; I was very excited to hear about the 'remake' or 'extended version' of the game on the Gamecube.

After playing the game, I have to say I am both impressed and slightly disappointed at the same time. The graphics and core gameplay is the same as the original DC version and that is not at all a bad thing as the original had some really good graphics for the time (and still do in many ways).

The only thing I feel suffers is the sound. Somewhat weak voices and effects in many parts of the game; also the music was changed in some of the less important parts in the game (finding discoveries, using healing magic, ect.).

I just wish that they would have spilt the game into two discs and that way they could have been able to put more content. But some of the new stuff is really fun but unimportant and is not too big a deal but none the less is worth checking out.

If you own the original version, it's worth renting it once to see what is different and how the Gamecube fares but if you never had the chance to play the original and can't get that version; by all means rush to find this classic (it's just a shame that this game seems to have the worst luck in systems).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Greatest RPG's for the GC

posted by TheBigZ14 (FRIENDSWOOD, TX) Sep 3, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

OK I played this game like a year ago and I still think its one of the best RPG's of all times. The characters are awesome, the story is awesome as well. It provides a ton of entertainment, and even though its a regular battle system something about it kept me still playing. Then when I was starting to get bored, they brought in the ship fights. The only thing this might be 2nd to is Tales of Symphonia just because its multiplayer. Vyse is a cool name for the hero as well, better than Lloyd ( Sorry ToS) So if you enjoyed Tales of Symphonia, I beg you to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever made!

posted by Hrothgar (ASTORIA, OR) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

If you love games that have a real adventurous flair, this game is the one for you. It has an exciting story, fun game play, great characters, and is the best game for exploring and making discoveries. I own it and have played it through at least 20 times, it has surprising replay value because its just so fun! I have not yet found a game thats more exciting to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best RPG ever

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

Well I had been looking for a game that I could completley immerse myself in. I have not done that for a long time. Playing a game for hours and hours a day until I beat it in a matter of days. I haven't played a game that good since the Super NES days. Well this game was awesome. It was a fantasitc game from beginning to end. The characters were a hoot and I felt very connected with them by the end of the game. The music was masterful. The story was engaging and involving. This game had the qualities of what made the old Super Nes fantasy games so fun. They were simple based turned events where you lead your party and get gradually stonger. It just looks a whole lot cooler then those games did. Skies of Arcadia is a blast as you spend the game in your air ship from the very beginning. It was extremely memorable. I feel sad that I had to send it back and I can't wait to buy it so that I can play it again. It took me about 50 hours and those were well spent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It was terrible, I loved it

posted by Comajama (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

At first it was really cheesy, I mean, really cheesy. But it begins to redeem itself.
The story and the colorful characters have you smiling here and there. It really is a good game.
If you enjoy a good story, I think you'll enjoy this game. Expect to spend a week or two doin nothing after work but killin mobs and nuking battleships.
Definitely rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

as close to perfect as possible

posted by billsnizzl (NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ) Sep 2, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

this game was really good. A good, powerful storyline, character development, humor, good ending, but the only thing that i found irritating were the random battles. Everything else, from customization to the plot, was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »