Rent Ski Doo: Snowmobile Challenge for PS3
view large frontback

Ski Doo: Snowmobile Challenge

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
4.4

528 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

A surprisingly decent game

posted by Glacier928 (THIELLS, NY) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, first off, don't listen the the reviews people left giving it a 1 out of 10. A more reasonable score is a 6. The game is actually pretty entertaining. Sure it has it's flaws but its definitely worth a rent or even picking up for 10 bucks at gamestop.

Pretty much, think "Pure" without the crazy tricks or adrenaline pumping racing and that sums this game up. The career mode is relatively short and can be beaten in about 6-10 hours depending on how good you are. The game has some pretty easy trophies for the most part. I say for the most part because the only challenging trophy to get is "Online Acrobat" in which you have to score 20,000 points in a stunt run. That wouldn't be too bad had it not been for the fact that barely anyone plays this game online.

Anyway, on to the gameplay mechanics. Well, there's some flaws. First off are the physics. I can't tell you how many times i got frustrated because the slightest tap on the brake button makes you spin out of control. Plus, when you crash, chances are that everyone will pass you and it'll take almost a whole perfect lap to catch up. When you build up your boost meter fully, you can hold the square button to boost like most other racing games. But what's lame is that if you let go of the boost button, you have to fill it back up from scratch. Also, the trick system is kinda messed up. Every single trick is worth the same amount of points. A front flip is worth the same as a simple barhop. Very poor design choice.

All problems aside, i was entertained enough to finish the game and get the platinum trophy for it. It's definitely a decent rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good For Trophies... That's about it:(

posted by xteam213 (ROME, NY) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Sled Storm this game is not. Then again, I stopped hoping for a true sequel to the PS1 killer long ago (Sled Storm PS2 doesn't count). Anyway, Ski-doo: SC is worth playing if not to just get some easy trophies. The controls were lacking anything resembling tight. The Graphics were pretty bad and actually looked like they could run on the PS2. What upset me the most was the so called "boost" function. The game places too much emphasis on pulling tricks that the races become frustrating. The Sleds are customizable, but after spending over $10,000 on my sled, I didn't notice a difference and still could not keep up with the pack. Overall, the game is okay to pick up for the casual gamer, but sled-heads beware, you will not confuse it for actually riding a sled.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

play it if you feel like you have to

posted by bdeanr6 (OREGON CITY, OR) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

some things are kind of good, then there are the bad things. the stunt courses are fun, but the races, not so much. and i like race games. the controling could be better. the obstacles are to interactive, for example: if you barely knick the orange boundery fence your sled blows apart. it doesn't have to be a solid hit at all. if you are a huge sled head and have to play this game then try it, other wise skip it and move to the next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not That Bad

posted by CharlieKly (NEWARK, DE) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As a lot of people I am a big Sled Storm 1 fan (2 was garbage) but I also own snowmobiles. This game, while not as polished as most, isn't that bad. The snowmobiles handle pretty true to life. I only wish there were more courses that were less structured, a lot of those here are very pro-racing type, and less through the woods etc. Overall Id recommend this, esp. for the cheap price. Id love a bigger free roam area and more off track racing through powder...still its decent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

for real experienced snowmobile riders

posted by RC27 (SOLON, IA) Feb 29, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

need to know how snowmobiles react in real life situations and terrains. hard to control

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ski Dont

posted by penigizer6 (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

If you have ever rode a snowmobile this is nothing like it the reactions are way to slow you cant ride on one ski without wrecking, game needed free roam which there isnt. Game flat sucks its a 0!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ski-doo challenge sucks

posted by green_faire (GRAND ISLE, VT) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

game control was not the great. poor game all round.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Impressed!

posted by JigSaw132 (GREENE, ME) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

If I would have known when this game first came out....I would have been first inline. People may say its not a good game but coming from a snowmobilie rider and true gamer......its really fun. I wish they would make more games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by mike0473 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

dont know what else to say....all the maryjane in the world couldnt make this game fun!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What happened

posted by ericloyd82 (CYPRESS, TX) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

i did not enjoy this game AT ALL. it just looks like they didnt put very much time into this game. i guess if you like snow machining then it might be ok. i think that this was missplacment of funds on behalf of the company that put this out. BAD project manager, BAD!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by mwild1 (GLENWOOD, NJ) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

The WORST game i have played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »