Rent Skate for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Skate

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.8

9586 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

skate. is much better than THPS

posted by jiggaorach (LAKEWOOD, CA) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

skate. is a much better game than the Tony Hawk Pro Skater series. It is a very realistic depiction of skating and using the right analog stick actually takes a little skill, opposed to just hitting a button. You can tear up the streets and create a sweet line and then post your videos and photos online, which you can edit. I give it a 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great time!!

posted by Wookieclaw (BEAVERTON, OR) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm really enjoying Skate's controls and graphics. I've played several of the TH games and enjoyed them but these controls seem so much more fluid. The online features rock!!! Being able to post videos of you skate sessions and take photo's... wow! I've got my skater as the desktop on my PC. I'm looking foward to some online play as I get better :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Calm down everyone

posted by whoadyboy (FORT WHITE, FL) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

so. i was reading alot of these reviews on here and no one seems to realize that this game was meant to be an accurate dipiction of skateboarding. If you play skating games to fly 300 ft in the air and bust 1080's than stick to tony hawk. and yes it is a bit tricky to get used to the controls but hey ITS MEANT TO BE REALISTIC. any moron can press a to ollie and mash buttons to do other tricks. They designed this game so that it actually takes a little bit of skill to be good. If your a button masher you WILL NOT like this game. oh and the camra angles are sick once you get used to them, and the graphics and movements are amazing. No complaints by me. This is BY FAR the best skating game to ever hit the markets. RIP tony hawk series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

skate.

posted by CPTxCRUNCH (Tarzana, CA) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is definitely a new and fresh skate boarding game. Tony Hawk was just getting too fake and unrealistic. Skate is a lot more realistic and fun. For all people who liked Tony Hawk, this game is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

really amazing game

posted by smallz22 (MASSAPEQUA, NY) Sep 15, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this is probably the best sports game this year easily. It has everything a skater wants to do in a game. Blows tony hawk out of the water. The only problem is that its kinda short. Beat it in 2 days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Can you say butter-smooth?

posted by gamemonkey (CORONA, CA) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

59 out of 70 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This game is an absolute suprise, in an game industry where tony hawk dominates skateboarding games this game is what we have all been wanting. All the moves in this game flows like water. Everything blends in together blends so seamlessly that it'll make you NEVER want to play anymore Hawk games.

When you perform tricks it is so satisfying, because you can actually imagine someone doing those tricks. There is also the replay option in the game. Try playing PRoving Ground's demo and it's replay feature and you'll be suprised at how much BETTER this game is thatn any other Hawk game to come out. People might say the camera is bad but it's perfect, because now you can see your moves more in depth. Although this game takes about 1/2 hour to 1 hour to get used once you do you'll know what skating games should have been like from the beginning

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Greatest strength eventually becomes weakness

posted by JesusToast (ROCKVILLE, MD) Sep 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Skate is one of the most natural feeling games out there to play, the use of the right thumb stick organically lets you string together some very satisfying tricks. But it doesn't take too long before the tricks necessary to move further thru the story become too difficult to pull off. If you aren't already familiar with skating lingo you'll find things even harder, often unsure as to what it is your suppose to do at all. The biggest problem is that the difference between one trick and another is so small on the right thumb stick that you'll often do something different from what you had intended. Video challenges become so difficult (you have 30 seconds to pull of multiple tricks and reach certain goals) that you'll find yourself frustrated and unable to progress thru the game any further. At it's core this is a great game, but unfortunately for alot of gamers it will be a short one due to the fact that you'll hit the unpassable barrier all to soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Go outside instead.

posted by Crabman75 (ODESSA, TX) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is fun, but it's a little too much on the realism factor.

Pros:
Large environment to explore
You can skate on anything
Large variety of apparel/accessories
The tricks are awesome

Cons:
Too realistic for a video game
Too many pedestrians that interrupt gameplay (Yes, I understand there are pedestrians in real-life, but come on...)
The contests are lame (It throws you out there with 4-5 other skaters at the same time in a small area)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tony Who?

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Sep 18, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Skate is an amazing game. It brings a totally new feel to a worn out franchise. The controls are easy to master. It feels so real to land a trick. U cant do impossible combos like tony hawk, but who cares. I feel more satisified to land a 360 hardflip then do a backflip and kick the board 10 tims in tony hawk. The graphics and audio are amazing. Xbox live is a ton of fun as well. Own the Spot is a lot of fun to play with friends and its hilarious to c people fall. Uploading video and pics to skate.reel is also very fun. The true skateboarding experience.

Good
Graphics
sound
control
xbox live

Bad
Ok story
wish ur guy wasnt glued to the board

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best SKATEing game ever!

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best skating game ive ever played, it blows the tony hawk games out of the water. the controls are awsome, very realistic! every 360 owner MUST PLAY this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A great alternative to Tony Hawk

posted by yeahwrite (CHARLOTTE, NC) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

If you've grown tired of the skateboarding genre, Skate has enough fresh ideas to merit a rental and possibly a purchase.

Pros
Innovative trick system gives the game more of a simulation feel// Graphics and level design create believable skating environments// Great sound effects// Realistic, convincing player animation// Nice variety of challenging goals// Video editor is a fun distraction and a great way to share some amazing tricks

Cons
Low setting camera looks cool, but often gets in the way// Frequent loading times// Challenges that require specific tricks are too difficult// No flat land tricks// Blatant product placement and in-game advertising is ridiculous

Overall
Skate is a fun game and a great start to what's sure to be a hit franchise. If you want a slightly more realistic skateboard game than Tony Hawk, Skate is as good as it gets. The trick stick system can be tough to deal with when it comes to performing precise tricks, but the game encourages you to develop your skills through helpful tutorials and a laid back goal system. Pulling off some of the tougher goals is satisfying and rewarding. With more than 12 hours of gameplay, solid online multiplayer, and a functional video editor, Skate should keep you busy for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Challenge

posted by GoIndColts (EVANSVILLE, IN) Sep 26, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Skate is a game that has accomplished something that no other skateing or bike game ever has, it feels real. A lot of games you can play and master in no time, this is not the case for Skate. In other games you can spend countless hours trying to "level up" your character, that's not here eaither. In Skate your character is already as good as he's going to get. The beauty of this game is that it's up to you to get better at the game and not have the game make you better. If you are not wanting a steep learning curve then go play Tony, but if you are sick of button mashing and you want to have a more realistic experience then play Skate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Look out Tony Hawk

posted by Flash84 (Williamsport, PA) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Before you turn your head and ignore this game because it does not have tony hawk on the cover remember that this game does not want to be tony hawk. This game arrived on my door step with great criticisms... i own every tony hawk game and didnt expect much from this.
First thing to note is that the graphics are exceptional it is a very good looking game with tons of detail in the environment. As a skateboarder in real life i appreciated the realism put into this game, yes this means you wont be grinding on the telephone wires... but hey its still fun... it has a big array of pros lending there voices to the game and is just a blast to play. The only thing that i could see wrong with the game was some of the missions got a little repetitive but it is more than made up for in just sheer fun. I found myself just skating around for an hour enjoying the environment and smooth controls... i give it a nine out of ten only because of some repetitive missions otherwise it would be a 10.. look out tony hawk theres a new skateboarder in town!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

.skate: THPS Killer?

posted by Guns1inger (READING, PA) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I was thrilled when I heard about this game and after I played the demo I was quite impressed. The game's great! I can't say the control scheme is unique, because EA used it in their previous Fight Night: Round 3 game, but the controls are amazing. The flick-it system is very unique. Once you get a little training with the flick-it controls you can do amazing things. There are many flip tricks you can do varying from Kickflips, to Hardflips, to Heelflips, and many other things. By holding either trigger and using your analog sticks you can do grabs, which is also very unique. Grinding is simple, you just land on the rail and depending how you land on it you will do a type of grind. If you do an amazing trick or a sick line, you can watch a replay of what you did, edit it, and post it on the web and watch it via skate.reel on EA's website. It's a cool little feature they have. Graphics are awesome, the physics are amazing. Even when you bail you'll have fun because the ragdoll effects are crazy. The only reason I'm not giving this game a 10 is because every so often I experienced little glitches, nothing to brutal, but it's not perfect. Also, there may seem to be a lack of tricks, which I agree with, but you can do so much with a single trick so that's not much of an issue.

Everyone that was waiting for this game asked the question if this game was better than the Tony Hawk's series. I'm not one to judge for you, you decide. Personally after 9+ years of THPS, this game is definitely better in many ways. THPS is running out of ideas, this game is fresh.

Overall I must say everyone try this game out. If you are a skater I recommend you check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game, Bad Camera Angle

posted by ooPLUSoo (ALAMEDA, CA) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Gotta say this game is a great game and I had a lot of fun playing it but the camera angle is BAD.

The camera angle is behind your character and it's so close and LOW that you can't tell how close you are to a ledge/edge. Due to the camera angle this game has, it makes it hard to get the timing of your ollie right so you can land a nice grind or just to jump onto the sidewalk off of the street.

As for controls...
I like using the right thumb stick to pull all the tricks. That makes everything FLOW in this game. especially doing manuals down a long hill. Manuals are REALLY REALLY easy to do in this game. Also the way the character moves is very fluid.

BUT...
Because the camera angle is so low and so close to your character, this game only gets a 7 or 8. If there were an option to change the view angle then this game with be around an 8 or 9.

...NOTE: game can get VERY frustrating if you're stuck in a challenge because the area of the challenge is a tight spot and you really cant see where your grind edge is!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the freshest games in years

posted by Lamrock (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I've reviewed a couple Tony Hawk games on this site, so it is only natural I review Skate. This game is great, albeit flawed. The game already has its share of fan boys going on message boards, trying to act cool by saying that TH sucks and real gamers play Skate, but thats not true. While Skate is better than the last few Hawk titles and is quite fresh, Tony Hawk is not at all dead.

Much has been made of Skate's realistic control system. Since most of you know about the analog system and the learning curve, I'll just skip to the fact that it works quite well, and is very fun and satisfying. On the downside, some gamers will find its difficulty tedious, and not enjoy the game. Also, EA didn't have time to include flatland or invert tricks, although I'm sure they are just saving it for the inevitable sequel.

The area where Tony Hawk is still king is the actual campaign. While the fun in Skate just comes from skating around, exploring and doing new tricks, you eventually get the urge to do more than skate around for no real reason. Sadly, the career mode is quite shallow. It isn't all that long, and goal difficulty ranges from too easy to annoyingly difficult.

Still, Skate is an awesome game, and should not be missed. The graphics are beautiful, it is like nothing you've ever played before and is one of the best games of the year. Beware though, for it is difficult and has some bad flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stake

posted by struckcall (HINGHAM, MA) Sep 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

How do some of you people rate this game below a 9. I beat you were the person that played Tony Hawk getting 40000 bonus points for some crazy jump. Skate it real and that makes it really hard but awesome to play. I'm so sorry that you can't just pick it up and be good at it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

skate. The best sports title out

posted by kirkiscool (GILBERT, AZ) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

calling this game great is an understatement
its the best extreme sports game known
brought to you by ea blackbox
This game is the THPS of our generation
the flick it controls are simply amazing
turning the button mashing formula of thps
to something way more natural and fluid
The visuals are simply awe inspiring
If u have a 1080p hdtv
I envy you
there is only one problem though
The lack of flat ground tricks and lip tricks
(although you can use the grinds to do some lip tricks)
as stated before this game is the thps of our generation its perfect
yet when a sequel comes out
it will groundbreaking
and one of the most original and anticipated sequels ever to spawn if ea makes one
definantly game of the year candidate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lets face it realism sells. And this game is way c

posted by Infuriator (FIRESTONE, CO) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Lets face it realism sells. And this game is way closer to it than TH has ever been. If you want to grind power lines buy TonyH. If you want the feeling of true skating this is the game for you hands down. The graphics are nice and the controls can feel so natural at times you find yourself in a state of amazement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best skateborad game yet

posted by papasmurfX (NORTH ADAMS, MA) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this is the best and most realistic skateboard game yet.. this aint ut rypical tonyhawk game were u pull off 573247956347956 points.. its more realistic with the stick. ur skateboarder dont land it the sameway every time..

THE ONLY PROB IS THAT THE THE STICK IS HARD TO PULL OF SOME TRICKS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game.

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

skate. this game is a bit tricky (pun possibly intended) and the camera angles make depth perception pretty difficult to judge... even on a decent sized TV. i pity the people doing this on a small one. the controls leave just a tad to be desired at least for me because cerebral palsy doesnt make me the most nimble fingered person out there in the skate park. the game does seem as though it has an assload of replay value even without going online, and it's' learning curve has nothing at all to do with skill points like you see in tony hawk; rather this game is based on your actual skill with a controler. there is nothing you can use to compensate for your inability to do something like manual, well... besides practice.

this is an awesome game even if it is made by one of the biggest garbage companies out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by killer7 (COLUMBIA, PA) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was very good. It had great physics, and much realism. I like that it is actually hard to pull off a decent trick combo. When you skate in this game it almost feels real, mostly because of the camera angle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!

posted by johnny0217 (POPLAR BLUFF, MO) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is way better than th b/c you dont ollie like 15 ft. in the air.
first of all you can feel yourself doing the tricks. second people complain about the camera angle but if u think about it it accually works well.Finally its hard to start but once you get in depth it gets so easy. its like next-gen but w/ a skating game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than hawk belive it or not.

posted by skater (CHICO, CA) May 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the best skate game out there.Ya sure u can custamize ur character but theres so much more than that you move the thumbsticks as like on a real board and not pushing a for ollie and b for heelflip its so much better.I reccoment this game to any1 new at skateboarding games.This truly blows tonyhawk outta the water!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

go home tony hawk

posted by dave42 (RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, CA) May 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game has the most realistic playability that skateboarding games have to offer. no more ridiculous 1080's or quadruple back flips, you can actually do real tricks. the career side of the game is flawless.. the only thing that gave this game a 9 out of 10 in my opinion is the multi-player.. there needs to be a free skate mode, and more options.. for example: you should be able to change the time limit , the levels should have more places to start from.. etc.. overall this game is pretty addicting once you have mastered the controls.. a must have for any 360 collection

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse