Rent Skate for PS3
view large frontback

Skate

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.7

2787 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

True skating

posted by Rurik550 (BEAVERTON, OR) Sep 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

24 out of 25 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

If you have skated, do skate, or always wanted to this game is for you. If you want to do a double backflip indy 1080 over a helicopter stick with Tony Hawk.

Skate has a more realistic feel and makes you really feel good when you pull off a sweet line. The controls take some getting used to at first, especially if you played allot of the TH series, But they are intuitive to what you are doing and soon become second nature. The graphics are very good, although the framerate skips a bit. The character animations on your character are amazing, they are very fluid and natural. The animations on the other skaters are a bit choppy at times and seem stiff, but that might be the AI. This is by far one of the best games I have ever played, and I don't want to put it down.

With that said, lets get to my complaints. I really would like to be able to step off the board. Its annoying that to gap the same staircase I have to ride all the way around and back up to the top. The camera guy needs to shut up. I don't need to hear how 'buttery' that line was every time I do a kickflip. The camera angle makes for good looks but not play. I'll be skating towards a rail and the camera will shift so my legs are blocking my view, and I just have to pray i timed the ollie right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skate

posted by themurry (FAIRMOUNT HEIGHTS, MD) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented the game for my son and he is only six and he loves the game. He shows off his moves to his other friends that don't know how to play the game. This game lets him do things that he don't have the skill to do yet. I've played the game and I like it also. I give it a 8 out of 10 for ease of tutorial and game play. Overall I think it is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

meh

posted by ryguy7X (PARKER, CO) Sep 26, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

As far as the actual skateboarding part of the game goes it cannot get much better. But as far as a videogame goes it can become very frustrating getting around the city and doing challenges. For example, if you are doing a challenge that involves a handrail down some stairs and you don't land it... it respawns you at the bottom of the handrail instead of the top where you need to be... and it becomes very very frustrating to have to travel all the way back to the good approach spot... especially in hard challenges when you have to do it twenty times. But beyond the frustration of the game and falling down extremely easily, once you land that perfect line it's awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So fresh, but not Flawless

posted by Ravenheart (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Since Tony Hawk 2 I haven't felt there has been much of an evolution in the skateboarding genre. The Tony Hawk franchise has established itself at the top of a pedestal and has created a sub genre in sport gaming. However, Skate, by EA introduces a new and fresh innovative system that easily finds itself rubbing elbows with the TH series. This is a game for skaters. Almost reminiscent of the synonymous finger board craze back in the late 90s. The 'Flick-It' interface really stands a world apart from the button-smashing that is the Tony Hawk franchise. If you are looking for a more realistic touch to an aging sub genre, then you'll find it here; something fresh. Although, this game is not without its flaws. You'll find yourself at times tackling painful camera angles(the perspective focuses on the board instead of the character), and often difficulty getting yourself into place to set up a 'line.' Thankfully, you do have the option to save your current position so that you may retry that particular 'line' if you bail. The game is visually appealing, and I was very impressed with the amount of detail that went into the textures. The downfall to this scale of detail is the lag from the post-processing throughout the game. Whenever you find yourself traveling through a more densely populated area, or that of immense detail, the game will begin to crawl. This can really hurt your groove especially during a challenge, and can be very frustrating. This lag also transitions into the online mode, and sometimes may even feel unplayable when alongside high ping players. The game is also missing a few popular tricks, hand-plants in particular. A feature I also found myself begging for was the ability to get off your skateboard and walk. Finding your way to an area blocked by stairs can sometimes be tedious. Overall, great way to spend an afternoon with a very addictive and rewarding interface, but not without its flaws. I give it a 7.8/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best SK8 game ever!!!

posted by Dekay333 (ROSEVILLE, CA) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is sick!!! Not much else even compares! If you think Tony Hawk is a great game then you might not like this... but that also makes you an idiot and you probably know nothing about skateboarding. I have been skating for most of my life and this is by far the closet to capturing the true feel of the sport. Definitely at least give it a try if you are interested. The physics and tricks of the game might have a higher learning curve to those unfamiliar with riding a board, but stick with it and I guarantee that you will realize that this is the best way yet to make a true SK8 game! It's probably more like a 9.5, but this only does whole numbers. It has small things wrong with it here and there, but for it's revolutionary control scheme I'll cut it some slack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

more of a simulation

posted by snakeman (DREXEL HILL, PA) Oct 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is gorgeous, and is a 10 in every aspect save gameplay. The controller concept is innovative; so much so that there is a serious learning curve to master it. Think skating sim. Timing of your ollies has to be dead on or you will spend your time on your face (the grinds aren't magnetic like in TH). If you are a casual gamer, stick with Tony Hawk. This game requires more effort than I'm willing to give.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rOCKS

posted by skullzzz (Miami, FL) Sep 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this is way better than tony hawks games tony hawk 1 skate a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Skaters Skate Game

posted by JinyuSlayer (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

If you are a skateboarder or a fan of skateboarding then you should definitely pick this up. The controls are a bit different and have a bit of a learning curve but once you learn you will enjoy this game immensely. You will spend hours just skating around the city looking for lines to skate and putting together ill footage. Also going to stores is cool,i wish they would have flushed that feature out a bit more. Overall its a great game and definitely worth the pick up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

meh good game

posted by ICookPeople (FERNDALE, WA) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

love all the skate games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game

posted by UNKNOWN2003 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I lost a game called skate what do i do?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

skate

posted by deadmen61 (FORDS, NJ) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

it stunk was really boring slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

skate is awesome

posted by CagedNeon (ELK GROVE, CA) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

this is honestly my favorite skate out of the 3 its fun the story seems very real the controls are difficult at first but you get use to it its just a fun game and the people that dont like it are probably horrible at it or call of duty fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skate- the skating game of the generation

posted by dobie12 (BENNINGTON, NE) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

skate is pure amazing...the graaphics are phenomenal for a skating game. The soundtrack is also amazing with songs that range from classic rock to songs come out of guitar hero. The skating is hyper realistic. If you want an edictive skating simulater get this. If you want a game where you can do a 1080 triple nollie black flip over a dinosaur get tony hawk. The only real problem is that near the end of the game the last couple of filming sessions are ridiciolous

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by android13 (TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

skate is the worst game ever I'd like to see EA make a game called Bike

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but it gets incredibly ridiculous. RENT

posted by Chibisand (YOUNGSTOWN, NY) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game is really fun with good graphics and un ended things to do for lots of hours. But at times the game asks for insane tasks. 7/10 go ahead and rent. i found it was more fun to own the spots, take my own pics, and hit cars....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Much for a game

posted by TrueDuke01 (LUBBOCK, TX) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

If I wanted to do like 10 different things to do a trick then I would go outside and skate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

amazing

posted by Adventgmer (GREENE, ME) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

loved this game. the only thing that i didn't like was that you couldn't get off of your board. Which i know that they fixed that in Skate 2. This is a must play game for anyone who likes skateboarding games. Tony Hawk is out the door.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

gets OLD

posted by jabogie93 (FORT MYERS, FL) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

SKATE is fun but after a while it gets boring I reccomend to rent but not to buy. If you really love skate games than your opinion maybe different the story is fun but like I said it can very repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG this game....

posted by gogo417 (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Geez this game was so bad that i only played it for 2 hours. the controls were the worst design i have ever seen on a game. i will now take skate 2 off of my list for fear that it will be just as bad or worse than its abortion of a predecessor.
Do not get this game unless you like fiddiling with junky controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

let Me Put that in slow motion!

posted by daftpunk (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

One of the best parts of this game is putting together footage in a variety of ways. Did you just pull that sick 360 flip over the gap? Press start and rewind the moment and replay it again for yourself or your friends!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

skate game review to remind you of skate 2 oh yeah

posted by rsplayer55 (NEWTOWN, CT) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

i think that skate is a great game and everything but skate 2 will be much better to my opinion. skate has great graphics and it has the right amount of missions to do to get sponsored in the game. i am pretty sure that skate 2 is the same but will have better and more sponsors to choose from. i cant wait for skate 2 to come out that is why i picked game fly to rent my games for as long and i want for a cheap price which is great so i reccomend that everyone should try skate 2 but first beat skate to know what will happen so you wont be confused for what happened. skate comes out on the 23 and im pretty sure and itll be low availability so im gonna rent it the first day it comes out but it is already in my gameQ so ill be getting it first oh yeah this will be the best see Y!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awfull Controlls

posted by Gizmoguy45 (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I hate this game gave it 30 minutes and hated it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skate Review

posted by Danson94 (BRAINTREE, MA) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

To start off my review, i will tell you that this game is perfect. The new controls is great and finally something different from the tony hawk series. The story line is better and different from the tony hawk games. The graphics are stupendous and the game makers actually know what companies are good. The ability to choose sponsors for everything is great. Also, the tricks in the game are great and fun to replay. The tricks run so smoothly, you would be able to use the game to learn tricks on an actual board. This game should be rented and bought. Perfect 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool Game

posted by MP2493 (LONGWOOD, FL) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Skate is a cool game if you like skateboarding or trying to learn about it being the fact that i wasn't much into boarding when i was young. I kind a learned lot of the types of stunts by names. The graphics were really good. You feel like your really skateboarding. I got a kick out of falling all over the place in the beginning while i was learning all the cool stunts. Good game I recommend renting and owning it.
MP2493

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST SKATEBOARDING GAME EVER!!!

posted by ps3man5001 (PEEKSKILL, NY) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

THIS IS DEF THE BEST SKATEBOARDING GAME EVER. IT IS SO ADDICTING I CANT STOP PLAYING IT
THE CONTROLES TO DO TRICKS IS VERY COOL. THIS IS BETTER THAN ANY GAME TONY HAWK HAS EVER MADE. I LOVE HOW THEY HAVE ALL THE NAME BRAND CLOTHES AND BOARDS. AND THERE ARE A LOT OF COOL REAL LIFE SAKTERS IN THE GAME. I ALSO REALLY LIKE THE VIDEO AT THE BEGINNING OF THE CAREER MODE. ALSO THE MAP IS AWSOME. THE CITY OF SAN VANALONA IS AWESOME. THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO. THERE ARE EXTREME HILLS, WINDING STREETS, LONG RAILS AND THE EVER PRESENT THREAT OF SECURITY. ONE CON-THE CAMERA ANGLE IS HARD TO GET USED 2 BUT ONCE U GET USED 2 IT IT IS GREAT.

BOTTOM LINE--- RENT FIRSY CUZ NO EVERY ONE WILL LIKE IT BUT I RECCOMMEND DEFINDENTLY TRYING IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse