Rent Skate It for Wii
view large frontback

Skate It

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.4

990 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best skating game for wii

posted by tito123 (HEMLOCK, NY) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been looking in buying a playstation three, and was looking at skate 2. I was incredibly sad when I found out it wasn't for wii, but then I found something amazing! Skate it is the best skating game i have ever played on the wii Very good graphics, and awesome tricks. There is something called hall of meat where you have to crash to get points. The best place to skate i think is Danny Way's mega park. It has an enormous pool, and three mega ramps, one leading into a pipe. So, if you are thinking of buying a skate game for wii get Skate it.

Pros: Good graphics, realistic gameplay, and really fun free skate.

Cons: Hard controls for balance board, and story mode is not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing...

posted by kityhwksrf (MAPLE, NC) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are a skater you will absolutely love this game. The Wii Balance Board is a must.

Unbelievably life like feel to the skating. I had a serious injury that has taken me out of skating a few years ago and this game really brought back some of those same feeling from skating.

The menu was a turnoff because instead of just hitting "A" to continue you have to point to this strange icon every time, but once I finally made it through to the game it was really worth the hassle.

It really helps to adjust the Wii Board sensitivity in the menu durring game play.

Awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the best game i ever played

posted by minipimp88 (DE PERE, WI) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had its ups and downs first off the Goods
GOOD
-best skate board game on wii
-easy controls
-still had some challenge
-graphics where ok
Bad
- no SKATE game
- short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skating at its best

posted by seanflygam (SPRINGBORO, OH) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This skateboarding game brings the game to you. You can use the Wii balance board(by the way is the hardest way to use it), the wiimote and nunchuck, or just the wii remote. Unlike Tony Hawk games you have challenges that slowly progress to you being Skater of the Year also you get to pick sponsors for your skateboard, your trucks, your wheels ,and your shoes just like an actual skater. You and the family will be on your feet having a blast grinding rails, going down megaramps, tricking over gaps and much much more. You will unlock skaters like Mike Carrol, Rob Dyrdrek, Danny Way and many more. skate It is an exciting game that can be played from ages 5 and up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun, great game

posted by whyigothis (WINSTON SALEM, NC) May 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love skate it because its fun to bail when your going for a 360 back-flip and just play around. I know you cant post your videos on the skate website, but its still fun. I would reccommend this game to anybody who loves skateboarding and is sick of tony hawk games.
Also the graphics are ok, but not great. And no other people in the single person and multiplayer games.
Graphics:6/10
Soundrack:8/10 (one song is the theme song for geoge lopez)
Funness:7/10
Difficulty:Balance board:hard wiimote:hard wiimote w/ nunchuck:easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

skate it

posted by la32343 (WAUKON, IA) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is very good but tricky . once you get good at its pretty fun. they should make a skate game where you compete against other skate boarders at a compatition. one bad thing is that the balance board yells at you for jumping when you dont jump but just get on your tippy toes. overall a pretty awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kick Butt Game

posted by fatman123 (SCOTTS VALLEY, CA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What a great game! This game takes you all over the world with your photographer in search of the skater of the year title. This game has great graphics and quality. It is by far better than skate 1 or 2. You get to create your own skater and skateboard then go around and tear it up. It makes you feel like you can actually skate. If you have the wii balance board it is very challenging. But besides that this game is great!
Spencer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fine, but not a Q topper.

posted by FrozenSilv (ANDOVER, MA) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this game without a balance board, which was probably a mistake. However, I'm just going straight out with the pros and cons...

Pros:
-Good Graphics
-Realistic
-Customization is fun
-Locations are cool
-Hall of meat is cool, rent the game and see what I mean...

Cons:
-You don't exactly live your skating fantasies
-Pulling off a good ollie can be tricky w/o the balance board (Ollies are very essecentail to the game)
-tutorials are a little too fast paced if you're confused.

Eh, I don't know if I would recommend it, but hey, I don't have a balance board.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun for the whole family

posted by idoskate (LOGAN, UT) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

great use of the wii fit board. feels so much like skating that you'll end up trying to actually ollie prompting the wii to reprimand you for jumping. like many other fans my ankles can't handle real skating any more. controls are hard to get used to at first. i hope to see more like this so i can get use out of the 90 wii fit board!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skate It - a unique virtual skating experience

posted by windnsea (Avon, CT) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

By far the best game out for the balance board showing off the peripherals potential for more complex controls. The balance board controls are not perfect but it works and it is really addictive, fun and overall a great virtual skating experience.

There are two main problems I found with the controls: 1. you need to scroll through tricks while skating so a kickflip is on the same spot on the board as a shovit or verial and you need to scroll with wiimote to change between them 2. half pipes and big ramps are difficult to skate because your natural tendency to pump up and down the ramp on the board messes up your steering. You have to remain stiff until ready to execute a trick. This is not a problem in bowls though which are really fun.

The wiimote controls were strange at first but after some practice they naturally were the movements I wanted to do to control my character. It too restricts control over your character compared to other systems but makes the overall experience much more satisfying.

So although the controls are not perfect the unique virtual experience that the wii peripherals offer makes this game exceptional. You do not have as much control of your character as previous skate games but the virtual experience that you get from preforming the controls that do work well make the game superior to any other skate game. It really is a whole new gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ollie up to the railbar, skaters

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

While the Tony Hawk series has fallen under the weight of it's own success, Skate It shows gamers that skateboarding games are still alive and kickflipping.
While Tony Hawk focused on huge combos, long grinds and character customization, Skate It focuses on old-school boarding and crashes. You'll notice right off the bat that it's aiming at a more realistic, back-to-basics approach to skateboarding. You won't catch massive air, you won't pull off 15 flip tricks from a kicker and you won't use grind down a rollercoaster. What you will do is experience the kind of skateboarding that feels like the real thing. Doing ollies down a staircase feels very natural. Grinding is done with accurate timing rather than a button and skating off the roof of a building onto the pavement will cause you to bail.
You might be surprised at how well the motion sensor controls work. While it isn't completely responsive, moving from one move to the next is fluid. You'll be taking your heelflip to a manual into a rail grind in no time. Although, doing a specific move takes some effort.
And then there's Thrasher's Hall of Meat. In a smart move to make bailing as much fun as a successful landing, bad falls will cause various bones to bruise, sprain or break. If you break enough bones, you can unlock some new gear. Don't worry, breaking bones doesn't actually affect your skater, it's just morbidly entertaining.
The music works well here, a good combination of newer alt rock and old-school funk. The environments look very good and take you to locales all over the world.
While most of this makes for a solid skateboarding title, there are areas where Skate It does a faceplant. Because of all the little trip hazards, you'll bail far more than you should. Some levels are dark or difficult to maneuver through. And some challenges are frustratingly tricky. You'll also get turned around at the worst possible times.
Still, Skate It is the best skateboarding game on the Wii and that's an accomplishment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST balance board game ever made

posted by XXCHEZYXX (Cherry Hill, NJ) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

BEST game ever feels like ur really on the board and the new features r awsome luckily i have xbox 360 as well as wii so i cant wait for skate 2 to come out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

too short

posted by 315h012 (KIMBALL, MI) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ok game but it is way to short
medium replay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Skate It is pretty good, not amazing

posted by jamesk (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Skate It is fun but not very deep. Once you get a hang of the controls it is pretty easy to kill all the challenges in this game. Took me about six hours to finish the story mode. Unlocking gear was not really much of a motivation for doing challenges. The most fun was all the mega-ramp features in various maps. Street moves and grinds are handled very well, vert, stall, and air moves were a bit lacking in complexity. Overall a fun game that does a good job simulating real skating, but a bit on the easy side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK, but still Sexist

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Once again, a sports game designed for guys only. Although some modes had female skaters to skate as, you cannot design your own player. It was a male. This is getting so tiresome. I am tired of the sexism displayed in many sports games. They think women and girls only want to play Barbie games and horse-rider games. But, they don't think that females like skateboarding, know about cars, or care about football. I am getting sick of it. For the guys, this game is great. For the gals, be prepared to race as a guy. (Yawn)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

dont skate it, just rent it...................

posted by anime3443 (NORTH STREET, MI) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is fun but if i were you i would rent it before you buy it:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome

posted by Payton1107 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) May 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like to skate board, this is the game for you. You can travel to San Francisco, Rio, Paris, Barcelona, London, and I think Japan. Skate with Rob Dyrdek, Chris Haslam, Mike Carrol, Jake Brown, Terry Kennedy, Danny Way, Lucis Puig, and Eric Koston. PLAY THIS GAME. I HOPE THIS HELPS. PLAY IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Good but hard to learn

posted by mjsanford (Richland, MS) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i used to love skateboarding games as a kid and thought i could pick up skate and have as much fun as i used to. wrong. this game looks awesome and seems to be very in depth but i had a hard time controlling my skater. maybe i have just been out of the loop for too long. Skate or die!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

posted by BibisNPesk (Brooklyn, NY) May 19, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Dude, i rented this game, i have a balance board and all, so i figured, YES! A SUPER AWESOME SKATING GAME! and i went to play it. IT SUCKS!!!!!!!! So hard to control and manage it, its nearly impossible to get threw the tutorials. I STRONGLY SUGGEST you get a different game. i kept it for less than 24 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

To Hard, simple as that..

posted by Lustie (KENNER, LA) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is so confusing, seems impossible with the balance board, things got a little easier when I gave up with the balance board & used the wiimote & nunchuck instead. All this game did was get me in a bad mood. So frustrating!! Also poor story line. Wii needs some better games, & fast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Worst GAme EVer

posted by Wiimaster3 (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 17 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I couldn't believe how bad this game was, 1 the game play was so confusing using the wii balance board, two the graphics were awful, 3 the story sucks... one of the worst games i have ever played, for me i have a xbox 360 too, and i have played skate, i loved it but skate it, just pure garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

H.A.R.D

posted by sow (FORT COLLINS, CO) Jun 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

I have the wii remote and nunchuck and I tried to play this game. I couldnt do one trick with it. I moved around a bit but even that was hard. ( and I even skateboard a ton in real life!) So if you have the balance board it is ok but with wii remote and nunchuck dont excpect to play very far unless you work on this game 24/7. I hope I have been helpful in your gaming needs. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good

posted by rambo210120 (CHESTER SPRINGS, PA) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

I have this game and I really like it.If you like skateboarding games with a challenge this game is for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

skate it

posted by kieran2015 (ALBIA, IA) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

game had no scence and bored me. okay for partys and to goof around but if you're the person that gets caught up in games then this game isn't for you. the one on ps3 or xbox is alot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!

posted by kridfowler (LEWISVILLE, NC) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

By far, the best skateboarding game I have ever played. Graphics are amazing! The challenges are sometimes just about impossible, however. Music is great.

Pros:
Great graphics.
Realistic gameplay.
Good story mode.
Fun cinematic scenes.

Cons:
Really hard with the Wii Fit Board.
Challenges can be very difficult.

Overall great game. I strongly suggest you rent it. If you decide to buy it, make sure you buy the Wii version and not the DS version because I have the DS version and it is nowhere close to being as great as the Wii Version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse