Rent Skate 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Skate 3

Rent

Keep for: $18.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.6

5752 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skate 3, well, maybe Skate 2.5

posted by Mbare420 (STERLING, CT) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I'll jump right into this one.

Pros of Skate 3
~ New and improved tricks, including dark slides and under flips.
~ New actions, including drop-ins, attacking pedestrians and being able to clear spaces packed with pedestrians by pushing down on the d-pad.
~ New Career mode, which is all about creating a skateboard brand and creating your own team. As you progress and sell more boards (board sales are what you receive for completing photos, videos, own the spot, etc) you're able to recruit more members for your team. Also, as you progress through the career even further, new create a park locations will open up to you. Which brings me to the next point.
~ The ability to create your own skate park. The possibilities are endless with this feature, and will be downloadable like Skate 2's create-a-spot feature.
~ Rails aren't "magnetic" like they were in the past two games. If you just ollie randomly near a rail, you won't "stick" to it. It makes the game more challenging and more realistic.
~ New physic settings (difficulty) Easy mode, for young children, Normal mode, for the average Skate player, and Hardcore mode for those who like the challenge of realistic skateboarding.
~ A whole new city, Port Carverton, teeming with sick skate lines.

Cons of Skate 3

~Graphics have improved, but only by a bit. No drastic changes in this department.
~The view can still be REALLY inconvenient and annoying. It still rotates and flips and goes up and around and down. If you've played Skate games before, you know what I'm talking about...
~ This may just be a personal thing that other people don't find annoying, but I find it funny how you can manual for 5,000 feet and your character will never "balance" himself on the board. He just cruises and cruises.
~Two players are now only supported online. There is no party-play.

I'd recommend anyone who is interested in buying this game to rent it first and give it a few days of play before you jump into purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tony Hawk who??

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jun 3, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you played Skate 2 then expect the same sick street sessions full of insane flip tricks and gapping 30 stair sets. You also have a fully customizable song playlist with tons of songs, you can choose to skip songs any time you're playing. Gameplay is very fluid and smooth, once you customize your character's truck stiffness and so forth, to get that perfect feel you want.

Controls and gameplay are basically the same as Skate 2, with some minor tweeks which were all good. You still rock the R stick to do all of the flip tricks and ollies with RT and LT for grabs. Something new was the ability to go to options and see why you're missing tricks as it will show you what you're doing wrong with the R analog stick--- that's tight.

I thought the career mode in this game was way better than Skate 2 since there were just cooler parks and courses and more to do. The whole point is to start your own clothing brand, and you add skaters, filmers, and other members of the team as you progress. You do photo shoots and film clips on the street while you attempt to hit the commands on the screen. You try to get magazine covers, and sell as many boards as possible.

Online play in this one is a bit more confusing to get started, but once you figure out the learning curve it's very rewarding. You get cash (boards) even just playing online and doing events. There are more modes, more parks, and more of everything to keep replay value very high here.

Tips - Use the command trick list in the menu since you'll get no manual from gamefly. Use manuals to link tricks. Line up early so you can flip trick onto rails/ledges for more points. Nollie into tricks to get more points versus ollie. Play on Normal. Do all of the tutorials right away, even if you've played Skate 2.

This game met all my expectations, and will keep me away from playing MW2 for awhile, thank God. This game blows away any Tony Hawk sellout game- all about the street!

Milt Drucker - gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hardcore Mode FTW

posted by Rubiks (AUSTIN, TX) May 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

31 out of 40 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

When Skate came out I said, "Wow. Skating games could not get any more realistic than this." We all know it made Tony Hawk look like complete garbage, which it is. The game actually gave you a sense of accomplishment for even just FINDING a new spot to skate.
Now, with the addition of hardcore mode, it has somehow become even more true to skating. What I once thought was impossible has come to life.

Three games into the series and I am yet to be disappointed in any way. Must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Only one complaint...

posted by FastrTA (ESCONDIDO, CA) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Amazing game. Though there are minor changes from the last S.K.A.T.E. game, it still manages to greatly surpass skate 2. There is a sizable difference in the variety of tricks available to the player, which makes the game a bit more challenging.

One thing some may miss from the last game are the security guards and removing caps. This is one thing I miss from the last game that gave some sense of progression and posed random security guard-fleeing fun, but you can still pester the pedestrians and get them to chase you. Which brings me to a personal favorite feature; the ability to punch people or do a gesture to get pedestrians out of the spot you're trying to skate. I know in the last skate, when trying to own a spot or just free skate the pedestrians were sometimes attracted to one spot, rendering skating the spot overly challengin. Now, with a simple press down on the d-pad, the pedestrians scatter. You can also push and punch other skaters, or pedestrians, with a simple hit of the RB.

The only complaint I have about the game is the camera angle. You have two camera angle options, ground level and aerial-ish, to choose from through the option menu, but it's still buggy and can switch views on it's own. Though I have gotten used to it for the most part, it can deem certain tricks quite challenging to land. I'd almost rather be able to skate first person then the camera angles that are given.

Overall, I still enjoy the game and look forward to the next game in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by cuteboy13 (CLIFTON, CO) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is so sick! The missions are fun and you can be a giant steak! lol I thought that was funny, with a cheat you can also be isaac from deadspace 2 and i love how you make team mates in the game... its sick get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Simply awesome!

posted by Thatthing (LAUREL, MD) May 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

18 out of 27 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is just an all around great game.

They added a lot of new trick from the 2nd and it's got me hooked. I'm telling you that I am going to buy and KEEP this game because I know for a fact it is worth the money. If you played the demo at all and you loved it then you will like this 284723x more.

Definitely a rent. And if you love it as much as me BUY!

AND STAY AWAY FROM TONY HAWK GAMES!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOOOOOOOOOME!

posted by domster (LAKE MARY, FL) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

IF YOU DON'T LOVE THIS GAME, THEN EITHER YOU HAVE NO TASTE, OR YOU ARE SICK. WHAT IS THERE TO HATE ABOUT THIS GAME? EVERYTHING YOU WANT FROM A SKATING GAME IS RIGHT HERE.

The only downfall is that when you fall, it doesn't show the body parts you broke like in Skate 2. But, the hall of meat challenges are funny, and getting hit by a car is hilarious. Overall, Skate3 is the king of skating games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

....

posted by FreshKing (BULLHEAD CITY, AZ) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I normally only like stake games that have a cool story line to them but this one was just trying to sell boards and build your skate team. It was pretty good. Some tricks really were hard even on easy. I hated how no matter how hard you pushed, you pretty much only went one speed. That was pretty annoying. Now the cam, it did bug me out a little bit at times but nothing hella bad. I really liked that you can pretty much put whatever in your city half pip, more rails, stuff like that whatever you wanted as long as you werent doing a mission. That was a big up about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gotta love skate 3

posted by punknation (JERSEY CITY, NJ) May 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I want to first thank gamefly, for finally sending me the game that i want...

i have been a big fan of skate since the first one..

this one is buy far the best. It just gets better and better..
really fun game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game!

posted by xbox36089 (AUBURNDALE, FL) May 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the new multiplayer! Great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rap Sucks

posted by DizzyB (BETHEL, OH) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a good game, a few changes im not a big fan of. 1 thing that really upsets me is the soundtrack. whether its rap or oldies i have no idea what they were thinking when they made up this soundtrack. Since when is PUNK ROCK not being associated with skate boarding, i mean seriously there is not 1 punk rock song on their, even the theme song is that lame i put on for my city song, I hate it, rap is taking over everything, its ok for a basketball or football game but now skateboarding? i mean come on whats the genre you first think of when thinking of skateboarding music????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skate 3 - as good as Skate 2, but not better.

posted by ArcArsenal (KEARNEY, MO) May 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I will start out by saying I loved Skate 2. I thought it had a lot of depth and was easily the most realistic skating game I had ever played. Skate 3 is the exact same game in a different location. With that being said, it's still a lot of fun. Sure, the story line is a little different (based on board sales) but the feel and gameplay is the same. Graphics are identical to the previous game and only a few new tricks were added. Online might have slightly improved, but if you're planning on renting Skate 3 from gamefly, you won't get to experience uploading and rating photos, videos, and skate parks due to EA putting a one time use only code for "active sharing" on each copy of the game. You can however buy the active sharing pack from xbox live, but I opted not to. I gave the game an 8 out of 10 because it's still a great game, I just feel that a few more changes could have been made. A definite rent, a questionable buy if you already own skate 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a bad Skate game.

posted by rav454 (JASPER, TN) May 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Skate 3 is a well rounded skater game with easy to use controls and fair graphics. Events change in difficulty but not so much to force players to quickly scramble to learn new moves.

I wouldn't buy it til it's cheaper. 7-10 stars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best skate boarding game out to Date!!!!!!!!

posted by CG0882 (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is no doubt the best skate boarding game out... Deff. beats any tony hawk games.. The graphics look amazing and clean....The size of the map or area of gamplay is perfect....(Alot of places to skate)

The only down side to me is it sometimes seems the repeat alot through out the game, but still keeps me busy

Graphics---10
Controls----9
Gameplay---8
Overall---8

Deff. worth the rent!!!!
But much more worth going out and buying because this game can be played for 80 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

o wow

posted by himynam (GLENDALE HEIGHTS, IL) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The words "updated yearly" are scary for diehard fans of any series to hear. Yearly updates translate into less development time on the features that blow everyone's mind and more time spent applying incremental improvements across several smaller, less substantive areas of the game. Skate 3 has fallen victim to the symptoms of a yearly update with small improvements that are devoid of any one feature for the game to hang its hat on. For newbies to the series, I'd say this is the one to purchase, because there's a ton of cool skateboarding to be had, but if you took the plunge on the first two Skates, you might want to wait for the next iteration.

Skate 3 tries to give players a sense of camaraderie with both AI and real human players that can join up on your skating team. The point of Skate 3's career mode is to build a new skateboard brand from scratch and your pals eventually sign on to help you out (though the actual story ultimately carries little weight). To get them to join up, you'll need to get notoriety. Once you attain a high enough level of street cred with the masses (tracked through a sales chart of sorts), you'll get your first teammate. You can customize your mates just as easily as your own skateboarder with merchandise, different decks, wheels and everything else you can think of. What's even cooler, if a friend on your friends list has created a skateboarder in Skate 3, you can use their character model on your team. No uploading needed on their part. Of course, these teammates only come into play about half of the time (though it depends how you want to play). Most of the time you're completing challenges like Own The Spot (or Lot), Deathraces, Hall of Meat (you can now turn Hall of Meat mode on which assigns a score to every bail you make), and other solo affairs. Thankfully Black Box (the developers) included plenty of challenges to go around, so there are enough team activities to keep most happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Skate 2....er I mean Skate 3

posted by jdauph (COLUMBUS, OH) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gameplay looks a lot better than 2, but other than that is basically the same. The story line of creating your team is wack, as you have to go back and forth between other skaters to take a pic of a trick or two. The overall flow of the storyline is non-existant, but if you like the online portion of this title, it's pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you've played Skate 2, you've player Skate 3

posted by hulud86 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Skate 3 is pretty much Skate 2 with new maps and objectives. That's not really a bad thing to me. I loved Skate 2 and i'm glad they didn't try to go for something new.

Here are some cons that really bugged me:

The soundtrack is TERRIBLE! Be sure to use your custom soundtrack or just turn the music volume all the way down and listen to your stereo.

Glitchy glitchly. Sometimes I will bail and I will find myself flying 30 feet in the air. Sometimes really funny, sometimes really annoying.

Way to short. EA usually cheaps you on material, so this no surprise. The DLC is a good $6.00 I think and all you get is two Own The Lot objective and two Own The Spots. So I wouldn't buy it unless you really want the easy achivement from finishing it.

Overal, good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Terrific...some flaws.

posted by dudeitsjoe (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Like I said...this game is just terrific...there are just some major flaws that really irritate the poo out of me. Like the constant lagging in the single player career mode. There are some times where I have to disconnect my XBox Live just to play the darn thing. The only reason is lags so much is because it is connect to the Skate feed thing where you can recieve information about the game and new videos and pictures that other people upload. The online is alittle dreadful. You go into a game and the game stops like forever whenever a person leaves or enters. They really need to fix that or else I'm just gonna return the game. Other than that...the game is worth playing if you are a skateboard fanatic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Skate 3 = Super Dull

posted by GageJP1 (Raleigh, NC) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I had never played a Skate game before...but i didn't last more than 30 minutes with Skate 3. I am sure a good game is hiding somewhere in there, but the game seemed needlessly difficult, and surprisingly dull and lifeless.

Would not recommend at all to someone who is not a fan of the series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Looks to me like a weak sequel.

posted by Punisher12 (FAIRMONT, WV) May 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

If your a casual gamer and like to play games such as these, you will be disappointed that this game is almost exactly the same as Skate 2, excluding the new story line and small added features such as a added move in hall of meat allowing you to waves your arms to move more? A good feature in this years game would be the skate parks. You pretty much can build any type of park you wish. Other than that, this is just another typical EA sequel. Its alright if you enjoy a casual multiplayer skating in this game, but expect single player to be the same as last years. I see no real big improvement this year. Weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Has Alot Of Faults

posted by Vertikle (HOPE MILLS, NC) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off I would like to let everyone know I played this on EASY and I do not skate for a living or fun.

Pros-
The only fun thing about this game is the hall of meats where you try to harm your body in the best way possible for points and the fact that there is customization. I could say the multiplayer is fun but if you rent this you can not share your created parks, videos, or photos seeing as you need a code for that sharing part (lame video game companies trying to make you buy it lol)

Cons-
Alot of the moves are the same movement with the joysticks which means if they want you to do a late kickflip instead of JUST a kick flip over a couch for example you could be doing this for days and get frustrated the whole way. Also, the game is lacking in a few more areas like music some of the songs are good but alot are just lame and have no place in skating it needs more rap songs to add diversity. Also, you have no good camera angles sometimes when you turn it's like the camera looks behind you and not infront of you which can be irritating. One final thought is your skater never seems to get enough speed and when he does it's at the wrong time and when he gets back on the skateboard he automatically starts skating which can be troublesome in certain situations.

Final Judgement-
Do not rent this game it causes me alot of headaches on EASY and if your not really into skating which most people are not then it is not your thing. There are some lame terminology used all throughout and they sound more like surfers then skaters. I would not buy this or rent it like I did because when you get deep in the game these things I meantioned get even worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

same old same old

posted by wakedude15 (VICTORVILLE, CA) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

its a smooth way to play a skating game but hardly any change from the second edition the series. fun game, but the pick up and play value left quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good

posted by eddieg (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I definitely have fun playing this game but I just cant understand why my camera angle keeps switching to low when I have it set to high. Ive tried to fix it but cant figure it out. From the low angle I cant even see where Im going. Weird. Online is fun, but it could be cooler if you could start a skating empire online, selling your brand to other people and becoming like a skate god. That would be sic. Maybe you can but I just havent figured it out yet. Fun game but could be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Seems sweet BUT

posted by TreeLevel (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) May 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

So nice graphics, new things to do that are difficult and also very creative BUT no 4 player or at least 2 player battles? WTH? That is half the reason I wanted this game! Why would skate do this? I pre ordered this game and went as soon as store opened got back home w/ my girlfriend and Bam! no 2 player??WTH? I am gonna still play it but why does she have to also spend 60 bucks and get internet just to play the 3rd skate when the first 2 featured a 4 multiplayer game? why would the 3rds multiplayer be a worse concept? why at that point would they subtract that?? I dont know but I hope someone from there reads this and does something about it cause it sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

buggy, boring, bad

posted by BeeBrains (ORINDA, CA) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I loved Skate 2, heck I even loved Skate. Skate 3 was fun for the first couple hours it was working...its like Skate 2, just new locales (even though some felt very recycled) and new boards, etc. No new tricks, same people from last game, your character can't really push off to go faster (you run faster than you do skate sometimes), and worst of all the freaking game froze all the time after completing achievements and missions. Disc isn't even hardly scratched...and I see a few people experiencing the same issues online as well. I played for a day and now I'm sending it back because my freaking save is corrupt or something and I'll be damned if I'm going to try and replay it just to get some extra achievements for my gamer-score.

Dumb dumb dumb. Glad I didn't buy this. Do yourself a favor and skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse