Rent Skate 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Skate 3

Rent

Keep for: $18.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

3070 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skate3 = Sick!!

posted by Brew852 (LAKEWOOD, NY) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

26 out of 31 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

They improved many things from Skate2. The "off board" movement is much better, running up stairs is a breeze. No more wandering around trying to find a dumpster, rail, or launch ramp; The ability to spawn in any object leaves you with endless creativity. They even included a park editor, so you can make the park of your dreams! The guy that skates behind you filming is much less annoying, he barely talks. There is no more home screen; this saves a ton of time switching from freekskate to carreer to online, all you have to do is simply hit start in game. Lots of new tricks too. Darkflips (boardsliding on the griptape) being one of my favorites. I could go on and on but I wouldn't want to spoil it all! Go out and rent/buy Skate3 you wouldn't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but has room for improvement...

posted by kroney15 (ZANESVILLE, OH) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Great gameplay and better graphics. Hardcore mode is incredible but very difficult. One bad thing, I wish u could play multiplayer with a friend on the ame console instead of only playing multiplayer online :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet Game!!!

posted by RebelTaz (SOUTH BEND, IN) May 14, 2010

Member since May 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Sweet Game Just watch out for the broken bones that come with it lol.Tricks are insane and awesome when time perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

EA: the killer of splitscreen

posted by BigRob88 (SHOHOLA, PA) May 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I tried playin skate but couldnt master the controls until skate 2 came out and I couldnt put down the controller down. The one thing I LOVED mostly was the party play, I even created a drinking game at the megaramp. I was stoked to hear about skate 3 thinking it'll be like 2 only better, but then I got it from gamefly and regreted puttin it in my gameQ. I know to hate a game for one reason is a little hypocritical but the fact that my buddy has to be at his house for us to play together is just DUMB. I started thinking and I came up with this conclusion: the concept of splitcreen (or local multiplayer) is dead. it has evolved to if u wanna have someone at your house to game out with then they need to bring a tv and a console because u can only system link. Besides all that, the mechanics are better and the Darkslide is SICK. Only buy/rent this game if all your freinds are online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Feels More Like Skate 2.5

posted by Adams4190 (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of the Skate franchise, but I'm not sure Skate 3 really has improved on enough to be considered more than an update

Pros:
- As always, the controls are the star of the show. Left stick controls body movement, right stick controls your board. They have also included some new tricks like the Darkslide to keep it entertaining.
-Probably the best thing they added was the increase in use of the bail poses. Now if you do the torpedo pose you can violently spin in a circle and really get that velocity going on impact, and you can do the spread eagle pose to glide for long distances.
-They've made some improvements to moving around off your board go more smoothly, and you can now add objects wherever you please. They have taken this last part a step further by allowing you to create your own skatepark

Cons:
-The story is exactly the same. I saw in an interview they said they wanted to make it different by having you be a successful skater to start instead of the whole game trying to turn you into a success. However, now you are just a low-ranked board producer rising to fame instead of a low-ranked skater.
-They also don't really mix up the objectives that well either from previous games. Jump that, do a kickflip over this. It'd be nice to see some more creative objectives that include the drop an object tool or use things like no complies or hippy jumps more so they really feel a part of the game
-The additions, while nice, are either things that should have been there already (creating your own skate park) or do not improve enough in my opinion. For example the bail poses do a good job of improving on something old, but still feels stale because you only have the same 4 poses. They could easily allow you to tweak bails the same way you tweak grabs and added some more variety.

The game feels more like a patch than a standalone game, but regardless if you like Skate, you'll enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good i liked it

posted by H8DONBAD (WAKE FOREST, NC) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i liked the storymode of the game the only problem is that its kinda short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

skate 3

posted by vvillyboi (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

all i can say about this game is WOW, everything is IMPROVED from skate 2... and your career mode is WAYY better then skate 2. Now you can make your own skate team and enter competition. Overall i give it a 9/10.. GREAT GAME! Highly Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

skate 3 rocks!

posted by atony420PN (CUPERTINO, CA) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

skate 3 is way better than skate 2! so if you are like me and didn't really care for skate 2 but was crazy about the first one then be sure to try this one out! there all a whole bunch of improvements from online game play to skate park creator to a whole new city to skate around! your own skate label and skate team to create! and much more so make sure to check out skate 3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skatacular!

posted by MistaCMD (LONGVIEW, TX) May 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

When I first rented this game I was like, "Oh gosh.".
But then after a while, it was "HOLY--!"!

Once you get used to the controls (which are pretty weird), your in for a skating epic! In this game, you can do lots of cool things like even build your own park! That was the best part.

If you ever want to rent this game, then you are very wise.

SKATE 3- A skatacuar epic!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yes!!!

posted by thefifth (LATHAM, NY) May 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Its a game from God. So much to do and huge improvements from the last game. Everything got an upgrade. Epic game, a solid 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SKATE. 3 - Jay K 337

posted by JayK337 (SCHENECTADY, NY) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best skateboarding game of all time... Create your own SKATEPARKS?! Create your own team and graffiti, listen to your own music (from your hard drive) Plus you can tell that EA really went to work on the graphics, smoothing, enviornment and the overall skating. I give Skate. 3 a 10 rating, IT IS A SICK GAME!!! get, get, get it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skate 3... totally worth playing

posted by GFtoocool (YAKIMA, WA) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like skateboarding, breaking bones, or beating people up, then Skate 3 is the game for you. The games story isn't really original, but its good, you just meet famous skaters and do stuff. The character customization is very deep. You can pretty much make your skater to perfectly reflect your inner skater. The games main story is quite short and repetitive, but still fun. Personally i think one of the best things about this game is the online part. You can start a team or join one, increase your rep, and just skate with friends. So all in all, a very fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by littlejj26 (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome, even though i'v been playing the demo on ps3, even though this review did not help, you need to rent or buy this game and you will know this game is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Been there, done that (Skate 1 and 2)

posted by MitLong (CHAMPLIN, MN) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had a great time with Skate 1, what with its innovative "anti Tony Hawk" controls. I had such a great time that I bought it and rented Skate 2 when that came out. I spent about 10-15 hours on it, but having already played the helll out of the first one, it felt like I was doing everything again to an extent.

See where this is going?

I think I put a total of 5 hours into the third installment. It's not a bad game at all, I just don't need to play through another Skate game. I know that there have been some minor updates here and there, and if I had to give it the Pepsi challange, I'd agree that 3 is better than 2, but for a casual gamer like me not enough has changed to make me want to play Skate again. As a side note, I must say I'm getting a bit tired of EA annually slapping a few tweaks on an existing game and then releasing it as the next version. This game isn't the best example of that, but the point remains.

In summary:
If you played all the way through Skate 1 and 2 - Rent this
If you've never played a Skate game - Rent this
If you've played the other 2 and are hoping for a new experience with this installment - Don't rent.

Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

skate good at first

posted by lewcrew (PINE, CO) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i must admit this game was highly addictive for the first few days, but i recommended NOT to buy this game for it gets very repetitive and boring. i think it's worth renting to be sure but do NOT BUY this game until you've played it for a couple weeks or months depending on what kind of gamer you are. i hope you found my review helpful thank you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

skate 3 review

posted by bidder (BREWSTER, NY) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it is a fun game, but there is only so much you can do before it begins to get boring. the realism is awesome, but at some point the younger self wants it to be tony hawk and do over the top tricks again. it was really fun but had a hard time keeping my attention

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A meh game

posted by Nrozzyos (LAFAYETTE, CA) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was fun and if you are a fan of the series you will most definitely like this one as well. The game took me 3 hours to beat everything which is kind of pathetic. The game is fun at it's core but don't expect any major advances in game play or it to last very long, I did not play this game online however so maybe there is more enjoyment there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skate 3, the ups and downs

posted by redcube42 (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

when i first started playing skate 3, i was exhilarated. it gave the feeling that this was a game that you could do anything, in a sense. i loved the ability to customize your character and board. i played the first few missions, and everything seemed smooth. but once i did a few of every type of mission, it started to get repetitive. but, one of my favorite parts was doing hall of meat challenges, because you can hurt yourself, and in this game, it is fun to make yourself go rag-doll of a building. and this was even more fun online. one other aspect of single-player that really caught my attention, was the locations. i loved the fact that i could go anywhere i wanted. now, about the online. it is great to be able to join a group online and compete against others. it also amazed me to see what people could do with their skatepark customization. oh yes, and one other thing about the single-player. one of my most favorite things to do in that game is going downhill as fast as possible and running into something. and because of these things, i recommend this game too anyone that likes skating, exploring, going fast, crashing, or any of those off or online with or without your friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

terrible

posted by rface45 (NEWINGTON, CT) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

if u liked skate 1 and 2 well this one is nothing like those, i hate that the creators of this game sold out to EA they ruined the hall of meat completely, backflips r harder to do, no real big airs like the stadium in skate 2, the game is just not as fluid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best

posted by jbjb1211 (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I remember when skate came out for the first time and how the new controls where so cool and I loved playing it. Now fast forward to skate 3 and I dont feel the same about this game at all. All i wanted to do was beat it and move on. It was boring and basically the same as the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad but repetitive

posted by hellbilly (LAKE CITY, FL) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Over all its a cool game. After awhile its the same thing over and over.I found the online play cool when I wasnt getting bumped off...but could have been my connection. There could have been a more creative aproach to a career mode beside pass 4 or 5 screens and get a new one.Nothing in the game you unlock helps you out "in game" just appearence, cloths, boards ect.In the end it was fun to play as a rental but if your going to BUY a game I would hope for more from my 40 to 60 bucks (depending when ya buy it).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by whyigothis (WINSTON SALEM, NC) May 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have been playing skate games for a while and it is a nicer game compared to skate 2. Chrisper ghaphics and Coach Frank/Skate school helps new people to skate. Hardcore is ok, but a lot more "chunky". But they make you pay to use replay editor and sharing stuff? $10!!! A little bit of a reach, so ill just go without it for now. But the biggest - is the carrer mode. There really is no flow to the game. But a must buy. Get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ehh. ok

posted by Deathshock (MOUNT SHASTA, CA) May 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

i have a ps3 and have played this game and experienced it for my self but in my opinion, i think the skate series gets worse as it goes on. i really enjoyed the original skate for ps3 , I then heard that skate 2 was coming out and of course went out and pre-ordered the game and it wasn't very impressive, then as soon as skate 3 went on pre-order i bought it thinking this one might actually be fun and of course, more disapointment. the closest thing you will get to real skating is the original skate for ps3. In my opinion, i wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EveryThing Improved Except One Part

posted by abraham561 (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

skate 3 is an awsome game for people who like to skate board,well i got to say that the game has been imporved except one part.the part that i did not like was the bails,i mean come on i like fall off my skate board and then im rolling two or three times,the bails were not as good on skate 2,skate 2 bails were more better,that's all i got to say about this game,oh if anyone wants to add me as a friend,my online id is aaw2,on the ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

VERY VERY VERY BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jaymay (ROSELAND, LA) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is just like skate 2 except skate 2 was way better and not as BORING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse