Rent Skate 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Skate 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.5

8908 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

skate2

posted by crazydude4 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is perfect.Don't get me wrong the first one was a perfect too.I got 100 percent on it.Alright listen u start out as a skater that was in jail for five years.But when u get out u make your choice boy or girl hardcore or nomal.For all who have played this game i mean Danny Way dude is hardcore,u even have to skate with him and win.Slappy,Big Black,Danny,Rob,and not to mension the greatest of all u.Only u can make the descion. Me, i was a hardcore.But like I said u have to make the choice.And remember the world is your skatepark.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skate 2 is worth a buy

posted by adrianj360 (MONROE, WA) May 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

23 out of 26 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I love SKATE 2 a lot. Even if your not a skater this game brings all the fun and excitement and pulls you into a world where after a few sessions you feel like part of the skate crowd no matter who you are. Also the great thing about the skate series is the moves you pull off you have to work for, you have to practice for a few days before they sink in as muscle memory. Sure it seems like a lot to work for but it also brings things into perspective and it tones down the games crazy factor so you feel like this could actually be you skating, but using your controller with your hands instead of your feet to pull off various tricks. By crazy factor I mean some of the different tony hawk series (which were fun) where you could do 5 kick flips by spamming a single button before you hit the ground off of a standard ramp. It was intense but it lacked any kind of real feeling to it, skate brings it home and makes you work for your tricks so when you DO get them it feels like an accomplishment.

Another Great part is the ability to move around different objects and manipulate the world to make new tricks. You can even upload different tricks that you pull off to your friends and vice verse. You can take on challenges and pull off challenging tricks to get into the local skater mags and as you progress become this superstar and you even get to work with people like Eric Koston and Rob Deydrek (from the show Rob and Big). One of the cool things is all that money that you earn doing photo shoots and contests you can spend on new clothes, decks, pretty much anything to customize your skater. Plus you can also buy some big skate parks that are a fun way to shred it up with your friends and pull of some big gnar gnar moves.

Another great features is the Hall of Meat. A system for scrapes and broken bones to record what broke when.

I give SKATE 2 a 9 out of 10 because its a wicked awesome fun game that is definitely worth a buy if you even somewhat enjoy the art of skating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

That One Challenge

posted by Xion20 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Jan 27, 2009

Member since May 2007

24 out of 31 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Skate 2 is a great game. I love it. I loved the first one. I got 100% in the career in the first one. This one wont be as easy though. The new additions are amazing. The walking could do with some improvement though. But there is just one Pro Challenge that I cant do. Its like EA just said "You know what, with our glitchy "Flickit" tricks and a game of S.K.A.T.E, lets make it a pro challenge where the pros never bail, never mess up, and when its the players turn, after an hour, the pros land every move after launching twenty feet in the air with only two pushes while the players have to do three and can barely make it over the rail." This challenge is just like a big F-you. I mean, Im the kind of person who has to do everything when it appears. So im not going to do anything until I beat the challenge. I might move on but what if I own all the spots, what if I complete the Skateboard Mag and Thrasher, what if I complete every challenge. Then there be just that one challenge. But all in all its an awesome game I love it. Definitely a buy. Like the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What you should expect

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jan 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

44 out of 69 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Skating games are out there everywhere and most likely thats not really a good thing because recently skating games has lost the real fun of skating. Skate 2 really brings back all the things you want and almost perfects some of it. Just let me say that this game still isnt in depth enough to get a 10. It doesnt have enough special things about it that would give it that. But the campaign mode is the same as always. The graphics are really good, and prouble one of the best for skating games. The online mode is average for a skating game and i really hoped they would of done something unike so after you beat the game, you could have something fun to do besides score points. So if you like skating you might want to buy this since there really hasnt been a good skating game for a while, but if you just play any type of games, i suggest you wait for some other skating games to come out because this one doesnt really have anything unike and new on it. But you should try it out at least either by downloading the demo on Xbox Live or just renting the actual game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hall of meat makes skate 2 AWSOME!!

posted by jwindbigle (INKSTER, MI) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The first game was great. This one is even better with the hall of meat area. I spent an hour just falling off of one cliff. It is much better than the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skate 2

posted by Kiebler (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Skate 2 is a great game. It was fun and as someone who can barely skate, you feel empowered.

-Controls: The controls on the board are great and work really well, however on foot is really frustrating. And alot of times flicking for tricks can cause you to do the wrong trick or do too many tricks.

-The missions: The premise of the game is fun and the story is fun to play through.But, my biggest problem is that the game neglects to tell you how to do certain things. There is a trick guide, but it was not easy to understand what you needed to do, or how to do it.

-Sounds: The soundtrack, which can be edited, is very good. The music is varied and fun to play to. The voice acting is very good and varied. And the effects are amazing. It feels like your right there as the board scratches on a rail or as your tires shred down the street.

Multiplayer:It was fun and enjoyable, the first few times. I played The Hall of Meat gametype, which was incredibly fun as you attemt to break yourself as much as possible. But then.. The inevitable came. Oh, yes. there is a button press glitch that will give you massive points. And, while this is the fault of the community, it is an issue. But it should not detract from the games value.

In conclusion: This game was fun and did alot of things well with video features, object movement and plenty of challenge. It could benefit from some tweaks on the on-foot movement and some explaining what to do in certain parts or how to do certain things. I strongly recommend giving this game a shot. Have fun.
--Keep gaming,
---Kiebler

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skate 2

posted by Wolfman392 (KINGSBURG, CA) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was an improvement over the first one. I would rather play this game then any of the Tony Hawk games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it was ok

posted by Boston34 (FRANKLIN, NC) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

now i played all the tony hawk games and the first skate and this lives up to its predeccesors. i really enjoyed the freedom you get instead of being one place all the time. now it wasnt the greatest skating game i have ever played but it was preety far up there. there were only a couple things i found wrong like when you change feet without knowing about and you do a heelflip instead of a kickflip, and how you have to practically die to get in the hall of meat. but like i said it lives up to its name and if i had the money i would buy but im broke so if i were anyone out there looking to get this game here or anywhere else i would

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sick game. The street is where it's at!

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 6, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly what I was looking for in a skate game, and not that Tony Hawk garbage cartoony junk.. hey let's do like 1080 varials and quadruple kick flips and not break a sweat.

It's all about the flatland baby, and not doing air tricks in the vert. The street is where it's at, busting up a curb and doing crazy tricks on a huge rail down a 14 stair. That's why this game is so cool, because you do freestyle the entire time and get to create a unique character. The tricks are fun to do and get harder as they progress, but not to the point where it's unrealistic.

Online play was a ton of fun too. You can play a bunch of different modes like high score, and my favorite: SKATE. It's HORSE but with tricks on a street course. Though you do run into people who just mastered the game and will dominate you all day. It makes you get better.

Rent or buy. Or just wait until the Skate3 comes out this month, which is going to be even better as we all know.

Milt Drucker - xbox gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game seen so far

posted by kill2kenny (BERRYVILLE, AR) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

the only thing i have to say about this game is that it is the best skating game so far! i have never found one that was this good!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good, but not all new additions are winners

posted by homie213 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

12 out of 23 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

this is really my first time to review here on gamefly but i will try to keep it short and simple

THE PROS
---------------------
-new skate moves are awesome
-multilayer is well
-the open world is great
allowing you to not have to stick to the mission you could just skate around the whole city just for fun

THE CONS
---------------------
-the way you walk is weird and there is to much traffic that enables you to walk that muck and if you leave your board while you are walking and go about a mile away and press y the board appers out of nowhere.

that is really all i say about this game it is fun and the new mode hall of meat when you get the most points but breaking your bones if your a hardcore skater like me this is a must buy or rent from gamefly. gamefly rocks!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A-OK

posted by limemedic (LAKE JACKSON, TX) May 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was great for one reason....I got frustrated many...many...many times while playing. I was getting tired of playing button mashing games of old with no real kind of skill, people grinding electric lines and miles of grinding....with the push of one button well with this game you actually have to have a certain game skill or want it baddly enough....too many games latly have a button sequence like press x then y then a or b lt rt and an animation would happen this was just set apart and very fun and with some classic downloads I got the skate or die t-shirt very cool! awsome to play though im going on two weeks of good gameplay and am getting sad that my long journey is almost complete but it was worth the rent and i might just buy it who knows, the online just goes on and on and on so replay value is awsome!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just too aggravating

posted by AlexFury (DALLAS, TX) May 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Overall, a great idea, decently-well put into play, but too many things are just too fickle to make this a game I'd want to play-through once, much less over and over. The chase-camera just doesn't give a good enough idea of just how far you've rotated (ESPECIALLY when doing forward/backward 'flip' rotation) and so many of the things require such a fine-eye gauge as to make a lot of it hellishly hard to place tricks (like the rail grinds. A LITTLE too close and you slam them, a LITTLE too far and you slam them. While I like the hands/feet separate things you can do, for tons of tricks, it's just too tricky for someone who isn't going to dedicate themselves to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

pretty good

posted by reporter7 (CONCORD, NC) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

game was alright got boring after about 4 days but was pretty good theres not to much of a stroy line just skate on things and thats about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by cory360 (COMPTON, CA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Hands down the best game i have ever played. This sequel to Skate is awesome. I love how you can now get off your board and everything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SKATE 2

posted by cfrancis (ZEPHYR COVE, NV) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is crazy good. best graphics, best skate game ever PERIOD. I am a skater myself, and this feels like I'm actually skating, i defiantly suggest this game to BUY!! This game is a 15/10!! LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Skate 2 Review

posted by getblunted (WOODSTOCK, GA) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Skate 2 is a fun and expansive game for the first hour or two. Down the road in skate 2 though the tricks start getting harder to pull off because you find that skate 2's trick layout (aka right thumb stick) is quite overloaded. The game makes past skateboarding games feel like they reign supreme. Without a clean button layout to use for tricks. The thumb stick method is great in theory but they have not tested it apparently. There are also quite a few serious glitches and bugs. I give this game a 3 or a 4 out of 10. It seems like they EA was in a rush to get it out and completely skipped the Q.A. portion of testing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by SOLIDSTIX (MARTINEZ, CA) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game ROCKS man no joke GET IT NOWW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Baited Breath . . .

posted by nullobject (MACOMB, MI) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

DL'd the demo. Waiting for the GFly to show up in a day or so.

Demo is sweet on Marketplace, yet needin the full. Put's all the Tony's to bed. Lookin for your fix, get it.

Realistic enviro's. Nice graphics. Decent gig for skaters lookin for a winter fix or snowboarders lookin for a summer same.

Check it out - worth the trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow... What a Let Down...

posted by TehRocker (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 21 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

I was waiting and waiting for this game to arrive and it came. So I put it in my 360 and started it up. Menu was bland, to start. Then I started a career. The real life cut-scene thing was cool, but the effect wore off. I started, got to an own the spot mode place. You had to own "Books?" I mean come on seriously? Even though it was kind of weird I tried to own the books, and it took me about 1 hour to score 450 points. I did it and was like "YES!!!" Then the "mouth" guy was like "Good job, now kill the spot!" I went like "no way..." And then I had to score 1,000 points and I turned off the 360, took out the game, got the envelope, put the game in the envelope, and then the envelope went into the mailbox where it is right now. It was Skate 1 all over again. But a little bit worse. I'll get bashed for what I'm about to say but, it SUCKED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Oh no......

posted by Mikey0505 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

My hopes for this game are crushed. Very very dry gameplay and weak repetitive online mode have led to my rating of "average" I have never in all my reviews given a game this low of a score and this score is well deserved. Sorry guys ='(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skate II is a definite rent

posted by FredroStar (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Im going to keep this really simple, if you liked skate 1 you will absolutely love skate II. If u never played skate 1 then you willl probably still love skate 2. If u hated skate 1, what planet are you from...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beating tony hawk

posted by partyman1 (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game brought back skate boarding video games by making it more real.Because tony hawk was very fun but really boring.In skate 2 it has way more things to do like after I do a death race i can go do a contest than after that you can just skate for fun.also hall of meat has improved way way way way more than skate 1 and tony hawk :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SKATE 2 ROCKS

posted by flipsk8r4v (TUCKER, GA) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Skate is the the revolution of skateboarding in games. Skate 2 will turn that over and multiply it by 1,000,000 I love this game its the best game other then Naruto games ever to be thought of as a propitiation that would've been denied but thank the Lord that it didn't

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is a great game

posted by julian0119 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this is a great game. the graphics are great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse