Rent Skate 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Skate 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

3381 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skate 2 is the pinnacle of skateboarding games.

posted by Vulgarism (BEND, OR) Oct 27, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

My first experience with skateboarding games was a Pizza Hut demo disc of the first Tony Hawk. It had only the Warehouse level, but I remember fondly how spectacular it was. When the full game came out, I was so surprised by the detail, the trick list, the track list... Everything was amazing. Tony Hawk 2 came out and added so much to the series that it took an exceptional game and made it that much better. The series topped out at Tony Hawk 3, which I to this day think is a perfect game.

But Skate 2, I find, is the perfect skateboarding game. An entirely open world (minus an interior location here or there) and a control scheme that is as revolutionary to the genre as Tony Hawk was, Skate 2 was a slice of heaven. I have played the game hundreds of hours across the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions, and to this day return to the game as much as possible. It's one of the best pick up and play games that I don't find myself bored of after playing it constantly. I love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

skate is fun for a while but it can get very boari

posted by bmxduhh (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

skate 2 is fun for a while but it can get boaring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skate 2 is AMAZING

posted by c_puprules (MAPLETON, MN) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just all around great from start to finish the career is awesome and the tricks are sweet. Some challenges can take awhile to do but they are worth it when you finish them. The party play is also good for when you have friends over so you can play against each other.

Ohh and the customization of character is great too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FROZE UP MY SYSYTEM

posted by tron0924 (COLUMBUS, GA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

in the process of downloadnig Skate 2 right out of the envelope it FROZE my ps3 sysytem after SEVRAL FAILED attemps to play skate i discorved that Gamefly sent me a game full of scartes and places in the front of the disc were sumbody TIRED TO SCARTCH THEIR NAME INTO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!W.T.F DUDE COM 'ON

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skate 2 review

posted by Daltoni9 (CAMERON PARK, CA) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

skate 2 was a pretty cool game. im glad you are able to walk and the mega compound is sick. there are way to many pedestrians though i think it would be cool if you could drive one of the cars to your destination but thats just my opinion for skate 4...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best gamefly game ye

posted by nonoway (VALLEY VIEW, TX) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

it was the best gamefly game yet. the first game i got froze. so then i got some other games that were suggested by my friends that i did not like this one made me love gamefly. ood job EA for making skate 2 i already played skate 3 and it was way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

passing the past

posted by StoryJudge (FLORENCE, TX) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

so there was tony hawk games. they had the whole video skate boarding universe under thier control. then skate came and shoved them away. the controls werent great but it had a new, better feeling. now the new improved has come. it has made the "flickit" controls alot smoother and has given you the option to walk around and move objects to make your own spaces. the graphics arent alot better but the game is still great. the story is that your character is leaving jail and the city you dominated in the first game, has been taken over by a company that has alot more security and has these things they are putting on rails to prevent you on grinding on them.
FR: rent atleast. great fun, but if you dont like free-play alot, you shouldnt buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not too shabby!

posted by Warpug (FROSTBURG, MD) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

Well, the game started off really good...alot of player development possibilites and stuff but as you got further into the game some of the missionsbecamr a bit extreme and its nearly impossible to beat the pros when u play SKATE (which is a mission type thing you do)..howeve it is in my opinion the best skate game ive played in a long long time 78/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Near Perfect

posted by Giusto69 (HAYDEN, ID) May 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Still has a little down side such as glitches and what not but if your an enthusiast definitely give this title a go at... i used to love this sport now that im old and this is a great make up for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by whyigothis (WINSTON SALEM, NC) May 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

The game has great mechanics and realism. Tre-flips look like tre-flips. Not like THPS when you can do 900 roastbeefs. A must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Disappointing.

posted by jleack (MURRIETA, CA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

First off, Skate 2 is a fun game. The gameplay of both Skate titles is enjoyable both in single-player and multi-player. However, this game is a complete devolution of its predecessor. The single-player campaign is poorly driven and overly challenging. Gameplay issues and quirks haven't been changed at all since the first game. Skate 2 feels exactly like the first game, and no changes have been made other than the addition of about a dozen tricks. The loading times are unbelievably bad, and the graphics are somehow actually worse than in the first game.

With all of that negativity said, Skate 2 is still a 7/10. Why? Because it's fun to play and the multiplayer is a blast. Hopefully Skate 3 will actually evolve the series rather than moving it backward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Skate 2 Review

posted by rockytop (MADISON, GA) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I had very high hopes going into this game, never played the first one before but I figured maybe a sequel would be just as good, but let's get down to it here, this game is terrible, the mechanics are hard and difficult, nothing is really explained thoroughly and your left in the dark a lot of the time, Had this game since yesterday, and I am already sending it back to gamefly to get another game, just terrible, if you wanna be frustrated, then rent it, if you don't, then leave it alone, SKATE 2 does not live up to its expectations, believe it, I guarantee it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Skate 2

posted by Jiggajigg (WINNETKA, CA) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

User functionality was very challenging. The experince of manuvering was similar to real life skateboarding, specially compared to a game like project 8. Reason for a rating of 3: Game play too blocky. Character was stiff. Overall movement was ridgid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best skating expeience in the game industry.

posted by Tmoe1022 (VAN WERT, OH) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is definately one of my favorite games of all time. Realy the only reason you couldnt like this game is if you arent good at it and of thats the case then dont blame the game, blame yourself. One of the most rewarding things about the game is doing simple yet cool tricks. All of this is coming from a used to be Tony Hawk fan-boy, but skate is just a better skating experience. Skate 3 will be the final nail in the coffin for the Tony Hawk franchise and theres proof. Bottom line is that this game is no doubt a rent and a buy for most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mediocre...

posted by Malev0lent (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game had a lot of potential but failed to do some simple things that could have made it an instant classic.

First of all, the characters movements are extremely limited. You should be able to face every possible angle within a 360 degree radius, but the character seems to like locking to every 15 degrees or so. This makes it feel hard to control when the controls are actually very solid.

Second, free skate missed out on some great potential for a free roaming game. Your interactions with people are limited to walking into them and annoying them until they beat you down or taze you. You should at the very least be able to crash into them, they are the most agile pedestrians I've ever seen!

Also, it is much more realistic than most other skate boarding games I've ever played, but why is it I can Ollie off a 15-stair and go into a coffin without breaking my back?

All in all, if the character turning was more fluid to allow for better control, the world was a bit more interactive, and some of the wacky physics were adjusted, this would be a classic that would set the standard for skate boarding games for years to come. Instead, it's a frustrating forgettable game that won't be remembered for long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I Hate This game

posted by IRocks (SPRING VALLEY, CA) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I Hate this game so much.I thought it would be cool and it was until I had to jam with danny way.The computer kept winning and I could only win once.I will never rent this game again.I hope the other games are better.This game can go to heck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tricks take too long to develop

posted by gamer64626 (GIBSON CITY, IL) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has really good graphics and for a skating game the story is pretty good. The biggest downfall of this game is the gameplay, the challenges that you have to do are difficult and the controls are very slow. The game is all about timing but there are trick sequences that are nearly impossible to pull off because you run out of room before you can hit a trick.

I guess I've just played too much Tony Hawk in my life to appreciate the new controls. This game was not fun for me at all. The challenges seemed like they were way to easy or throw your controller frustrating. I wouldn't reccomend this game to any Tony Hawk fan or anybody for that matter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1 for absolutely frustrating

posted by Lothar2004 (MAULDIN, SC) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was almost amazing. Up until the part where it started wanting me to do specific types of grinds. For any of you that have played the first one or the demo, you know it's almost impossible to line up for a specific type of grind. Spent an hour working on a "Nosegrind, Gap, Tailgrind" mission with absolutely no direction how even how to line up to make it. Other than these parts, it was a pretty well made game, like the first one, the skating is fluid and fun once you get the hang of it.

Final verdict: 1, because this game pushed me to a level of frustration not felt in many games before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its all about grapics

posted by dajoker98 (AUGUSTA, GA) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

skate 2 is a gam 4 true skaters from the simple ollie to the advance fingerflip. though the character graphics r awesome th background graphics could have been better imeen u can jump rite through a bush and for co-op mode it should be split sceen and have a set time limit to reach a sertain amount of points but all in all the game turned out pretty well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

grinding to victory

posted by nightstar (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

i love the demo you can do something different each time you play the game change tricks its a very fun game very addicting i have played it four hours i like it better than the first one i cant wait till skate 3 comes out on may 18 2010

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Jayrodd (HORTON, KS) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

WOW the second i got this game i said "WOW the game has great graphics." i like to ride my ripstik. but wow this game is probobly the best skating game i have ever played!!!!!!!!! i would recomend this game to anyone
IT IS AWESOME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

could of been better

posted by NAKASHIMA (ELKINS, AR) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

ok the game is fun don't get me wrong but i wish the co op mode couldn't of been way better and a lot funner also i think they could of made a co op story mode...

the bigest thing i think that sucked was the fact that only one carreer is allowed you can't have more then one carreer going wich sucks cause my husband had his carreer going but come to find out i couldn't start my own.. major downfall for me..

very fun game though.. tony hawks is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Good Buy

posted by Pdub621 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

i loved the first Skate and was happy to see they added more tricks and that you can finally get off your board and walk. only dislike is the camera view when ur skating seems way to low and you can't see whats in front of you too well. but this seems just like the first in that it takes a long time to complete all mission and is always fun to play even if you only have a little time to play which is why it is better to buy. overall great game makes you want to go out and skate after playing..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not for people who don't skate.

posted by cec121088 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

If you are a skater, you will find a lot to like in this game. Some tricks and missions are pretty hard to get right, but should be fun for people who are into this.

However, if you are not a skater, you will find that the more difficult missions just aren't worth the headache.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

skate 2

posted by munoz69 (GOODYEAR, AZ) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

The game is great, not as easy as all other skateboarding games which makes it that much funner. The amount of items you can unlock and create make this game much different from others. The characters are a little funny and give good advise throughout the game. Controls are very realistic as if you are totally in controls of your character. This game has so much to do and explore, " it s GTA meets skateboarding" , realistic, fun, and everlasting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse