Rent Skate 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Skate 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

3377 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best skating expeience in the game industry.

posted by Tmoe1022 (VAN WERT, OH) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is definately one of my favorite games of all time. Realy the only reason you couldnt like this game is if you arent good at it and of thats the case then dont blame the game, blame yourself. One of the most rewarding things about the game is doing simple yet cool tricks. All of this is coming from a used to be Tony Hawk fan-boy, but skate is just a better skating experience. Skate 3 will be the final nail in the coffin for the Tony Hawk franchise and theres proof. Bottom line is that this game is no doubt a rent and a buy for most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skate 2 is AMAZING

posted by c_puprules (MAPLETON, MN) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just all around great from start to finish the career is awesome and the tricks are sweet. Some challenges can take awhile to do but they are worth it when you finish them. The party play is also good for when you have friends over so you can play against each other.

Ohh and the customization of character is great too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by Drewshbag (ROSEVILLE, CA) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is probably one of my favorite games in my game library. It's so addicting, I got hooked on the demo. Even after you beat the game theres still a million things to do. I LOVE the controls too. I think that this is the best control scheme for its genre since the L&R buttons were first used in first-person-shooters.

overall amazing game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tony Hawk's Pro what?

posted by skatac10 (NAPLES, FL) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Skate 2 is great, and its a very good compliment to last years, Skate.

There are sooo many more tricks to do...
like plants, grab flips, grab grinds, its fun.

The game itself is more clearer and less fuzzy then last years.

This is a very frustrating game as well.

The goals and challenges are wayyy harder then last years.

They actually require thought and perfect execution to do..

This game has a ton of gameplay and will keep you busy for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stoked

posted by pucker (ESCONDIDO, CA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

As a non-skater but a former bmx rider, I was absoutly amazed at this game.

The aspect of finding lines and able to hit any gap or piece of city property in a free world environment is the greatest thing. On top of the most challenging missions and events in the game I've ever experinced, I never wanted to put it down.

The only negative thing I experienced was sending it back to Gamefly. Now if EA could make a game like Skate 2 but with bmx and surfing.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, but in desperate need of work and patch

posted by OdinsFox (TAMPA, FL) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I was let down once I got into it even after playing the demo many times. This game feels like it was rushed out the door and could have used a few more months in game testing. There are several glitches, the challenges can be INCREDIBLY difficult and frustrating, and finally it has severe input lag.

The game can get very glitchy, ie, falling for no reason, landing wrong, incorrect tricks when you put them in the same, pedestrians diving infront of you, lots of things like that that can be funny but most of the time will leave you saying WTH.
Now the challenges are good at teaching you most of the time but after a bit can be very very hard to complete, you literally have to do it perfectly as the game wants it or you will have to retry. On some challenges I have retried literally over 50 times just trying to get it how the game wants it, or it fails you. Even when you do it the game won't recognize it sometimes. And the difficulty keeps going up soon getting into challenges that are 3+ tricks long when it is hard to even land the first on correct. The slightest wrong flick of the right stick will ruin you, or from the left stick will throw off your angle completely.
The physics system suffers severely from random glitches, like sliding up a rail then suddenly shooting 30 feet in the air, hitting the ground and having every limb spaz out in every direction, and other things like gaining speed or air can be very difficult even when doing what it says, the slightest mistake and you just lost all momentum.
Walking is incredibly laggy, and input also lags randomly during gameplay.
One last thing to mention is the restart, like when you crash and it restarts you back on the track. Only thing is it restarts you right infront of what you crashed into so you must get off your board, walk, then get back on, very annoying.
If you aren't a huge fan of skating it won't hold your interest long as it is very frustrating and that takes alot of the fun out and feels like a chore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skate Excellence

posted by daftpunk (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Far past my expectations for the new skate game,the game play is even more packed with tricks and the custom skater feature is endless.

As far as the graphics and controls,its a plus.

Rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game, could use a patch for glitches.

posted by jtobin09 (RYE, NH) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

So this game is great, an amazing sequel to an amazing game. EA really listened to the players on what to do for this game and they nailed it. The game is really fun online although there are lot of glitches in Hall of Meat and other things but overall its a great game, i would rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME SEQUAL

posted by ps3man5001 (PEEKSKILL, NY) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a great sequel, one of the best ever.
Pros:Bigger city, movable objects/get off board, more challenges, unlock mega compound at beggining, create your own spot, hall of meat fluid movement, a lot more tricks, great skate parks, on skate website you can create your own logos for boards and shirts, more customization on clothes, teleportation system, good cut scenes, lots of rails and ledges
Cons:Less boards and merchandise, confusing challenges, walking around is hard, hard to grab objects, a lot more security everywhere, some spots are ungrindable and you have to pay to get them grindable, confusing maps, the first thrasher challenge is really annoying, confusing map

All in all, great game, buy!!, you wont get tired of playing (Lots of cons but still a really good game!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

skateboarding awesome sport and great game

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game blew me away in almost every aspect from merchandise-to tricks you go to schools,skateparks,and much more.The thing i love the most is using your hard earned cash on shoes-tees i love the shoes fallen,dc,lakia,etc.So overall the game blew me away so play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tricks take too long to develop

posted by gamer64626 (GIBSON CITY, IL) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has really good graphics and for a skating game the story is pretty good. The biggest downfall of this game is the gameplay, the challenges that you have to do are difficult and the controls are very slow. The game is all about timing but there are trick sequences that are nearly impossible to pull off because you run out of room before you can hit a trick.

I guess I've just played too much Tony Hawk in my life to appreciate the new controls. This game was not fun for me at all. The challenges seemed like they were way to easy or throw your controller frustrating. I wouldn't reccomend this game to any Tony Hawk fan or anybody for that matter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I Hate This game

posted by IRocks (SPRING VALLEY, CA) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I Hate this game so much.I thought it would be cool and it was until I had to jam with danny way.The computer kept winning and I could only win once.I will never rent this game again.I hope the other games are better.This game can go to heck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1 for absolutely frustrating

posted by Lothar2004 (MAULDIN, SC) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was almost amazing. Up until the part where it started wanting me to do specific types of grinds. For any of you that have played the first one or the demo, you know it's almost impossible to line up for a specific type of grind. Spent an hour working on a "Nosegrind, Gap, Tailgrind" mission with absolutely no direction how even how to line up to make it. Other than these parts, it was a pretty well made game, like the first one, the skating is fluid and fun once you get the hang of it.

Final verdict: 1, because this game pushed me to a level of frustration not felt in many games before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK...could be great

posted by HolyGoof (BRIGHTON, MA) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The best parts of this games are graphics, player controls, and skating environments. Skating is very gratifying, although it would be nice to alter the camera angle. Hall of Meat is pretty awesome for some of my video game challenged friends; the worse you wipe out the more points you get.

The worst part of all is the pedestrians interrupting the flow of the game play by getting in your way when your trying to complete a challenge. They seriously block you and make you stop your run, over and over again; totally a buzz kill and unnecessary. The difficulty of the challenges is sometimes impossibly hard, and the events and map is don't fit together very well.

Looking forward to a new next gen skating game.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

THPS fan hated this game

posted by Leonmit (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

As an old time Tony Hawk fan I was curious about the skate games since they came out. I finally rented this one and was severely disappointed. The over complicated controls made me frustrated and the game unplayable. The rest of the game seemed good from what little I was able to do. The mission structure was well defined and graphics were acceptable at worst. There are trophies to track your accomplishments and feature that rewards you for impressive bails. If you have 3 extra fingers on each hand or find some other way to get around the control scheme this could be a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yuck

posted by Awalkerpho (Playa Vista, CA) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Man, I really tried to like this game, but the controls are so annoying. I read somewhere how this was a better game then T Hawk and the controls were better. Maybe I am just to used to T Hawk, but this game has way more buttons and controls. Pulling off cool tricks is almost impossible. And they are not forgiving whatsoever. I don't know how anyone could even play this game ebough to get good at it. I wanted to throw my controller at the TV. No thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too bad

posted by Drinkamon (EASTON, PA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I wanted to love this game... but in my opinion it was terrible. Bad camera angles, worse controls. Failing a "mission" in 2 seconds because you couldn't kickflip the first staircase takes 30 seconds to retry. Not a very rewarding game overall. I will stick to Tony Hawk's games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

skate is fun for a while but it can get very boari

posted by bmxduhh (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

skate 2 is fun for a while but it can get boaring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FROZE UP MY SYSYTEM

posted by tron0924 (COLUMBUS, GA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

in the process of downloadnig Skate 2 right out of the envelope it FROZE my ps3 sysytem after SEVRAL FAILED attemps to play skate i discorved that Gamefly sent me a game full of scartes and places in the front of the disc were sumbody TIRED TO SCARTCH THEIR NAME INTO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!W.T.F DUDE COM 'ON

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skate 2 review

posted by Daltoni9 (CAMERON PARK, CA) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

skate 2 was a pretty cool game. im glad you are able to walk and the mega compound is sick. there are way to many pedestrians though i think it would be cool if you could drive one of the cars to your destination but thats just my opinion for skate 4...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best gamefly game ye

posted by nonoway (VALLEY VIEW, TX) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

it was the best gamefly game yet. the first game i got froze. so then i got some other games that were suggested by my friends that i did not like this one made me love gamefly. ood job EA for making skate 2 i already played skate 3 and it was way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

passing the past

posted by StoryJudge (FLORENCE, TX) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

so there was tony hawk games. they had the whole video skate boarding universe under thier control. then skate came and shoved them away. the controls werent great but it had a new, better feeling. now the new improved has come. it has made the "flickit" controls alot smoother and has given you the option to walk around and move objects to make your own spaces. the graphics arent alot better but the game is still great. the story is that your character is leaving jail and the city you dominated in the first game, has been taken over by a company that has alot more security and has these things they are putting on rails to prevent you on grinding on them.
FR: rent atleast. great fun, but if you dont like free-play alot, you shouldnt buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not too shabby!

posted by Warpug (FROSTBURG, MD) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

Well, the game started off really good...alot of player development possibilites and stuff but as you got further into the game some of the missionsbecamr a bit extreme and its nearly impossible to beat the pros when u play SKATE (which is a mission type thing you do)..howeve it is in my opinion the best skate game ive played in a long long time 78/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Near Perfect

posted by Giusto69 (HAYDEN, ID) May 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Still has a little down side such as glitches and what not but if your an enthusiast definitely give this title a go at... i used to love this sport now that im old and this is a great make up for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by whyigothis (WINSTON SALEM, NC) May 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

The game has great mechanics and realism. Tre-flips look like tre-flips. Not like THPS when you can do 900 roastbeefs. A must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse