Rent Siren for PS2
view large frontback

Siren

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.6

366 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

An awesome game!

posted by Redhead1222 (POWELL, TN) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has some really unique game play. You have a special ability to see through your enemies eyes as well as your allies. It's full of stealth missions and some of which are hard. You WILL die a lot, which makes this a very complicated game. You have to think stratically to get through most of the missions. If you like puzzle games you should definitely get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better then resident evil and fatal frame combined

posted by kottonmouf (BARTLETT, IL) May 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best, most original horror games ever. you play as about ten different caracters trying to escape a japanese village inhabited by shibito (japanese for "dead body").
the story is told out of order (think pulp fiction) and things you do will effect other people who travel the same path later in the day. your only real weapon is sightjacking since the shibito are indestructable, this lets you see thru the eyes of your enemies and plan your escape since siren doesnt give you a bunch of guns or anyhting, it gives you an umbrella or a frozen towel and a piggy bank. instead of guns blazin you need to strategically think out your escape route, giving you a real feeling of helplessness against the undead army.
all the characters are designed after real japanese celebraties, including the guy from Iron Chef, but the voice overs are all done in english, like tea and crumpits english. it just seems weird in a game thats so japanese. also this game is HARD. the enemies cant be killed, theyre already dead, and the only way to stop them is by pulling off crazy ...ss sh...t like that board game mouse trap. this is still one of the scariest games youll find and they did make a sequel but it wasnt released in the US, so rent it and maybe theyll send it overseas.
and this game was a side project of team silent, so if you liked silent hill, pick up siren.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very Hard

posted by FreakyCris (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game is very hard!It may even be the hardest game I have ever played!!!The game gets a whole lot better twoards the end and has an exiting ending!So,you non thinkers don't get it.You thinkers give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Completely Unplayable

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game has an interesting premise, but the controls and cameras are just absolutely terrible.

Not only that but you walk around with a flashlight, yet everything is completely black. Therefore, you find where you're supposed to go completely by accident by running into something.

The terrible controls, terrible camera angles, and the fact that you can't see where you're going make the game completely unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So promising, so screwed up

posted by BLorend (PARADISE, CA) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Alright people, this is like a textbook case of the good gone bad. The concept of the game is great, as is the atmosphere. Then they make some of the most textbook cases of ways to screw up ever.

First, they make an incredibly detailed face, even down to talking, then put it on a static, unmoving and un-detailed head, meaning that the facial features move randomly as one talks. Worse is the game's gross violation of basic rules of immersion. First you find yourself being drawn to the game, only to suddenly have your attention wrenched away into another place and time and, even worse, character. What made the game developers think this was ok is up in the air.

Finally, the game requires you to do missions they don't tell you to progress beyond certain points, and the missions they do tell you to do are usually convoluted and vague. Come on, this was a great premise, why did they screw it up?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hands down, the worst game I've ever played.

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 25 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

I originally got it because a saw a video for it and it looked cool. But that video was a dirty dirty lie. Maybe I didn't give it enough of a chance because I could only take a few hours of leading a blind chick around, but it was AWFUL.

Pros:
You could probably use the box it comes in to hold another game.

Cons:
Gameplay is ridiculously slow and boring.
Controls are massively clunky.
The character you play as is the most unathletic person ever.
You lead a blind girl around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horror at its best 2004

posted by CoopScoop (MEMPHIS, TN) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I enjoyed the first day, after an experice of hit and run cinematic the fun slowly faded. I'm not unhappy, but the interesting parts like what siren offered was lacking some compition from games such as manhunt,silent hill 2,origins like these two wasn't enough to please.

Okay, the second part became impresive, and it lived a very short time(my likings), some controller informative progress through and I got to know most of the buttons(then here I wanted to quit) and what will happen if you press some(buttons). I got into the third mission and was shot by a shibito after trying three times I just gave up.

Apart from what playing a game, it would be nice if 720p was introduce back in 2004. This siren made me notice how much games improved but again why go back in time, games should just be remebered as time well spent and collectables. I'm still keeping GF.

Play the game if you like action horror, its just I'am spoiled from real intesive action in now-days-action horror.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Unique survival horror

posted by sabenge (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Walking dead and a sacrifice bringing about an ancient evil. The story can be summarized that simply. To be fair, I didn't bother to read most of the archive items, but the story just really wasn't that interesting and seemed somewhat contrived. What really sets this game apart from others in the survival horror genre, and draws you in, is the fact that you actually have to survive the horror by hiding and fighting when necessary. The only problem is not giving up within the first few hours of gameplay.

As you begin, you'll undoubtedly notice that the mechanics of the game are never explicitly stated. You can never be entirely sure if a shibito, the term used to describe the undead enemies encountered, will see or hear you. Each scenario is constructed differently leaving the player unsure of how each enemy they encounter will react to certain stimuli. For instance, there is a mission that requires a character to make it to a designated area without being spotted at all. The only problem is that there is a patrolling guard near the gate. To make things easier, I suppose, this particular nemesis is apparently deaf allowing you to simply jaunt past it while it's looking the other way. The good news, though, is that if you choose to play the game in its entirety, you'll eventually know how almost every mission is set up through multiple iterations.

Aside from the looping storyline, trial and error gameplay, and the half-hearted Japanese-people-with- British- accents dubbing, the game manages to sink its visceral hooks into you and refuse to let go. You just have to be patient and stay the course.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good horror game, despite some problems

posted by Firebird12 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

"Siren" for the PS2 is just one of those games that appeals to horror game enthusiasts. It slipped my notice when it first came out a few years ago, but ever since Siren: Blood Curse for the PSN came out, my interest in this game was re-kindled. As a Japanese horror game, Siren delivers. The story of 10 ordinary people trying to survive being stuck in a cursed and remote Japanese village swarming with "shibito" (or Japanese zombies, basically) wins with a genuinely creepy atmosphere and interesting (if convoluted) story. Although the British voice-acting for the obviously Japanese characters is weird--and somewhat funny--it's possible to get over it eventually. The game does score some low points for its early Resident Evil-style controls, and the graphics are not that great, even for a PS2 title. Still, if you love horror games and have some interest in Japanese culture, you should at least rent the game and give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Unappreciated Survival Horror Gem

posted by Pakahafi (IRVINE, CA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Off the top of my head, I can't remember exactly what drew me to this game. I suppose it was the fact that Keiichiro Toyama, the creator of the original Silent Hill, was a key figure in this game, and dang it, you can't like survival horror without liking Silent Hill.

One thing that you will notice about this game when you load it up is that unlike Silent Hill, this game is merciless in its difficulty. From the first level, most people become alienated by its mission based gameplay that allows virtually no mistakes. In this game, nothing is given. Just about every character in the game starts without a weapon, and they are expected to go through vast amounts of levels filled with health regenerating, fast, and sometimes gun wielding zombies until the game decides to stop laughing at your misfortune and gives you a wrench to rip em a new one. More determined gamers, however, will see this dramatic increase in difficulty over other games as an asset, and will work to unlock the remaining levels.

Much like the gameplay, the storyline of this game is yet another factor that may further distance itself from most casual gamers. Without giving away too much, you basically play as 10 or so different characters with only one thing in common: they are trapped in village filled with half dead but still very zombie like humans known as shibito who aren't exactly very open to the idea of helping em leave. Some won't make it out alive, despite your best efforts at flawless gameplay. You'd be surprised at how much you begin to root for some of these characters who may sadly meet their end AFTER a level is over. While the plot unravels itself out of order and can get rather tedious at first, when you finish this game and unlock the ending that you worked oh so hard to obtain, it will no doubt rank among some of your proudest gaming achievements.

Give this one a go if you like a little bit of challenge in your game. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

siren a different resident evil

posted by jobogr (WAVERLY, WV) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

the game is good a really good set up and every thing was great about the game how every thing was played out. It reminded me of resident evil in a way what I did not like about the game was through out the game seeing was not a option at all unless you had a infinite chicago typewriter. it was very dark set up most of the game I could not see. in order to play it like it was ment to be you cant use your flashlight very much. over all it is a great game. I give it a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

THIS WOULD BE A SICK MOVIE!!

posted by flygirl (WHITE PLAINS, NY) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

this game has an butt-kicking story line but its not really a good game.if they made a movie about this fame id be just as good as dawn of the dead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »