Rent Singularity for PS3
view large frontback

Singularity

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

5369 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Deriative But Fun.

posted by JalapenoW (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has been called a carbon copy of the original Bioshock. I'd say yeah, those arguments are well founded. You are a mute protagonist who travels to a seemingly abandoned city where science has run rampant destroying the population and mutating others whom you fight with conventional weapons and special powers. Along the way you find audio tapes and notes that give clues to the events of the past and this eventually leads to a big twist at the end with multiple endings depending on who you kill. The HUD even looks the same.

That's not necessarily a bad thing, if you're going to rip something off better rip off something good. It does do somethings better than Bioshock like the Time Manipulation Device(TMD) is cool, aging and regenerating objects and enemies. The game also does a better job of fleshing out it's world by with notes and more flash backs not to mention the story does focus on the children something missing from most disaster/sci-fi/horror games. In Bioshock we only learned of the little sisters, here we learned about the children in general and see some creepy s!#t.The game also has some great voice acting and atmosphere.

Where things turn a little sour is the pacing, your thrust from easy to difficult back to easy so many times you get whip lash. Plus the game only lets you have two guns and there is no way to change them when you realize you picked the wrong load out.

I still would recommend this game for fans of shooters, Bioshock or underrated games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Singularity PS3

posted by B4tg1rl (MONTGOMERY VILLAGE, MD) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros - great setting and storyline, minimum interruptions for cutaway sequences, varied environments, smooth gameplay, very very few glitches. It also has quite a bit of well-integrated non-essential gameplay you can do for pickups. Weapon options have clear uses and allow for personal skills/preferences. Game has replay appeal.

Cons - You can NOT back up to a previous save point before your most recent one. This means if you ever get to a point where you are in serious trouble, you will need to restart from the beginning. That alone knocked this game down for me; I am amazed such a otherwise well-put together game didn't consider that aspect. The upgrading system seems unnecessarily complicated but not a big deal. The gameplay could be a little more responsive.

What I'd want to see in a sequel: Option to go back to different save points. Even more fun side pickups (I like playing with the environment and exploring fully). A simplified upgrading system. A more dramatic change in arm appearance as we improve. The ability to designate which controls do what re weapon usage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Suprised

posted by juanjfboj (SAN PEDRO, CA) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's always good when you get a game and have low expectations then turns out to be a good game. This was the case with Singularity; story mode was good a lot of action to keep you engaged. Graphics were awesome; did not expect it. This game made me jump out of my seat from time to time with unexpected attacks. The idea of having a weapon that turns back time or forward was a good idea. Give this game a shot you'll be surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Singularity a good sci-fi shooter, fun but flawed

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jul 3, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

22 out of 31 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

"Singularity", Activision's latest foray into the FPS genre, seems a tad familiar. It strives for the atmosphere of a "Bioshock" or "Dead Space", and at times comes close. Katorga-12 can be a messed up place, as it was the site of a Russian experiment gone wrong in 1955. You first hit the island in 2010, and as you make your way through the ruined facility, you'll encounter various mutated creatures and clues as to what happened. Once you find the TMD (Time Manipulation Device), you get to go back and forth in time, uncovering more the mystery surrounding the island. The story is decent, though in a B-movie way, and the voice acting is competent. Controls work fine for the most part, but ammo and health paks can be scarce in places. The problem is at times with the AI- sometimes it works well, flanking you and making you readjust your strategy, and other times it can be quite stupid. Sometimes enemies will take one bullet and die, other times it seems to take far more shots than it should. This can be frustrating and lead to cheap deaths. Graphics are fairly good, though not as great as "Bioshock". Some of the weapons are quite fun to use, especially the Seeker, whose bullets you can control around corners to their targets, a la "Wanted". Sadly, most of the time you're stuck with your pistol, which is iffy against some enemies. Your powers from the TMD aren't fully utilized as well as they could have been, and take awhile recharging between uses. I'd rent this one first before buying. One run through should take between 8-12 hours, depending on how fast you can get through the areas. It has its flaws, but when it works "Singularity" can be quite fun. If you enjoy shooters with a sci-fi storyline, give this one a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game for the most part

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I have to say that I really like this game for the most part. The weapons are powerful and different. The story is interesting, but kind of loses steam 3/4 of the way through the game.

I would recommend this game for a rental only because this game only has a single player campaign. The multiplayer is dead.

Just try this game and you will see that it was worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Lot of Fun to be Had

posted by RedChamber (MADISONVILLE, LA) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I'm just gonna start off by saying that I'm a huge Action & Adventure/RPG junkie, and I absolutely DESPISED shooting games...

Singularity was the turning point for me.

This game was fun. No word better describes it.

I've read a few of the larger complaints for the game, such as it feels like a meshwork of more successful titles, like Dead Space and Bioshock, but failed to deliver the same huge impact that these titles unleashed on the gaming community. To which I reply, of course you're going to set yourself up for disappointment if you compare a game to one of the shooter monsters like Dead Space, instead of evaluating its strengths on its own. And what's wrong with borrowing a few elements here and there from massively popular titles? If it made those games so great, why not implement them again in future games?

If you play through this game taking it super seriously all the way through, you're bound to find yourself nitpicking every tiny little flaw and detail. Simple solution: Don't take it seriously. Have fun with it! The story is easily digestible (unlike Bioshock), so enjoy it as it is. As for the game mechanics, newcomers to shooters like myself won't find themselves struggling with the unfamiliar controls, as they're pretty simple to learn and use... for the most part. The selling point of the game, the TMD, was wickedly fun. A lot of people complained that they weren't able to use it as much as they'd like to, but I found myself using it almost as much as my gun. The scenery too was amazingly pretty to look at, even if the graphics were a little rough on certain items.

In short, a highly enjoyable game from the point-of-view of a newly-turned shooter fanatic. The campaign took me around 8 hours to complete, and I never experienced a single moment of boredom the whole way through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good rental, waste of money to buy

posted by LastNight5 (DENVILLE, NJ) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a filler game to play while you're waiting for another game to release or become available, then Singularity is for you. Similar to many other reviews, Singularity attempts to mimic Bioshock too much. The
ability to wield weapons and the TD (Weapons and Plasmids), the warped enemies that used to be humans (Splicers), the time travel between 1955 and 2010 (1950s and 1960s Rapture), the audio-recordings (Audio-diaries in Rapture), the constant flashbacks....get the picture? It is disappointing if you are a fan of Bioshock 1+2 because the similarities are so striking that it is difficult to play without going "Ugh, I've seen this already, show me something new already." Aside from this, the controls are dodgy and the health/td meter can become obnoxious. Health is depleted too quickly and TD takes too long to replenish. The graphics are ok, but not smooth. Guns are interesting, but are the basic types you would find in Half-life, Bioshock, or any other FPS (Pistol, AK, sniper, grenade launcher, etc). The Seeker is unique, but once again takes the idea of "curving bullets" and slowing time from the game/movie Wanted. The time-travel sequences are unique and cool, but are few and far between. It is a quick game, only about 7-8 hours, so it won't seem like a waste if you don't end up liking it. I would say it is worth renting and playing once, maybe twice. Otherwise, don't spend the $60 to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

generic title of a review

posted by genericun (MINDEN, NV) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

18 out of 27 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To be honest, a 7 is a bit generous for this game. But there is fun to be had.

good

-fun features with the TMD (that glowing glove thing)
-somewhat useful upgrades to it
-some cool weapons
-comfortable and familiar controls
-some minor puzzle solving aspects that are cool

bad

-at times i felt like this game was a patchwork monster of other successful titles.
-environment issues i.e. single directions, unclear paths
-upgrades are minimal and sometimes don't feel effective
-after a while enemies seem too easy
-quickly lose health
-story: it's easy to follow but later it makes no sense
-one time play through (honestly they shouldn't have been able to justify a $60 price tag with this game)

so the game has a bunch of problems but don't let that scare you from playing it because you can have fun with it. I wouldn't put it number one on my Q though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Diluted Bioshock but still a good game

posted by Tobiaskane (ARLINGTON, VA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

18 out of 28 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game has a good solid storyline that will remind many of Bioshock 1 and 2. The controls could use some tweaking and at times they seem to be unresponsive if you are quick on the buttons. But this just adds another element of challenge to the game that I enjoyed. The storyline is compelling enough (think Bioshock) to keep you interested as you play through. There wil lbe some moments when you question "how" to kill something, especially when "it" doesn't simply die by the use of conventional weapons. There are many powers and although the game doesn't do a great job of detailing each specific use with each death you'll be motivated to figure out how effectively use of each power. If you are looking to run and gun that could work but I assure you, some of the inhabitants will expose the weaknesses of this juvenile tactic. The effective use of weapons, powers, and tactics will make this game a better experience as each seems to be geared toward certain enemies. When was the last time you went fishing with a rifle or hunting with a net? I can't say enough about exploring in this game to uncover the truth about what's really going on. The visuals are decent and I didn't see too much clipping or perpetual artifacts. The changing of the color palette between the past and future was a good idea to prevent confusing between dimensions. The actual gunplay is fairly accurate on screen. The speed of the controls might be a concern to many but consider it a challenge. After all, how long do you think it would take for you to holster one weapon and retrieve another? Some of the powers might seem useless at first and even the upgrades seem less than desirable.

I do wish the character could roll out of the way as at times the enemy is quick to relenetless close on you with melee attacks.

Obviously you are spending your money to rent this game..get your money's worth. If you liked Bioshock you will dig this game! Nuff said'

Tobias

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by jbooth (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A lot of games give big hype and don't deliver upon release: this is not one of those games. This is the best FPS I've played in a while. The story, weapons, characters, and mechanics were all superb. Did anyone else catch those tributes to Lost and Borat in the campaign?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easy to review

posted by br0ther06 (LIMA, OH) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the best game you haven't played... Its a little bit shooter and has a storyline

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok i guess

posted by cactusaz (PRESCOTT, AZ) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

There's not much to explain about this game, pretty much a bioshock environment but not if that makes sense. I've had the game for over a month and only played through half. Not that it is that challenging, the fact is that it doesn't grab me into the game and i've only played it once and left it on the shelf. It can still be ok but the story does have to grab my attention to get it finished. I usually finish all games i rent but this one ranks up with bionic commando. Got towards the end or close but it just got so dull that I didn't feel like finishing the game and that is happening with this one, sending it back tomorrow. Now to try and find something to do before the new call of duty, MOH, and Killzone come out. Big expectations for Killzone 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was okay, but not memorable

posted by Picudo3893 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The main approach for this game is the TMD, Time Manipulation Device. So that's a great hook right, getting to manipulate time? Well you'd think so until you get the game and start playing it.
There's a limited use to the TMD, and there is literally only two powers for use with the TMD, one which does not actually even manipulate time. (I don't count the ability to revert or age enemies because that was pretty much already known before the game was released), and that's a shame.. :/
Story was okay, and shooting was okay.
Overall it was not a memorable game, but it was fun for the short time (8hr~ campaign) I had with it.
I tried to play online but I could not for the life of me find a match, and if I did,(which honestly was only once lol... yeah) I lagged out because connection to the host was lost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

singularity

posted by godzilla3 (BURLINGTON, KY) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

loved it one of the best first person shooters of 2010

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by KilerAzn (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good gameplay mechanics.
Good graphics
Extremely amazing story.
Rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Would be rated higher if the multiplayer was alive

posted by Roymond (MEDFORD, MA) Dec 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was really interesting. It started out seeming like it was going to be a horror game which kind of put me off to the idea of playing it but then once you get into the thick of things, it really captures your attention and runs with it. It does have it's faults, such as poor textures, the inability to pick random objects up, however it is a really good game.

I would have given it potentially a 9 if the Multiplayer was not dead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

solid game

posted by measner518 (SPARKS, NV) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game will keep u guessing. I normally don't appreciate the first person shoot em ups. Singularity peaked my interest very good flow to the game and really cool weapons.......If you like first person shooters definitly give this one a shot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK

posted by nooons (ATTLEBORO, MA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

An OK FPS. Nothing really stands out in the game, besides maybe the time traveling. I also feel like it doesn't know which direction to go in horror or action/war and only goes mediocre in both directions. The "scary" parts arnt really scary and are pretty predictable. Things that happen in the game remind me too much of moments in FEAR. Overall though its a good rent if you have finished all the other great 2010 releases so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

singularity the game with the wierdest monsters!!

posted by nikr12 (FAIRFIELD, ID) Jul 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Singularity is is a fun title theres wierd weapons creepy monsters and plenty of RUSSIANS. you first start out heading to a place called KaTORGA-12 right off side the russian coast your there to investaige why one of are statilltes was blinded by radition. but things go wrong and your soon stuck on KaTOGRA-12, and if it weren't wierd enough. Your being chased be ugly radition filled creatures that were human but now they aren't if you could belivie that they were human. through out the hole game you will meet new monsters a few new russians and some guns. you can get weapon upgardes but there very limmeted to about clip size damage and speed of reloading. pluse you can upgarde your health ablilitys and a few more, but there not that cool. you'll be taken through the past in beetwen 1955 and 2010. you can buy upgadres with e-99 tek used to power that silly little thing on your arm called the TMD ( time munipulation device) that can destory people in a way you thuoght not possible.E-99 tek is also the russains new world ruleing toy.At the end you have three choices and they all let you rule the world execpt one but no spiolers from me. in multiplayer you can play as a human or one of those ugly freaks but you get some singularity technology to level it out a bit, there was absolutely no one playing it online on the PS3. it's a good game but it doesn't live up to the full poteintel but heck they could make a second won but that may not happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

two thumbs down :(

posted by EugenesGir (SEAFORD, DE) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

story line seems cool n flashbacks then you get to see the aftermath was alright. i even liked the fact that you could click on almost every item laying around and get a reaction. but once i got into the save point where you get into the room with some guy, i grabbed the gun on the floor in front of me, it saved, then he kept telling me to pick up the gun. since i had already done this, i couldnt do it and was stuck in an endless glitch of some dude telling me to grab the gun so we could open the doors n get outta there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another B shooter

posted by Godshitman (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Everything about the game play mechanics feels well made. The graphics are not great, but that doesn't bother me. The main problem is an overwhelming sense of been there done that. The time manipulation powers, while fun to play around with, are unimaginative at best. I was particularly disappointed by this fact because the possibilities for this mechanic were limitless, but it just ended up being another bland gimmick. The story is mediocre all around, but this can be a good thing, as it really helps to lighten the mood. The multiplayer is enjoyable and the Human V creature battles are very well balanced, but it will get boring.

If you are looking for a a fun 15 hours or so give this a rent. If on the other hand you are looking for a truly dynamic and original shooter, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent game, tries too hard too be like Half-Life2

posted by MrMagician (ADA, OK) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ill just get the graphics out of the way, they aren't Crysis graphics but they are still pretty good.

In my opinion, I feel that my expectations were too high for this game, and didn't let me enjoy it to its fullest. This game is kind of like Half-Life 2, with the gravity gun part and the power up on it near end, but that is about it, unless you wanna include the mutants.

The story line is decent, not the best, but its enjoyable, the game is completely linear which is kind of a disappointment, I'm sure most people would agree a game with multiple ways of doing things is more enjoyable.

The guns look great, there a decent variety of guns, but once you get the autocannon and the volk you wont ever have to use any other gun really, as with those you will just mow through everything, it kind feels like they copied the movie "wanted" with the seeker gun with how you can control the bullet.

The perks/weapon upgrades, nothing really to talk about here, they don't do anything significant besides upgrade health and TMD power, there are no new powers you can unlock with them so it doesn't add anything more exciting. With the weapon upgrades its the same really, you don't get to customize weapons, the only thing you can upgrade is clip size/reload speed/ and damage.

Multiplayers, the only thing I can tell you here is that, the multiplayer is mediocre at best, you may or may not like the multiplayer, but I personally did not, but the game isn't built around multiplayer like COD or CSS, so I wasn't expecting too much in multiplayer department, to be honest, I wasn't expecting multiplayer at all.

Well that is about it, I hope you my review helps you decide on getting this game or not. Also one more thing, I would suggest renting this and not buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Singularity - Familiar but worthy

posted by Aveios (FRANKLIN, IN) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you are into super awesome god like powers and ripping people to shreds you may want to pick up this game. The story line is quite short but fun the entire way. Using all of the tools in your arsenal you may at times find yourself getting to fancy for your own good as you destroy waves of enemies in gruesome and unnecessary ways.
Chances are you will play this game and not even realize what is happening in the story. None of that will matter either because the game is fun enough to keep playing until its over. Even on hard mode the game is easy due to the tools you have at your disposal.

Multiplayer isn't anything groundbreaking but has its moments

The game doesn't go without glitches or bugs, however they are all in spots that will cause no inconvenience.

its fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

singularity review

posted by zbullitt (MARKSVILLE, LA) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

game is like time shift with more enimes guns upgrades fore guns and timepowes time powes need improvement not many guns and cool upgrades and enemies are boring graphics are like timeshift ad the inding sucks you get to go through 3 indings no 2nd playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Definite Rent-First Game

posted by kyro102 (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Singularity is a decent game with average graphics and a just as average story line but left me feeling underwhelmed.
the graphics and game play reminded me strongly of Bioshock. Slightly cartoonist environments and character graphics were not what i expected from this game but hey, what can you do? the game play was akin to Bioshock in that you switch from your left hand (Powers) and your right hand (Weapons) in order to defeat your foes. in the beginning this is difficult as the concept of your 'powers' is very new and their application to combat is a little abstract.
Sadly the campaign lacked in almost every aspect other than it did not leave a definite way of continuing on to a second installment. you are immedietly immersed in the usual government secret incursion to discover the source of a radiation spike on an island. after you discover that the plot basically falls to short objectives without a clear campaign long mission to overcome. weapons are interesting with a few i thought were great but other than that there isn't much to set this apart from other games. the campaign is short, only about 7 hours on normal. nothing really puts the campaign apart from other games but it does have an ok twist at the end.
Perks: a couple interesting weapons, multiple endings that you don't have to replay the entire game to reach, cool environment changes such as a bridge all of a suddenly repairing itself, interesting creatures, and a good new spin on time manipulation.
Flaws: graphics not up to today's standards, lack of clear overall mission, at times annoying shifts in game play, somewhat difficult to control time manipulation, utterly unimpressive time manipulation powers, limited weapons and powers for killing enemies, unimpressive storyline, lack of online community, nearly 0 replay value.
Singularity was a decent game but i would not buy it, ever. the makers of this game could have done much better and it seemed raw and not well thought out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse