Rent Singstar for PS3
view large frontback

Singstar

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

280 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing game

posted by Salffg22 (WILMINGTON, NC) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My wife is a huge Karoke lover and when we saw this we thought it would be perfect. We already owned American Idol 2 with the microphone. We received the SingStar and found that you had to had thier specific SingStar Microphone for it to work so we werent even able to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

disappointed

posted by djspin (TEMECULA, CA) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gamefly didnt send the USB adapter that is required to play this game. I had to wait a week to receive the game, and was still unable to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NO MIC NO PLAY

posted by rbolinjr (RIVERSIDE, IA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Don't waste your time if you don't own a mic, or want to go out and buy one. Only singstar mics work with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NO MIC NO PLAY

posted by krakerjak (EDGERTON, WI) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Didn't realize that you needed a specific mic for the game. Beware of the loss in game time if you dont have a mic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointed with lack of information

posted by peenut0319 (FARMINGDALE, NY) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My daughter and I were so excited to get this game. We waited for it to be available and now that it is finally here we cannot even play it because you need a singstar convertor. It would have been nice if GameFly listed this so that we knew we needed it before we waited a week to get it shipped to us. Now my daughter is disappointed as ever. Unless you have the convertor--do not rent this gfame Otherwise it looked like it could of been really cool. If you have Rock Band or American Idol the Mics from those games will not work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It is good but not enough US hits

posted by hiryu3 (RICHMOND, VA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

First off I am a choir director and love singing and enjoy are types of music. With that being said I had high hopes for Singstar. Out of the list of songs only 10 songs I have heard of and the rest of the bands I've never even heard of. So to say the least that makes it kind of hard to do unless you practice over and over again which is not fun. Also as others have said,

DO NOT RENT IF YOU DON'T OWN PS2 OR PS3 MICS!!!!

It will be a waste since you only get the game and nothing else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Renter Beware

posted by Edmoney (MCKEESPORT, PA) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I rented this game thinking that my Rockband mic, PS3Eye, Bluetooth, or Socom headset would work fine. WRONG! This game can only be played using the Singstar Blue Mic. I am very disappointed, as I heard this is a very fun game. All I can say is renter beware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The songs are just poorly picked for this.

posted by Mr_KnowItAll (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Majority of the songs they got on this game are not just horrible but I never heard of them. The other songs are alright but to make matters worst the add on songs you can get in the PS Store suffer the same popularity with me as they do with the songs the games come with. Then again I'm not really the singing type I mainly got it for someone else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

biggg waist of time

posted by packergirl78 (LAKELAND, FL) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

i really love the sing star alot and love that u can go online and battle people.but i feel that 22 dollars is not worth haveing gamefly if you cant get the games you want.i have more then 20 games in my que and the top 5 i have yet to get i have been a member for only 3 in a half weeks .and ever single one of those games except 2 or 3 are on high or med stat.witch means i will not be getting them anytime soon.that suck.so i will be closeing my account just for that reason,alone.hope this helps someone else,it is a waist of money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great fun for all

posted by reganj (LANSING, NY) May 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my wife and kids but I started having fun with it as well. The community segments of the game are great because you can see other players video clips and user pics. There is also "IN GAME MESSAGING". Make sure you have the SINGSTAR MICS because no other mics seem to work with it. I'm pretty sure the PS2 singstar mics work with it. The navigation in game is second to none. Amazing. You can go into the online store and through online profiles very easily. My kids were doing it and their very young. Graphics are great. My only complaint is that the videos dont seem to be in HD but they work and look fine. A PS3 must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Fun Party Game With A Big Song Purchase Drawback

posted by archicam (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

There are some cool new features to Singstar that keep it competative even against newcomers to the music gaming arena like Rockband and Guitar Hero. Probably the best of these features that makes use of the Playstation network is the ability to save audio, video, and pictures from performances and upload them in a youtube kind of way. This gives users the ability to have their skills viewed and rated by others, or likewise, to have a laugh at someone elses singing.

While the game makes good use of the online experience, it is lacking when it comes to other recent technologies. It is great seeing the actual music videos, but we might expect all of the music videos in a ps3 game to be HD. Many of the videos on the game are very grainy or fuzzy, and the audio fades in and out on a few songs. Also the ps3 offers its user those wonderful USB ports that would be so handy to this game if the music buyer could trasfer purchased videos on to portable devices. However, one thing that is not mentioned in other Singstar reviews that has been a problem to people who have bought the game is that you do not own the songs you buy from Singstore. Rather, they are linked to your machine, so if you have to change machines for any reason, you lose your music. Apparently the developers have been very unresponsive to the problem too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse