Rent SingStar: Vol. 2 for PS3
view large frontback

SingStar: Vol. 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

243 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

No USB mic?!?!

posted by MamaC711 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The song list on this game is awesome. I was so excited as I started flipping through the list, which by the way looked like the menu for an Ipod Touch. I mean the customization for your menu screen is such a cool feature. As you can tell I was so excited to sing. I called for my fiancée to come sing with me. I then plug in my USB mic and was ready to rock when it said you need to plug in the red and blue mic. I was like what?!? So then I checked my settings on my PS3 and everything was set to go. I then realized that you had to have their specific mic. I said to my self that that is some total garbage, but then I thought to myself if I was a company I would want customers to buy my product and my product only. So I understand their motive it's just pretty lame that I couldn't play a game I rented. The moral of my review is that read the full content of the game and what accessories that you need.

-Mama Crystal

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Read about game, before adding to Queue

posted by memmons (AMELIA COURT HOUSE, VA) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So, we got the game in the mail today (3-14-09) and was all excited to play. Most people who rent this game, would just think all you need is a microphone. Well...you go to hit play to sing a song and it tells you that you need to connect the USB Converter. What is that? We don't have a USB converter. So if you want to rent this game through Game fly, make sure you have a mic AND a USB CONVERTER. I'm very disappointed right now, I was really looking forward to playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Must have SS mic

posted by RavenPaul (PINEVILLE, LA) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I rented this game hoping I could use my Rock Band mic or Logitech headset. You can't. From what I've read online, you must have a singstar mic to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SingStar: Vol. 2

posted by AB4LIFE (ENID, OK) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

We enjoyed the game and the songs on it. But I was displeased to find out that the rockband mic is not compatable for singstar. So I had to go purchase the game to be able to play it. For when you purchase the game the mics come with it. It is about $60.00.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What did you expect by renting it throug the mail?

posted by Desteria (FRANKLIN PARK, IL) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

YES YOU NEED SINGSTAR MICS TO PLAY! Read the game specs people!

But with that out of the way, the game itself is fun. BUT... it's also a collection of songs that are on the singstar store. So if you have singstar vol 1 already, just go online and buy the songs you like since they are all there anyway and you won't be stuck with songs you're not interested in.

I like singstar because the collection of songs they offer won't be found on any other singing games like rock band and guitar hero. Plus there's no "failing" a song, so if you're doing bad, you still get to finish the song at the very least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Do not get without reading a review!!!!

posted by Julion (BIG SPRING, TX) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

OK so ive enjoyed recieving dozens of titles from gamefly as it is my main source of gaming.. unfortunately this was the one game i recieved in the mail and shipping back without even so much as putting it in my ps3. The reason for this was becez i failed to read a review on this game which states that in order to play this game u are REQUIRED to have a SINGSTAR MIC. Not a rock band mic, not a logitech mic but SINGSTAR MIC specifically. So unless u wish to wait a couple more days to actually have some entertainment. Read all reviews on games. They are here for a reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Waste of time

posted by TAGVT (MILTON, VT) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Honestly, my daughter was looking forward to SingStar. We have Rock Band games, a number of Guitar Heroes and had two microphones. Unlike others, we had no problem getting our RB and GH microphones to work. Though, we did run into a minor issue at first. You have to make sure that you have enough microphones for the players you have assigned on the set up screen. If not, it will repeatedly tell you that you don't have a microphone. We realized after a few seconds that it had us for 2 players rather than one. Fixed that and all was fine.

The song selection is great and my son was excited to see they had guitar capabilities if you paid a little extra. However, the song he really wanted to play on his RB guitar wasn't one of the available, so the guitar download turned out to be a waste of time.

Once we started playing there were things I clearly did not like. Scoring is far different to RB or GH. If you're holding a sustained note and your pitch or tone wavers even slightly, it counts it was wrong. During some songs, the original singer will drop or raise slightly, SingStar didn't account for that in the expert setting. You had to hold the note flat or else.

I also didn't like the way that your vocals are all anyone hears. Background music takes second stage. I understand that's all part of the game, but I definitely did not like hearing myself coming out of the surround sound, and I can sing. It's just really weird not having the music playing at the same volume or slightly lower.

At the end of a song you're rated. I'm not sure what a perfect score delivers, but I got as high as a jeweled crown. Most of the time, we were pulling the Chihuahua, which isn't particularly flattering.

There is a duet function. For duets you choose one of the two singers. Duets on one vocalist tracks are divided up with the two of you singing alternately or sometimes together.

After this experience, it was clear. Rock Band 3 is far superior.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »