Rent Sin & Punishment: Star Successor for Wii
view large frontback

Sin & Punishment: Star Successor

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

851 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sin & Punishment - A nod to an old past time.

posted by JayEye (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I had a wonderful time with Sin & Punishment, although the story was not the greatest, the dialog was not the most polished and I'd even say the main character design was a bit awkward looking. None of those issues can take away anything from the solid game play I experienced.
The game is not loaded with power ups or much other distractions just you, a gun, and your enemy. Sin & Punishment resurrects the almost forgotten Panzer Dragon Orta style of game play, tweaks it up and rarely does the action get old.

8.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Intense!!

posted by BigBoonie (BRANDON, FL) Jul 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

IF there was one word to describe this game it would be intense. You have no time to blink. Yes, the game is short, but if you're getting it from gamefly I don't see why there should be a complaint. It's not like you're paying full price. The last stage is definitely the most intense one. You should start this game on easy. It is extremely difficult. I like to enjoy my games not throw my controller across the room. If you play it on anything highter you will probably throw it. The boss battles were something else and there's a lot of them. Anyone should enjoy this game. Just try it out for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sin & Punishment: Star Successor Review

posted by Jwalk707 (HEALDSBURG, CA) Jun 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Today I went to the store to pick up Sin & Punishment : Star Successor.
So far I have played 3 stages out of 7. Those 3 stages were enough to satisfy me to write a review on this game. It took me about 1 Hour and 30 minutes to complete these stages. There is so much action in this game there is no time to think what your next move is. You kill things from giant robots to giant birds. You start off in a spaceship, and soon your under the sea of Japan. After every stage you have the option to update your score on wifi. There is tons of side bosses and big bosses. the controls are Very simple. You only have 2 moves to choose from. Shooting your gun and swiping your sword. And thats all you need. I personally proffer the Wii Classic controller for a game like this. It is extremely hard to use the wii mote and nunchuck. This game is just to crazy for those controls. I recommend this game to anyone who enjoys shooting games. This game is one of the best wii games out hands down. The only problem i found was in the multiplayer mode. Instead of having 2 characters on screen, p2 only gets a set of crosshairs. Otherwise, this game is badass. It was worth every penny i paid for it. I hope this review was helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slightly entertaining

posted by brcgamenut (TYBEE ISLAND, GA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of this type of game then go ahead and give it a try. I grew up playing simpler versions of slowly panning screens shootemup type games and really enjoyed a game similar to this one on the PS1. That being said, we've moved way beyond this in the video game industry and there are much better games to spend your time on. It was challenging at times but it took me just a couple of days to beat and I wanted to finish it quickly just so I could turn it in and get something else. It wasn't worth having to wait a week to get a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Strange but Fun!

posted by monkey54 (MARTINSBURG, WV) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one heck of a wierd game but i cant put it down! If you liked the first one you'll love this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth A Try!

posted by mattwach (KENMORE, WA) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be very entertaining for the first half or so. The action is intense and fun. The mechanics combine a traditional side-scrolling shooter with a rails shooter. Basically you aim with the Wii-mote and move around with the nunchuck. There are also sword and dodge moves that you can (and need to) execute. It all works very well.

The intensity starts high and keeps ramping up. Due to the difficulty, I returned the game around the half-way point without fully-completing it, but I had fun for the part that I played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Japanese Shooter?

posted by Aquateen (WAYLAND, NY) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've seen game genres from america and Japan, and there are alot of differences between the two. This game is no exception. Honestly, when I played the first level, it looks like a game you'd see at an arcade. They don't look like Wii graphics, more like arcade graphics. This is one game that really keeps you moving, dodging shots and shooting enemies at the same time. The down side though is once you lose all your health, your score drops to 0, and you have to restart at the last checkpoint. But overall, it's a challenging Japanese shooter and is recommended for anyone looking for fun and a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

greatest wii game ever played

posted by mygamefly1 (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is one of the greatest games of all time especially if you like an intense shooter. one great thing i like about this game is that you get unlimited ammo.i mean its better than just having to reload over and over again. id highly anticapate you renting this game from gamefly,cause buyin it would be a waste of your money this game only has 7 stages but dont think its short these stages take like an hour .but dont worry you can stop at any time with the autosave.theres my review of the greatest game of all time sin and punishment:star successor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not too shabby

posted by beached (WILMINGTON, NC) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

excellent game to bring that arcade style shooter to the home. Story is a bit jagged with little to no explanation in most parts, your garunteed to be confused until the end. As for the bosses they all seem challenging in their own right, but you will find that out. Final boss was extremely challenging, which presented quite a breath of fresh air since most bosses nowadays are more of a wam-bam-thankyou-ma'am type of deal. Not advised for the easily ill tempered, this game aims to kill you as much as possible and it will happen alot.

Pros:
Excellent old style arcade play
Challenging bosses keep the action going
Level uniqueness is amazing

Cons:
Game tends to do too well killing you often
Story is impossible to understand until the end
Ending sucks too

Overall it was still amazing for what it was worth and deserves a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bittersweet Symphony

posted by Rubic0n (EDMOND, OK) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is brief, fast, and furious; an excellent rental.

Gameplay: Consists mainly of dodging enemy fire while keeping a constant pull on the trigger, pausing only to dish out sword and charge attacks. But it works suprisingly well, and you traverse such wildly different environments (outer space, undersea tunnel, etc.) and fight such a diverse assortment of enemies and bosses (giant eel, giant beast-turtle, giant submarine) that it never reaches monotony status. Unless you play it on Normal mode and realize that it's far above "normal".

Graphics: The cutscenes are poorly done: The characters move stiffly and their hair moves unnaturally, if at all. However, when you actually take control it all changes. Honestly, you're hardly able to notice the in-game graphics when laying waste to several dozen enemies at once. It all moves so fast and fluidly that image resolution matters very little.

Story: Skip every cutscene, and you won't miss a thing besides bosses threatening to annihalate you. Most of the time you're fighting things that appear seemingly out of nowhere, with no explanation, and your only motivation to kill them is that they probably started it. But this game isn't about rationality. As I said, skip what you can. The characters are more clearly defined by the color of their bullets than by their personalities anyway.

Something I have to say is that this game is fun. It just is. There's a scene in which you have to use your sword to send a stampede of charging buffalo flying into enemy aircraft. The sheer number of enemies makes for a lot of satisfaction in mowing them all down, and that's what Sin and Punishment is all about.

All in all, I'd give this game an 8.7. My advice is to play as Isa, on Easy (you can replay chapters on any difficulty setting) and savor the ownage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Treasure does it again!!!!

posted by BadLarry (DEER PARK, NY) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of games like Starfox, Panzer Dragoon, or Space Harrier, this will be right up your alley! They plot is dumb and the graphics are wiitastic, but the shooting is awesome. Treasure's quirky design shines through at every corner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a punishment to play

posted by mojo4300 (PRESCOTT, AZ) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was just horrible, i know some people may be saying different. But in my opinion this game was just horrible, the gameplay was really weak and the graphics looked pretty decent but the main characters were really funny looking. This game was really repetitive I just didn't even want to play it, but i did anyway. It's basically an on the rail shooter, and not a very good one at that. They had way to many bosses, and some bosses were just completely frustration and made me just want to pick up my WII and chuck it at the wall. It has very simple and some-what easy to use controls. This game isn't that great i highly recommend you just skip this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Look elsewhere

posted by ch4rms (RICHMOND, VA) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Sin and Punishment: Star Successor is, on most points, terrible. The game is an on-rails shooter that involves two children running from something, with a lot of menacing random black trench coat creepsters. Only playing single player, the game was relatively fun in the beginning; fly around a futuristic area, rapidly destroying everyone around you. But as the difficulty increased, it didn't seem to give much space for ANY error. Expect game overs. Lots of them.

I personally like to beat every game I play. I stopped at a ludicrous fight scene, where the main character is attached to the enemy. They take your gun away, give you limited room, and give your enemy all advantages. I threw my controllers at the wall and gave up. Maybe multiplayer would've been more entertaining. Hopefully this game will stay hidden in the wii library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by popokata (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i spend most of my time on the wii trying to beat a big boss in sin and punishment 2 . that does not mean its bad it just means that its challenging and fun. anyway its a good rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Nice Follow-Up to a Classic Game.

posted by SPSakry (SAINT CLOUD, MN) Sep 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This was a fun and interesting game, but as one of the few people to actually play the original Sin and Punishment it was somewhat disappointing. It is still a good all-around game, mind you, but I would recommend buying the original on the virtual console instead. Star Successor is still worth a try at least once, but it is certainly not for everyone. It still isn't as good as the original, but you can say that about a lot of great games. At the very least, it is a great sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Modern Rail Shooter

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 19, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

Sin & Punishment is, by today's standards, a unique gaming experience... in spite of the fact that, at its core, it is a callback to the days when video games were about a solid arcade experience. Most of the game is structured as a rail shooter (to me the classic example is Panzer Dragoon) in which you control your dodging with the joystick while you aim at the screen and shoot using the remote. There's plenty of stuff to shoot at and plenty of stuff to dodge as you, an agent for a nefarious organization, decide to defy orders and protect a "dangerous" nonhuman woman instead of killing her as instructed.

Pros:
-Tons of arcade goodness. Just plain old shoot 'em up fun straight out of 1995.
-Although a rail shooter at its core, the game mixes in some 2D side scrolling action once in a while to keep things fresh.
-Interesting setting: a sci-fi dystopian future in which the earth has long since been ravaged by war and is now populated by monsters and futuristic armies.
-Choice of two playable characters with different abilities.
-2 player coop option. Ability to switch between 1 player and 2 player between missions.
-Adjustable difficulty level.

Cons:
-The story is interesting, but underdeveloped. This game is all about the action, not spending a lot of time fleshing out what all is going on.
-It's a bit short (just a few hours of gameplay if you don't get stuck) with limited replayability. Good for a rent only.
-In 2 player coop mode, the 2nd player has no onscreen avatar, no ability to dodge, no health gauge, and only the basic "machine gun" attack. They're really just tagging along with the 1st player's game.
-Although this game would have made a big splash if it had come out in 1995, younger gamers may be unaccustomed to this type of gaming experience.

In summary, I had a lot of fun with this game. If you used to play rail shooters back in the day (or you'd like to see what the genre is all about), definitely rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Intense but broken and incomplete

posted by darkfayt20 (LOWELL, MI) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is intense but sadly so many things are broken in this game, from Isa looking like a girl to his voice that makes me want to gorge my ear drums.

But I did enjoy the challenging bosses, all though some of them were pretty ridiculous, I had to try each boss at least 4 times, some even 5 to 8 times but eventually i would beat em.

What made me stop playing this game was the fact that the game i got was incomplete.

The game would not allow me to progress pass the train boss, IT would send the soldier at me and then nothing, The train would just go in circles and the boss would chase you and nothing would happen

Thus my rating of a 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

punishment for me

posted by Diogee (DELTONA, FL) Aug 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

game starts off slow i found it boring and when u play two player u cant use the other person 2nd player just shoots and cant power shot or jump or nothing wasnt the game for me. It really was a pain to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sin & Punishment: Star Successor

posted by Joneo4 (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Don't waste your time, even on a rental. This game made me feel like I warped back to the 16-bit Sega Genesis. SO REPETITIVE. Void of characterization or any recognizable plot. I've never been a fan of anime, so if you're into that maybe bump it up from the horrible rating to bad. I tried this one out because I do enjoy shooters on occasion for the Wii & have had fun with Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles, Resident Evil: Darkside Chronicles, and House of the Dead: Overkill to name a few. Knowing in advance that this shooter was a change in style from those titles did nothing to properly warn me of just how bad an experience this button-masher would be. Games like this justify the existence of services like Gamefly. You can send it back immediately!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

can you say sensory overload!?

posted by jjohn2478 (CARLSBAD, CA) Jul 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2008

I immediately fell in love with this game, until it gave me heart palpitations!

It starts off relatively slow and teaches you a few things, then you are thrown into a few dozen enemies flying across the screen shooting at you all at once! It seems to me that if you are going to play on anything above Easy, you better have a partner to help you out!

If you like Arcade Style shooters, check this one out! One of the best the Wii has to offer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's fun, but it doesn't live up to the name

posted by Iamnobody (WILMINGTON, DE) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

Although the on-rails shooter genre is not my favorite by any means, I enjoyed the original Sin and Punishment immensely and even rank it in my favorite 20 games of all time. Star Successor keeps the same developer (Treasure) and the same basic formula, but loses much of the intensity that made the original game so much fun.

Star Successor begins with the main character's ship having just been shot down. Like the original, there are plenty of enemies on your ship, and the first bosses are quickly introduced. The good news is that "lots of enemies and bosses" can describe the rest of the game as well. The bad news is that while there are more enemies on the screen and more bosses in general, these enemies are bosses are significantly easier to kill and less fun to fight than they were in the first game. It's still fun (and playing co-op makes it even better), but the player's ability to mash dodge (which blocks almost all damage) in circles of the screen while still shooting enemies keeps it easier than it should be.

The environments were one area where I did occasionally enjoy Star Successor more. Its environments naturally have more detail, and some of them (like the ocean level) are both interesting and impressive.

Star Successor's addition of leaderboards are nice, but Nintendo's lack of online profiles for players means you can't do much more than compare scores with effectively anonymous players.

Although no one plays a game of this style for the story, it is worth noting that Star Successor's is as terrible as you would expect, and actually manages to make less sense than the original at some points. You won't miss out on much if you just skip through all the cut scenes in the game.

Whether or not you played the original, I would highly recommend first renting this game to anyone interested in it. It's still good fun, but Star Successor just didn't make me want to play it over and over again like Sin and Punishment did. (and still does)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Quite Sinful Enough

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 2, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

Sin and Punishment: Star Successor is a basic rail shooter that feels like it came from the arcades back in the 1990’s.
The idea here is to shoot down as many bad guys with your machine gun/secondary fire as possible while dodging their fire to keep your health bar from emptying.
The best parts of the game are the various things for you to destroy; there are waves of small creatures, groups of man sized creatures, several large creatures, and massive bosses all set to be demolished. The graphics in the game are some of the best I’ve seen in a Wii game; the enemy looks menacing and I get great joy seeing them blow up.
Another nice feature about the game is that it can be played with a Wiimote/Nunchuck (my preferred way to play it) or with a classic controller.
You can modify the button configuration in many ways, so it’s easy to find a configuration that fits your playing style, and your partner’s (if you are playing this game two player mode).
But, alas, not all is great about Sin and Punishment. You only get three types of attack: the machine gun, the lock on attack (missiles for the girl, energy blast for the boy), and a melee attack. I was hoping for a missile launcher, magnum bullets, a shot gun, or an alien weapon - but nope, they don’t appear here
And these attacks you do get can not be upgraded or enhanced, and your character can’t be modified in any way, either.
This makes the gameplay repetitive - and some players can get bored with holding down the fire button while blasting targets while dodging the return fire.
Which may be a blessing in disguise that the game lasts only five hours for a run through - and does not give a very good reason to play it a second time. But I found this lack of shelf life to be the biggest problem that this $50 game has.
The bottom line, I say, is Sin and Punishment: Star Successor is a must rent, and fans of the genre will want to purchase it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »