Rent Sims 2: Castaway for PSP Games
view large frontback

Sims 2: Castaway

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, DS, PS2
GF Rating
6.3

522 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Game but has bugs

posted by azngamer (MONTEREY PARK, CA) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

If based strictly on gameplay, I'd rate this a 7 or 8, but this game has some bugs, so if you decide to play it, save often. You will play for hours at a time, and if you hit a bug, and can't continue, you'll have to start back at your last save point. So save often.

Also, the game lags. Load times on the PSP are slow to begin with, but this game, for some reason, seems to lag more than most.

There were several bugs, but the worst caused my PSP to shut down. It did not save, or hibernate, it just shut down. So when I restarted, I had to start over at my last save point, which was a few hours of play prior. Extremely frustrating to have to replay the same things over to get back to the point I was at. After experiencing this bug twice, I gave up on the game and returned it.

If you have other game consoles, you may want to play this game on them, rather than the PSP. Like I said, the game is fun, if not a little tedious, but the bugs make it unplayable in my opinion for the PSP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glitch!!!

posted by game54life (DISCOVERY BAY, CA) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game has a horrible glitch. It seems almost random but when loading, the game will shut off. Tested other games, still works. I don't know if its EA or Sony but either way, if i can't play it, there's no put in buying it. Save your money, rent it. Hopefully you won't have the same problem i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sims 2: Castaway

posted by KirkPwnage (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Nov 3, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Yes, a sims game revolving around being on an island, no you are not alone, you are able to create a crew of friends / family and have them on the island with you. There is a huge amount of lag in the game, but, it makes a good game if you can get over that, but also, you sim seems to get tired...Fast...Doing the most simple of task's such as, Eating a Banana -.-...Overall its a good rental...But if you want the real fun go play it on the PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Buggy

posted by Navarre (WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA) Dec 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Now a bad game except for the lag/slow game play, lack of imagination, ability to customize and perspective view issues. Played a lot when I first received it but became bored very quickly. Over all it was just OK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by trisha (HESPERIA, CA) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game, i am a big sims fan, and i thought this was a fun game. it was a bit challenging, having to gather, and keep the sim happy. talking to monkeys was fun, and building everything.
i didnt figure out the camera adjustments untill later, but that was the only thing i didnt like about the game. the camera angles. even though you can adjust them, they were still a little bit of a pain.
i loved this game, and cant wait for another sims game to come out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rocks

posted by coolguy432 (BARLOW, KY) May 13, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is the coolest game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Beware of LAG!

posted by Dylantcey (ROUND ROCK, TX) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've never written a complaint review before, but this was just disappointing. I wasn't expecting "The game of the year" or anything like that, but the load time is ridiculous. I'm not going to rag on this game entirely, because I personally think the idea of the game is great and there is always the possibility I could have received a bad copy. The game in my opinion is too complex for the PSP system and if the new PSP can handle it better, this should be given as a warning. Once again cool game, bad for the PSP.

Josh
ATX

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sims 2 Castaway

posted by sob2356 (MADERA, CA) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

finally a sims game with goals that are fun to achieve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Been told

posted by zovega5756 (Brooklyn, Ny) Jun 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

never had a chance to play the game, never received it but been told its a cool game. i have played it on wii and i like it, so i give it an 8 but 1 cause i havent played it on psp.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

good game

posted by tomuchdirt (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

the game is very awesome i love it it has all the things of real life survival it brings it to so much of a perspective thanks for everything gamefly loveing the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sims

posted by undying (TEXARKANA, AR) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

greatist game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

most awesome umd EVER!

posted by gameralfa (OAKLAND, MS) May 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

i recomend this game to any and everyone who takes their gaming profetion seriously. its just like in real life, you have to work for what you get,and its well worth it. short story simple; you will get hooked on this game for hours or days in a row...fact.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

sims 2 castaway

posted by driver0086 (CROWN POINT, IN) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

about an hour of discovery, then a half hour of repetitive action. not good :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Possibly a good game. But not on this platform.

posted by Rakeleer (EDGEWOOD, NM) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

EA has a long history of porting good games badly. This may be one of them. Long access times, poorly ported graphics and controls (Triangle for the back button? Really? WHY?!) made this game more of a tease than an actual experience for me. YMMV, but I have to wonder what the game would have been like if done with more care toward the target platform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wandering

posted by sim67a (ANCHORAGE, AK) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I have this game for my Wii and love it, I love Sims2 for my PSP. This one - not so much. The character wanders all over the place unless you hold the R button. It was also more complicated to make them do task. I felt very frustrated. I'm glad I did a rental before purchasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game but load times really ruin game play

posted by Penelope (MAPLE VALLEY, WA) Aug 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

I had to get an update to play this game without crashing, but I still had issues with not loading sometimes. It is a very temperamental game. When I could play it was good, but having so many issues was annoying. You have to switch screens a lot which made it even worse. If you didnt have to switch screens so much it would probably be a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game for a while

posted by EjmBoston (LYNN, MA) Mar 25, 2008

Member since May 2005

Its a fun game for a while, I played it a lot when I first got it but now...I'm just bored of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT

posted by RoToMoEs (BUZZARDS BAY, MA) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Everything expected from the game you get.
Loved it only problem I couldn't for the love of me figure out how to kill the wild boar but I did everything that you had to do it was interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No thanks

posted by Olb2389 (WASHINGTON, PA) Jan 21, 2008

Member since May 2007

Another sims game. the up side to this one you can create a lot of people. the downside it gets really boring after 5 minutes and the lags suck. Trust me dont get your hopes up this sims is lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »