Rent Sims 2: Castaway for DS
view large frontback

Sims 2: Castaway

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, PSP Games
GF Rating
6.4

456 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

I give it a thumbs up..

posted by kay48040 (MARYSVILLE, MI) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a long time Sim fan, I can honestly say this game is very challenging. A lot of people get turned off to the Sims and say it just isn't their thing, but this is not the usual role playing or virtual-type-people game. This game actually has you achieving various goals and quests. And the cool thing with it on the DS, is there are NO cheats (at least not at the time I played it).
I've played Castaway on the PS2 and the computer; and this is the best version I have played. This is also the most challenging Sims I have played yet. If you like a good challenge, this game is for you. My ten year old also enjoyed playing this game too!! So it IS kid friendly!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by blaise81 (PALATKA, FL) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I absolutely fell in love with this game. This is a must have for any Sim user. I will purchase the game as soon as I can afford it. Until then, I'll try all the rest of the ds games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Simple, Quick Gameplay; Rent, Don't Buy.

posted by swnyc35 (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"The Sims 2: Castaway" is a perfect example of why I signed up with Gamefly: to try out games on which I didn't want to plunk down $25-$50.

This game is relatively easy and extremely quick, and offers some replay value but not enough to warrant a purchase.

Some traditional Sims elements are retained, with the six bars and interactions with people and objects, but for the most part it's pretty linear based on its relatively simple storyline.

Much of the game is based on luck, on what you find on the island and how you can use it; this results in much of the game becoming annoying and repetitive.

Overall I enjoyed the Sims: Castaway experience, but you can finish the game in a day or two and then move on to something more rewarding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This games is ok

posted by hootiepatootie (BOISE, ID) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't really like it. the graphics arent the best and if you like running around and picking stuff up this is your game. all you do is eat, sleep, find stuff, bathe, and go to the bath room.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is the ultimate scavenger hunt!

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Sep 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game! I was able to get everyone off of the island within a few days of non-stop play, but am still trying to find all of the collectibles. I really like the point and click map feature. Without it you wouldn't be able to spend as much time on exploration. It would be nice if there were more people to talk to and trade with, though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

eh...

posted by TataMara (EASTPOINTE, MI) Aug 26, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game is ok, while there are tasks to complete its entertaining, but once they are completed (which only took me a few hours of playing) it becomes completely monotonous. Graphics are sketchy but what i would expect with the DS. Its ok to pass some time but not for long..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun and Frustrating

posted by meanjoe (OMAHA, NE) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was fun but there where a lot of times where i got stuck and had refer to a game walk through. Also towards the end there was a mission in at witch u had to rely on chance and it took several days worth of playing tell i got it. So I say this is a good game to bring on the family car trip but also you should click on FAQs and shorten it to save trees and ink because they are 50 pages worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sims 2 Castaway

posted by Creebers (TREVOR, WI) Apr 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very entertaining. I love it. It is challenging yet not too challenging where you would get stuck and give up. HOURS and HOURS and HOURS of game play in this little game. Not a game that you play for a few and get bored. I look forward to playing many other EA Sims games. Very good. The graphics are pretty darn good for how much they pack in it. Nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An underappreciated game

posted by TtamSteed (LONGMONT, CO) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The Sims 2 Castaway, while not a perfect game, is actually a pretty good game for the DS, featuring all the same feeling as the Sims with a little more focus on story and environment. Washed up on a tropical island, it's up to you to keep yourself as happy as possible while trying to find some way off. There are similarities and differences one may notice, obviously being less about interior decorating and more about exploration than other Sims titles. A lot less characters to interact with, too. There's still plenty of fun to be had, though, as you look for items to build tools like an ax to cut through vines blocking your way, or a chisel to make a small log boat. The only problem is that the game is a little lacking in stuff to do once you've completed it. You can try to get the rest of the items to complete your "collection", but it doesn't feel like something you really have a big urge to do. Still, as a small little pick up and play title, Sims 2 Castaway is actually pretty fun, and worth at least trying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sims 2:Castaway

posted by turtle0302 (WARRENTON, MO) Dec 28, 2007

Member since May 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This might be the best Sims game yet! It's moderately challenging, but you get rewarded for thinking fast and remembering past experiences. The format is a little like Lost in Blue, but it's a lot easier to satisfy your Sim's needs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sims 2 Castaway

posted by bnbetz (ESSEX, MD) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game, it def. challenges your brain and is very fun. It is a lot better than the sims 2 pets for ds. I hope they come out with many more!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair Game

posted by skittles (TAMPA, FL) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Its a fair game but they need to explain how to do things better. Would recommend for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

really not worth renting

posted by Roddog70 (HENRICO, VA) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

takes forever to gather everything needed for other people on island and have to wait on plants to grow cant interact with each other except to trade plus not a long game at all pretty boring gave up after 3 days of game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad, but I wouldn't buy it.

posted by MAPalmer (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

It's a fun enough game, addictive to a degree, in fact, but it is buggie as all get out. My advice is to save each time you sleep so as to minimize the loss when the game seizes up on you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game, kind a short

posted by Angela82 (HAVRE DE GRACE, MD) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This is a great game to rent because if i had spent 20-30 bucks on it then i would have been disappointed when i finished it in a few days and then it became to monotonous to really finish every detail. i would recommend renting, but not buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »