Rent Sims 2: Castaway for Wii
view large frontback

Sims 2: Castaway

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, PS2, DS
GF Rating
6.3

1790 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Hey, it's better than Lost

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jan 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

27 out of 29 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Sims 2 Castaway is an interesting take on the Sims series. You take your custom crew of six on a leisurely boat ride, only to wind up stranded all across deserted islands. Here, you will collect driftwood, coconuts and fish, as well as craft some tools to harvest wood, palm fronds, banana leaves, etc. Your first character will have to work his way off the first island, mostly so he can find his other party members, which theoretically should make things easier. As you progress, you can give your sims jobs and set up settlements as you uncover the mysteries of the islands, complete a bunch of goals set forth for you and, ultimately, get rescued. It must be said that this is probably the easiest survival quest you could ask for. Every fruit, vegetable and spice imaginable is strewn about the island and you can fish to your heart's content. There are also boars and chickens to catch. Harvesting resources will eat up much more of your time. Getting wood, vines, bamboo, clay, metal ore, etc. are taxing on the old watch and you'll need them to build basically everything. The game is not particularly long, but you can keep playing as long as you wish, make new clothes and accomplish all your goals to keep things interesting. There are some annoying things about this game though. Sometimes your sims will get into an argument for no good reason and take their stellar relationship back down to 0. Sometimes you'll come back to camp and find the buildings you last made are mysteriously gone. Your clothes will keep tattering and, of course, the sims will continually want you to fulfill several different motives. Basically, this game will give you one of two reactions. Either you'll be addicted to it until it's over or you'll get bored really quick. It's worth playing through to see which side you're on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ghost Recon

posted by MelissaTheGamer (RENSSELAER, NY) May 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game would be so much better if u played with ppl online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a Good Platform for Sims 2

posted by Boean76 (QUINCY, MA) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics are horrible and the controls are buggy and counter-intuitive. For example, if you want to talk to another Sim, you use the nunchuk to approach them, then a menu of possible interactions pop up which you need to use the wii remote, and by the time you pick "chat" they have walked away so rinse and repeat. I do like the monkey interactions which adds a bit of humor. Sims are so much better on computers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Casual Gamer Fun

posted by WoMensan (MIDLAND, TX) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are on a hellbent mission to stay up ten hours until you conquor a game- this is NOT for you. If you are playing games for the fun of it, like variety, and think it would be fun to play at survival, this is it. No, it's not an in depth story. . . basically just by the name you should know this is a simple castaway on a desert island story. What makes it fun is this is YOUR castaway story in as much as you get to live it through Wii. It coddles you at first requiring only a few basic necessities be maintained, then builds up requirements making it more realistic. You get to find food, tame animals, craft rafts, fish, travel, craft clothes, and manipulate your enviroment. There are several islands, ruins, and cut off areas to figure out how to get to. Settings allow you the option for the fellow castaways you create to act with "free will" -like people actually would. I would guess most negative reviews are from serious gamers or from those who didn't read or try out the Wii remote controls. I did go crazy at first, thinking I "should" be able to do something that I couldn't, only later to realize I could but simply hadn't yet mastered the wii/nunchuk controls. Once accoplished, the game came be played very naturally by allowing picking up and manipulating objects and changing camera views.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Loading... Oh, too bad, your motives aren't filled

posted by NyQuil (PORTAGE, MI) Dec 22, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

23 out of 27 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game seemed like and interesting idea, but after I'd played it for a while, I began to notice some not-so-great things about it.

First off, it takes quite a while to do ANYTHING because your motives fall so quickly. All it takes is a little harvesting and all of the sudden you need to go to the bathoom, take a shower, sleep, eat, get comfortable, talk to someone... so on.
No, you don't have to worry about all of those in the beginning of the game, they gradually build on you, so you can't play the game effectively anymore.

It's very annoying how slow everything is, too. I find that it takes a very, very long time to finish anything or build anything because there are so many resources, and sometimes they're hard to get to. Yes, this is a good quality, actually, because it makes the game more life-like. (Who would get stranded on an island, when the original story was that you're all on a boat, all by themselves if you were all on a boat? The starting ship looked to me like a modern boat, but then you crash and there's no boat. Then all of the sudden, if you have enough motives to explore, you see a shipwreck, but it looks an awful lot like a pirate ship...)

I just don't like the fact that I cannot make my characters get along. Hey, I play the sims because I want to make a guy and a girl fall in love. Is that so hard to ask? Even in real life it would be easier.

I do like the idea of it. It seemed a little bit rushed, though, like it wasn't quite out of the bug stage. Speaking of bugs, this game has plenty of them. My sim has gotten stuck several times in odd places, unable to move, and where the heck do you find the shower motive? If they give that to you, you should be able to find a way to build a shower at least.

I won't completely bash on the game, it has interesting fashion, and is fairly realistic. It is worth playing if you like the sound of being stuck on an island by yourself for a while, and if you are very patient.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but not good enough

posted by emodude19 (CRAWFORDSVILLE, IN) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game starts when you create a sim, choose their occupation, name, and personality, and you can choose if you want it to be a single vacation or have others come along. Your boat crashes and you are the only one there(besides the animals)your job is to help your sim(s) get home, but it's a SIM game so you get to spoil them with clothes made out of leaves and vines, or force them to spear-fish for hours. If you have played the previous versions of the sims for the consoles, it might be me but I think the need bar decreases to fast, so that means you have to harvest food a lot and sleep after you just slept 2 minutes ago. I also thought this game(and many others) don't feel right with the wiimote unless it's your sim's hand but its not but sounds like a cool idea. Another problem I had was that the game wouldn't let me marry another sim,(even though we had a 100 relationship together and I proposed almost 60 times) they kept refusing, we were in good moods too. Overall this game lacks things but also excels in some things like the fun of staying sane from making sand buddies, and collecting the army of items you encounter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fills a Gap

posted by vetiver (HEBRON, ND) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I have never played console Sims games before this one - only on PC. I was really disappointed at first by what seemed to be limitations in the gameplay; the game hardly seemed like the Sims I'd grown used to. Once I stopped trying to compare though, I really did enjoy it. I didn't get it right the first time (I activated some of the motives too soon, had more people than I cared to deal with, and didn't build a shelter before it rained, for example), but I learned what to do for next time. I probably started over 4 times before I got into the swing of it... and I was pleased with the result! This is really casual game play. If you are rushing to get to the end, I don't think you'll enjoy it as much. The ending is a stupid slide show... there's absolutely no point in getting rescued, except to accomplish that goal in the list. As response to other reviews: I really do like the fact that you don't HAVE to bother with relationships too much. I've never gotten my castaways to be anything more than social motive raisers for each other, but who cares? I don't consider that to be the point of this particular game.

I did buy this game after hanging onto it as a rental for so long that it got to be ridiculous. You really do have to be in the mood for it, I think. Now that I have the hang of it, it's nice to sit back once every few months and start a new game. There are no surprising turns of events or new challenges each time I play, but it's like an old friend - and I can't think of a wii game that really had a lot of depth and variety.

One thing I really can't stand about this game is that you can only save one game at a time. My 9 year old likes this game a lot, and although my husband won't admit to liking it, he usually wants to play when he sees someone else playing. It's a royal pain to haul out the memory cards so we can trade out savegames every time the other person wants to play.

One tip: learn to use the map to travel!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dont rent

posted by Simfreak77 (BELOIT, WI) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

As my name says I am a Sim Freak so when i rented Sims Castaway I was expecting so simastic fun. What i got was three days worth of game play.If I had bought this game i would be royally upset. Thank God for small favors. What you get is unlike regular sim games you are on a island.Unlike the sims you cant set the sim to do multiple things. Instead its tiresome clicking to do things. The relationship between you and any other sim you create goes from friend to best friend and if your lucky you can ask the sim to marry you. No going steady,no bf gf stuff straight to the alter which I found boring. I didnt try to stay on the island once i Complete the main goals,Which are boring and pretty easy. So im not sure you can have kids, woohoo or anything.Like I said it was pretty lame compared to the pc version of sims.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointed Me

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have never really been a fan of the Sims games, but after reading the nice reviews, I thought that this one would be great and entertaining. I finished about half the game, and I realized that this was definitely not what I was expecting. What I dislike most about this game is that some parts of the game are just so easy, and some are so confusing. To advance in the game, you basically have to do tasks. Some tasks take hours to do, and you have to do just something random that actually makes it work, and you're like "ohhhh.". In this game, you don't really get to build a civilization with your group like the description said. Basically, you just follow a set of tasks to the end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not that great

posted by pickel21 (PEORIA, IL) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've played many sims games before and this one was horrible. If you rent this game I suggest renting it on the ds. You have to work harder on this game and you do things very differently. This game isn't great on the wii. Many things are confusing. I could'nt get very far because I could'nt find ANY supplies.

graphics-5

storyline-2

controls-3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sims 2 Castaway

posted by 3859rl (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is an interesting game. When you first start out, it is rather enticing, trying to make your sim survive. After a while, when you've learned the basics, and most of the needs are unlocked, it starts to get boring. Your Sim complains about not having enough fun, or not having any friends. You build beds and shacks and more, but this is just another repetitive sims game. Could be great for the right kind of people though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A bit disappointed

posted by windrising (BEAUFORT, SC) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love playing the sims and I played the castaway one on my ds so I figured I would try this one. I was a bit bored. I got tired of talking to monkeys, your levels drop so fast that it's hard to get anything accomplished and i just found it very redundant in some aspects. I decided to return it before trying to complete the game. I just got bored and frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Atrocious

posted by FirstOrder (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The Sims 2: Castaway

An interesting game concept that works on other consoles, but can't pull it off in the Wii edition.

Basically, your job is to help "X" number of castaways to survive by gathering food, building materials, and creating shelters which range from a banana leaf 2x4 roof to a large Bungalow Mansion.

The main issues with this game are its' graphics and control scheme.

You'll find yourself largely frustrated with the buggy and unacceptable controls that the Wii is NOT known for. It seems to ignore any and every building command that you'll input. It is a very irritating control scheme.

Not to mention the HORRENDOUS graphics. It'll make you feel like you're playing The Sims 1 all over again. Sims' faces are hardly distingusihable due to the jagged, sharp lines and little customization options.

If I were you, I wouldn't rent this game. I wouldn't THINK to rent this game. It was so horrible I sent it back the SAME day I got it.

If you like horrible graphics, buggy controls, and glitchy scenarios, this is the Sims for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Flawed interface and getting bored easily

posted by DrWiii (San Francisco, CA) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I like the first Sim on Gamecube, so I rented this. I almost gave up playing because of its boredness and unfriendliness.
Wii remote is not the best control scheme for this. Very difficult to point. Sometimes my cursor just disappears.
You have to direct your player every step. If you want to sleep, you have to lead him to the bed. I rather click on bed and let him go to it.
Tired of collecting resources. If you need 20 ropes, you need to craft 20 times, very boring process.
Camera angles are not good. If you are in a complicated house you build, you will know what I mean.
The ending is disappointing. I can't believe I spend so much time just to see some CGs. High investments/low rewards.
My mind is still suffering from its boredness and can't write well. If you like repetitions, you can play. Otherwise go play other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game

posted by SPowell42 (POWELL, OH) May 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am really enjoying this game. I do have some minor issues with the controls, but overall the game is great. Was up at 3:00 AM last night playing instead of sleeping...made the 8:00 meeting pretty painful!

I do wish they'd tweak the controls, I find it pretty annoying to use the Z key on the numchuck for much of the time, but then it can't be used to close dialog boxes (have to use A key on other controller for that).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the sims2:castaway

posted by SUSEN (OMAHA, NE) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sims 2: Castaway

posted by Eaglebadbo (CEDAR PARK, TX) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Got the game in the mail, but my daughter never got to play it. Bad Disc!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh.....

posted by simaholic (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I LOVE the Sims and I just wasn't impressed with this. I got bored quickly. I could not figure out how to use the bathroom and it was a little hard to understand. I'll stick to my pc game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent!!!

posted by Ang4 (WATERVILLE, ME) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I give this game a 10 because I usually only like the physical games (i.e. dancing, singing, sports, etc.) but this game captivated my attention enough to keep playing it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It a Good Game

posted by Randyray (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

The Sims 2 Castaway. Is often a fun game. It isnt like the other sims games. It has lots of diffrent things you can do. But it is similar in many ways. Like the fact of, You still are having to complete goals and keeping your sim/sims happy and in a good mood... for them to do as you wish. But often some times if you play for to long it may get boring. It also has lots of glitches like mentioned in other reviews. This is a newer review, even though the sims 2 castaway was made in past times. But for my over all rateing i would give it a, good. 6.2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Castaway!......Castaway?.....Castaway.

posted by coremberlynn (MILLERSVILLE, MD) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Ok, so I am a BIIIIIIIG fan of The Sims, but REALLY?! This Castaway game SUCKS! Just stick with the REGULAR Sims2, where you run a hotel.....at least on the DS you do. So, Castaway. At first, when I saw it in Gamestop, LUV AT FIRST SIGHT. So, I buy it. Of course, when I get home, I play it first thing. BIIIIIIIG DEPRESSION. You have to sleep, eat, play, ect. WAAAAAAY TOO OFTEN! Plus, you have to harvest resources every few minutes. And you have to FURNISH the place your living at or you go CRAZY. Same thing with talking/interacting to people. And at the start there AREN'T any people around so you have to socialize with CHIMPS. And you have to keep yourself entertained by dancing and playing and stuff or you go CRAZY. And you have to build a RAFT before you can even see a real SIM. And as an ADDED bonus, you have to do a lot of things with the Sim to even invite them to join your tribe. The good thing is once you get a Sim to join, you can assign them a job so you don't have to do all the work. NAVIGATING is the hardest. SOOOOO MANY JUNGLES, ALL LOOK ALIKE.

Like I said before, stick to the REGULAR Sims2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great but boring after you finish!

posted by OptimusPrime501 (PAINESVILLE, OH) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game was really fun when i first got it because you have tasks to do and unlock new places and find your crew but after you finish the game its just really boring because there is nothing to do!!!! so only really fun the first time you play!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tedious fun

posted by Kharma (BASTROP, TX) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I felt compelled to find other humans, but I spent a lot of time playing...was like I was stranded on an island..oh wait that's the point. Fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Didn't love it or hate it...

posted by feenie20 (WOODSVILLE, NH) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I didn't hate this game, but nothing inspired me to go back and play it again after the first time I played it.
I think that the start up of the game is fairly confusing, and I found it tedious to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this Sims game

posted by emastin (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I truly enjoyed playing this game- only one downfall and it is that you have to figure out how to have more then one player- otherwise the tasks were just challenging enough without making them so hard that I wanted to just walk away from the game. The controllers were easy to understand and I can't wait to buy the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse