Rent Sims 2: Castaway for PS2
view large frontback

Sims 2: Castaway

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii, PSP Games, DS
GF Rating
6.9

1671 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Overall -- Some weak spots

posted by Sherimar (TAMPA, FL) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Overall, everyone in my household liked this game. In the beginning it is challenging, but not so hard as to make you want to quit. We liked how the things you need to keep track of were added in slowly, one-by-one. This allows the player to learn the game.

We took turns with individual characters. When my character needed to sleep, I gave control to someone else; when that character needed to sleep, the player passed the contoller on to someone else. Everyone got to play until their character had to sleep. It made this one player game fun for everyone.

Towards the middle of the game, things get a bit boring and frustrating, but I guess life on a deserted island can't be all fun and games. ; ) Some of the in game messages are misleading. Do not give up until you have developed your characters to have 10's in every stat. Not every character has to have a 10 in every stat, but the group should have 10's in every stat. You won't be able to see everything or do everything until this is the case. Sometimes you have to revisit areas that you have searched before because new things/things you missed before will be there. I found this kind of stupid, but it is standard adventure game fare.

My biggest complaint is that you can not re-use resources. Once you have committed to buiding something, it will always be on that screen and there is no way to re-use the material somewhere else. Be careful because some things (like driftwood) don't renew as fast as you might like. Also, characters that aren't being played are MORONS. They will let an entire village burn down while they stand around screaming. Be careful not to build anything near a fire pit.

In general this is a very good game. Save early and often. Don't give up, just harvest more stuff. Hours of fun gameplay for one or many people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Fantasma1 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. a classic SIM game. not as tough as I thought but it is still a fun game. beat the game in about 2 weeks. The graphics are great and the storyline is good and challenging. I didn't pass it 100% but at around 85.great game to rent and if you want to keep yourself entertained you can keep it. The only setback is that is not online compatible.I would have liked to play this game online with more castaways. Make sure you make a group of castaways because it's boring playing it with a single one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the sims 2 castaway

posted by jpowen (VANCOUVER, WA) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is so much fun. It has twists and turns and all sorts of fun things to build. Your skills are so easy to build, friendships easy to mantain. The chimps are so cute. My only complaint is that you cannot sell any of the objects after you build them, or delete walls or sell back supplies. That is a bummer when you build them wrong! =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Needs more.

posted by biggpimpin (DELTAVILLE, VA) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a very fun game but it is also very repetitive. It can also be very hard at times, and there is a lot of loading.
Overall it is about a 7.5/10. Worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Sims Game So Far

posted by ladiesman (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

For anyone who ever wish to be stranded on an island this is the game for you. It actually is a really good game. Its one of the most create ideas that EA has come out with for the sims. THe basic premise of the game is that you get stranded with a few other people and try to survive. It incorporates almost all the old features from the previous sims titles, but one thing that makes this game different is the fact that you actually control the sim. You don't just point to objects and ask them to do tasks, you make the sim move. I hope future sims game closer resemble this game
In short if you ever liked the sims this is worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but needs more

posted by generalhbk (EVANS, CO) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was really fun at first i even rated a 9 at first but after 3-5 days it got super old.But for the people who like to try it which i think you should, you need to harvest everything that always helps and to always build stuff because it helps.Don't build anything next to the firepit but do have a firepit it helps with cooking and socailizing and socializing makes friends. I think you shouldn't worry about doing everything the game tells you to right then you have as long as you want to do it so just have some fun. And to have some fun make a home you have to make a home tiki first and the build huts and beds and tools and stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!!

posted by masnferg (Atlanta, GA) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This clearly is the reason why The Sims is a bestseller, with great graphics and endless gameplay possibilities, The Sims is one of the best out there on the market. The Sims 2 Castaway is a great game for the money, with sidequests and wardrobe options out of this world the game rocks!! Would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by funnyshade (GURLEY, AL) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was very well created. the affects were very nice.

I beat this game and met all goals in 7 hours nonstop.

tip+ the lamas crown is behind th throne inside the lama temple

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not perfect

posted by mepzilla2 (DRACUT, MA) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are thinking about renting or even buying this game you should read a reveiw or ask someone who has played it before. For there are some bugs in the PS2 version that take away from the fun, colorfulness of the game. That's unless you acually like your game progress being erased compleatly at any time, then this game would be exactly what you are looking for. But, if you don't then you can get it but keep in mind that you'll have to save at various times. On that note, other than the few bugs this game is very enjoyable and I would give it a 7.5 for a rating. Maybe even an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game... few bad points.

posted by ransomdc (CANOGA PARK, CA) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really liked this game. I must admit, I'm rather addicted to all of the Sims games, but I think this one is the best. There is a great storyline, and it's not too hard to figure out. However, there are some bad points, such as if you don't make more than one family member for your crew in the beginning of the game, then you will be really bored and it will be really hard to fill your social meter. The other bad thing is that if you build anything even remotely close to the fire pit, then it will burn to the ground at some point in time, and that's a guarantee. You also can't reuse the supplies that you have, however you will have tons of fun killing time during your downtime harvesting supplies. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much Enjoyed

posted by Angeldawn (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Downside: The controls can get frustrating at times, there are quite a few bugs still left in the game and all the load times can get tiring.

Upside: I loved this game! The creating of a home and keeping me and my friends alive managed to keep me very entertained. Trekking the islands and identifying new things to collect as well as finding my teammates kept me looking forward to more. This should be a great play for any Sims fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good...

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pretty good, but then again The Sims always is (if we don't count The Urbz). But the one thing about this game that leaves it lacking is how short it is. Usually a Sims game will keep you playing for weeks (even if you're an extreme gamer like myself), but this one (Sims 2: Castaway) is over in a few short hours, were talking only about 8 hours of gameplay (5-6 if you use the gnome cheat) before it's game over. Other than that it's pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sims Castaway's

posted by malicon (FRANKLIN, PA) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a good Sim game it was a little odd next to the others. The game play it's self was relatively easy. There are not as many fashion options due to the fact your on an island, though for the most part this does nothing to effect the fun of exploring the game world. I wish there would have been more islands to explore and mini games to beat. All in all it was a hugely enjoyable break from reality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than your usual Sims game

posted by Hhippolw (SUNNYVALE, CA) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Pros:
-Fun, creative new spin on the sims.
-Unique idea, unique gameplay.
-Hours and hours of gameplay, which is hard to come by these days.
-Cool unlockable locations.
-Creative way to control multiple Sims at the same time.
-Great Sims game, even if you aren't into the sims.

Cons:
-Load times can get annoying (better on psp).
-Not really too thrilling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Castaway

posted by InkMaple (SYRACUSE, NY) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed playing this game it was amazing. I love creating new characters for these games they're so much fun... I feel like my family is actually in the `game when I do it to their specifications. I fell in love with this games I'm hoping to get it for our holiday.. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A little slow, but a lot of fun

posted by ufpoolman (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Game play is a little slow even though it has a fast forward feature and its a lot to keep track of but overall a very addictive game. I had fun playing. I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun

posted by SwtBunny (LUMBERTON, TX) Dec 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Well after reading some reviews I decided to try out the same. Sims 2 Castaway was fun. I like how you learn as you go in the game and traveling different islands. If your into Sims..this is very different but tons of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

would play again

posted by myonion (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 1, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

game is fun if you have the patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game rocks

posted by matt123192 (BROOKFIELD, WI) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Sims Castaway is the best game out of all the Sims games. i like the fact that you are trapped on a island and that you have to find a way to survive. i don't think that there are any negatives about the game. i like the game better than i like the other sims games. i give this game a ten out of ten. the game was designed very well and the graphics are very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great "Sims" Game

posted by rockstarr (BREMERTON, WA) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I first played the "Sims 2: Castaway" game it was for the Nintendo DS and found it to be very entertaining but after a few hours and realizing I have pretty much beat the game I was upset but after playing its version on the PS2 I noticed that it could infact not be great but pretty awsome. All in all this game is great and whether you have played the "Sims" games before or you are a first time player this game is a fantastic game for anyone.

~Rock Starr

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PERFECT AND TERRIFICT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!

posted by coolboy (HOMESTEAD, FL) Jun 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS GREAT!!!!!And I don't even own it.But I know the game is great because i mean building your own house out of what you find,making your own clothing,finding secrets on the island,making friends with monkeys,you could escape on a reef you must make,make a imaginary sand friend,AND MUCH,MUCH,MORE!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!By now you must realize that I've been studing and researhing this game alot...and your corect!!! PS This game is perfect PSS I like Naruto games and everything to do with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So So

posted by venushr (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I didn't find this game to be very challenging. It was sorta boring, and the only real challenge was finding out how to unlock a couple of the passage ways that were puzzles. The concept was neat, but I would have enjoyed it more if the goals were a little more interesting. Many of the game aspects, like building items and dyeing clothes, aren't even necessary to finish the game, and not interesting enough to do for fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Easy

posted by fanormine (MONROE, WA) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I never have particularly enjoyed Sims games, but this one was different. This one had clearly defined goals, problems to solve and understandable ways to do so. The MAJOR problem with this game is that it offers no challenge, no sort of mental stimulation AT ALL! Its repetitious, boring and too easy to beat. If that's your thing, go for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG

posted by jayrocko21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a really big fan of the sims but this game was just boring to me. Maybe i didn't give it enough time, but whenever i start to fall asleep playing a video game, something is wrong. Glad i didn't buy this particular sims game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Man Overboard !!

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Apr 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Normally, I loathe the Sims 2 family on PS2 due to the fact that children were removed and aliens added, but I decided to try this. It was really fun and I am still enjoying it. After a shipwreck, you and your crew end up stranded on a chain of a few small islands and you must use your instinct to survive. Explore to find hidden places and secrets! This game sure is fun! It has a few minor errors. (for example, when I cook over a fire, all I can do is choose one item and cook it on a stick and eat it off the stick, but I see other sims eating from bowls and drinking from glasses. What!?) I do think it would be better if we could have kids here. Actually, all the Sims games should keep the kids. They're part of life! Despite these errors, I am having a lot of fun with this and I am thinking of buying it. Rent this and you wont be disappointed! Hey, wiat a minute... I cant swim....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse