Rent Simpsons Game for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Simpsons Game

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii, PSP Games, DS, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
6.6

8645 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but can be frustrating

posted by Galactic (IOWA CITY, IA) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2002

28 out of 29 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

First off, this is a fun game. I really like the levels and how they worked in so many references to other things, just like the shows, (frogger, anyone?)

That said, though, sometimes the control and camera angle is downright control-throwing frustrating. The control, or lack there of, over the camera angle really detracts from the overall fun atmosphere of the game. It doesn't happen all the time, but when it does - man, it really can be bad!

Overall, though, this game really captures a lot of the appeal of The Simpsons, so if you are a fan of the show you will most likely enjoy this game, just be ready for those stupid camera angles and lack of control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Outstanding content, mediocre gameplay.

posted by finalcut (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll get rid of the negatives right away. The camera angles suck. Might seem like a minor problem, but right off the bat I wanted to throw my controller when I couldn't perform a series of wall jumps due to the random resetting of the camera. WHICH ALTERS DIRECTIONAL INPUTS. Its a big problem. I think a good solution would be to set fixed camera angles at certain tight spots, and I would say this game would be perfect for fans, and great for casual players.

As a fan of the Simpsons, though, I have to say that overall, the greatness of the story, the jokes, and the graphical presentation really does outweigh the issues with the camera. Take that for what its worth, because if you aren't a fan of the series, you probably won't care much for the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best Simpsons Game Ever

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Nov 6, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

34 out of 38 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Most Simpsons games suck. This one is like a few playable episodes. You'll laugh and laugh, and maybe get mad at the camera and control response a few times.

If this wasn't a Simpsons game, it wouldn't be playable. It seems to be rushed (it's an EA game) and sometimes the controls or camera make the game harder than it should be. No replay value, the humor keeps you playing through the first time...but I don't think it'll make me play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Simpson's Game

posted by CPO438 (SAINT CLOUD, MN) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Simpson's Game offers a great amount that Simpson's fans will appreciate. The graphics, character voices, and locations are all spot on. The different levels are creative and coincide closely with the series.

The game-play leaves something to be desired. The camera angles are very poor and at times it makes the game difficult to play. The game itself is very, very easy. I don't recall being challenged that often - with the exception of an occasional time trial. We did have to consult a walk-through to find where we were going every once in awhile.

I enjoyed the games full two-player mode; you will too.

I wouldn't purchase this game but it is definitely worth a Gamefly rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great, fun game

posted by hawkeyes4 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I am not a big Simpson's fan, but really enjoyed this game. Fun, great graphics, really enjoyable. If you are a platformer fan, I would highly recommend this game. Obviously, don't buy or rent if you are big on blood, gore, etc.

I didn't think I'd like this as much as I did. I wouldn't have bought it, but likely will through gamefly after I've rented.

If you are a Simpsons fan, you should check this out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Simpsons Game EVER!

posted by sts504 (ALBANY, GA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is very entertaining to say the least. The gameplay is fun, the graphics are sweet, and the cutscenes are hilarious (not to mention the last cut scene with God) The only downfall was the game is entirely WAY TOO EASY! If you get this game because your a simpsons fan and you want something to entertain you for about 6 hours, then this game is for you. If you a hardcore gamer that loves 15-30 hours of gameplay or something complex that will take more then a day to beat then your not gonna like this game at all. Bottom line, I really enjoyed the game, even though I am somewhat of a hardcore gamer, i also happen to be a simpsons fan and i've literally grown up with simpsons games..expeccially on the NES. this game was hilarious and very original and i would actually play it again if it wasn't for assassin's creed haunting my dreams. (that games like craaaacccck) anyway. i give it two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8 out of 10 D'OH's!!!

posted by tjbothered (LEESBURG, VA) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The Simpsons game is awesome! Great storyline, hilarious voice overs, & fun! You really want to finish the game. Not too hard. Only negative is bad camera angles once in a while. Highly recommend to all Simpsons fans. Don't miss this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Family Game!

posted by IronBuddha (FREMONT, CA) Jul 3, 2008

Member since May 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

My six year old daughter is addicted to this game. She earned her chops playing this game for hour after hour. And now my little four year old is getting into it. The best part is the co-op play. Now that we finally played it through to the end, we are having fun finding the trophies in all the levels. Superb replay value. Never a dull moment in the whole game. It's funny just as the TV show is, but better because of the interactivity. The camera does get stuck on occasion, but that's not a big deal. It eventually rights itself. Taught my daughter problem solving skills like the kids version of Tomb Raider. There are so many levels, each one unique and entertaining. Get this and have a blast. Well worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

7/10

posted by rowteree (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game really has the Simpson's show feeling and humor. Hours of laughter and tons of comical mischief and parodies. Game play does get stale for a while, but the cut scenes and original story make up for it. Definitely worth renting, wouldn't buy it though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mmmm....D'Ohnuts.

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Jan 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

mmmm...doughnuts
thank you! come again!
Eat my shorts!
D'oh!
Excellent...

do these words mean anything to you?
are you a simpson's fan?
well, even if your not, this game has a little something for everyone.

now that doesnt mean everyone will like the game. but it does have alot to offer. for one, its a solid game based on a tv show, which is INCREDIBLY rare. secondly, it got all the original voice actors doing the script, and the lines are all timed fairly appropriatly and dont repeat too often. theres also a pretty descent story line. the game plays basically like a longer episode.
it also is well written. any fan of the humor in "the simpsons" will probably find this game hilarious. this is especially true when it comes time for a cutscene. fully animated movies make the game very entertaining. but probably the most noticable thing in the game is how good it looks. the graphics really give the feel that ur watching an episode.

now the downside. the gameplay is really too repetitive. it's fun, but it just starts to feel boring and dull.

however, i suppose the good does outway the bad. the game is solid, the graphics are good, the humor is ever present, and the co-op mode will add a few good extra hours to ur game time.

a descent rent. if ur a huge fan, go ahead and buy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by lsanger229 (MIRAMAR, FL) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

i did not think this game was going to be good when i first rented it, i thought it would be just another lame Simpson game like road rage but it is actually fun to play and the graphics are amazing.if you watch the show you'll get a kick out of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not that bad...

posted by Bimbelton (ALPHARETTA, GA) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The Simpsons Game is really not that bad. Sure, it's not the most complicated game in the world but it's nice when you just need a game that's going to entertain you without using up too much mental muscle.

The graphics are really good and the missions do tend to get somewhat challenging but all-in-all it's a nice game to "relax" with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Back when the show was good.

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game definitely hails back to when The Simpsons was entertaining and edgy. This game makes cracks at almost everything about the world today, especially gaming. It even makes fun of EA itself. The game is very creative and I'm glad to finally have a good Simpsons game but it doesn't completely satisfy.

The story is flawless. They put a lot of effort into writing the story of this game and it shows. It actually makes sense and is entertaining. Even the random quips that characters make throughout the game are enough to make you chuckle a bit. Overall, the story itself is what makes this game worth playing.

Item hunting. Ooh how I dread item hunting. In each mission you look for items that pertain to each character. Bart has Krusty stickers, Lisa has Malibu Stacy, Homer Duff bottle caps, and Marge coupons. Collect all of them in each level and eventually your health and special bars get bigger. Only thing is, these are sometimes really hard to find. You could completely comb a level and still not figure out where they are. In some cases they are just really hard to get and especially with the camera angles, it becomes very difficult.

The graphics look fine, there were very few times when I had some framerate problems due to too many sprites. One technical problem is this is another 360 game that makes a lot of disc noise. This one spins about as loud as Lost Planet.

I gave the game a lower rating because it really doesn't have much in replay value. I beat it and certainly didn't feel like playing again. I definitely didn't want to go hunting for items. There are way too many and it's just not worth it once you beat the game. If you liked the Simpsons at any point, you should play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Game, Camera is Brutal, Rent don't Buy

posted by LordMaker (OTTAWA HILLS, OH) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The game is fun. If you like Tomb Raider, Lego Star Wars, or other puzzle platformers.

The hardest part is the camera. It makes it way to hard to see what you are jumping to, or trying to solve.

There is little to zero replay value, unless you like to spend your time finding trinkets, like the orbs in Crackdown.

Not a bad game, but don't spend anymore than your rental money on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the simpspns

posted by mychael101 (CARLISLE, PA) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

that game rocks bart and homer are the funniest ones and when lisa plays her saxophone all the bad guy get headachese from the noise but their nothing with marge she not that funny but she really can make a huge mob,also maggie the little baby is crazy. One time in the episode of the simpson her and another baby were fighting and she cracked her bottle than the other baby ran off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

dont watch em play em

posted by GAMESrEVIL (Pacifica, CA) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is very true to the show. It's hilarious and makes u feel like you're in the cartoon. The gameplay is fun but a little too easy, but if you like gamerpoints without having to play a childs game then this is a renter for sure. There's some adult humor but if your kid gets the jokes thats your fault. You will recognize the numerous references to episodes in the show if you're a fan. Theres only a couple reasons this game is not a ten.One is because I like hard frustrating games and the multiplayer feature is'nt fully supported, some levels only let one person play while your friend has too watch but thats his or her problem. Definitely a renter, buy if you're a real simpsons fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A very funny, and yet bland, game.

posted by Daolohua (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Simpsons Game greatest strength is in it's writing. Those who are fans of the series will undoubtedly find a lot of the charm and wit that the TV show is known for.
Unfortunately the experience is marred by it's derivative and (at times) downright boring gameplay. The game's self referential humor even makes note of this by having the "video game guy" pop up to note numerous gaming cliche, however the gameplay itself does nothing to correct this.
You can blow right through this game with little effort and only need to replay it should you want to take the time to collect all of the small items scattered throughout the levels.

A good game for fans of the series, but those in need of a good platformer best find it elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game its a 10 on comedy alone

posted by melonbrain (MIAMI, FL) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well ill start with saying that this is the funniest game i ever played is a 10 on comedy alone but it falls to a 9 in my book because the gameplay is nothing special, but the good part is that it does not take it self seriously and that's were the fun begins,great fun get ready to cry cause this game is funny to tears,NOTE:if you use an inhaler keep it with you at all times you might have to catch your breath i know i did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but requires 2 players

posted by Dolfan4lyf (HOMESTEAD, FL) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is awesome, but you have to play with someone next to you. You need to make some stragdies and critical thinking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really funny!!!

posted by daonli1 (BAY SHORE, NY) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was expecting another halfly reliable simpson game. But this time this game is close to perfect. there are only two bad things about this game, the camera and the ps2 graphics. This game could have the best story of the year aside from bioshock and mass effect. Also this game is funny, this decently sized game would have you laughing all night. In conclution if you want a game that has a great story or you just want to laugh at what these people say, get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game play fun!

posted by Drizzle (SANTEE, CA) Nov 12, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is lots of fun! the graphics might not be top noch but what really rocks is the game play the game... so many fun levels with so many things to do its just fun running around in the levels. If you loved the show or even if you don't you will enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So Awesome, yet uncontrollable.

posted by Halocid (ANTIOCH, CA) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game had so much potential its not even funny. Great levels, awesome graphics, fun, seamless on it's transition from cut scenes to game play. I would have bought this had they fixed one major drawback....camera and control. The controls are horrible as is the camera which makes it a very difficult game to play, and very frustrating. I was done with the game after the 2nd level - continually redoing tasks due to controls and camera angles - If you find yourself wanting to turn it off - That's a Very bad sign - After a day - It was sent back to gamefly - Could have been an awesome game though - as a long time Simpsons fan I had lots of hope on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A T.V. show game masterpiece

posted by MrSparkle (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Nov 2, 2007

Member since May 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

As a "Simpson" fan, and video game lover, I found this game to be the greatest TV show game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ohohoh

posted by ataylor (COVINGTON, GA) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fun but frustrating gameplay

posted by seanl85 (EVANS CITY, PA) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is a frustrating game. If you like terrible gameplay/movement and abosolutely dreadful camera angles then this is your kind of game. It's actually kind of fun for a while, it has a good and fun story and everything is authentic to the show but the movements are very frustrating, when your trying to make a jump and you can only move the camera a certain angle or it'll return back to where it starting turning, it's a real pain in the neck. I played as many levels as I could take and that wasn't many. So it's a fun game to rent for an hour or 2 but deffinitely not a good buy unless its in the $10 bin at wal-mart, and im sure those days are not too far off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse