Rent Simpsons Game for DS
view large frontback

Simpsons Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

269 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the better Simpsons games.

posted by iamclover (VACAVILLE, CA) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In The Simpsons Game for DS, it has the same exact storyline, and levels as the console versions, with the exception of 'Medal of Homer' and 'Grand Theft Scratchy' levels. the premise of the Simpsons knowing they're in a video game is clever. But it seems as they're running out of ideas, as at least two levels are based on "Treehouse of Horror" episodes. Graphics stay true to other versions of the game, fighting gets a little boring, and they could've given Marge better fighting skills. A cameo by a person who'll remain unamed is weird, and as the game goes on, it gets confusing, like a Shyamalan film. An average gamer should beat this game within: 1-8 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Was this the best they could do?

posted by ikeredwolf (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Nov 7, 2007

Member since May 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Once again the Simpsons video game can not live up to its TV counterparts. This game is a platformer pure and simple, add the Simpson writing staffs creativity and at least theres a reason to play through the game. Unfortunately the game is sometimes too simple and sometimes too hard. I suspect the console versions of the game would be the source of this strange imbalance. Anyway they attempted to create a reasonable copy of the console game onto the DS and it feels half-done. I finished the game in less then 8 hours of play and I have no desire what-so-ever to play it again. There are some "bonus" elements which require replay of some levels, but my blood pressure couldn't take the strain. If ripped off versions of Frogger, and dying 1000s of times is your idea of fun game play, then you might get 16 hours of entertainment out of this game. Until Simpsons Road Rage is ported to the DS I wont be playing another Simpsons game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good to Rent, bad to buy

posted by thetate (Friendswood, TX) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game has a pretty solid story and the humor is awesome, as no other game can compete with it. This is very important as that's about all that is has going for it. The in-game graphics are not anything special, the cut scenes are the same as the console except again the graphics a horrible, the game is short. It's like they took the console game cut it in half then cut it in half again. And once you are done there's really nothing to do. So your stuck with a four hour long game with little to no replay value given there are not even difficulty settings. So rent it because the humor should not be missed, but do not buy it, or you will be sad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun....ish

posted by Legoguy (WESTBOROUGH, MA) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I LOVE the Simpsons but when I got this game like most games hoping it would be fun. It was but 1st of all everything is soooooooooooooo different from the better systems. Games have ripped you off on the PSP DS and GBA but there not so different the covers made another way. 2nd This game was fun but who likes a game thats frustrating! I got spongebob drawn to life and I was pressing the buttons so hard when I opened my DSlite the top screen broke off. I'd get the game if youre a very experienced gamer. Because I got stuck on the 3rd to last level and I was screaming and once you beat the game the only fun thing to do is watch the stupid cutscenes. The Simpsons Hit and Run was WAY BETTER!

THE END

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Action Game, with a decent plot

posted by wollja (BELLINGHAM, WA) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I would recommend this game. Its not impossible but hard enough in some spots to make it a challenge. I must admit I had to consult a few online guides at times to make it all the way to the end.

My favorite part is that there was lots of variety with the different characters that you play. Each character has different powers. You automatically switch between the different characters at different points throughout the game.

I also enjoyed the variety of different levels, many of them where quite unique with various differences to keep your attention.

All in all its a pretty good game for one based on a TV show and has a decent plot and videos in between levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Impresive Simpsons!

posted by jjmck7 (MEDFORD, NJ) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

WOW! The Simpsons Game was the funniest game i've played so far! I might not have the best graphics on the DS but playing it is alot better I hope they come out with another one! :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fan of the show? Fan of the game

posted by lazy1uno (COVINGTON, WA) May 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

If your a fan of the show, than you will enjoy this game. Its funny, its unique, its exicting. The plot is so random which makes it a great game. I recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not too bad

posted by Tyrisian (MASONTOWN, PA) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Typical side-scrolling style with the odd-time bonus of sometimes using the stylus as opposed to the control pad and the graphics during most of the storyline animation is choppy. That being said the game is still addicting and fun. The story itself is different since the characters discover that they are in a video game and at one point even have to save their old 8bit nintendo selves. I would rate this a definite Must-play, but not a must-own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »